National rail strikes planned by RMT

IronJambo

3 hours ago, Riccarton3 said:

I wonder if folks on here get as agitated about billions wasted on useless protection against a virus. That's not a subsidy though is it? That's contracts being dished out to 'preferred' suppliers. What do they put that down to?

That's corruption and could be described as fascism.

There's no defence of that and my argument on here is not supportive of the theft you speak of.

I already posted as much.

I've admitted I'm a conservative minded poster.

The current government are far away from my beliefs.

• Replies 1.9k

• IronJambo

• ri Alban

• Ked

• The Real Maroonblood

4 minutes ago, Ked said:

......I'm a conservative minded poster.

The current government are far away from my beliefs.

I feel the same on both counts, I no idea how things are going to get any better though, just look at the alternatives, weak opposition always results in weak government, I see no light at the end on the tunnel.

3 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

I feel the same on both counts, I no idea how things are going to get any better though, just look at the alternatives, weak opposition always results in weak government, I see no light at the end on the tunnel.

I really think most Scottish people are .

The light at the end of the tunnel might be shone by these fekin commie train drivers.

🤣🤣

There's always light at the end buddy because mostly people are decent.

Even auld radges like us👍

3 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Well thats us posties saying a big fat yes.

294580895_421343400030437_1574370950288808290_n.jpg

Good luck.

Barristers are out on strike again this week.

Never see that in the headlines.

Doctors to be balloted soon.

Edited by Cade

1 hour ago, maroonlegions said:

More folks standing up for themselves. But what aboot my post? 😂

I hope you don't even have to strike in the end.

35 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

More folks standing up for themselves. But what aboot my post? 😂

I hope you don't even have to strike in the end.

:thumb:  The last thing we want to do ios strike.Just like other workers across the UKs sectors .

This week's Chancellor has been making his mansion house speech where he reiterated the party line that you scaffy oiks in the public sector (heroes 2 years ago) will definitely not be getting a pay increase any where near the 9.9% inflation rate. 

Meanwhile he's taking the cap off bankers bonuses.

Every cloud eh? 

Edited by The Mighty Thor

3 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

:thumb:  The last thing we want to do ios strike.Just like other workers across the UKs sectors .

Bang on. It's shite being on strike. Folk don't realise what you go through with it.

8 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Bang on. It's shite being on strike. Folk don't realise what you go through with it.

I've been asked more than once how much I get paid when on strike 🙈🤣

5 minutes ago, escobri said:

I've been asked more than once how much I get paid when on strike 🙈🤣

I thought some unions paid a small amount to their strikers?

Edit: It was a paltry amount, something like £50 p/d but maybe I've got the wrong end of the stick.

Edited by jambo89

28 minutes ago, jambo89 said:

Edit: It was a paltry amount, something like £50 p/d but maybe I've got the wrong end of the stick.

Has been in the past with a payment significantly less than £50. Tokenless gesture imo.

49 minutes ago, escobri said:

Has been in the past with a payment significantly less than £50. Tokenless gesture imo.

Shite.

A lot more than that depending on your union. 
Nothing tokenless about it. Vital when you’re out on strike.

3 hours ago, jambo89 said:

They have hardship funds and can divert other funds if they need to. I'd need to be in dire straits to be asking for money from them though when I know many others will be worse off than me.

WorldChampions1902
22 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

Good luck with your industrial action. Hopefully not too much damage is done if management rapidly come to their senses and pony up a respectable settlement. Sometimes the threat of action is all that is required. The worms are turning.

On 20/07/2022 at 15:52, WorldChampions1902 said:

Good luck with your industrial action. Hopefully not too much damage is done if management rapidly come to their senses and pony up a respectable settlement. Sometimes the threat of action is all that is required. The worms are turning.

Cheers bud.:thumb:

3 minutes ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

I look forward to John the temp driving a train. What could possibly go wrong.

Hopefully the ones on it are the ones moaning about unions !

37 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Law change to end ban on agency workers filling in for strikers 

Law change to stop 'militant' unions bringing Britain 'to a standstill' | Daily Mail Online

A country run on cheap temps who don’t quite have the correct experience or local knowledge, and thus don’t do as good a job as the people they are replacing.

What could possibly go wrong indeed.

And for the people that will say “there’s nothing wrong with temps”, that’s your opinion and that’s fair enough, but if you went to the barbers and got asked if you’d rather have a temp who’s been in the door 10 minutes do your hair, or the person thats been doing it for 25 years, I think we all know the one you’d go with.

Edited by Shooter McGavin

7 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

And for the people that will say “there’s nothing wrong with temps”, that’s your opinion and that’s fair enough, but if you went to the barbers and got asked if you’d rather have a temp who’s been in the door 10 minutes do your hair, or the person thats been doing it for 25 years, I think we all know the one you’d go with.

You've not seen the nick of Nucky's barnet.

Japan Jambo
15 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

Spitting the dummy oot the pram then.

https://news.sky.com/story/royal-mail-strikes-why-unions-pay-fight-risks-backfiring-on-the-115-000-workers-involved-12655673

without wishing to be unkind the posties don't have the same bargaining power as the RMT - we won't deliver your electricity bill is not the same inconvenience as being unable to get to work. Looks like management will strip out the performing bits and leave the bits that don't want to adapt to wither and die. Next stop will be revisions to the universal postal service provision.

Edited by Japan Jambo
adding

12 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

A country run on cheap temps who don’t quite have the correct experience or local knowledge, and thus don’t do as good a job as the people they are replacing.

Sounds like you're describing the cabinet. 

14 hours ago, Dazo said:

Good. Absolutely nonsense in the first place. 

It's a bit moot really. There won't be a scab agency worker doing my job or that of a driver and if a pink elephant flies by and there actually is then you better hope you're not on that train.

Arseholery of the highest order from Servest/GWR here:

IMG-20220722-WA0005.jpg

Edited by IronJambo

7 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

It's a bit moot really. There won't be a scab agency worker doing my job or that of a driver and if a pink elephant flies by and there actually is then you better hope you're not on that train.

I didn’t think they would. The whole safety bollox is right out the union playbook. 

7 minutes ago, Dazo said:

I didn’t think they would. The whole safety bollox is right out the union playbook. 

Bollox aye? I'm not sure you'd know the first thing about it. 

14 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Bollox aye? I'm not sure you'd know the first thing about it. 

I’m saying your employer wouldn’t put unqualified people to cover your role, that is all. Maybe I’m wrong. 

Exam markers also going out on strike.

Add them to the list.

Rail workers

Airline staff
Posties
Examiners
Doctors
Barristers
Police on a work-to-rule
Firemen
Nurses
BT engineeers
Teachers

8 minutes ago, Dazo said:

I’m saying your employer wouldn’t put unqualified people to cover your role, that is all. Maybe I’m wrong. 

There's nothing bollox about health and safety bud. Certainly not on the railways, it's what saves lives. 

And you're right, only because it would be very difficult for them and not at all legal if they got caught out. They currently use badly "trained" managers to fill what they can. Incidents rise on strike days. 

6 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

There's nothing bollox about health and safety bud. Certainly not on the railways, it's what saves lives. 

And you're right, only because it would be very difficult for them and not at all legal if they got caught out. They currently use badly "trained" managers to fill what they can. Incidents rise on strike days. 

Think we’re crossed wires. I completely agree about health & safety and don’t think your employer would cross that line. So the whole threat from the unions about safety is bollox as it won’t happen. 

• 3 weeks later...

Add Dockers to the list of workers going on strike.

Felixstowe port authority has had their latest pay offer rejected.

Offered 7% and a £500 lump sum.

Last year they only got 1.4%.

So year on year their workers are suffering a cut in real term wages.

The port made £61m profit in 2020 and paid out almost £100m in share dividends.

Felixstowe handles about 40% of all container traffic in the UK.

Jambo-Jimbo
Just now, Cade said:

Add Dockers to the list of workers going on strike.

Felixstowe port authority has had their latest pay offer rejected.

Offered 7% and a £500 lump sum.

Last year they only got 1.4%.

So year on year their workers are suffering a cut in real term wages.

The port made £61m profit in 2020 and paid out almost £100m in share dividends.

Felixstowe handles about 40% of all container traffic in the UK.

Add Royal Mail workers to that list as well now, as they have announced 4 strike dates in the coming weeks.

The country is grinding to a halt and those in power don't give a **** ..

Jambo-Jimbo
7 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

The country is grinding to a halt and those in power don't give a **** ..

Those in power have been on holiday, but that's a different story.

Back to strikes, nurses may well be the next to strike, I really do think we have reached a tipping point as people from all walks of life and occupations just can't cope with the level of all these price rises.

https://news.sky.com/story/nurses-set-to-vote-on-walkout-over-pay-as-rcn-boosts-strike-fund-by-15m-12668798

2 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Add Royal Mail workers to that list as well now, as they have announced 4 strike dates in the coming weeks.

Royal Mail made a profit of £700+ million last year too.

But aye, apparently it’s the workers that are greedy…

2 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

Royal Mail made a profit of £700+ million last year too.

But aye, apparently it’s the workers that are greedy…

Just to clarify that the pay deal they have offered/imposed is not the main issue here. 

the conditions they want to us to agree to are horrendous. Annualised hours, complete flexibility in our hours, flexibility they control! This would result in an almost complete removal of overtime. Sunday working. Removal of entitlements we currently get. Removal of sick pay.  The whole list is some hard reading. 

don’t let the media spin fool you. This is about changes to our terms and conditions and not pay. Yes we want a pay rise but it’s by no means the main thing 

18 minutes ago, jamboy1982 said:

Just to clarify that the pay deal they have offered/imposed is not the main issue here. 

the conditions they want to us to agree to are horrendous. Annualised hours, complete flexibility in our hours, flexibility they control! This would result in an almost complete removal of overtime. Sunday working. Removal of entitlements we currently get. Removal of sick pay.  The whole list is some hard reading. 

don’t let the media spin fool you. This is about changes to our terms and conditions and not pay. Yes we want a pay rise but it’s by no means the main thing 

Appreciate your time for clarifying this situation for me, mate 👍🏻

That’s certainly concerning, but good to see action being taken. All the best.

Wildcat strike outside Grangemouth this morning.

Sub- contracted Facilities staff out on the picket line in a dispute with their 3rd party employer.

Several other similar actions were taken at other sites across the UK.