Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

4 hours ago, OBE said:

If old, the shafts will have deteriorated and probably won't match. Invest in a new set you can hit properly... 

Just been sitting in a shed. And I'm skint ATM 😆 Well so she keeps telling me, when I want knew clubs.

• Replies 14.9k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

9 hours ago, OBE said:

1st time in 16 years, course closed in May due to flooding in Costa Calida...feckin long day...☹️

Are you out at the Mar Menor? 

1 hour ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Are you out at the Mar Menor? 

Aye, Los Alcazares. Roda, La Serena, Lo Romero & Las Colinas all on the itinerary, getting out today, but the sky is loaded...🤞

Edited by OBE

5 hours ago, OBE said:

Aye, Los Alcazares. Roda, La Serena, Lo Romero & Las Colinas all on the itinerary, getting out today, but the sky is loaded...🤞

I'm heading to the Balearics soon and hoping it all passes. 🤞 

45 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I'm heading to the Balearics soon and hoping it all passes. 🤞 

Good luck with the weather. Rain is bad here, only got 9 in today, soaked through with much of the same for tomorrow. 

Rudi Skacel

Just about to play my first matchplay match of the season. Glorious day with hardly any wind. Im getting 3 shots aswell. 

Hoping steady me turns up and not the idiot from the other night. 

There should be some good rounds for all this next month, with the good weather.🏌️🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🌞😎

Disser Pointon
2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

There should be some good rounds for all this next month, with the good weather.🏌️🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🌞😎

Hirsel Open next Saturday, followed by Edzell & Cruden Bay Opens the following weekend. 😎

Rudi Skacel

Won my tie. I was 4 up at the turn then missed a putt on 10 for a half, 12, 13 and 14 to win the hole. All from inside 3 feet. He won 5 out of 8 holes on the back 9. Managed to win the last with a birdie to go to a playoff. Halfed the first hole in double bogey and then I won it up the second. An extra hours uneeded golf!! 

However it was a win. 

Great day for playing aswell. 

4 hours ago, Rudi Skacel said:

Won my tie. I was 4 up at the turn then missed a putt on 10 for a half, 12, 13 and 14 to win the hole. All from inside 3 feet. He won 5 out of 8 holes on the back 9. Managed to win the last with a birdie to go to a playoff. Halfed the first hole in double bogey and then I won it up the second. An extra hours uneeded golf!! 

However it was a win. 

Great day for playing aswell. 

We're only interested in the result, not how you just about sold the jersey. Well done and good luck in the next round...😊

9 hours ago, Disser Pointon said:

Hirsel Open next Saturday, followed by Edzell & Cruden Bay Opens the following weekend. 😎

👍🌞🏌️ Good luck 🤞

Opened up my Scottish Golf App this morning, to find a score I had at the Linlithgowshire Seniors at Uphall yesterday.

Interesting, considering I was at work all day.:hae36:

Emailed SG and it has now been removed. I have a fairly uncommon name (not Tommy Brown), I know of one namesake, a Jambo too, but not old enough to play in a seniors comp.

First comp of the year at Kingussie this weekend and first full round since September 3rd last year. Still won’t shoot over 80 😎. Might take a half set to make it a challenge . 

Armageddon
3 hours ago, Irufushi said:

First comp of the year at Kingussie this weekend and first full round since September 3rd last year. Still won’t shoot over 80 😎. Might take a half set to make it a challenge . 

😂😂😂 Take 15 clubs and still shoot 79 😬

6 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Opened up my Scottish Golf App this morning, to find a score I had at the Linlithgowshire Seniors at Uphall yesterday.

Interesting, considering I was at work all day.:hae36:

Emailed SG and it has now been removed. I have a fairly uncommon name (not Tommy Brown), I know of one namesake, a Jambo too, but not old enough to play in a seniors comp.

I know a Tam Broon. Drank in the same pub for years and played in the pubs golf section outings. Not thatu common, as Thomas and Brown are probably quite common names in Scotland,😂

6 hours ago, Irufushi said:

That's part of some folks problems. A half set would do them fine. 

You might not shoot over 80, but like us you'll never win on the PGA/world/LIV tours. 😂 Like the lad at the fives who is better than his mates, but just not good enough to make it. That must be torture.

8 hours ago, Irufushi said:

I’d like to think not… it’s so short it’s a pitch and putt

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I know a Tam Broon. Drank in the same pub for years and played in the pubs golf section outings. Not thatu common, as Thomas and Brown are probably quite common names in Scotland,😂

You've had a woosh moment:wink:

re-read my post

10 hours ago, Irufushi said:

🥱

1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

You've had a woosh moment:wink:

re-read my post

I know, thought I'd ignore it and tell you what's what. 🤪🤓🏌️🌞😎🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿😹🤗💪👍🐴😆😳🤬😭🙈

Big chance of getting in @Irufushi's good books.

Dbs at 14,16 and singles at 15,17.

Ended up 81.

Just got to work out how much my clubs are worth. Bowling club membership are a lot less than golf clubs.

25 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Big chance of getting in @Irufushi's good books.

Dbs at 14,16 and singles at 15,17.

Ended up 81.

Just got to work out how much my clubs are worth. Bowling club membership are a lot less than golf clubs.

Yes they are

18 hours ago, Irufushi said:

Awfy quiet, that the bowling club membership application in?

Rudi Skacel
51 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

just ignore him. He’s just looking for bites. 

56 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Tomorrow morning son. Up at the crack of dawn for an early tee time . 

10 hours ago, sinks said:

Pitch n putt expert 😎

8 minutes ago, Rudi Skacel said:

just ignore him. He’s just looking for bites. 

Nobody ignores the champ. 

9 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Where is it about? Just so I can check the full results 🤣

I had Duddingston today, was in two minds about cancelling due to the game but I’d had it booked for months.

I’d have been better at the game 🤣

4 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Where is it about? Just so I can check the full results 🤣

The pitch n putt at Kingussie. Sinks words, not mine. Sinks has never broke 90 but if he says it’s a pitch n putt then so be it. 

45 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

In out tomorrow, playing for a Quaich. Which is a first. Best ball tomorrow. I have never played this. I'm looking forward to it. The blades might get an outing 👍

Good luck tomorrow, don't let that custard pie smack you right on the kisser. 😆

13 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

In out tomorrow, playing for a Quaich. Which is a first. Best ball tomorrow. I have never played this. I'm looking forward to it. The blades might get an outing 👍

Good luck tomorrow, don't let that custard pie smack you right on the kisser. 😆

Put the blades away ffs. Leave them to the pros 

15 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Put the blades away ffs. Leave them to the pros 

Learned how to play golf with blades. CBs are absolutely pish.

12 hours ago, sinks said:

It's starting to all make sense. The key to breaking 80 is playing really short par 67s 😂

1 hour ago, Irufushi said:

The pitch n putt at Kingussie. Sinks words, not mine. Sinks has never broke 90 but if he says it’s a pitch n putt then so be it. 

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

It's starting to all make sense. The key to breaking 80 is playing really short par 67s 😂

pretty much

4 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It took you this long to figure that out? Cmon taff, ffs. 

4 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

It took you this long to figure that out? Cmon taff, ffs. 

I'd still shoot over 90, never mind 80 in fairness 😂

6 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I'd still shoot over 90, never mind 80 in fairness 😂

No chance. 3 clubs you’d break 90. 

3 hours ago, Irufushi said:

Liked you more when you got angry and called me a hibs fan . 

We were always gonna like each other, you being a slightly lower H/c than me, I would relish the 2 shots you would afford me me on any golf course, ya Hearts ,****😊

13 hours ago, Taffin said:

Sunningdale heath is his home course.🙈😎

13 hours ago, Irufushi said:

No chance. 3 clubs you’d break 90. 

Any updates on you round? Are you 10 over yet? 🧞

Thought for a glorious moment I might have passed the test. Was out in 41 this morning. Back in 44 though.

Still 85 for me is terrific though 

Followed some of @Lord BJ's tips, so thank you!

Second round at 1400. Can't see me getting anywhere near that.