Cooncil Elections

Gershwin

Dawnrazor

Of course.

Do you think the Conservatives are the answer?

If you do, I can only assume you're very, very rich or you somehow haven't realised what the Tories believe society should look like.

I've voted Tory, I'm definitely not very very rich, if I still lived in Scotland I'd have still voted Tory, do I think they're the answer? Not completely, but I want Scotland to stay in the union, the Lib Dems are an irrelevance, the greens a joke and Labour will have the UK bankrupt again and the welfare bill through the roof in a few years. I'll have the Tories.

• Replies 886
Victorian

Or you vote in an snp on an wholly irrelevant national level consititutional issue.

Only in some pretend universe. The SNP clearly campaigned on local services. The constitutional obsession is not owned by the SNP.

Mars plastic

All the best mate, I couldn't be less raging, kids in bed, cold beer, Friday and my fellow Scots have once again massively endorsed my party as the one they want in power.

We're all hearts at the end of the day, just work on those wee team proclivities please.

It's not a trait befitting of Hearts fans.

Sound.

Nothing changes for them voting Labour or SNP.

That's my point. It's about to get even worse if the Tory have a massive majority. They don't give a feck what feegie or the Carlton vote or want. Never have never will. Shut everything in Scotland and move it south. As long as the mothership oil rig of London succeeds, nothing else matters.

Only in some pretend universe. The SNP clearly campaigned on local services. The constitutional obsession is not owned by the SNP.

That's absolute bullshit

Mikey1874

So what the SNP's local policies?

Say for Paisley and Edinburgh presuming they might need to be different to meet local needs.

Victorian

That's absolute bullshit

It very isn't. The SNP did not bang the referendum drum for the council elections? Why? Because it wasn't relevant. It was other parties who went around begging people to vote on an anti-ref ticket.

That's absolute bullshit

It's not. Indyref2 vote has already been approved at holyrood. It'll take place next year sometime.

Nae luck.

Victorian

So what the SNP's local policies?

Say for Paisley and Edinburgh presuming they might need to be different to meet local needs.

Well you've answered your own question. Obviously every area has it's own nuances and unique issues. But by and large to run all the main local services, etc and represent voters' interests to the best of their abilities. Just the same as any other party and every other election.

But independence was not a relevent matter for this election. It's a shame so many people used it as a proxy anti-ref protest.

It's not. Indyref2 vote has already been approved at holyrood. It'll take place next year sometime.

Nae luck.

Good and another resounding victory for the Union :)

Nae luck

Mikey1874

It very isn't. The SNP did not bang the referendum drum for the council elections? Why? Because it wasn't relevant. It was other parties who went around begging people to vote on an anti-ref ticket.

Depends on how much interest you take

I'm aware the SNP launched their local government campaign in Glasgow but I don't know any of their policies

I do know Nicola Sturgeon has been banging on about independence since last June. On and on and on and on.

A vote for the SNP is a vote for independence first and foremost.

Transfer these results into the GE and we still end up with 54 seats.

Remember, that's your lot peaked and we still have the U18 vote to count in any referendum. Coupled with the people from the EU who will still be here then I wouldn't be getting too ****** a hoop.

And what if that doesn't work?

Do under 12s get the vote?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Can I just ask, but the Calton result in Glasgow, being one of the most deprived areas in Scotland, and the U.K....voted Tory.

Why do people think that is?

Is it a staunch Rangers/Unionist type area?

Do they think the Tories will increase the standards of local issues?

Why weren't SNP a viable alternative, to what I'm assuming was a Labour heartland seat since the dinosaurs went for a rest?

Seems an odd anomaly.

All the hardcore Unionist Brits are voting Tory now.

Victorian

Depends on how much interest you take

I'm aware the SNP launched their local government campaign in Glasgow but I don't know any of their policies

I do know Nicola Sturgeon has been banging on about independence since last June. On and on and on and on.

A vote for the SNP is a vote for independence first and foremost.

It is at the Holyrood elections. That's the requested mandate to trigger a referendum. The only relevent platform.

I've voted Tory, I'm definitely not very very rich, if I still lived in Scotland I'd have still voted Tory, do I think they're the answer? Not completely, but I want Scotland to stay in the union, the Lib Dems are an irrelevance, the greens a joke and Labour will have the UK bankrupt again and the welfare bill through the roof in a few years. I'll have the Tories.

Yesterdays vote was naff all to do with the union.

You and I can extol the virtues of these King Billy types you speak of a week tomorrow.

I do not mind having a drink with King Billy types given they usually have a fondness towards HMFC. I just avoid political debate. The thing that unites us is our hatred of all things Celtic.

If the SNP did better than they did and say the tory vote was similar to labours.

Sturgeon would be having a field day and saying how justifies having another referendum

Victorian

If the SNP did better than they did and say the tory vote was similar to labours.

Sturgeon would be having a field day and saying how justifies having another referendum

She doesn't have to justify anything. She already has a democratic mandate through parliament to hold one. It's been undemocratically denied / ignored / filed / dingied.

The poll to register opposition to independence is the Holyrood elections. Obsessing about voting anti-SNP at all costs at a local authority level is completely irrational. But it fits in nicely with the absolute obsession about independence that consumes most opponents of the SNP.

Pot, meet kettle.

Can I just ask, but the Calton result in Glasgow, being one of the most deprived areas in Scotland, and the U.K....voted Tory.

Why do people think that is?

Is it a staunch Rangers/Unionist type area?

Do they think the Tories will increase the standards of local issues?

Why weren't SNP a viable alternative, to what I'm assuming was a Labour heartland seat since the dinosaurs went for a rest?

Seems an odd anomaly.

Historically it wasn't that type of area and if anything these area bounds are loosening.

Maybe some in the most deprived areas are waking up to the fact that Socialism and Nationalism won't help them. Instead turning to the party of aspiration and enterprise.

Interesting times.

I equate it to the Jesus-Barabbas scenario. The whole no vote is exactly that scenario.

Pot, meet kettle.

Yep the SNP are independence. That's all they have. They don't give a **** about anything else.

Those will be the local services Sturgeon's government is intent on centralising?

michael_bolton

Just to be clear, you know what the Tories want to do, and as a consenting adult are choosing that for the future of the country?

Historically it wasn't that type of area and if anything these area bounds are loosening.

Commonwealth village area now. SNP regeneration thrown back in their face by some.

Yep the SNP are independence. That's all they have. They don't give a **** about anything else.

Liberation is the SNP's main policy and the reason they are the biggest party in Scotland. What's your problem with this aspiration?

EwanHearts

All these butthurt Natz, talking down their fellow Scots...tut tut.

If you don't trust your fellow Scotch to vote the right way, why do you trust them to be independent?

Queens of Scots:

queen-theresa-may-getty.jpg

Sitting here in my big hoose sipping champagne, caviar canap?s in abundance celebrating the return and resurgence of the Tories in Scotland. Well done chaps :lol:

Trapper John McIntyre

Some astonishing results today.

One thing not mentioned is the fact that we may be edging ever closer to the SNP's nightmare scenario where the Unionist vote rally's around one single party.

With what has happened today, that may not be far away.

Bye Bye, SNP.

Liberation is the SNP's main policy and the reason they are the biggest party in Scotland. What's your problem with this aspiration?

Because it was rejected. They are the biggest because there is only 1 party in Scotland that favours separitism ( greens are irrelevant)

Space Mackerel

Dya think?

How would you know, you live about 200 miles away from Scotland :lol:

When's the last time you poked your neb over the border?

Some astonishing results today.

One thing not mentioned is the fact that we may be edging ever closer to the SNP's nightmare scenario where the Unionist vote rally's around one single party.

With what has happened today, that may not be far away.

Bye Bye, SNP.

Bye Bye SNP...

• SNP - 431
  • Con - 276 
  • Lab - 262 
  • Lib Dem - 67 
  • Green - 19 
  • Ind - 172

By far the most popular party in Scotland.

I can't understand the reasoning then even more so, given what MacDonald J has said, and you've just said.

Like I said, it's an odd one. Doesn't effect me down where I am, but it just stood out for me, and wondered what you guys from both sides of the argument thought.

Cheers for the replies.

It's sectarianism. Nothing else.

Space Mackerel

And what if that doesn't work?

Do under 12s get the vote?

It's a pretty fair assumption that if you are at the age to join up, get married and pay tax, then you should have a say in any election.

So don't be stupid.

It's a pretty fair assumption that if you are at the age to join up, get married and pay tax, then you should have a say in any election.

So don't be stupid.

Is that with or without a state guardian by your side?

So don't be stupid.

Don't tell me, Mack, MJ doesn't want 16 and 17 yr olds to vote. Am I right?

Dawnrazor

Bye Bye SNP...

• SNP - 431
  • Con - 276 
  • Lab - 262 
  • Lib Dem - 67 
  • Green - 19 
  • Ind - 172
By far the most popular party in Scotland.
Still doesn't necessarily equate to a Yes in a referendum.

Because it was rejected. They are the biggest because there is only 1 party in Scotland that favours separitism ( greens are irrelevant)

The majority of Scots votes for independence. What's your problem?

Still doesn't necessarily equate to a Yes in a referendum.

Which doesn't necessarily equate to bye bye SNP.

Is that with or without a state guardian by your side?

Maybe if there was something like this about when the likes of Smith, Hall, Harris and Saville were prowling about, weans lives would not have been ruined.

It's a good idea that needs to be 100%, before going ahead too heavy handed.

Which doesn't necessarily equate to bye bye SNP.

Think his point was if the unionist vote rallied round one party they would effectively become the bigger party

Dawnrazor

How would you know, you live about 200 miles away from Scotland :lol:

When's the last time you poked your neb over the border?

:facepalm: :facepalm:

The Tory vote WAS similar to Labour's. Only 10 council seats between them.

The majority of Scots voted for independence. What's your problem?

No rUK votes next time, if EU citizens are prohibited.

Nae luck.

What kind of response is that?? Indyref2 a vote which could change the country for good affect future generations, and will undoubtedly divide the country for sometime and you say 'nae luck' like it's some sort of game. Worrying times, and a definitive guide as to the thought process of pro - independence. You must be aware we are all Scottish being pro union doesn't change anyone's nationality nor their pride in their heritage.

On today's evidence the will of the people is certainly not overwhelmingly a will to change.

The Tory vote WAS similar to Labour's. Only 10 council seats between them.

I know . I meant lost seats similar to labour

Space Mackerel

:facepalm: :facepalm:

Thanks for the clarification.

Back to your Daily Express and Mail.

It is, but his pitter needs work.

Spot on.No rUK votes next time, if EU citizens are prohibited.

English folk should never been allowed a vote in our referendum.

Dawnrazor

Thanks for the clarification.

Back to your Daily Express and Mail.

:facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm: