energy prices

Masonic

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

No, there's nothing wrong with being satisfied with your lot in life. 

Of course there isn't; but when it comes to a government setting their stall out why would they be interested in those people?? 

If someone is satisfied with their lot then you don't need to put any focus on them or shape policy around them as they'll be happy regardless.

• Replies 4.1k

• ri Alban

• Jambo-Jimbo

• Unknown user

• Victorian

Just now, Smithee said:

No, there's nothing wrong with being satisfied with your lot in life. 

There isn’t if you are entirely self sufficient ie receive nothing from the state , or your tax input matches your take.

Otherwise your on the take, using the efforts of others to kick back.

which is not very socialist

22 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You've obviously missed the literally dozens of posts absolutely dismantling the vote SNP get Tories strawman argument. 

Labour will be stuck by the fact that they've spent 12 years not landing a blow on the criminal Junta, all the while using a mirror on a stick to view their own fundament. 

Vote whoever you want, if the racists decide they want the Tories then we get the Tories. T'was ever thus. 

Not at all, when Scotland voted labour , the uk often got labour .

the north turned blue for brexit.

it will turn back.

6 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Of course there isn't; but when it comes to a government setting their stall out why would they be interested in those people?? 

If someone is satisfied with their lot then you don't need to put any focus on them or shape policy around them as they'll be happy regardless.

I'm saying that there's nothing wrong with being unambitious, all those workers who just aren't that type should be able to go out, work hard, and earn a good living.

I literally posted every election result since 1992 and took you through hypothetical changes in Scottish MP's parties, and none of it ever changed the outcome of any general election.

Not sure how else to put that particular bullshit to bed.

jackie chan.jpg

Edited by Cade

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

Not at all, when Scotland voted labour , the uk often got labour .

the north turned blue for brexit.

it will turn back.

When the UK got Labour, it's because England voted Labour.

Scotland got what it voted for when England voted that way, and only because England voted that way.

Just now, Smithee said:

I'm saying that there's nothing wrong with being unambitious, all those workers who just aren't that type should be able to go out, work hard, and earn a good living.

If you want to go out, work hard and earn a good living...then you're ambitious as you're trying to achieve something. There's already nothing preventing that.

I don't understand why a Labour government would feel the need to specify that. 

2 minutes ago, Cade said:

I literally posted every election result since 1992 and took you through hypothetical changes in Scottish MP's parties, and none of it ever changed the outcome of any general election.

jackie chan.jpg

So there's no way Scotland could help return Labour majority in future?

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

If you want to go out, work hard and earn a good living...then you're ambitious as you're trying to achieve something. There's already nothing preventing that.

I don't understand why a Labour government would feel the need to specify that. 

Aye you disagreeing over the definition of ambition? If so, you can surely see what I'm actually saying.

That thing you do
1 hour ago, Victorian said:

I dare say it's quite complicated.  Maybe it's just fantasy but maybe a new party could be created to meet public demand or from a campaign.  The majority,  or a different minority have to take back the country.

Take back control,  you might say.

I think what youre describing is what would happen after Independence. The SNP would disband and multiple new parties would be created.

I think there isnt a swiss glacier in the heatwaves chance of it in the UK.

Just now, Smithee said:

Aye you disagreeing over the definition of ambition? If so, you can surely see what I'm actually saying.

Possibly, I'm taking ambition as meaning you want to achieve something for yourself and have some kind of aspirations.

What do you mean by it?

Regardless, I can't see the benefit of a party hoping to govern empowering a lack of ambition...what do they, or the country as a whole stand to gain from doing that? They're not there to counsel individuals, they're there to make the country as a whole a success.

25 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Surely it's dependent on how much you use? There's not a cat's he'll in chance I'll be using the same amounts as I normally do, due to the cost. 

Aye, you'd have to be a bit dim if you decide to cut around in your new build in shorts at 19C all winter.  Is it really unreasonable to spend 10% of your household income to keep yourself alive!

6 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Everyone should be able to live on what they earn.

of course they should.

Therein lies the issue.

People want more than their wages can cover, realistically and luxuries have become necessities.

The cost of staying alive is now ridiculous .

The tech spiral has increased the costs of everything .

Even kids need laptops, broadband, mobiles for even doing school work.

Possibly, I'm taking ambition as meaning you want to achieve something for yourself and have some kind of aspirations.

What do you mean by it?

Regardless, I can't see the benefit of a party hoping to govern empowering a lack of ambition...what do they, or the country as a whole stand to gain from doing that? They're not there to counsel individuals, they're there to make the country as a whole a success.

I'm talking about the many people working who aren't seeking promotion and aren't bothered, they'd just like to earn enough to have a nice life and go about their day, maybe they're into their boat, or their darts team.

They're the backbone of every country, but we seem obsessed with everyone being upwardly mobile.

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I'm talking about the many people working who aren't seeking promotion and aren't bothered, they'd just like to earn enough to have a nice life and go about their day, maybe they're into their boat, or their darts team.

They're the backbone of every country, but we seem obsessed with everyone being upwardly mobile.

We'd all like to have a nice life and a boat without having to be promoted, bothered or upwardly mobile but the reality is unless you're born super wealthy you do have to be ambitious to achieve that.

I do get what you're saying to an extent though. I'm not super driven, I just want to have sky sports, go on some nice holidays, have decent living space and enjoy the outdoors. I don't want promotions and the associated increase in work and responsibilities but even those quite basic wants aren't free and nobody else is going to buy them for me...even under a Labour government.

We'd all like to have a nice life and a boat without having to be promoted, bothered or upwardly mobile but the reality is unless you're born super wealthy you do have to be ambitious to achieve that.

I do get what you're saying to an extent though. I'm not super driven, I just want to have sky sports, go on some nice holidays, have decent living space and enjoy the outdoors. I don't want promotions and the associated increase in work and responsibilities but even those quite basic wants aren't free and nobody else is going to buy them for me...even under a Labour government.

That was a bad example, I've never spent more than 1500 on a boat and had one when I lived in a tower block, I forget that's not how people see boats!

Edited by Smithee

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

That was a bad example, I've never spent more than 1500 on a boat and had one when I lived in a tower block, I forget that's not how people see boats!

😂😂

Yeh, my dad had boat when I was younger...I know only too well they aren't all super yachts!!

I do think we're largely agreed and I also do think we could be a lot closer to that utopia but it would require much, much more than just a change of government. The whole world would have to change.

I'm pretty stubborn so I've a tendency to say if the world can't have that, then I'm not playing ball with the game. Hence my decision to no longer vote until someone radical does come along.

12 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Having a nice live should be achievable on a basic wage. 

You talk of holidays, in Holland they put aside 8.5% of your wage every month, and then in may or June, you get it in a lump sum, it's universal as far as I know. It's your holiday payment, basically a double wage, and you're meant to spend it on holidays. Even those on the dole get it, you're MEANT to go on holiday, it's important.

Edited by Smithee

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Having a nice live should be achievable on a basic wage. 

You talk of holidays, in Holland they put aside 8.5% of your wage every month, and then in may or June, you get it in a lump sum, it's universal as far as I know. It's your holiday payment, basically a troubled wage is and you're meant to spend it on holidays. Even those on the dole get it, you're MEANT to go on holiday, it's important.

I'm realising more and more that the UK and Scotland for that matter just maybe aren't for me anymore.

I'm just too lazy to move somewhere else 😂

3 minutes ago, Taffin said:

😂😂

Yeh, my dad had boat when I was younger...I know only too well they aren't all super yachts!!

I do think we're largely agreed and I also do think we could be a lot closer to that utopia but it would require much, much more than just a change of government. The whole world would have to change.

I'm pretty stubborn so I've a tendency to say if the world can't have that, then I'm not playing ball with the game. Hence my decision to no longer vote until someone radical does come along.

We live in a democracy that's grown up around Tory governments in the last century with occasional blips- there have only EVER been 6 Labour prime ministers.

That means our whole system, our government, their departments, etc, is set up by a group who have always been more interested in shareholders' interests than workers' interests.

This is a rich enough country for workers to have nice lives, it shouldn't be like this. You're right, much bigger change is needed, including the labour party actually speaking for the lowest paid workers.

3 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I'm realising more and more that the UK and Scotland for that matter just maybe aren't for me anymore.

I'm just too lazy to move somewhere else 😂

You shouldn't have to, it's such a bullshit situation that we're all used to.

36 minutes ago, Taffin said:

For some reason they wont consider hypothetical future elections.  It seems to be purely about past results.

A bit like tossing a coin and getting heads 6 times in a row and then believing it can only then be heads.

44 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Surely it's dependent on how much you use? There's not a cat's he'll in chance I'll be using the same amounts as I normally do, due to the cost. 

Of course it is, I'd have thought that was a given and didn't need mentioned all the time.

As for using less energy than you normally do, I'd think everyone who is able to will be doing the same, I know I will be and have been looking at ways were I can save, even a little bit, such as having more cold meals at dinner time (sandwich's etc), put boiled water into a flask and use that, rather than boiling a kettle (even just the minimum amount) 4 or 5 times a day, we have an outside freezer but may run down the amount of food in it and just use the normal fridge freezer, just wee things like that, but of course the big saving will be cutting back on the heating, it'll not be on nearly as often as it usually is, with any luck it'll be a mild winter.

34 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Spot on, a total obsession in the UK with everyone going further, climbing the ladder, driving themselves into the ground - for, ultimately, the benefit of the richest parasites.

Nothing wrong with living like that but the problem here is that everyone is made to feel like they should be adopting this attitude, and made to feel like wasters if they don’t.

49 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Of course.

And it's also possible that the Borders voting Tory pushes THEM over the winning line too.

Whataboutery is easy.

26 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Fair comment,....... but to be able to do these things, you WANT  a pay rise.  A decent one, every year.  Whether its as a result of promotion, or change of employer.  In the current climate of rising inflation, you NEED a decent pay rise.   Therein lies the perfect storm which our economy is facing.

12 minutes ago, Cade said:

Of course.

And it's also possible that the Borders voting Tory pushes THEM over the winning line too.

Whataboutery is easy.

Of course.

But that doesn't preclude the theory that any one given example of region,  area,  country can represent the balancing factor.  

Edited by Victorian

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

"Current energy bill support is not enough".

Spaffer.

Has to be trolling.

As with the rest of his tenure, he could give a shiny shite. 

1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

Labour needs the Scot’s and northern England back.

without that it’s eternal Tory rule, and that also means no independence. End of.

A decent labour can retake the north, and no doubt will, Without Scot’s mps though, that’s where they will be stuck.

Scotland has a great history of providing chancellors, PM s etc .

It could again if we had a political class up here who would engage with improving the UK.

Im voting labour, and if people want realistic change that’s what others will have to do.

Voting snp guarantees Tory rule.

it guarantees no ref and no Indy and no change.

you are voting for stalemate 

And once again a load of made up pish with no basis in reality

1 hour ago, Cade said:

jackie chan.jpg

Facts don't count when you're a unionist 

Facts……

if you vote snp there will  be no referendum.

Unless you can oust the ruling junta in Westminster .

Which you cannot.

If you want to improve the lot of people you really have to vote for a party that has a chance of Westminster power.

Or influence.

Simples.

Not much prominence for Labour's support proposals on the BBC website.  Mention of it is within other headlines.  Seems it doesn't merit it's own link.

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

Facts……

if you vote snp there will  be no referendum.

Unless you can oust the ruling junta in Westminster .

Which you cannot.

If you want to improve the lot of people you really have to vote for a party that has a chance of Westminster power.

Or influence.

Simples.

Can you say for certain there will never be a referendum if I vote SNP?

51 minutes ago, Cade said:

Of course.

Whataboutery is easy.

Whataboutery are you on about?!? 😂😂

2 hours ago, Cade said:

jackie chan.jpg

Let that be a lesson to you young man 🧐

What's with corbyn love in. The ***** voted against labour multiple times, especially against anti terrorism and guess who else, his mate John. I wonder who he was trying to protect.

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

:berra:

And nobody bats an eyelid.  

Privatise the profits, socialise the losses.

Same as it ever was. 

11 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Same as it ever was. 

Mind that time of regular mention of city spivs and reckless stock market gamblers?  At least we now know where the best racket in town migrated to.

15 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Same as it ever was. 

Are folk still going on about the SNP stopping these futuristic Labour governments. They never stopped them in the past and won't in the future. Mostly because Scotland will be independent and may have our own Labour government. 

The Tory alternative reality blame game bingo ramps up.

Here's one of the lead proponents of 'nuffink to do wiv me guv' and serial spraffer of utter bollocks, Lord Frost, on the energy crisis

Well Davey boy the energy policy was your governments and May sold off the gas storage so the 'guilty men' are the absolute shitehawks you were in power with. 

15 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The Tory alternative reality blame game bingo ramps up.

Here's one of the lead proponents of 'nuffink to do wiv me guv' and serial spraffer of utter bollocks, Lord Frost, on the energy crisis

Well Davey boy the energy policy was your governments and May sold off the gas storage so the 'guilty men' are the absolute shitehawks you were in power with. 

Yeah aye but nobody is supposed to take account of what people said and did or supported in the past.  It's all about reinventing one's self like a Nazi fugitive in South America to talk a different shade of bullshit.

Liz 'Brexit will cause a recession' Truss kens that.

Lizeral democrat remain untrussworthy as PM.

'That is a disgrace'