More Tory lies

aussieh

14 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Certainly rough, comes across as a complete bam imo. Very easy to sound good protesting.

Better off with Burnham.

Burnham is the future leader of the Labour Party.

• Replies 27.3k

• The Mighty Thor

• Victorian

• JudyJudyJudy

• Cade

33 minutes ago, Beni said:

Brilliant!

Starmer has already made that joke about Stanley Johnson.

And it was exactly as funny as yours...

yeah it was puerile, cheap and unbecoming - sorry!! 🤣 

Didn't make it inaccurate in either case, though...

Edited by Japan Jambo
adding

2 hours ago, Beni said:

That's a bit harsh on Starmer.

I don't know if all DPPs are knighted, and if he had political ambitions he might have been wiser to decline it.

His parents were a toolmaker and nurse.

He certainly lacks charisma, and that makes him an ineffective leader of the opposition, but he's got where he is off his own bat.

Possibly harsh yeah but he’s one of those that climbs those ladders into positions of power losing all his morals along the way for me. 
The fact he barely lands a glove on this govt is evidence enough he’s never going to be the man. It’s literally open goal after open goal and he balloons it over the bar so to speak. 

58 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I think it's the idea time for Labour to move towards a policy of devo-max for Scotland and maybe the other devolved nations.  Quite possibly to also suggest a more open conversation about independence.  Maybe suggest that they,  in government,  would not stand in the way if certain tests are met.  I believe there is a portion of SNP support who are currently sceptical of independence right now or soon.  Devo-max with borrowing powers within a UK framework may just be the solution to the short term question of independence.  

You make some fair points, I know a few Labour supporters who would like independence but just cannot bring themselves to vote SNP/Greens ect. For me personally I favour independence but not a huge fan of the SNP. Devo Max is something I would consider as a compromise however, the more I see what is happening at WM and the Tories / Brexit fiasco the more I think feck it let's go the full hog. This is just my opinion and I do understand that people have a different take on things.

14 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That says it all about that party nowadays.

True

7 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

I don't know much about her,  but a quick google tells me she called Boris Johnson scum, then refused to apologise. She'd get my vote!

She's too abrasive. Plus she's a militant anti feminist. 

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Starmer was also a lawyer for the CPS. 
“Sir” Keir is establishment to his fecking toenails. He can get tae. 
And as for Anus Sarwar. 

The only positive thing about Starmer is he is very polished and speaks well. Although most of it is drivel. Hes easy on the eye too which is unusual for a politician  for some reason. 

2 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

There's a strong argument for Labour putting up a woman as leader since Johnson and half of his cabinet would cower in the face of debate with a woman. You can almost picture Rees-Mogg sucking his thumb as he gets told off by Rayner or one of the other strong female characters in Labour for speaking in Latin.

You're right, though, about charisma. Blair had it in spades and was up against Major and Hague, who didn't. For all his qualities, Brown doesn't have charisma and, in the absence of a charismatic candidate, the country will revert to the Tory option. They/we are still wary of Labour for whatever old reasons. Despite all the shite from the Tories from the last eleven years, they still have a lead in the polls on voting intention; with Johnson as leader. It's astounding.

I like Rayner and she would be a shot in the arm for the party but I'm not convinced she'd carry a general election; too many rough edges for the older voters to tolerate.

She eventually wound her neck in for the language she used but we all know she said it; she meant it and she wasn't wrong.

Shes as rough as a bag of spanners. 

30 minutes ago, micole said:

You make some fair points, I know a few Labour supporters who would like independence but just cannot bring themselves to vote SNP/Greens ect. For me personally I favour independence but not a huge fan of the SNP. Devo Max is something I would consider as a compromise however, the more I see what is happening at WM and the Tories / Brexit fiasco the more I think feck it let's go the full hog. This is just my opinion and I do understand that people have a different take on things.

The timing looks pretty good at the moment.  SNP / Labour supporters who are maybe hesitant about imminent independence.  Possibly SNP supporters who are utterly sick of the Tories will switch to Labour as a tactical vote and the extra carrot might be more powers and a route to a referendum in the future.  I would lay out a clear set of parameters to be met in a future referendum.  For it to succeed it would require 60% of votes cast.  50% of eligible votes voting yes.  Maybe ask for as much as 70% of votes cast in the 16 to 25 year olds.  At least one more confirmatory vote at some point afterwards.  Do all the things that Brexit did not and avoid a lot of the aftermath.

Edited by Victorian

28 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

She's too abrasive. Plus she's a militant anti feminist. 

Can you give me a bit more detail on this? I’d always thought she was a bit of a poster child for feminism.

2 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Can you give me a bit more detail on this? I’d always thought she was a bit of a poster child for feminism.

Hailed as a “feminist with a capital F”, whose commitment to promoting equality is firing on all cylinders as she finds her feet as Labour’s new deputy leader, Rayner is using her power to improve lives – a fundamental component of both feminism and socialism. 

The feisty feminist with a broad northern accent in the House of Commons, armed with a genuine and impassioned determination to improve the lives of the disadvantaged. 

In a speech at the Labour Women’s Conference in 2016, Rayner gave rousing recognition to the work of women: “You are all our community leaders, running the food banks, providing the childcare, sitting in the council meetings, campaigning for our NHS, fighting for decent pensions, struggling for equality in the workplace, running the household budget and running our hospitals,” said Rayner.”

https://www.greatbritishpolitics.co.uk/magazine/1216-female-feminist-and-northern-angela-rayner-gives-hope-the-male-pale-and-stale-political-class-is-disintegrating

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

I think it's the idea time for Labour to move towards a policy of devo-max for Scotland and maybe the other devolved nations.  Quite possibly to also suggest a more open conversation about independence.  Maybe suggest that they,  in government,  would not stand in the way if certain tests are met.  I believe there is a portion of SNP support who are currently sceptical of independence right now or soon.  Devo-max with borrowing powers within a UK framework may just be the solution to the short term question of independence.  

While I did agree at one point Keir Hardie was talking about this over a century ago. Labour have fought tooth and nail to keep scotland in check to the point they even tried to gerrymander the Parliament to ensure the snp could ever hold power. Fail. Was there not some document released recently that showed they tried to make plans to detach Shetland from Scotland in the 70’s in case the indy movement gained too much traction so the uk would keep all the oil? Jim Callahan I think it was. They also moved our maritime borders the day before devolution taking thousands of square miles into English waters. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen an proper explanation for moving that. 
They can never be trusted to do what’s best for the people here. Completely and utterly found out is what they’ve been. 

16 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The Tories won't be going anywhere soon and this thread will still be on the first page for another 4.5 years :lol:

true dat  but who going to take the I hate the Tories and Im more outraged than you crown - there is a few comrades in the running but age is against most of them lasting the pace over the next 5 - 10 years

9 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

While I did agree at one point Keir Hardie was talking about this over a century ago. Labour have fought tooth and nail to keep scotland in check to the point they even tried to gerrymander the Parliament to ensure the snp could ever hold power. Fail. Was there not some document released recently that showed they tried to make plans to detach Shetland from Scotland in the 70’s in case the indy movement gained too much traction so the uk would keep all the oil? Jim Callahan I think it was. They also moved our maritime borders the day before devolution taking thousands of square miles into English waters. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen an proper explanation for moving that. 
They can never be trusted to do what’s best for the people here. Completely and utterly found out is what they’ve been. 

Fair enough but I'm not sure such legacy considerations have any part to play going forward.  Labour can gain large support in Scotland by being the antithesis of the Tories.  Honest and democratic.

9 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Well shes been a strong advocate for trans rights . These rights have a direct impact on women's hard won sex based rights.  Perhaps I should have not used the " militant" word but she has been very vocal in her support.  I am not against trans rights but I am a strong advocate for womens sex based rights and it concerns me that these are being eroded to pacify a small minority of people. Recent examples being that there are now 11 men who are now placed in Scottish women's prisons who identify  as female. They have not had any surgery or medical treatments but just identify as female. Its a safety issue. 

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Fair enough but I'm not sure such legacy considerations have any part to play going forward.  Labour can gain large support in Scotland by being the antithesis of the Tories.  Honest and democratic.

Yeah that’s fine and good but why should we trust them now? They’ve been caught and shown to have been trying to undermine, obfuscate and lie to the country for a century or more. I’d be more worried at what they’re doing if they offer more tbh. It would be to put us in a more vice like grip likely. 
Labour are worse than the the conservatives for me. You at least know what the conservatives are. 

23 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Hailed as a “feminist with a capital F”, whose commitment to promoting equality is firing on all cylinders as she finds her feet as Labour’s new deputy leader, Rayner is using her power to improve lives – a fundamental component of both feminism and socialism. 

The feisty feminist with a broad northern accent in the House of Commons, armed with a genuine and impassioned determination to improve the lives of the disadvantaged. 

In a speech at the Labour Women’s Conference in 2016, Rayner gave rousing recognition to the work of women: “You are all our community leaders, running the food banks, providing the childcare, sitting in the council meetings, campaigning for our NHS, fighting for decent pensions, struggling for equality in the workplace, running the household budget and running our hospitals,” said Rayner.”

https://www.greatbritishpolitics.co.uk/magazine/1216-female-feminist-and-northern-angela-rayner-gives-hope-the-male-pale-and-stale-political-class-is-disintegrating

It certainly is a capital F .  :) 

28 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Twelve trans sex offenders moved to women’s prisons in Scotland over past 18 months — RT UK News

Just now, jack D and coke said:

Yeah that’s fine and good but why should we trust them now? They’ve been caught and shown to have been trying to undermine, obfuscate and lie to the country for a century or more. I’d be more worried at what they’re doing if they offer more tbh. It would be to put us in a more vice like grip likely. 
Labour are worse than the the conservatives for me. You at least know what the conservatives are. 

I respect your view and your right to hold it.  I just see an opportunity.  Labour should assume that independence will happen or that the division caused by the Tories refusing to respect democracy will drag on and on and on.  Labour should clear the path for a democratic choice but set a very high bar.  It's then up to the independence movement to meet it.  All fair and pre-determined.  If independence is going to happen,  it might as well be in conjunction with a fresh set of eyes and ideology dealing with the process.  If Labour were to live up to a high standard of conduct throughout,  it would stand them in good stead to become the party in power in an independent Scotland.

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Is that to allow Labour to form a majority with the SNP or to recover lost Labour voters? 

Problem with this approach is Labour promise much and never, ever deliver.

PR? No.
Abolish the House of Lords for a more democratic upper house? No.
As close to federalism as possible (the vow)? No. 
Abolishing Nuclear Weapons? No.

It will take a lot of convicing but I do agree, the current status quo will not help them. 

As ever with this shower of corrupt lying shitehawks once the fog of the headline clears the motive becomes more apparent.

Already behind the 8-ball over his flat renovation debacle and after being reprimanded for his dodgy holiday in Mustique it becomes clear why Johnson is desperate to get the standards committee dismantled and replaced by a load of his mates. 

The Eton Mess has tried to game the system over his freebie holiday at his mate's gaff at Marbella, declaring it to one register with no detail to try to avoid having to declare it in full on the members register. 

However Angela Rayner knows precisely what the Tory criminal cabal are all about and is all over Bozo like one of his ill fitting suits. 

Sky win the prize for a tremendous headline though 😎

18 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Well shes been a strong advocate for trans rights . These rights have a direct impact on women's hard won sex based rights.  Perhaps I should have not used the " militant" word but she has been very vocal in her support.  I am not against trans rights but I am a strong advocate for womens sex based rights and it concerns me that these are being eroded to pacify a small minority of people. Recent examples being that there are now 11 men who are now placed in Scottish women's prisons who identify  as female. They have not had any surgery or medical treatments but just identify as female. Its a safety issue. 

So she’s not a militant anti-feminist or even anti-feminist at all? She’s pro-trans rights.

I do agree about the prison situation being a safety issue. 

Just now, Alex Kintner said:

So she’s not a militant anti-feminist or even anti-feminist at all? She’s pro-trans rights.

I do agree about the prison situation being a safety issue. 

Yes she's pro trans rights . However some of those rights impact on women and will do so ,   They also impact on gay and lesbian identity too. But Im not going into all that again. There's a whole thread about that someone started....  👍

3 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Is that to allow Labour to form a majority with the SNP or to recover lost Labour voters? 

Problem with this approach is Labour promise much and never, ever deliver.

PR? No.
Abolish the House of Lords for a more democratic upper house? No.
As close to federalism as possible (the vow)? No. 
Abolishing Nuclear Weapons? No.

It will take a lot of convicing but I do agree, the current status quo will not help them. 

They might as well assume that the status quo in Scotland is likely to remain SNP control = independence being front and centre = perpetual division.  Upset the apple cart by changing the game.  Offer devo-max powers and a clear pathway to uninhibited independence.  I think they could gain a hell of a lot of support for WM and Holyrood elections.  People accepting devo-max as a reasonable alternative to independence.  People seeing an opportunity to settle the independence division.  Provide people with the possibility of growing Labour support and many more will follow in order to deprive the Tories of seats.  Present a vision of a party who can win a WM election and people will jump on the bandwagon to get them over the line.  There's multiple opportunities to exploit for Labour.

15 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes she's pro trans rights . However some of those rights impact on women and will do so ,   They also impact on gay and lesbian identity too. But Im not going into all that again. There's a whole thread about that someone started....  👍

There is indeed. Think we need to be clear though that being pro-trans rights doesn’t equal being anti-feminist. 

12 minutes ago, Victorian said:

They might as well assume that the status quo in Scotland is likely to remain SNP control = independence being front and centre = perpetual division.  Upset the apple cart by changing the game.  Offer devo-max powers and a clear pathway to uninhibited independence.  I think they could gain a hell of a lot of support for WM and Holyrood elections.  People accepting devo-max as a reasonable alternative to independence.  People seeing an opportunity to settle the independence division.  Provide people with the possibility of growing Labour support and many more will follow in order to deprive the Tories of seats.  Present a vision of a party who can win a WM election and people will jump on the bandwagon to get them over the line.  There's multiple opportunities to exploit for Labour.

The tories went hard in previous GEs about the spectre of Labour shacking up with the SNP. They would need to get around that to sell it to middle England or the tories will just have another bogeyman card to play. They didn't even care that last time there was unequivocally no deal between the parties, to peddle that line. 

We will see what they come up with, I guess. 

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'm not a fan of the drawn out headline that you'd tend to see in the Daily Heil but, for this one, I'll make an exception.

Edited by I P Knightley

15 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

I'm not a fan of the drawn out headline that you'd tend to see in the Daily Heil but, for this one, I'll make an exception.

To answer the question posed by the Daily Heil's headine..... Yes. Carrie Johnson.

The sexually incontinent blancmange couldn't run the proverbial pish up. 

2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

I wouldn't vote Labour under any circumstances ever again. Another bunch of self serving charlatans. 

Starmer is hopeless, Sarwar is just your normal Labour flunky in Scotland. 

1 hour ago, Gizmo said:

The tories went hard in previous GEs about the spectre of Labour shacking up with the SNP. They would need to get around that to sell it to middle England or the tories will just have another bogeyman card to play. They didn't even care that last time there was unequivocally no deal between the parties, to peddle that line. 

We will see what they come up with, I guess. 

Yeah about Scotland dipping their wallet in their adverts dahn saaf.
Salmond pick pocketing someone IIRC 

Seem to recall outrage that a Scottish party could make decisions that might affect England. So used to the hoose jocks in their normal parties that just get telt the crack. 
They love us so they do🥰

Edited by jack D and coke

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I wouldn't vote Labour under any circumstances ever again. Another bunch of self serving charlatans. 

Starmer is hopeless, Sarwar is just your normal Labour flunky in Scotland. 

I’m same. Never again. 

4 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Possibly harsh yeah but he’s one of those that climbs those ladders into positions of power losing all his morals along the way for me. 
The fact he barely lands a glove on this govt is evidence enough he’s never going to be the man. It’s literally open goal after open goal and he balloons it over the bar so to speak. 

Good post. 

6 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

As ever with this shower of corrupt lying shitehawks once the fog of the headline clears the motive becomes more apparent.

Already behind the 8-ball over his flat renovation debacle and after being reprimanded for his dodgy holiday in Mustique it becomes clear why Johnson is desperate to get the standards committee dismantled and replaced by a load of his mates. 

The Eton Mess has tried to game the system over his freebie holiday at his mate's gaff at Marbella, declaring it to one register with no detail to try to avoid having to declare it in full on the members register. 

However Angela Rayner knows precisely what the Tory criminal cabal are all about and is all over Bozo like one of his ill fitting suits. 

The thing which really astonishes me even more than he has breached some rules is how tight fisted these rich  fecks are...cant he pay for his own holiday...ofcourse he can....disgusting really...hate tight wads...says a lot about a person.

5 hours ago, Alex Kintner said:

There is indeed. Think we need to be clear though that being pro-trans rights doesn’t equal being anti-feminist. 

However this is a conflict in attempting to support both in every way. 

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

I’m same. Never again. 

As ive said before they should never have got rid of Jeremy C.  A fine ,  intelligent , humane and principled politician. 

30 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

As ive said before they should never have got rid of Jeremy C.  A fine ,  intelligent , humane and principled politician. 

The media make sure we aren’t ever tempted to vote these people then call Boris a gladiator and shite like that. 
We’re led by wankers to vote in bigger wankers. 

B2DD44D9-92EA-41B6-9633-B2F5B078357B.jpeg

B9084896-A7ED-4238-BA77-AF3447983C0A.jpeg

A9EB98B4-1961-4FE1-AB59-ABDD553C4363.jpeg

This is an incredible set of exchanges today at the Commons Select Committee between John Nicholson MP and the cabinet minister for Culture Media & Sport Nadine Dorries discussing a potential online safety bill

This on top of the utter shite spouted by Andrea Jenkyns the other day, they don't like questions, they don't like being called out for questionable behaviour. 

38 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

The media make sure we aren’t ever tempted to vote these people then call Boris a gladiator and shite like that. 
We’re led by wankers to vote in bigger wankers. 

B2DD44D9-92EA-41B6-9633-B2F5B078357B.jpeg

B9084896-A7ED-4238-BA77-AF3447983C0A.jpeg

A9EB98B4-1961-4FE1-AB59-ABDD553C4363.jpeg

Well he has the correct initials as he was crucified ! But by the press JC. Disgraceful time in politics . Mind you it’s got even worse 

45 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Well he has the correct initials as he was crucified ! But by the press JC. Disgraceful time in politics . Mind you it’s got even worse 

Thought you might’ve spotted the wee daily sport headline at the bottom James cmon :lol: 

WorldChampions1902
1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

This is an incredible set of exchanges today at the Commons Select Committee between John Nicholson MP and the cabinet minister for Culture Media & Sport Nadine Dorries discussing a potential online safety bill

This on top of the utter shite spouted by Andrea Jenkyns the other day, they don't like questions, they don't like being called out for questionable behaviour. 

They really are an utterly shameless shower of s**te. The sooner this Junta goes, the better but it may be a while yet, sadly.

8 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

👋

7 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Thought you might’ve spotted the wee daily sport headline at the bottom James cmon :lol: 

??? The pogo stick one ? 

10 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

They really are an utterly shameless shower of s**te. The sooner this Junta goes, the better but it may be a while yet, sadly.

It's genuinely concerning what they're trying to ram through parliament on the quiet. 

They're also trying to amend the FOI  act so they don't have to provide information if they don't fancy it. 

I'd imagine that'll come in handy if/when they ever get round to a Covid pandemic public inquiry. 

2 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Pretty sure that was Freddie Flintoff or Ringo Starr 😂

It was Freddie Starr but poor JC was blamed for everything they could think of to malign him . 🥲

12 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

The thing which really astonishes me even more than he has breached some rules is how tight fisted these rich  fecks are...cant he pay for his own holiday...ofcourse he can....disgusting really...hate tight wads...says a lot about a person.

However this is a conflict in attempting to support both in every way. 

I suspect that he can't easily, no. For me that is quite a problem for a man in his position, he clearly isn't minded to 'cut his cloth' so to speak...

https://www.forbes.com/sites/isabeltogoh/2019/07/23/can-boris-johnson-actually-afford-to-be-prime-minister/?sh=5dfc27835e30

Good lad Rory, hadn't realised he'd been expelled from the Tory party. There is a short clip of him discussing Afghanistan which amply demonstrates why politics is worse off without him.

Edited by Japan Jambo
found it!

3 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

I suspect that he can't easily, no. For me that is quite a problem for a man in his position, he clearly isn't minded to 'cut his cloth' so to speak...

https://www.forbes.com/sites/isabeltogoh/2019/07/23/can-boris-johnson-actually-afford-to-be-prime-minister/?sh=5dfc27835e30

Very interesting article . Thanks for sharing.

3 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Good lad Rory, hadn't realised he'd been expelled from the Tory party. There is a short clip of him discussing Afghanistan which amply demonstrates why politics is worse off without him.

He's an impressive guy with some actual leadership qualities. No surprise Johnson felt the need to jettison him.