Edinburgh History

Posted
1 hour ago, PTBCAL said:

Five of us in a one bedroom flat at Ritchie Place late 70s

I was getting a tin bath on a Sunday then - getting my hair washed with washing up liquid 😕

The good old days.😁

• Replies 20.8k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

the posh bit
Posted
On 05/04/2024 at 11:10, Dawnrazor said:

The green and white buses, I can't remember when they were.

The 72 left Edinburgh about 15 minutes after the 74, the 72 turned at Cameron Crescent and I had to walk up the back road, past the cemetery, through the wee park to get home, the 74 went all the way to Rosewell.

Pretty sure the SMT 74 came down Polton Brae and up via Loanhead, Straiton, Burdiehouse and into Edinburgh via Liberton. 

Posted
2 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

Five of us in a one bedroom flat at Ritchie Place late 70s

I was getting a tin bath on a Sunday then - getting my hair washed with washing up liquid 😕

And wiping your arse with yesterdays newspaper!🤣

Posted
8 hours ago, Canscot said:

And wiping your arse with yesterdays newspaper!🤣

The Daily Mail had its uses.

Posted
On 12/04/2024 at 16:33, Mister T said:

Also good for riots

Hellish if you wear high heels though 

Dawnrazor
Posted
11 hours ago, the posh bit said:

Pretty sure the SMT 74 came down Polton Brae and up via Loanhead, Straiton, Burdiehouse and into Edinburgh via Liberton. 

You could be right, it was a long time ago.

Posted
17 hours ago, the posh bit said:

5 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

You could be right, it was a long time ago.

The 74 went through Loanhead to Lasswade then Polton Mill Road End.  The 72 went to penicuik. The 78 and 79 went to Rosewell via Dalkeith, Bonnyrigg and Polton Mill Road End. The 76 was a twice a day bus that went to Lasswade then Polton Village ( not via Loanhead ).  

Yours

Billy Bus 

Dawnrazor
Posted
1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

The 74 went through Loanhead to Lasswade then Polton Mill Road End.  The 72 went to penicuik. The 78 and 79 went to Rosewell via Dalkeith, Bonnyrigg and Polton Mill Road End. The 76 was a twice a day bus that went to Lasswade then Polton Village ( not via Loanhead ).  

Yours

Billy Bus 

That'll be it, cheers👍

Dawnrazor
Posted

There was also a Rosewell Express bus that went straight up to Roswell rather than turn left onto to Polton Road or Lane and up the back road.

Posted
18 hours ago, the posh bit said:

Didn't go down Polton Brae, went down to Lasswade and up to Loanhead via Wadingburn/Kevock.  

Posted
16 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

There was also a Rosewell Express bus that went straight up to Roswell rather than turn left onto to Polton Road or Lane and up the back road.

At one point ( late 70s ) the 79A went via Polton Mill and the 79 went straight up past the Rugby club.  

Dawnrazor
Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

At one point ( late 70s ) the 79A went via Polton Mill and the 79 went straight up past the Rugby club.  

Edited by Dawnrazor
  • 4 weeks later...
PortyBeach
Posted
On 03/04/2024 at 11:39, dannymack said:

That's the Old Burdiehouse Inn, then it changed to The Bird in Hand then finally Old Bordeaux. 

Visited that establishment many a time in the passing, further up the road was The Straiton Inn, scene of a many good old Sunday session. 20220625_224933.thumb.jpg.aa4e8d6a9845feae946dd3ec845bab9a.jpg

Screenshot_20211229-232925_Chrome.thumb.jpg.52505a8896d15c09c5315d72473ad8bc.jpg

Wow! An extract from the “Edinburgh Pub Guide” (published 1970-71?).

Haven’t seen that in years…

• 3 weeks later...
Posted

Certainly remember this from my childhood . My mum cleaning  stair and pavement , as most of the neighbours did . It’s not the case now I feel . Some clarty stairs now a days . Sad times . 

IMG_8225.jpeg

IMG_8226.jpeg

Posted
8 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Certainly remember this from my childhood . My mum cleaning  stair and pavement , as most of the neighbours did . It’s not the case now I feel . Some clarty stairs now a days . Sad times . 

IMG_8225.jpeg

IMG_8226.jpeg

Likewise. We were in an upstairs flat in a 'four in a block' council house. The upstairs and downstairs houses had their front doors right next to each other on the gable end. My mother scrubbed her front steps with bleach until they gleamed white. Downstairs neighbours didn't, so there was a noticeable difference. I can't see any one doing that now - Personally I have to jet wash the mono block every spring, and that's about it.....

Posted
1 minute ago, Daktari said:

Likewise. We were in an upstairs flat in a 'four in a block' council house. The upstairs and downstairs houses had their front doors right next to each other on the gable end. My mother scrubbed her front steps with bleach until they gleamed white. Downstairs neighbours didn't, so there was a noticeable difference. I can't see any one doing that now - Personally I have to jet wash the mono block every spring, and that's about it.....

Similar to me . I still clean my stair but no one else does , often find dropped litter in stair too and cig ends . Clarty gits . 

Posted
2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Similar to me . I still clean my stair but no one else does , often find dropped litter in stair too and cig ends . Clarty gits . 

Seen this and thought of you James!

FB_IMG_1718626569512.thumb.jpg.ea22740adb52724a47f5382413cd3eab.jpg

Posted
9 minutes ago, superjack said:

Seen this and thought of you James!

FB_IMG_1718626569512.thumb.jpg.ea22740adb52724a47f5382413cd3eab.jpg

That’s me ! 😂😂

Posted
On 03/05/2024 at 07:02, Footballfirst said:

I can recall visiting my grandmother in the early 1960s, who stayed in a miners row in a Lanarkshire village. There were no indoor toilet or bath/shower facilities.  You used the kitchen sink to get washed, or in the case of a young child it was a zinc bath in front of the fire.

Vintage Zinc Bath for Hire | Props | displays | Scotland | Perthshire |  Glasgow

We had one of them, us first then the dug. 👀

Posted (edited)

image.thumb.png.87bed32766bb4caaa81500f22ff99cf2.png

Discovered the old railway line route between the end of Dundee Terrace and Slateford when walking at the weekend and saw where Merchiston Station was

http://carnethy.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Merchiston-Station_Then-and-Now-300x88.jpg?x15723

Edited by Shanks said no
Angry Haggis
Posted
10 hours ago, Shanks said no said:

image.thumb.png.87bed32766bb4caaa81500f22ff99cf2.png

Discovered the old railway line route between the end of Dundee Terrace and Slateford when walking at the weekend and saw where Merchiston Station was

http://carnethy.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Merchiston-Station_Then-and-Now-300x88.jpg?x15723

If you dig back in this thread (least I think it was this thread) there was a YouTube link to a piece of old footage of a train coming through Ardmillian heading to the old Princes street station and passing right by the Diggers, where the exit of the now current W Approach Road is. 

It’s great to see, just hard to find 🙈

Montgomery Brewster
Posted
21 hours ago, JWL said:

Edinburgh retro: 19 photo memories from when Auld Reekie was a beer-making powerhouse with almost 40 breweries

Remember going on a visit to the fountain brewery when at school. All the cans of red death whirring about the place. What a beer.

Posted
1 hour ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Remember going on a visit to the fountain brewery when at school. All the cans of red death whirring about the place. What a beer.

Looking back Tartan Special was shite.

Posted
1 hour ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

I think that is the Canongate brewery. 

Posted
2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I used to quite enjoy a pint of Special, both Tartan and Tennent's.

Posted
2 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

It was always bottom of the pecking order with the old boys at new year. Once the export and pale ale had gone there was always tartan left. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Tazio said:

It was always bottom of the pecking order with the old boys at new year. Once the export and pale ale had gone there was always tartan left. 

Pale Ale was the green can, right?

I was well underage so never got into that. I loved, and still do love, a can or pint of Export, though.

It was available in glass bottles a couple of years ago and was fantastic. A lot better than the canned stuff.

Posted

Tennents Special 70" was my go to tin, I much preferred it to Export or Tartan.

Posted
11 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

To be honest Tartan Special was mostly the only thing I drunk and the occasional Skol.

Mispent youth.😁

Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Pale Ale was the green can, right?

I was well underage so never got into that. I loved, and still do love, a can or pint of Export, though.

It was available in glass bottles a couple of years ago and was fantastic. A lot better than the canned stuff.

Yep. Younger’s Pale Ale. When I was a kid I could never work out why it was the darkest coloured beer but called Pale Ale. Whitson’s in Leith was the only place I remember having it on draft. It was a nice drop out the tap but not as good as Export when they were from a can. 

Edited by Tazio
Posted
3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Tennents Special 70" was my go to tin, I much preferred it to Export or Tartan.

I bought a 12 can box from Tesco a couple of weeks ago for nostalgia purposes and polished it off in a few hours. Much lower in alcohol than my regular gutrot so went down an absolute treat. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Posted
2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

👍 Aye.  Sampling a pint of Sam Smith's in Yorkshire 40+ years ago was a real eye-opener for me as to just how sh1te our Scottish beers were in comparison.   

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I bought a 12 can box from Tesco a couple of weeks ago for nostalgia purposes and polished it off in a few hours. Much lower in alcohol than my regular gutrot so went down an absolute treat. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

The Village Inn in Rosewell was a Tennents shop when I started drinking, my Da' was an 80" man, I preferred the 70", a bit more fizz, John the landlord, used to run Diggers for a while, knew how to keep his beer, I was soon onto on draught but still preferred the 70" in a tin. I've not seen it down here but I can get Export in a few places.

Edited by Dawnrazor
Posted
2 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

👍 Aye.  Sampling a pint of Sam Smith's in Yorkshire 40+ years ago was a real eye-opener for me as to just how sh1te our Scottish beers were in comparison.   

It sticks in my craw to say it, but there are some beautiful English beers, I'm spoilt for brewery's around me.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

It sticks in my craw to say it, but there are some beautiful English beers, I'm spoilt for brewery's around me.

Beer in general has come a long way in the last 10 / 20 years. Some cracking breweries everywhere.

I was in St John's, Newfoundland joining a vessel last week and there are a multitude of local breweries punting out fantastic stuff. 

Posted
Just now, il Duce McTarkin said:

Beer in general has come a long way in the last 10 / 20 years. Some cracking breweries everywhere.

I was in St John's, Newfoundland joining a vessel last week and there are a multitude of local breweries punting out fantastic stuff. 

Our local posh store stocks a lot of American beers, they seem to be on rotation so plenty of choice, I've had some great IPA's.

I do but some Broughton Brewery beers, I suggest a mixed box a couple of times a year, but my go to now is Vocation, and out local Brewery in Kirkby Lonsdale.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I used to like visiting the in-laws in the midlands to try out the local beers. 

Posted
19 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Absolutely. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Indeed.  You can't beat a long-established country pub/hotel in the north of England or Scotland - the atmosphere, history & beers (and usually the meals too) are just so memorable & relaxing.  Sadly there seems to be fewer of them surviving these days - no idea if its down to dwindling custom, or just fewer  folk wanting to rmake a career of running places like that.

7 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

You're right about that.  Its good for the soul knowing you're supporting a  wee local brewery.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Our local posh store stocks a lot of American beers, they seem to be on rotation so plenty of choice, I've had some great IPA's.

I do but some Broughton Brewery beers, I suggest a mixed box a couple of times a year, but my go to now is Vocation, and out local Brewery in Kirkby Lonsdale.

Like some of the Vocation stuff.

In keeping with Edinburgh history, my father-in-law used to taste beer for a living at Drybrough's brewery in Craigmillar once upon a time.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I used to like visiting the in-laws in the midlands to try out the local beers. 

Folk I'm out with usually take the piss because, if I'm in a pub with a good few different beers on draught, I'll drink half pints, just so I can sample more.

Posted

Like some of the Vocation stuff.

In keeping with Edinburgh history, my father-in-law used to taste beer for a living at Drybrough's brewery in Craigmillar once upon a time.

Dream job!

Posted
1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

I'll drink half pints

:muggy:

Posted

:muggy:

🤣 That's the reaction!

But, in my defence, I've tried and remembered so many more beers than I would've if I'd had pints.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

But, in my defence, I've tried and remembered so many more beers than I would've if I'd had pints.

That's not a defence. You just need to try them a second time. Third even.

Posted
Just now, il Duce McTarkin said:

That's not a defence. You just need to try them a second time. Third even.

It's a system that works Guv!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

It's a system that works Guv!

Fair enough. Do you get your drinks here?

image.png.ab47214acd7b86b481f446bfffbc4316.png