Cooncil Elections

Gershwin

Roughly 20% still voted Labour despite the hard core unionists who jumped ship to the Tory party.

They are likely the area that the Snp would need to convince if a independence referendum was to be one ,not those who have aligned themselves with the Tory spivs .

• Replies 886
michael_bolton

Am I right in thinking that the picture (slowly) emerging is that the SNP have gained seats overall and are now the largest party in more councils than they have ever been?

Sounds like the kind of 'bad night' any political party in the world would be quite chuffed with. The reporting of the numbers has been very confusing.

SNP down 7 as they had 438 before the election. 425 was 2012 seats, they must've gained 13 during the past 5 years.

Mars plastic

Wonderful result for the C&U's today. The fact that the folk of Fergusliepark are voting C&U tells you all you need to know about the mess the SNP are making of being in government.

I absolutely love being a Tory. Absolutely f@%*ng love it.

Mikey1874

Am I right in thinking that the picture (slowly) emerging is that the SNP have gained seats overall and are now the largest party in more councils than they have ever been?

Sounds like the kind of 'bad night' any political party in the world would be quite chuffed with. The reporting of the numbers has been very confusing.

Yes

Leaving aside the national picture and independence it is a good result

They are now the main party ie most seats in a lot of councils including Glasgow and Edinburgh. They did lose majority control over Dundee.

I haven't looked at all the results but that might be easier by tomorrow.

Interesting results. There's now Conservative representation in the whole of Scotland. To some of us of a certain age, that's just crazy. The East End of Glasgow? Mental.

Mars plastic

Has Brian Taylor got really tiny hands, or has his body weight made an optical illusion?

I notice this every time he's on.

Victorian

Not so shocking is that the results now see Mooth claiming victory from a distant second behind an SNP that has not lost ground or support. The truly shocking thing is the undoubted rise in support for the Conservative Party and especially so in places like Glasgow and Lanarkshire.

The rise in support of the Tories is a direct anti-independence vote. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to deduce that. But a great many of these people have forgotten about or discarded their political principles in order to jump into bed with their best current bet to oppose a referendum. Maybe we shouldn't expect our politicians to be principle driven if the voters so easily sell out themselves.

Mikey1874

Interesting results. There's now Conservative representation in the whole of Scotland. To some of us of a certain age, that's just crazy. The East End of Glasgow? Mental.

Tories got 50% of vote in Scotland in mid 50s

Things do change

Wonderful result for the C&U's today. The fact that the folk of Fergusliepark are voting C&U tells you all you need to know about the mess the SNP are making of being in government.

:rofl: Do you honestly think he was first preference?.

Tories got 50% of vote in Scotland in mid 50s

Things do change

No they didn't. That was the Unionist Party. They amalgamated in 1965 and plummeted into oblivion. Christ, even the OO disowned them.

deesidejambo

If you spin it that way then fine. VThey get increased control not because their vote has increased, but because Labours vote has gone to the Tories hence splitting the opposition to the SNP.

But all that matters is what percentage of the population actually voted SNP. That is the indicator of Indy support, and the SNPs objective is Indy, not governing within the UK framework.

The Tories must be proud to have the votes of all the King Billy No Surrender types now.

deesidejambo

Not so shocking is that the results now see Mooth claiming victory from a distant second behind an SNP that has not lost ground or support. The truly shocking thing is the undoubted rise in support for the Conservative Party and especially so in places like Glasgow and Lanarkshire.

The rise in support of the Tories is a direct anti-independence vote. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to deduce that. But a great many of these people have forgotten about or discarded their political principles in order to jump into bed with their best current bet to oppose a referendum. Maybe we shouldn't expect our politicians to be principle driven if the voters so easily sell out themselves.

It's not a sell out. Scotlands politics is dominated by a single issue, Independence. And people are voting along these lines until such time as it goes away.

Only then will we get back to multiple issue politics.

Space Mackerel

Roughly 20% still voted Labour despite the hard core unionists who jumped ship to the Tory party.

They are likely the area that the Snp would need to convince if a independence referendum was to be one ,not those who have aligned themselves with the Tory spivs .

Brexit and the subsequent shitstorm of a **** up should see them jump ship to the Indy 2 cause. [emoji106]

Paisley Northwest (PA3) takes in some pretty affluent areas. The Feegie reference is good for the tabloids but means nothing in reality.

The McIntyre geezer came in on 10th level also...fourth in 1st preference.

Not straw clutching by the way...Labour got their baws handed to them !

Not a good night for Labour supporters but predicted.

michael_bolton

If you spin it that way then fine. VThey get increased control not because their vote has increased, but because Labours vote has gone to the Tories hence splitting the opposition to the SNP.

But all that matters is what percentage of the population actually voted SNP. That is the indicator of Indy support, and the SNPs objective is Indy, not governing within the UK framework.

That's not actually true. SNP got 32% of the vote in 2012. People vote for many reasons in local elections. Local elections are not an independence referendum. It would be quite startling if any party got near 50%.

The SNP have dominated Scottish politics since 2007. A decade on they are increasing their local representation. That's good going any way you try to view it. Quite different to the people trying to spin it as Scotland having had enough of the SNP. Funny how they keep winning and winning by miles.

Space Mackerel

You got well beat.

Very hoboish chat.

Good at singing though, 7/10.

The Tories must be proud to have the votes of all the King Billy No Surrender types now.

Maybe some in the most deprived areas are waking up to the fact that Socialism and Nationalism won't help them. Instead turning to the party of aspiration and enterprise.

Interesting times.

Victorian

It's not a sell out. Scotlands politics is dominated by a single issue, Independence. And people are voting along these lines until such time as it goes away.

The poll to register opposition to independence is the Holyrood elections. Obsessing about voting anti-SNP at all costs at a local authority level is completely irrational. But it fits in nicely with the absolute obsession about independence that consumes most opponents of the SNP.

It's the first time I've voted Tory  in my life, same for the rest of my family. They are the only party who can stand up to crankie and her wee lackies

Mikey1874

Would like to just tuck in and say thanks to all the posters who provide really good comment on the elections here. I'm lost on most of the nuance but my research means I need to keep up on this stuff.

I'm similarly confused. BBC has SNP -7 but the Telegraph had it +31. (I can't find the Guardian's tables for Scotland.)

Also, if SNP -7 and Green +5 is correct, hardly a bad night for IndyRef2?

Both are right

Absolute numbers are up

But boundaries have changed since 2012. So what some are doing is comparing 2012 results based on 2017 boundaries with 2017 results. Equals slight drop. Hope that makes sense.

A wee reminder of Tory destruction of Scottish industry should bring folk to their senses.

You got well beat.

Very hoboish chat.

Good at singing though, 7/10.

You know what's hoboish chat? Tick tock

But keep ticking and tocking cause just like Tynecastle the union remains :)

Victorian

C4 news spinning out a rare old yarn about the Tories winning ground over the SNP in Scotland.

SNP have more councillors than last time out but due to boundary changes and more seats being created, they're nominally down a few.

Space Mackerel

A wee reminder of Tory destruction of Scottish industry should bring folk to their senses.

A picture for our younger readers and posters.

2cbb2e1038f3d28a85ef553d618e683c.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

The Tory party Scottish office likely has maxed out the hard core unionist vote the 25 to 30% if they want to grow they will have to start arguing on policy and in defence of the Tory government in Westminster over the next 4 weeks and beyond .

Labour Scots branch was never going to win a battle with the Tory party for the unionist vote they need to rethink and start attacking Tory policy .

Snp should be looking to charm the remaining Labour voters over to them , which means being a bit more progressive at holyrood and a wee bit less playing it safe .

Maybe some in the most deprived areas are waking up to the fact that Socialism and Nationalism won't help them. Instead turning to the party of aspiration and enterprise.

Interesting times.

The party that destroyed their communities. Aye very good.

Mars plastic

The nationalists are raging as they see their last chance of independence slipping away before their very eyes. That is most deserving of a wee Friday night YAAAASSSSS!!

Mars plastic

You and I can extol the virtues of these King Billy types you speak of a week tomorrow.

jambogemz

SNP Lose craigmillar to the Tories!! Very interesting especially given the massive YES March we had here on referendum day 2012.

Seems the natives of south east Edinburgh are fed up with the SNP.

A Tory win in an area where they didn't even post any campaign material.

Mars plastic

The aussie guy will be raging the night. His braveheart blue face paint will be running down onto his tartan Jim jams. YAAAAASSSSS!!

The nationalists are raging as they see their last chance of independence slipping away before their very eyes. That is most deserving of a wee Friday night YAAAASSSSS!!

again :rofl: Raging :rofl: Tories :rofl: Slab :rofl: Yer right about one thing. Yesssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Easy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The party that destroyed their communities. Aye very good.

Nothing changes for them voting Labour or SNP.

michael_bolton

SNP Lose craigmillar to the Tories!! Very interesting especially given the massive YES March we had here on referendum day 2012.

The people of Craigmillar can look forward to being a top priority for the Conservative party...

Dawnrazor

The people of Craigmillar can look forward to being a top priority for the Conservative party...

Aye, just like they have been for the SNP.

Mars plastic

That's just absolutely beautiful.

The Tory party Scottish office likely has maxed out the hard core unionist vote the 25 to 30% if they want to grow they will have to start arguing on policy and in defence of the Tory government in Westminster over the next 4 weeks and beyond .

Labour Scots branch was never going to win a battle with the Tory party for the unionist vote they need to rethink and start attacking Tory policy .

Snp should be looking to charm the remaining Labour voters over to them , which means being a bit more progressive at holyrood and a wee bit less playing it safe .

That would require them to actually do what they're paid to do in Holyrood as opposed to screeching about perceived and made up grievances. And frankly that's not going to happen.

michael_bolton

Aye, just like they have been for the SNP.

There's a case to be made that the SNP haven't done all they could, but anyone who isn't a millionaire needs their head looked at for voting Conservative.

They believe in socialism for the rich. Take as much as possible from the state, give nothing back to the state, profits to rich business owners. Insanity.

Railways, affordable housing, NHS, libraries, benefits for the needy. All used to be good things. Now they're tools for the profit of the rich or being abolished and the Tories' useful idiots are helping them do it. Encouraged by th owners of media groups who benefit from Tory policies, of course.

Mars plastic

Ah, a general reply rather than quoting actual posts.

Cool, enjoy the singing mate. Cheers Terry.

Raaaaaging!! YAAAASSSS!!!

Ta ta independence. Bye the now. Cheery.

Victorian

Voting in a Tory to represent and carry out local services duties 'cos you're filling your breeks about a wholly irrelevant, national level, constitutional issue.

Hypnotised. Brainwashed. Deluded. Demented.

Dawnrazor

There's a case to be made that the SNP haven't done all they could.

Dya think?

michael_bolton

Dya think?

Of course.

Do you think the Conservatives are the answer?

If you do, I can only assume you're very, very rich or you somehow haven't realised what the Tories believe society should look like.

Mars plastic

Voting in a Tory to represent and carry out local services duties 'cos you're filling your breeks about a wholly irrelevant, national level, constitutional issue.

Whilst that erse Hynds spunks 2 mill on 20mph limits. Barry.

Interesting times.

What is your explanation for the UK being the 4th most unequal society in the world?

Can I just ask, but the Calton result in Glasgow, being one of the most deprived areas in Scotland, and the U.K....voted Tory.

Why do people think that is?

Is it a staunch Rangers/Unionist type area?

Do they think the Tories will increase the standards of local issues?

Why weren't SNP a viable alternative, to what I'm assuming was a Labour heartland seat since the dinosaurs went for a rest?

Seems an odd anomaly.

They misunderstand the food bank concept.

Or you vote in an snp on an wholly irrelevant national level consititutional issue.

Jamboross

Steady, the whole Ward isn't like Craigmillar! I'm in the same area and while aye we've got the working class areas including Niddrie and Bingham where you wouldn't expect Tory votes to come from there's plenty affluent votes to be had in the Durhams and Portobello/Joppa which is basically Morningside-On-Sea these days. The SNP may have dropped a seat but their first preference share actually crept up a tiny bit (0.6%) so it's likely Bridgeman's seat went to Mary Campbell of the Greens with the Labour vote getting the Tory candidate in.