• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

24 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

All stonemasons are crabbit. :D

My old journeyman told me on my first day as an apprentice that I only needed two fundamental qualities to be a good stonemason. A big belly to roll the big lumps of stone onto when you're carrying them, and a bad attitude.

I don't recognise the initials, sorry. 

First name Frank.

23 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

From the other end of Earl Grey Street270025297_EarlGreyStreet003.jpg.70bd45d7aa6cb0ec5647f9d2162571de.jpg

That was all Spookerection for me as a kid

1 hour ago, luckyBatistuta said:

That was all Spookerection for me as a kid

AA stores for me. The owners kids were at Craiglockhart Primary, good Jambos or Azumpur Football Club Uttara  I forget now its been 50 years.

2 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

All stonemasons are crabbit. :D

My old journeyman told me on my first day as an apprentice that I only needed two fundamental qualities to be a good stonemason. A big belly to roll the big lumps of stone onto when you're carrying them, and a bad attitude.

I don't recognise the initials, sorry. 

Wish I had been a stonemason instead of a chippy. :sad:

10 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Wish I had been a stonemason instead of a chippy. :sad:

Young man's game, Cruyff. 

Which I'd been a chippy instead of a stonemason. 

Most of the joiners I know work for themselves and have done bloody well for themsemves. 

I never had the balls to start up for myself and winters can be brutal. 

Macvitties Guest. Though at the time of this photo was not a Macvitties Guest.

20210805_151249.thumb.jpg.73262069ae1cae3ed74edf4118670cf2.jpg

40 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Young man's game, Cruyff. 

Which I'd been a chippy instead of a stonemason. 

Most of the joiners I know work for themselves and have done bloody well for themsemves. 

I never had the balls to start up for myself and winters can be brutal. 

Defo Gov, 

There's hardly any stonemasons though, they can charge what they want.

Joiners are ten a penny. 

38 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Defo Gov, 

There's hardly any stonemasons though, they can charge what they want.

Joiners are ten a penny. 

Good joiners are worth their weight in gold, though. 👍

Might go back to the masonry if the arse falls out of oil and gas exploration again. Certainly a lot less stressful. 🤷‍♂️

3 hours ago, argyjambo said:

First name Frank.

Sorry, Argy, doesn't ring a bell. Doesn't mean I havent met him, though. I left the trade for good just over a decade ago, but have had the pleasure of working beside a good few gnarly old masons over the years.

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I'm fairly sure it was a McVitties Guest, round the corner from Binns at the east end of Princes Street, that I used to go to for my tea if I was staying in town after working in Coates Crescent. It was quite a good, spacious cafe as I recall. Nearly 50 years ago 😮. Good memories of working in that area of town.

14 minutes ago, Pap said:

Hyvot's Terrace. If you've anymore photo's of Hyvots, please post them mate :thumb:

It looks like my old childhood flat. 

3 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Good joiners are worth their weight in gold, though. 👍

Might go back to the masonry if the arse falls out of oil and gas exploration again. Certainly a lot less stressful. 🤷‍♂️

Sorry, Argy, doesn't ring a bell. Doesn't mean I havent met him, though. I left the trade for good just over a decade ago, but have had the pleasure of working beside a good few gnarly old masons over the years.

Nae bother Guvnor, he's been deceased since 2004 at age 74, he was working up till age 70. Re your description of a Mason with a big belly & an attitude, he had neither. Slim but muscular, as a young man he boxed & was a PTI in the army. Late 60's early 70's were lean times for stonemasons as most new builds were brick or concrete. I laboured for him at age 16/17, the cry was always mair Compo!

He went back to his trade  (self employed) after a few years in the GPO, his colleague Colin Campbell welcomed me into the Manor Hearts supporters club, that was an Eye opener for me.

Still miss him, after 17 years.

1 hour ago, Pap said:

Hyvot's Terrace. If you've anymore photo's of Hyvots, please post them mate :thumb:

Don't have anymore photos,stayed in 1/4 Hyvot Terrace from about 75 - 81.My grandad lived there until it was knocked down.I remember them  trees getting planted!!

Edited by weegranty

6 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Macvitties guest shop is now part of the pharmacy 

pharmaceutical01
7 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

That’s my pharmacy on the right hand side before we took over the bakery

pharmaceutical01

Aw shucks 3FR beat me to it - got a bit too excited there

Edited by pharmaceutical01

1 hour ago, pharmaceutical01 said:

That’s my pharmacy on the right hand side before we took over the bakery

Did the bakery become a Druggs?

9 hours ago, pharmaceutical01 said:

Aw shucks 3FR beat me to it - got a bit too excited there

Should’ve been the first maroon coloured pharmacy , too much green in there 😉🇱🇻🇱🇻

On 30/07/2021 at 10:19, Maroon Sailor said:

The Yellow Carvel

20210730_101833.thumb.jpg.c5722b7033632eda75454c80d7092e78.jpg

Just looking back a few pages to catch up and saw this photo of Tam White, a bit of a character back in the day.  What a mixed life he had, on Taggart, Rebus, Eastender's and River City later on in his life.  Liked a wee drink for many a year then went aff it and into the gym!!

49 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Just looking back a few pages to catch up and saw this photo of Tam White, a bit of a character back in the day.  What a mixed life he had, on Taggart, Rebus, Eastender's and River City later on in his life.  Liked a wee drink for many a year then went aff it and into the gym!!

Died after a gym session

Was also a Stonemason 

53 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Am I right he was a stonemason too.

Sure my elder brother worked with him many a time?

On 04/08/2021 at 20:33, luckyBatistuta said:

Apologies if this has already been posted, losing track here

Newton Street Party, 1953

B668F771-84C0-4342-B2D5-34B67B2F1967.jpeg

Not a royalist by any means but I do see the joy our grandparents had back in the day from events like the Coronoation etc.  Really did bring streets together.  I'd cross the street if I seen any of my neighbours walking down the road and don't know the name of anyone in my street.  

Times were just better back then.

Loving the inside of pub pictures.  Any more?

Pubs were amazing back then.  Smoke and proper pint glasses.

1 hour ago, joondalupjambo said:

Sh it ey Whitey as he was affectionately known. 

That's some pic - the guy front left of pic looks very familiar to me. 

On 05/08/2021 at 09:14, argyjambo said:

Senior Secondaries were in existence before the Introduction of comprehensive education in the 1970's. The new Broughton school was opened in 1972, I got the spring/summer term there before I left in 1972.

Did you have to pass the 11+ exam to get in ? 

Tam White And The Dexters used to be an essential gig back in the day. Every Sunday night in the Preservation Hall. For me a lot of the interest was the guitarist (Jim Condie I think). Great band that could take on songs by people like Ry Cooder and do them justice. 

pharmaceutical01
3 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

Should’ve been the first maroon coloured pharmacy , too much green in there 😉🇱🇻🇱🇻

We make up for it, matey!

55 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Loving the inside of pub pictures.  Any more?

Pubs were amazing back then.  Smoke and proper pint glasses.

Alan Anderson's pub. Need a reminder of what it was called

20210806_120119.thumb.jpg.d6ca70dd53f0d2137cf5b8cde266bb8a.jpg

1628247762811.thumb.png.d47788a64e659b547252a5f4e8c6778e.png