Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

Thinking about Gullane(All of them). Looks superb. 7dys for 350, I think.

Anyone played them.

• Replies 14.9k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

14 minutes ago, Rudi Skacel said:

All 3 courses are great. Love playing there. 

Thought it was a very good deal. Need to find some accommodation for a weekend.

12 hours ago, merrymac said:

Same at Royal Musselburgh on Thursday 20mins late in teeing off and then 41/2 hours in a two ball ☹️. Cost me a prize absolutely knackered in the heat for the last few holes lost concentration and two three putts later was one off the prizes☹️

Royal Muss always ends up with queues at par 3 6th, then par5 9th??

Players wait on 2nd shot, then miss the green by miles.

Great course.

4 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Royal Muss always ends up with queues at par 3 6th, then par5 9th??

Players wait on 2nd shot, then miss the green by miles.

Great course.

Spot on Tommy

6 th had 3 groups when we got there

9 th was worth the wait  though hit my 2nd 

shot to 20 feet lipped out for the eagle though🙂

7 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Thinking about Gullane(All of them). Looks superb. 7dys for 350, I think.

Anyone played them.

All three very good in different ways 

14 hours ago, Rudi Skacel said:

when did you play? We were 3.45 and i was off at 9.30. 

just back from playing blairgowrie. What a course. Loved it. Played the rosemount course off the whites. Hole of the day was the 470 yard par 4 16th. My second shot must have had a look at the hole. Ended up a foot past it for an easy tap in birdie. 

11.15. I can only assume the delays were for folk looking in that rough. 

13 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Spot on Tommy

6 th had 3 groups when we got there

9 th was worth the wait  though hit my 2nd 

shot to 20 feet lipped out for the eagle though

Queue at 6th is still strange, you generally  play the first 5 without waiting.

3 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Queue at 6th is still strange, you generally  play the first 5 without waiting.

Only thing I can think of it’s a tight little hole 

bunker shots hitting in the trees etc time consuming 🤔

Rudi Skacel
4 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

11.15. I can only assume the delays were for folk looking in that rough. 

aye its pretty brutal eh! 

8 hours ago, Rudi Skacel said:

welcome to my world daily!!

Is it always like that or are you short on man power and that's what had to give?

neal-jambos
14 hours ago, Rudi Skacel said:

aye its pretty brutal eh! 

I played the haddington open just after 9 and it took just short of 4 hours. If you ended up in the longer stuff there was no chance of finding a ball.

I went in the water on 4 catching it fat, lost a ball on 5, then nr'd on the 6th after ending up in the rough down the right and not being able to find it when i thought i was short of it. 

Ended up playing quite well after that and got a 2 for the 2s sweep. I would've needed to play under par from the 7th to play to my handicap even if i went back to the tee on 6 so was glad i didn't bother.

Rudi Skacel
1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Is it always like that or are you short on man power and that's what had to give?

Its always been like that sadly. Tbh its abit ridiculous especially when a ball runs into it rather than flies into it. 

42 minutes ago, neal-jambos said:

I played the haddington open just after 9 and it took just short of 4 hours. If you ended up in the longer stuff there was no chance of finding a ball.

I went in the water on 4 catching it fat, lost a ball on 5, then nr'd on the 6th after ending up in the rough down the right and not being able to find it when i thought i was short of it. 

Ended up playing quite well after that and got a 2 for the 2s sweep. I would've needed to play under par from the 7th to play to my handicap even if i went back to the tee on 6 so was glad i didn't bother.

I managed to get two 2’s so that wasnt so bad for me. Had 3 disaster shots that cost me badly but thats golf. Just seen yer score, pretty deflating after your 3rd, 4th and 5th hole as you said!

10 minutes ago, Rudi Skacel said:

Its always been like that sadly. Tbh its abit ridiculous especially when a ball runs into it rather than flies into it. 

That's a shame. Nice enough track but it's tough to enjoy it too much when you're looking in knee height rough with a slight errant tee shot. 

The back 9 seemed to have a lot less of it, and play was certainly quicker than the front 9.

neal-jambos
2 minutes ago, Rudi Skacel said:

I managed to get two 2’s so that wasnt so bad for me. Had 3 disaster shots that cost me badly but thats golf. Just seen yer score, pretty deflating after your 3rd, 4th and 5th hole as you said!

Yeah on the third i pulled my second shot after an alright drive so that was lost then took me a few holes to start swinging normally again! I thought the greens were quite good but a few they put the hole where there was a bit moss and bumps. 6 other people joining me NR'ing on 6 makes me feel a bit better.

Back 9 felt a lot better and easier, apart from nearly ending up on the 14th fairway from the 13th tee ending up right behind the smallest trees on the course. It's a good open for £15. Try to play it most years when i can. 

I've played 5 different courses the last month and the rough everywhere is getting bad. I must've lost more balls in the last month than in the 11 months before it and my handicap is slowly going up the way because of it.

10 minutes ago, neal-jambos said:

Yeah on the third i pulled my second shot after an alright drive so that was lost then took me a few holes to start swinging normally again! I thought the greens were quite good but a few they put the hole where there was a bit moss and bumps. 6 other people joining me NR'ing on 6 makes me feel a bit better.

Back 9 felt a lot better and easier, apart from nearly ending up on the 14th fairway from the 13th tee ending up right behind the smallest trees on the course. It's a good open for £15. Try to play it most years when i can. 

I've played 5 different courses the last month and the rough everywhere is getting bad. I must've lost more balls in the last month than in the 11 months before it and my handicap is slowly going up the way because of it.

I think I was the 6th too.

First round for a week or so, all that rain has done my course a lot of justice. But no longer getting 80 yards of roll from drives :( 

1 hour ago, Rudi Skacel said:

Away down to Duns tomorrow for their open. Anyone else playing?

Playing there in the seniors in a couple of weeks.

My favourite course in the borders, and an underrated wee track

Enjoy

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Some tube made the gleddoch open the same day I go to Edinburgh for the who concert.  :yadayada:

You just cant get the staff these days.

Very early tee time not an option?

1 hour ago, merrymac said:

You just cant get the staff these days.

Very early tee time not an option?

Aye, If I want a slap fae the Mrs. 😃 

14 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Aye, If I want a slap fae the Mrs. 😃 

Worth it IMO

Slap Romance GIFs | Tenor

7 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Dunblane open for me this weekend.

Let us know what you think of it. Always think playing there.

Got my 2nd soaking this week.

Lanark on Tuesday and Uphall today.

Got decent waterproofs now though.

Poor scores in both, was it worth it?

Aye, don't mind the rain anymore, as long as its not hammering down.

Pumphy tomorrow and Baberton Open on Sunday.

British Masters Migliozzi...£5 @ 67's...cash out £23, nah, you gotta roll with it...yeh?...🥴

Dross today, tho my arthritis is causing me grief.  The driver is coming good. Closing in on 300 a couple of times.

Playing Caldwell tomorrow for the  first time. Looking forward to it. Hopefully the weather is better. 

12 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Dross today, tho my arthritis is causing me grief.  The driver is coming good. Closing in on 300 a couple of times.

Playing Caldwell tomorrow for the  first time. Looking forward to it. Hopefully the weather is better. 

Arthritis giving you jip in these temps...ouch. 300y on the cut n prepared? Driver is just a passenger on my Links at the mo...100/130y run...🌶️

Just now, OBE said:

Arthritis giving you jip in these temps...ouch. 300y on the cut n prepared? Driver is just a passenger on my Links at the mo...100/130y run...🌶️

Severe knee pain. Getting auld.

On 30/06/2023 at 15:34, Rudi Skacel said:

Away down to Duns tomorrow for their open. Anyone else playing?

Played there a few years back. Decent track IIRC.

Wouldn't fancy it in today's winds though.

On 30/06/2023 at 22:34, Tommy Brown said:

Let us know what you think of it. Always think playing there.

Got my 2nd soaking this week.

Lanark on Tuesday and Uphall today.

Got decent waterproofs now though.

Poor scores in both, was it worth it?

Aye, don't mind the rain anymore, as long as its not hammering down.

Pumphy tomorrow and Baberton Open on Sunday.

Really good track mate, would highly recommend it. Great variety of holes, some really tough par 3’s (today in the wind anyway) and course was in tremendous condition.

3 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Really good track mate, would highly recommend it. Great variety of holes, some really tough par 3’s (today in the wind anyway) and course was in tremendous condition.

Played Baberton for the first time today, well impressed too.

What you wrote about Dunblane, I would echo for Baberton.

Starter told us it's their first ever Gents Open, which surprised me.

34 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Love Baberton, played a scramble there a couple years back, my favourite Edinburgh city course.

Definitely get yourself booked in for the Dunblane open for next year, you’d enjoy it 👍

49 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

My dad is a member there great course. The greens are fantastic. 

Digressing slightly but I was chatting to ex hearts player jim brown at the course last week. Very nice guy. 

Not played Barberton for a good few years, wasn’t in the best nick after the land sale and re-shuffle. Worth a visit now then?

56 minutes ago, kila said:

Not played Barberton for a good few years, wasn’t in the best nick after the land sale and re-shuffle. Worth a visit now then?

It is in fantastic condition. The greens are superb. 

On 02/07/2023 at 19:20, kila said:

Absolutely