National rail strikes planned by RMT

IronJambo

40 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

What a scumbag you are.

Calling someone you've never met a scumbag because of a post you don't agree with on a fans forum.

Deary me :vrface:

• Replies 1.9k

• IronJambo

• ri Alban

• Ked

• The Real Maroonblood

On 30/06/2022 at 08:58, Smithee said:

I was against the rail workers action but I've had a long think about this. That was purely from an "Oh my god the whole place is ****ed" point of view, it seemed mental that people wanted more while the rest of us are crushed.

But I was wrong, we all deserve more, every last one of us on the lower rungs. There's no reason anyone in this country should be living in poverty, we should all have comfortable lives. The fact that we don't is a choice from those in power.

The workers are right to fight for their income and standard of living against an establishment that uses as all.

How about this year those ***** make a loss for a change, how about no dividends or payrises at the top for 10 years instead of austerity for us. We didn't **** the economy up, you pay for it this time.

I remember you were intially against it. Well done for admitting to having changed your mind. Many people (probably myself included) would've simply dug in / doubled down. Glad you've seen the light though 😜

20 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

You are genuinely a prick. Anyone who is willing to look their nose down on someone else’s profession is complete roaster. Simple as that. Someone who willing to rejoice in the potential loss of someone’s job is equally a roaster. And tbh though out this thread you seem like a roaster. 

**** off. Congratulations btw, first ever poster I am going block. 

I welcome any mod infractions coming my way for the above statement. 

I would add boring to your assesment of them. Same old tripe, time and time again from the poster.

I remember working at the mail place in Sighthill.

Used to take on a 2nd job at Christmas time back in the day as hours were short on site during winter.

Had a young family so Christmas and all that.

Anyway part of that was unloading and I shit you not union rules meant you could only lift one sack at a time even if it had only had a few letters.

😄

Not sure if that's still the case but there was some fecking about went on and I never quite saw how they needed extra staff.

That was 30 odd years ago.

5 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Calling someone you've never met a scumbag because of a post you don't agree with on a fans forum.

Deary me :vrface:

Hoping people get made redundant is scumbag behaviour. 

Deary me indeed.

>Attack entire industry, writing off all employees as lazy workshy scroungers

>Get called out

>Play the victim

On 02/07/2022 at 14:37, Nucky Thompson said:

Aye, I worked through covid. 

I work outside and for myself, so I had no choice.

Load of shite shutting everything down anyway, but that's for another thread.

Load of shite shutting everything down??

You mean trying to save lifes by doing so.

We have no choice but to deliver in ALL weather conditions. Yes i signed up for that but there is nothing more insulting and a attack on not only our working conditions, work practices and our legally bound terms and conditions.

We are not the only ones who do NOT consider ourselves "more important than we think we are" . Nurses , teachers and rail workers deserve a long awaited pay rise and not only because of the cost of living surge.

There is also protecting DIGNITY and respect.

Lyrics

There's a man I meet, walks up our street
He's a worker for the council
Has been twenty years

And he takes no lip off nobody
And litter off the gutter
Puts it in a bag

And never thinks to mutter
And he packs his lunch in a Sunblest bag
The children call him Bogie

He never lets on
But I know 'cause he once told me

He let me know a secret about the money in his kitty
He's gonna buy a dinghy
Gonna call her Dignity

And I'll sail her up the west coast
Through villages and towns

I'll be on my holidays
They'll be doing their rounds

They'll ask me how I got her I'll say, "I saved my money"
They'll say, "Isn't she pretty? That ship called Dignity"

And I'm telling this story
In a faraway sea
Sipping down raki

And reading Maynard Keynes
And I'm thinking about home and all that that means

And a place in the winter for dignity
And I'll sail her up the west coast
Through villages and towns

I'll be on my holidays
They'll be doing the rounds

They'll ask me how I got her I'll say, "I saved my money"
They'll say, "Isn't she pretty? That ship called Dignity"

Stand it up, stand it up, stand it up, stand it up, stand it up, stand it up
Yeah, stand it up again, stand it up again, stand it up again, stand it up again
Stand it up, stand it up, stand it up, stand it up, stand it up, stand it up
Yeah, stand it up again, stand it up again, stand it up again, stand it up again
And I'm thinking about home

And I'm thinking about faith
And I'm thinking about work

And I'm thinking how good it would be
To be here some day
On a ship called Dignity
A ship called Dignity
That ship

On 02/07/2022 at 15:48, Ked said:

I remember working at the mail place in Sighthill.

Used to take on a 2nd job at Christmas time back in the day as hours were short on site during winter.

Had a young family so Christmas and all that.

Anyway part of that was unloading and I shit you not union rules meant you could only lift one sack at a time even if it had only had a few letters.

😄

Not sure if that's still the case but there was some fecking about went on and I never quite saw how they needed extra staff.

That was 30 odd years ago.

Yip 30 years ago Times change.

On 02/07/2022 at 20:05, fabienleclerq said:

Hoping people get made redundant is scumbag behaviour. 

Deary me indeed.

:greatpost:

Further strikes likely after train drivers (ASLEF) in England voted for strike action.

Scotrail drivers accepted a 5% offer. 

43 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Further strikes likely after train drivers (ASLEF) in England voted for strike action.

Scotrail drivers accepted a 5% offer. 

It's not just England. There are a couple of crossovers into Scotland and also into Wales.

LNER

Trans Pennine

Arriva

Chiltern 

GWR

Northern 

South Eastern

West Midlands.

11 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

It's not just England. There are a couple of crossovers into Scotland and also into Wales.

LNER

Trans Pennine

Arriva

Chiltern 

GWR

Northern 

South Eastern

West Midlands.

Was LNER previously GNER?

47 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Was LNER previously GNER?

Yes. It operated the East Coast main line between 1996 and 2007.

LNER operated from the 1920s until nationalisation in 1948.

The nationalised British Rail was a merger between

LNER (London & North Eastern Railway)

LMS (London Midland and Scottish)

GWR (Great Western Railway)

SR (Southern Railway)

16 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

SR (Southern Railway)

Thanks for that.

Well done from the Scottish government sorting it out. Doubt they will be given any credit for it though. 

28 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

SR (Southern Railway)

There's no nationalised British rail. The government are handing out management contracts similar to before. GWR were awarded theirs a couple of weeks ago

1 minute ago, IronJambo said:

There's no nationalised British rail. The government are handing out management contracts similar to before. GWR were awarded theirs a couple of weeks ago

I'm well aware of that. I was merely highlighting the existence of LNER pre nationalisation.

24 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I'm well aware of that. I was merely highlighting the existence of LNER pre nationalisation.

You said this though:

"The nationalised British Rail was a merger between

SR (Southern Railway)"

And I don't have a clue what you're on about. LNER, GWR, or Southern didn't merge with anyone and are still stand alone franchises. I don't know anything about London Midland but I'd suspect they're the same.

43 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Well done from the Scottish government sorting it out. Doubt they will be given any credit for it though. 

Aye well done.

Wonder who will suffer the cutbacks or will it be tax hikes.

Or will we gather the money of the magic money tree.

Won't be from greater productivity or profits that's for sure.

You said this though:

"The nationalised British Rail was a merger between

SR (Southern Railway)"

And I don't have a clue what you're on about. LNER, GWR, or Southern didn't merge with anyone and are still stand alone franchises. I don't know anything about London Midland but I'd suspect they're the same.

I said (or meant) that nationalisation took place in 1948, when the four big regional operators of the day (LNER, LMS, GWR, SR) were merged to form British Rail (the nationalised operator). 

50 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

400 quid for working your rest days 

10% on top of that for working a Sunday (hope that those benefitting that see fit to up tips to the low paid if using a restaurant on a sunday(

Increased paternity/maternity  .

All for an industries workforce that didn't turn a coin in profit.

Barry 

1 minute ago, Ked said:

I'm no wanting 440 quid a shift though.

Nor am I, I don’t work for scotrail 😂😂😂

55 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I said (or meant) that nationalisation took place in 1948, when the four big regional operators of the day (LNER, LMS, GWR, SR) were merged to form British Rail (the nationalised operator). 

👍 I've read read it bud, seems I miss read. I stand corrected 🙃

3 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

Nor am I, I don’t work for scotrail 😂😂😂

That's maybe your problem. Why not? 

Imagine being pissed because people got a pay deal that you can't negotiate for yourself. No wonder you're not capable as even you don't believe you're worth it 🤣

2 minutes ago, Ked said:

SNCF.

Has to be said a far superior train network both in advanced trains skills etc.

Paid less than our lot.

Really? You'd think they'd be on time since their lines are far from running at capacity. They have frequent 10-20 lay times at stations yet most of the time I've used them they've been late.

Imagine being pissed because people got a pay deal that you can't negotiate for yourself. No wonder you're not capable as even you don't believe you're worth it 🤣

Just got my ballot paper on Saturday 

we will see what we get offered.

who’s pissed btw? Me or Ked?

Willie Hills giving 3/1 on a Ked 7 post streak to return.

Ladbrokes you can get evens on him failing his train driver tests.

Scotbet 1/3 on him getting a knock on the door for helping his pal batter a homeless guy and stealing his dug.

8 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

😂😂 Dinnae hurt me Ked ffs 

Be nice if you could stick to the point .

Where do you want these wage increases to come from?

Just now, Ked said:

Be nice if you could stick to the point .

Where do you want these wage increases to come from?

You could pay more tax.

25 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

I think you've misread again.

Just now, Sooperstar said:

Prob why he never replied to me.

a swing and a miss.

7 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

Willie Hills giving 3/1 on a Ked 7 post streak to return.

Ladbrokes you can get evens on him failing his train driver tests.

Scotbet 1/3 on him getting a knock on the door for helping his pal batter a homeless guy and stealing his dug.

Here's better odds 100/1 on anyone of you telling me whether it's tax hikes or which services take the hit?

Because that's the bottom line on an industry that's already subsidised to the tune of 600 per household.

And guess what only 5% of those households use yeez.And guess what you dropped them on their arse just when they were getting back to getting back.

So answer the fekin bottom line wheres the dough coming from to further increase above average pay and conditions?

4 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

You could pay more tax.

2 minutes ago, Ked said:

Here's better odds 100/1 on anyone of you telling me whether it's tax hikes or which services take the hit?

Because that's the bottom line on an industry that's already subsidised to the tune of 600 per household.

And guess what only 5% of those households use yeez.And guess what you dropped them on their arse just when they were getting back to getting back.

So answer the fekin bottom line wheres the dough coming from to further increase above average pay and conditions?

I've never been on strike so I never dropped anyone. 

Tax hikes😆 .

When did you fail the drivers tests? 

Just now, fabienleclerq said:

I've never been on strike so I never dropped anyone. 

Tax hikes😆 .

When did you fail the drivers tests? 

Aww.

There has to be some twist in it eh?

My wife got rode

I failed the test.

Can't just be I disagree.

Again where you want your oayrise to be funded from given 600 pound from every household already contribute 

13 minutes ago, Ked said:

Aww.

There has to be some twist in it eh?

My wife got rode

I failed the test.

Can't just be I disagree.

Again where you want your oayrise to be funded from given 600 pound from every household already contribute 

I've not had a payrise. 

Just so I'm clear, are you suggesting no public sector worker gets a payrise because it comes out of another services budget? 

Id suggest the tories mismanagement of the economy,taking us out the EU, spunking billions on ppe and losing billions to fraud are causing more strain on budgets than railway workers asking for an overdue payrise.

What's this 600 quid figure you keep banging on about?

Some of the stuff you come out with on this thread it's obvious you have been employed by the railway or have a interest in it. You appear rather bitter and angry about its employees aswell. You aren't just in disagreement, you're charging about like a bull in a China shop.

1 hour ago, 1874robbo said:

Just got my ballot paper on Saturday 

we will see what we get offered.

who’s pissed btw? Me or Ked?

Apologies Robbo, I meant to quote resident keyboard hardman and actual henchman ked

44 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

2 hours ago, Ked said:

SNCF.

Has to be said a far superior train network both in advanced trains skills etc.

Paid less than our lot.

But what state support does it get?

This is from SNCF themselves just last month. The state appears to have written of 35bn euros of debt and provided another 4.05bn euros in capital support.

https://www.sncf.com/en/group/finance/investor-relations

Strong support from the French State

• The French State has stepped up to support SNCF Group when we needed it, assuming €35 billion in debt and subscribing to a €4.05 billion capital increase after the Covid-19 crisis.
  • SNCF Group is wholly owned by the French State, and shares may not be sold or transferred. The State appoints our CEO and one-third of our board of directors.
  • SNCF carries out strategic missions for the State. These include our key role in the economy, employment, regional development, commuter mobility and equal access to every part of France, as well as our contributions to meeting COP 21 targets for greenhouse gas reduction, the energy transition and national defence.
  • A large share of our revenue comes from regulated transport delivered under contracts with regional authorities.

8 hours ago, fabienleclerq said:

I've not had a payrise. 

Just so I'm clear, are you suggesting no public sector worker gets a payrise because it comes out of another services budget? 

Id suggest the tories mismanagement of the economy,taking us out the EU, spunking billions on ppe and losing billions to fraud are causing more strain on budgets than railway workers asking for an overdue payrise.

What's this 600 quid figure you keep banging on about?

Some of the stuff you come out with on this thread it's obvious you have been employed by the railway or have a interest in it. You appear rather bitter and angry about its employees aswell. You aren't just in disagreement, you're charging about like a bull in a China shop.

What a silly thing to say.

It’s obviously your average worker who just wants to be able to afford to eat and pay their heating bills that are ruining our economy…

Anyway, I do find it quite funny how outraged people become when ordinary people negotiate a payrise 😂 

But the government spunking billions up the wall, losing billions in fraud and signing off on dodgy contracts that leads to millions of pounds being shovelled off to their pals, yep that’s fine, nothing to see here, move on etc….

But the people who just want to afford their next heating bill? HOW DARE THEY!!!

11 hours ago, Ked said:

400 quid for working your rest days 

10% on top of that for working a Sunday (hope that those benefitting that see fit to up tips to the low paid if using a restaurant on a sunday(

Increased paternity/maternity  .

All for an industries workforce that didn't turn a coin in profit.

Barry 

Its not £400 plus %10 for working a Sunday. Drivers are paid the hours worked for a Sunday shift plus a fixed book on fee. Even if working a max 10hr turn and adding the book on fee it still works out at less than the new amount of £400 for rest day working mon-sat(which will be paid if a driver chooses to work a day off). 

I appreciate its still a good rate of pay and many folk will have differing opinions on whether drivers are 'worth that' or not. What price do people put on folk working seriously unsociable hours (start times vary by several hours most days) and being responsible for thousands of lives each journey? Over the past few months I haven't heard a peep about the many trades folk who make 50k plus a year and (likely more often than not) only pay partial tax on what they are bringing in. 

5 hours ago, hmfcbilly said:

Its not £400 plus %10 for working a Sunday. Drivers are paid the hours worked for a Sunday shift plus a fixed book on fee. Even if working a max 10hr turn and adding the book on fee it still works out at less than the new amount of £400 for rest day working mon-sat(which will be paid if a driver chooses to work a day off). 

I appreciate its still a good rate of pay and many folk will have differing opinions on whether drivers are 'worth that' or not. What price do people put on folk working seriously unsociable hours (start times vary by several hours most days) and being responsible for thousands of lives each journey? Over the past few months I haven't heard a peep about the many trades folk who make 50k plus a year and (likely more often than not) only pay partial tax on what they are bringing in. 

Look mate despite my postings I'm happy to see folk get a decent wage.

On your last paragraph.

The market dictates what a trades person earns.And they pay tax either self employed employed or business like everyone else.

Obviously there is homers for cash etc.

The difference is that any wage increases cannot be paid for by the rail industry profits.

Those profits don't come close to covering it.

13 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

But what state support does it get?

This is from SNCF themselves just last month. The state appears to have written of 35bn euros of debt and provided another 4.05bn euros in capital support.

https://www.sncf.com/en/group/finance/investor-relations

Strong support from the French State

• The French State has stepped up to support SNCF Group when we needed it, assuming €35 billion in debt and subscribing to a €4.05 billion capital increase after the Covid-19 crisis.
  • SNCF Group is wholly owned by the French State, and shares may not be sold or transferred. The State appoints our CEO and one-third of our board of directors.
  • SNCF carries out strategic missions for the State. These include our key role in the economy, employment, regional development, commuter mobility and equal access to every part of France, as well as our contributions to meeting COP 21 targets for greenhouse gas reduction, the energy transition and national defence.
  • A large share of our revenue comes from regulated transport delivered under contracts with regional authorities.

Good information. 

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

6 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

What a silly thing to say.

It’s obviously your average worker who just wants to be able to afford to eat and pay their heating bills that are ruining our economy…

Anyway, I do find it quite funny how outraged people become when ordinary people negotiate a payrise 😂 

But the government spunking billions up the wall, losing billions in fraud and signing off on dodgy contracts that leads to millions of pounds being shovelled off to their pals, yep that’s fine, nothing to see here, move on etc….

But the people who just want to afford their next heating bill? HOW DARE THEY!!!

Think you will find I've described the recent government covid scandals as little more than theft.

Also because I take an opposite view does not count as being outraged.

You can take different views on different subjects and you don't have to fit them in to little boxes that suit political views.

And again let's not paint this dispute as some sort of downtrodden workers.

Japan Jambo
16 hours ago, 1874robbo said:

You could pay more tax.

Not 'we' or 'all of us' but 'you' - hope Ked has broad shoulders...