Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

annushorribilis III
1 hour ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

I'm obviously no fan of the govt but I'd have thought regionalised lockdowns where necessary is quite sensible? The issue of course is that they'll show once again that they have no idea of how to manage it or do it effectively. 

Now that London isn't the epicentre and the economy is suffering. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

2 hours ago, The Brow said:

This is where I am with it. Its 20 degrees already down here, I'll be spending the afternoon in the local park pretending to work. 

Have a mates 40th bday drinks to look forwards to on Suinday as well. 

Lockdown is over as far as I am concerned. 

I have the same attitude - almost. But I'm still cautious about catching and passing on the virus so I'll listen to the guidance and do my best. I cycled into the office today and was hoping that I'd be stopped and asked by the polis where I was going and why. I had my sarky Cum-dog based reply ready. 

The trouble will be after a few weeks of gradual relaxation. If we have a second spike and the same government figures ask us to give up things like days out to beauty spots or family cycle rides to a park, those requests will not be taken seriously. Too many people will have that attitude that we have. I know that I will be very reluctant to take a step backwards having been such a well-behaved boy since March. 

2 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

So both these top class parents who only had their child's interests at hearts are natural born liars.

I know that that post is dripping in sarcasm but they are two very different characters when it comes to parenting. 

We know Boris - the shagger - very well. Leaves a trail of children (live and aborted) behind him with no care for anyone but himself.

Describing Cummings as an "odd-ball" avoids what is quite obvious to people who work in the field. He is autistic. Not quite Rain Man autistic but clearly some way along the spectrum. It's claimed that he "gets" society and what people want. He doesn't; he can't. He's very good with data analytics but he'll have struggled throughout this to actually understand the impact it will have on other people and it's why he's unfit to be making decisions that affect so many people. His behaviour surrounding his jaunt to Durham and Barnard Castle supports this; if he'd thought about how others might perceive it, he probably wouldn't have done it or he might have apologised for a mis-judgement. He doesn't understand why other people are upset; it doesn't fit his formula.

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

No one touches us Scots in the dying young/fat fecker stakes. We're table toppers on that score, right across the age groups.

It might be less adhesion to lockdown or density of population centres or something similar. 

The more I think about it, the more I think it's care homes. It seems to be where most deaths are now and so there might be a correlation. I can't imagine there's many care homes in central London given the potential rental costs. So that might explain that.

I also guess there's a poverty link. But that's probably correlated with obesity. 

Maybe a chance they could play the Open championship?

And Welly boots is the Ryder Cup supposed to be held this year?

Police reporting a serious push back from the English public on lockdown since DC broke their trust.

5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Maybe a chance they could play the Open championship?

And Welly boots is the Ryder Cup supposed to be held this year?

Masters is in November. Heard nothing about the Open.

The Open is nothing without the crowds so no rush

2 hours ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Why shouldn’t we have a go at the Scottish government:  nearly everything the UK government gets heavily criticised for has happened in Scotland as well.  Lockdown too late, testing not at capacity, care homes, lack of PPE, high death rates.  In terms of preventing deaths the Scottish government have failed as badly as the UK government.

Where the Scottish government has done better is have a more competent leader who can communicate more clearly and who shows empathy and contrition.  That is impressive and she serves respect but should not detract from some huge failings as per the UK government. 

Nobody said youcant have a go at the Scottish government, I mean you do it every day. All my post was saying was two things. One, GT was blind if he thought his post had been removed as it hadn't. Two, the pish comment on the original post was because it was just a pile of waffle when what he really meant was snp bad. As I said, fair enough if you don't like/hate our government, just be honest about it 

2 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Very true ! During the blitz in the Second World War when apparently we were all in it together most deaths occurred to working classes whilst the middle / upper classes retreated to their country houses . It’s never really changed 

On ther hand if you were an officer in WW1 virtually all of whom were from a privileged background your survival chances were low compared to those you commanded. And in WW2 fighter pilots and bomber crews again mainly from privileged backgrounds had very short life spans compared to others. 

A lot of the core working class including in my mining family were exempt from military service though of course faced other dangers war or no war. 

And the middle class didn't on the whole flee to their country houses in WW2  ... Not many middle class people had second homes!

1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

I have the same attitude - almost. But I'm still cautious about catching and passing on the virus so I'll listen to the guidance and do my best. I cycled into the office today and was hoping that I'd be stopped and asked by the polis where I was going and why. I had my sarky Cum-dog based reply ready. 

The trouble will be after a few weeks of gradual relaxation. If we have a second spike and the same government figures ask us to give up things like days out to beauty spots or family cycle rides to a park, those requests will not be taken seriously. Too many people will have that attitude that we have. I know that I will be very reluctant to take a step backwards having been such a well-behaved boy since March. 

I know that that post is dripping in sarcasm but they are two very different characters when it comes to parenting. 

We know Boris - the shagger - very well. Leaves a trail of children (live and aborted) behind him with no care for anyone but himself.

Describing Cummings as an "odd-ball" avoids what is quite obvious to people who work in the field. He is autistic. Not quite Rain Man autistic but clearly some way along the spectrum. It's claimed that he "gets" society and what people want. He doesn't; he can't. He's very good with data analytics but he'll have struggled throughout this to actually understand the impact it will have on other people and it's why he's unfit to be making decisions that affect so many people. His behaviour surrounding his jaunt to Durham and Barnard Castle supports this; if he'd thought about how others might perceive it, he probably wouldn't have done it or he might have apologised for a mis-judgement. He doesn't understand why other people are upset; it doesn't fit his formula.

Ha, ha,

I was talking about Cumming's wife who has also been embellishing, fabricating and lying about her covid experience....

Now you make me feel bad about total criticism of Cummings.

So pressure is back onto Johnson who has used Cummings to get power but now he has got it, is now using him in a capacity that his is way beyond his capabilities and - or the way that his thought process works.

3 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Ha, ha,

I was talking about Cumming's wife who has also been embellishing, fabricating and lying about her covid experience....

Now you make me feel bad about total criticism of Cummings.

So pressure is back onto Johnson who has used Cummings to get power but now he has got it, is now using him in a capacity that his is way beyond his capabilities and - or the way that his thought process works.

Don't. All that might have happened with that analysis (and a diagnosis from afar made by a hugely experienced psychologist with a specialist interest in autism) is that you are more aware of why Cummings did what he did. It doesn't make it any more acceptable. 

He's very intelligent and he's dangerous. He's inveigled himself into a position that he shouldn't hold only because he's surrounded by ineptitude. He probably feels disgust for people like Gove and Johnson for being so craven - he wouldn't be wrong in that - and manipulates them to get what he wants, regardless of the consequences to the population. 

I am totally critical of him in his role. His family life is another matter. It just so happens that he's married someone else to whom lying and entitlement is second nature. 

Boris is a bumbling fool. Evidence on Sky News as he tries to evade probing questions. 

Watching his performance in front of the Liaison Committee. My wife keeps telling me he's supposed to be a very intelligent man. I don't get it

I just see a bumbling office bullshitter

It's embarrassing

Brighton Jambo
1 hour ago, XB52 said:

Nobody said youcant have a go at the Scottish government, I mean you do it every day. All my post was saying was two things. One, GT was blind if he thought his post had been removed as it hadn't. Two, the pish comment on the original post was because it was just a pile of waffle when what he really meant was snp bad. As I said, fair enough if you don't like/hate our government, just be honest about it 

I don’t have a go at them every day.  Today I did and when I did I provided balance by praising them in contrast to the UK government.

I have never seen you provide balance in a similar way.

i don’t like the Scottish government because I don’t agree with the politics of the SNP but this is the coronavirus thread and so like many other posters am trying to comment only on that and as best as I can put my politics to one side for this thread.  Something you seem incapable of.  

5 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

I don’t have a go at them every day.  Today I did and when I did I provided balance by praising them in contrast to the UK government.

I have never seen you provide balance in a similar way.

i don’t like the Scottish government because I don’t agree with the politics of the SNP but this is the coronavirus thread and so like many other posters am trying to comment only on that and as best as I can put my politics to one side for this thread.  Something you seem incapable of.  

Aye been guilty of it myself lately although I don't hold any degree of loyalty to any party.What we shouldn't forget amongst it all though is that things are definitely heading in the right direction in with the virus now.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Police reporting a serious push back from the English public on lockdown since DC broke their trust.

i've noticed the last 2 days that the traffic beside my work around crewe toll has increased big time from monday, i've seen queues at bus stops as well, seen a concrete delivery truck dropping off at a house down inverleith this afternoon as workmen hung about . i think dom's driveathon has a few scots sticking the fingers up to the rules as well.

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

It was always going to be a shit show with that bumbling arsehole. 

No one there to work him from behind.

Let's face it, the real power is a fecker who drives a car with dodgy eyes, has a liar for a ride, and a child who merely a pawn in their dirty game.

Well said Jonno. And here was me thinking that the US had it bad

Car and commercial vehicle use has been rising steadily for quite a few weeks now.    In a way,   it's been a slow and steady return to higher activity which could be beneficial to be able to monitor the effect in the infection data.

10 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

It was always going to be a shit show with that bumbling arsehole. 

No one there to work him from behind.

Let's face it, the real power is a fecker who drives a car with dodgy eyes, has a liar for a wife, and a child who is merely a pawn in their dirty game.

18 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

i've noticed the last 2 days that the traffic beside my work around crewe toll has increased big time from monday, i've seen queues at bus stops as well, seen a concrete delivery truck dropping off at a house down inverleith this afternoon as workmen hung about . i think dom's driveathon has a few scots sticking the fingers up to the rules as well.

Traffic has been slowly growing for a week or two. 

Brighton Jambo
25 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Aye been guilty of it myself lately although I don't hold any degree of loyalty to any party.What we shouldn't forget amongst it all though is that things are definitely heading in the right direction in with the virus now.

Totally agree mate, I’m feeling this week is a bit of a turning point.

You wouldn't take a burst pay packet home to Yvette Cooper - she could challenge Fatty Blackford as the top crabbit auld boot

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Hopefully the virus just disappears. Yes , but hopefully. 

No no no, Boris and Co will have defeated it.

:sarcasm:

7 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Hopefully the virus just disappears. Yes , but hopefully. 

That is a possibility.  He predcited that it would also just vanish.  Lets hope hes right

dk-696x435.jpg

Edited by JamesM48

6 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Traffic has been slowly growing for a week or two. 

it has but gradually, the last 2 days have been a big increase, i was really surprised seeing 6 folk standing waiting on a bus yesterday, lucky to see one person before that

8 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

You wouldn't take a burst pay packet home to Yvette Cooper - she could challenge Fatty Blackford as the top crabbit auld boot

For context 

Just now, reaths17 said:

it has but gradually, the last 2 days have been a big increase, i was really surprised seeing 6 folk standing waiting on a bus yesterday, lucky to see one person before that

I actually meant that they've been telling the polis to eff off, down south.

Anyone watching Hat Mancock?

Absolute nerve to stand up and spout the same pish, stay at home, team effort blah blah.

People have chucked it.

Thats the legacy of the weekends nonsense

coconut doug
5 hours ago, Brighton Jambo said:

This is a genuine question and not an attempt at any kind of point scoring etc.

why if Scotland has always been a couple of weeks behind England is the death rate pretty much comparable?  Surely if we were two weeks behind and went into lockdown at the same time our death rates and infection rates should be much lower like what happened in Ireland for example.

i don’t get it.  

We were unable to impose our own lockdown, unlike Ireland. We are not a couple of weeks behind England. We might be a couple of weeks behind London but as with many U.K. statistics London is the outlier. I have read figures that show infection rates and death rates considerably lower than England but there are many differing statistics collated in different ways and i really do not know which are accurate. If the FT figures are correct then the English figures are the worst in the world.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

I actually meant that they've been telling the polis to eff off, down south.

i think ignoring the rules is much the same. although weve been better behaved so far, we've been locked up just as long and will probably feel as much agrieved at that prick as down south

AlimOzturk

Test and trace app. So you get a phone call telling you to self isolate even without symptoms. What happebs if you come out and come into contact with someone else who has been exposed. Would they tell you to self isolate again? 

Will there be folk who are exempt such as NHS and key workers?

Edited by AlimOzturk

Brighton Jambo
4 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

We were unable to impose our own lockdown, unlike Ireland. We are not a couple of weeks behind England. We might be a couple of weeks behind London but as with many U.K. statistics London is the outlier. I have read figures that show infection rates and death rates considerably lower than England but there are many differing statistics collated in different ways and i really do not know which are accurate. If the FT figures are correct then the English figures are the worst in the world.

That’s the thing with all these statistics is it’s hard to know what to believe.  

I do believe England’s figures will be bad but there are some countries that are clearly ripping the p@ss with numbers, China, Russia, Brazil to name but three.  Also I read that Italy doesn’t include care homes deaths but France does and Spain does in some regions only so it’s all over the shop.

like Others have said in a years time we will know much better.  

coconut doug
4 hours ago, Brighton Jambo said:

When I was watching it they were grilling her over the care homes issue which is fair enough as the percentage of Scottish deaths in care homes horrendous and was directly attributable to Scottish government and Scottish Health service decision making.  I think that is a more than credible topic.  

I don't think we know comparable figures for Care Homes yet and if it is the case that things are worse in Scotland then deaths elsewhere i.e. in the community will be proportionately higher in England.

I'm not sure how you can substantiate your claim that a high death rate in Care homes is directly attributable to the Scottish government and Scottish Health service decision making. Do these institutions not have some responsibility as to how well they looked after their residents and how well they prepared for this eventuality. They are supposed to be the experts in geriatric care.

No need for an inquiry.

Tax dodging American PEP = Good    Scottish Government/SNP = Bad 

coconut doug
Just now, Brighton Jambo said:

That’s the thing with all these statistics is it’s hard to know what to believe.  

I do believe England’s figures will be bad but there are some countries that are clearly ripping the p@ss with numbers, China, Russia, Brazil to name but three.  Also I read that Italy doesn’t include care homes deaths but France does and Spain does in some regions only so it’s all over the shop.

like Others have said in a years time we will know much better.  

So why have a go at Scotland then?

gashauskis9

Can someone explain to me the purpose of NHS test and trace?  Surely if the vast majority of us have followed the lockdown rules, then the only people we’ll have come into contact with who we’d be able to trace would have been those in the same household or at work?  Unless we’re asking for contact details from every disobedient who squeezes past us on our daily exercise or out shopping, then I’m struggling to see how this will prove anything.  Horse has bolted.  

Edited by gashauskis9

9 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

I don't think we know comparable figures for Care Homes yet and if it is the case that things are worse in Scotland then deaths elsewhere i.e. in the community will be proportionately higher in England.

I'm not sure how you can substantiate your claim that a high death rate in Care homes is directly attributable to the Scottish government and Scottish Health service decision making. Do these institutions not have some responsibility as to how well they looked after their residents and how well they prepared for this eventuality. They are supposed to be the experts in geriatric care.

No need for an inquiry.

Is the high death rate in care homes in England directly attributable to the UK government?

9 minutes ago, gashauskis9 said:

Can someone explain to me the purpose of NHS test and trace?  Surely if the vast majority of us have followed the lockdown rules, then the only people we’ll have come into contact with who we’d be able to trace would have been those in the same household or at work?  Unless we’re asking for contact details from every disobedient who squeezes past us on our daily exercise or out shopping, then I’m struggling to see how this will prove anything.  Horse has bolted.  

Is it not for when lockdown starts to be gradually lifted?

6 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

No need for an inquiry.

To deny there are questions is...well you may have your priorities, fair enough.

Nicola Sturgeon has said the last 2 days that it wasn't safe for older people in hospital.

Wouldn't mind seeing that explained a bit more. Are hospitals not safe now? She and UK Government also say they didn't know much about the virus. Well an inquiry can review what was known at the start of March. I thought quite a lot was known. At that point South Korea for example had it under control. Or if they just didn't use enough care or effort over things like testing. 

Anyway the focus was on allowing the NHS to cope. If you focus on one thing you risk causing other problems. 

10 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

So why have a go at Scotland then?

Why have at go at Westminster?

In both cases criticism should be welcome where deserved surely?

11 minutes ago, gashauskis9 said:

In Scotland it will just be close contacts or people you spent time with.

Not just anyone at the supermarket.

7 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Is the high death rate in care homes in England directly attributable to the UK government?

Of course not. Nor anywhere else. If blame attaches it applies to all governments past and present who have failed to regulate care homes and to those who shipped out hospital patients to them which was not a directed government choice as far as I know.

Edited by Francis Albert

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic