Edinburgh History

5 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

Calder Road near the prison entrance??

The wee stretch there between Gorgie Road and Calder Road's called Stenhouse Road. I only know that because I know someone who lives there.

• Replies 19k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

Radio Ga Ga
1 hour ago, Lemongrab said:

The wee stretch there between Gorgie Road and Calder Road's called Stenhouse Road. I only know that because I know someone who lives there.

13 minutes ago, Mister T said:

Age of steam isn't dead yet. This was in Waverley this morning 

IMG_20210731_192119.jpg

7 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20210731_165612.thumb.jpg.c80667aab60104e68cc14d589a1c3611.jpg

Cracking photo MS.  Is that looking up Lauriston Place?  It looks like what is now the pawnbrokers to the left of the bus and the old NCB offices above. No sign of the art college if it is.

ArcticJambo
10 hours ago, Mister T said:

Magnificent art deco. Still looks like something from the future

Unfortunately it currently looks a mess.

6 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Cracking photo MS.  Is that looking up Lauriston Place?  It looks like what is now the pawnbrokers to the left of the bus and the old NCB offices above. No sign of the art college if it is.

Aye - big changes to that area

19 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Where is this ?

Is that not heading towards the Grassmarket ?

1 hour ago, Biko said:

Is it Lady Lawson Street where this monstosity is ?

?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftse3.mm.bing.net%2Fth%3Fid%3DOIP.PhLkIw9XwZEyobrhf52xbQHaEz%26pid%3DApi&f=1

Argyle House one of Edinburgh's notorious brutalist eyesores.

Been transformed inside tho'  ...21168_147251_5.jpg

Edited by felix

2 hours ago, Biko said:

Is it Lady Lawson Street where this monstosity is ?

?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftse3.mm.bing.net%2Fth%3Fid%3DOIP.PhLkIw9XwZEyobrhf52xbQHaEz%26pid%3DApi&f=1

A grade 2 listed monstrosity unfortunately.

54 minutes ago, Pap said:

Looks like a UFO 😁

Also. Is that a bus on a roof?

:D It does look like the bus is on a roof, but I think it's going up Lothian Road just having passed Shakespeares.

Edited by Lemongrab

On 01/08/2021 at 08:18, Lemongrab said:

:D It does look like the bus is on a roof, but I think it's going up Lothian Road just having passed Shakespeares.

correct the fence behind the bus with all the advertising was the fence to the Caley Station goods yard, the dome is the Usher hall, and the front building had the Pooles Synod Hall as well as the Jean Reynolds Dancing School and other offices.

7 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

correct the fence behind the bus with all the advertising was the fence to the Caley Station goods yard, the dome is the Usher hall, and the front building had the Pooles Synod Hall as well as the Jean Reynolds Dancing School and other offices.

Cheers Bob. 👍

24 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Have we got confirmation / general agreement of where this is ?!

20210801_090424.thumb.jpg.d4738e9f854b469e3962f5e808527daf.jpg

It could be West Port with Lady Lawson Street going off to the left.  The gable end on this one looks similar.

163359-489363334454688-336312636-n.png

23 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

It could be West Port with Lady Lawson Street going off to the left.  The gable end on this one looks similar.

I'm going for West Port

No idea what James Thomson & Son Motor Factors became in the other picture

43 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

Had to look up Poole's Synod Hall

Looked classy

20210802_191701.jpg.e7943ded6656740b5ba96e84036d7b4f.jpg

36 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Had to look up Poole's Synod Hall

Looked classy

20210802_191701.jpg.e7943ded6656740b5ba96e84036d7b4f.jpg

It's speciality was horror movies.

26 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

It's speciality was horror movies.

I went there as a young soldier on leave from twenty months in Egypt, cannae mind the movies, but the usherettes were special. Had a few dates.

14 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

I went there as a young soldier on leave from twenty months in Egypt, cannae mind the movies, but the usherettes were special. Had a few dates.

😀👍

2 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Some cracking adverts on the wall. Paster must have had some length of ladder

PSX_20210802_210709-colorized.jpg

49 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Without a doubt the best thread on Kickback.

Without a doubt.Some amazing photos.

13 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Anyone know what they huts were in the foreground ?

20210802_235715.jpg.466e2151e9daff07762d29a3262c9b7f.jpg

The Woods Youth Centre.  I think it was built in the late 80s and was demolished a couple of years ago.

9 hours ago, The White Cockade said:

My old man worked here for 25 years

thynes.jpg

I worked in the lab for six months on a student placement during 1978(?)

17 hours ago, Mister T said:

Some cracking adverts on the wall. Paster must have had some length of ladder

PSX_20210802_210709-colorized.jpg

I am sure a ladder was involved, but I seem to remember men with an extremely long handled brush doing some pretty knacky specialized work putting up posters.

5 hours ago, inspector said:

I worked in the lab for six months on a student placement during 1978(?)

Many a freebie was enjoyed by the Calders kids in that Industrial estate.We were able to [ahem]help ourselves to buns from Milanda,biscuits fromBurtons,crisps and nuts from Golden Wonder and babychams and juice from Schweppes.

Apart from all those goodies the Calders were a great place for a kid to stay ,plenty places to play football ,go fishing or even camping where the Heriot Watt campus is now.

Radio Ga Ga
8 minutes ago, otterjohn said:

Many a freebie was enjoyed by the Calders kids in that Industrial estate.We were able to [ahem]help ourselves to buns from Milanda,biscuits fromBurtons,crisps and nuts from Golden Wonder and babychams and juice from Schweppes.

Apart from all those goodies the Calders were a great place for a kid to stay ,plenty places to play football ,go fishing or even camping where the Heriot Watt campus is now.

Used to procure the old Schweppes soda syphons from the factory when I lived in the Calders in the 70’s, you got good money for them from the off license as they had a big deposit on them. But favourite factory was Golden Wonder hands through the gaps and off with the freshly made peanuts. Good days.