Cooncil Elections

Gershwin

• Replies 886
Mikey1874

Don't agree myself. Apathy just results in being ignored. Actual participation, even spoiling a ballot is a democratic act of disgust.

As someone who has worked at elections you don't realise how irrelevant and meaningless spoiled papers are

Different if there were hundreds of them

Not voting so reducing the turnout has more impact

Spoiling the paper is just regarded as stupid and immature not as a protest

Your vote is for the candidate and you number you votes in preference, 1,2,3 etc. You can choose to select 1 or you can order them all if that's your wish. That's my understanding of it anyway.

Cheers, I was wondering when I heard a radio advert (not all of it) and the 1,2,3 thing was mentioned.

As someone who has worked at elections you don't realise how irrelevant and meaningless spoiled papers are

Surely your argument also applies to voting for smaller parties in protest then?

Mikey1874

Surely your argument also applies to voting for smaller parties in protest then?

I'm not making an argument. I'm saying spoiled papers are overrated as a protest.

A more effective protest is not voting as the turn out is keenly judged here.

Of course voting out Angus Robertson for example is a high impact protest vote.

Psychedelicropcircle

Moderators I'm being victimised here...help

Joke mikey.

1. The Saviours of Scotland

2. The Saviours of Scotland

3. Their buds the greens

4. Socialist Party

5. Independent

6. Slab

7. Slab

8. Another

9. Another

10. Libdem

100. A.B.Tory

Mars plastic

I'm off to vote for Scott Douglas, candidate for the wonderful Conservative and Unionist Party. Square that!

Vote until you boak done .

With the Tory Spivs just creeping into to the top ten chart in 10th place .

Pop pickers

I had planned to give a second preference vote to the independent candidate to get someone who was not involved with party politics.

However due to lack of info, other than his name I knew feck all about him or what he stood for.

Therefore I only voted for the one credible candidate in our area

deesidejambo

1. The Tory, whoever he is.  Just to annoy aussie.  Was going to be third but promoted him thanks to Aussies post.

2. Independent

3.  LibDem

Alwayssunnyingorgie

I've got a polling station directly outside my work, Only SNP and labour have people outside, the labour one is scaring my customers away :(

Only 3 seats up for grabs in my area, is there any point in putting 4 and 5?

May just put a wee 5 1

deesidejambo

Have no interest in politics but voted Tory off the back of aussieh's post. :)

Aussie doing a good job campaigning for the Tories by the looks of it.  As you sow you reap so they say.

Aye karma will reap this present Tory mafia.

As you sow so you reap.

You must be very proud of all their reaping of the poor and vulnerable so far eh. 

All  the poor and vulnerable are  just being envious of the rich  though eh, scroungers and lazy work shy  layabouts that deserve their benefits cut .

You Tories are creating a post welfare state , taking Britain back to the 18th century , all  in it together eh..  :thumbsdown:

deesidejambo

As you sow so you reap.

You must be very proud of all their reaping of the poor and vulnerable so far eh.

All the poor and vulnerable are just being envious of the rich though eh, scroungers and lazy work shy layabouts that deserve their benefits cut .

You Tories are creating a post welfare state , taking Britain back to the 18th century , all in it together eh.. :thumbsdown:

As always, every time you call me a Tory I'll mention you believe crop circles are made by aliens in flying saucers.

I was planning to vote LibDem in the GE but thanks to you and Aussies post I'll defo tactically vote Tory

Les Izemore

If you are voting today remember that you have to put a number against EVERY candidate on the ballot paper in order of your preference. Failure to do this will count as a spoiled vote, as will marking with an X.

Mikey1874

If you are voting today remember that you have to put a number against EVERY candidate on the ballot paper in order of your preference. Failure to do this will count as a spoiled vote, as will marking with an X.

Wrong on both

deesidejambo

Wrong mate.

Les Izemore

Wrong mate.

Apologies to all, appears I've been given duff info. Thanks for the correction.

Mikey1874

I might be wrong but I think your vote would count if you drew cocks on your ballot paper as long as you kept them in the box and drew one for preferred, two for next preference and so on.......................

Do you think I should ask this at the polling station?

That would indeed be counted, yes

Mikey1874

I wonder if the auto machines could cope with it?

I really am a child at times, I bet women don't have these thoughts...........

Well given the person wants to make some statement I think that would be rejected by the machine and real people in view of candidates would assess and approve this.

Result all round

Mars plastic

As you sow so you reap.

All  the poor and vulnerable are  just being envious of the rich  though eh, scroungers and lazy work shy  layabouts that deserve their benefits cut .

You Tories are creating a post welfare state , taking Britain back to the 18th century , all  in it together eh..  :thumbsdown:

Scotland going to shit has absolutely nothing to do with the crowd that have been in charge for the last 9 years. Good yin.

deesidejambo

That's me voted.

Only voted for one person as the rest are a shower of twats.

Surprised you even found one acceptable!

Seems like we're going to have a shit ton of Snp/Tory councils. In terms of progress it will be interesting seeing absolutely nothing getting done.

Tories didn't even get a number, the *****.

They didn't get a number off me either. I was surprised there were only 6 candidates to choose from in my area.

Mikey1874

Seems like we're going to have a shit ton of Snp/Tory councils. In terms of progress it will be interesting seeing absolutely nothing getting done.

Yeah

Interesting

Nicola Sturgeon and Ruth Davidson might have some difficulty explaining that away

But Labour/ Tory unionist alliances must be on too

Space Mackerel

Scotland going to shit has absolutely nothing to do with the crowd that have been in charge for the last 9 years. Good yin.

Why did you eventually vote Conservative in the Council elections mate?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Pans Jambo

I voted Conservative this evening...

As my 8th and final choice of course!

1SNP

2SNP

3Greens

4Slab

5Slab

6Libdem

7Empty box

Feck the Tories and all who follow.

deesidejambo

Nice to see UKIP take an absolute shoeing.

Will be the same at the GE but their votes will go to the Tories.

Speaks volumes regards Tory policy!

deesidejambo

Speaks volumes regards Tory policy!

Given that Labour getting pummelled and theblame will be given to Corbin, do you think he will resign prior to the GE?

Corbyn is up against the Tory media too. I'd vote for him.

No, I doubt it.

I think it also shows how brexity a lot of the electorate down south feel.

HaymarketJambo

Gave SNP my 1st vote and the Greens got my 2nd vote last night. 

deesidejambo

No, I doubt it.

I think it also shows how brexity a lot of the electorate down south feel.

Indeed I was in rural Derbyshire on the day of the Brexit vote. They were over the moon. Never underestimate Little England

You say that with great pride. The hypocrisy in your view is off the scale. England take back imaginary lost sovereignty, but when Scotland try to take back real lost sovereignty, they're this and that.

Greens got my first vote.

Glad UKIP will be an utter irrelevance soon tbh. The intelligent UKIP voters last time will now be voting Tory I'd presume.

deesidejambo

You say that with great pride. The hypocrisy in your view is off the scale. England take back imaginary lost sovereignty, but when Scotland try to take back real lost sovereignty, they're this and that.

Silly boy. I voted Remain.

And? I meant your pride of England taking so called sovereignty back. I voted remain and it served my purpose. Indyref2 on the way, doesn't matter a damn how many SNP MPs there is next month. Holyrood has spoken and May's excuses of now is not the time won't wash, now.