energy prices

Masonic

surely someone had to do something about that its terrible the amount of people who will be megatively affected france just capped the price rise at 4% we should follow suit

• Replies 4.1k

• ri Alban

• Jambo-Jimbo

• Unknown user

• Victorian

Captain Sausage

Problem is that it’ll just drive more suppliers to the wall if we don’t allow them to raise prices. 

It’s an absolute cluster ****. So many contributory sources but no easy way out. 

I think we are in for 12-18 months of real pain. 

france have the advantage that around 70% of their electric comes from their many nuclear power stations. i also believe they are more likely to have electric central heating or at least a method of heating that is powered by electric rather than like us with gas

4% increase limit in France.
53% increase (average) in the UK. 

UK's attempt to help is a loan of £200. Which, get this, you'll pay back even if you don't get it. Mandatory. 

I had a flurry of emails with Bulb last time they put prices up. I asked why, if it was wholesale prices going going up, why were they putting up the Standing Charge as well as the variable cost. They never could explain it...Of course they've now gone into admin, 2 weeks after unilaterally putting my DD up from £70 to £110...

Dennis Reynolds
19 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

UK's attempt to help is a loan of £200. Which, get this, you'll pay back even if you don't get it. Mandatory. 

I've genuinely only just realised from that twitter thread that this applies to every single bill. Very much playing catch up with this info. 

I'm on a fixed price tariff untill 2023 so don't 'need' £200 off but I'll still have to pay £40 a year extra for the following five years for the privilege is the way I am reading it. I can't opt out.

Can't help but feel I'm going to lose out here somehow tbh.

1 minute ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

I've genuinely only just realised from that twitter thread that this applies to every single bill. Very much playing catch up with this info. 

I'm on a fixed price tariff untill 2023 so don't 'need' £200 off but I'll still have to pay £40 a year extra for the following five years for the privilege is the way I am reading it. I can't opt out.

Can't help but feel I'm going to lose out here somehow tbh.

Similar here,

Hopefully I can tell them to ram their loan.

34 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Why are they applying the loan to Elec bills if the problem is Gas prices?

5 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

I could take a hunch but I suspect even that would be more effort than this useless government have put into this scheme. 

Captain Sausage
8 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Because a substantial amount of U.K. electricity is generated by burning natural gas I’d guess. 

9 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Majority of electricity in the uk comes from fossil fuels. 

Just now, Captain Sausage said:

Because a substantial amount of U.K. electricity is generated by burning natural gas I’d guess. 

So there is the crux - those of us who are dual fuel will see both gas and electricity prices going up...

1 minute ago, Spellczech said:

So there is the crux - those of us who are dual fuel will see both gas and electricity prices going up...

It will go up no matter which fuel you use. Those using coal or oil burners will likely see the market squeeze them as demand increases for alternatives. 

So lets get this straight.

The tolies want to give people who are struggling with the tory set minimum wage, the cost increases due to Brexit, a rise in National Insurance payments, their rent or mortgage going up, and all the other things going up because of this shit show a feckin LOAN, so they can pay the heating whilst they nip down to the foodbank???

So people with no disposable income and already struggling to make ends meet need to pay back this money? Just how are they going to do that without getting in even more debt?

Are the UK’s population dumb or what???

4 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

The tolies want to give people who are struggling with the tory set minimum wage, the cost increases due to Brexit, a rise in National Insurance payments, their rent or mortgage going up, and all the other things going up because of this shit show a feckin LOAN, so they can pay the heating whilst they nip down to the foodbank???

So people with no disposable income and already struggling to make ends meet need to pay back this money? Just how are they going to do that without getting in even more debt?

They are absolute scum.

Anyone defending them are arseholes.

If you're thinking of buying your first home or are buying a new property after this 'benefit' scheme starts you will have to pay £40 + vat a year despite never receiving a loan in the first place.

Absolute shambles

6 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Basically they are taking a punt on the WS Gas price increases being temporary, and that if prices do drop the price drop gets passed on (which won't happen if people fix their deal.

Can’t see the price falling again by anything like the amount it’s going up. Can’t see it falling at all TBH.

Meanwhile our successful nuclear programme is being wound down.  Let’s hope it’s windier than it was last year.

8 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Basically they are taking a punt on the WS Gas price increases being temporary, and that if prices do drop the price drop gets passed on (which won't happen if people fix their deal.

Whereas if they increase we're royally fecked. Increase in bills + £40 that wasn't even required for many in the first place

2 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Can you opt out the loan?

from the martin lewis link someone posted above

"This is going to happen. There is no choice about it. It is not optional and it is going to happen automatically on every single bill. Then from the following April, and for five years after that, you will then have your bill automatically - without choice - increased by £40 a year. That is how it will work.

34 minutes ago, Cade said:

France's EDF is state owned

there endeth the lesson

not fully but significant majority state owned (84.5%)

42 minutes ago, Steak said:

Does this apply to Scotland? I noticed the £150 council tax rebate is for England only as it stands

Yes. 

Scotland given the money to do same but not announced yet. 

This is what we should be concerned about atm. These parties are a fecking distraction that can be dealt with at a general election. This needs government intervention now and if they don't, us wee folk need to make them.

1 hour ago, Steak said:

Not as it stands

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

According to the link I posted a few posts back.

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

from the martin lewis link someone posted above

"This is going to happen. There is no choice about it. It is not optional and it is going to happen automatically on every single bill. Then from the following April, and for five years after that, you will then have your bill automatically - without choice - increased by £40 a year. That is how it will work.

Thanks guys. 

The whole thing is a joke. It wouldnt surprise me if there was some sort of shadiness hidden through it. 

Just now, indianajones said:

Thanks guys. 

The whole thing is a joke. It wouldnt surprise me if there was some sort of shadiness hidden through it. 

It's not good. 

2 hours ago, indianajones said:

Its criminal really. 

Everything is going up and the govt are doing nothing at all. 

Even better when one of the high heid yins at the BoE is asking folk not to ask for a big pay rise. 

Easy enough for someone earning stupid money, such as BoE bosses, but for those on min wage it's a ****ing slap in the face. 

4 minutes ago, Norm said:

Even better when one of the high heid yins at the BoE is asking folk not to ask for a big pay rise. 

Easy enough for someone earning stupid money, such as BoE bosses, but for those on min wage it's a ****ing slap in the face. 

They ought to get in the real world.

3 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Yes they are.

****ing idiots !

3 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Folk are going to really struggle next year when there's no loan to cover the £200 increase plus the probable 25% increase in October and the £40 loan repayment.

4 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

is UK’s population dumb or what???

You're going to struggle to name one other country in Europe who would put up with what has went on in this country during the past year. 

The answer to your question is sadly, very. 

5 hours ago, Steak said:

Does this apply to Scotland? I noticed the £150 council tax rebate is for England only as it stands

Scotland will get it also but the SNP Clowncils are putting the tax up next year anyway as per so probably work out at £100 overall 

I was under the impression that 90 plus percent of Scotland's electricity, came from wind farms/other forms of natural sources? So if the case how's ma feckin Lecky so expensive? 

1 hour ago, tightrope said:

I was under the impression that 90 plus percent of Scotland's electricity, came from wind farms/other forms of natural sources? So if the case how's ma feckin Lecky so expensive? 

That's correct.

Scotland is also a net exporter of electricity.

The energy grid is UK-wide and across the whole UK, renewables is only 35%.

So the other 65% is oil, gas, coal and nuclear.

Which is why you're paying through the nose for those.

If the Scottish power grid was separate, you'd have cheaper leccy.

Edited by Cade

18 hours ago, Captain Sausage said:

Problem is that it’ll just drive more suppliers to the wall if we don’t allow them to raise prices. 

It’s an absolute cluster ****. So many contributory sources but no easy way out. 

I think we are in for 12-18 months of real pain. 

True and it would be easy to list a dozen or more reasons why we are where we are now.

But despite the party political  knee jerk reactions on here , what significant differences have there been between the parties (north and south of the border) on energy policy in the last three decades and more? Relatively minor differences on green issues aside.  

(And the unopposed "liberalisation" of the market that allowed any Tom Dick or Harry (aka wideboy) with no assets other than a basic computer system and a generic billing system to set up as an "energy supplier" was one factor in the road to where we are).

Edited by Francis Albert

42 minutes ago, Cade said:

That's correct.

Thanks for that info, amazing that were actually subsidising the rest of the Country and getting ripped off for the privilege. No doubt we have an abundance of gas from the North Sea as well, probably exporting that too? The World's mad. 

16 hours ago, Norm said:

Funny how the costs are always socialised across the poor the hardest but when we bail out corporations or banks with money or tax write-offs, the bonuses quickly restart.

2 hours ago, Cade said:

That's correct.

I'd want to see the profits of all the wholesale energy providers stated on our bills. Shells just quadrupled its profits. No chance whatsoever the tories will apply a dividend tax to offset energy bills though. Imagine the corporate lobbying power of companies this rich (something else that they will never ban). 

19 hours ago, Cade said:

France's EDF is state owned

there endeth the lesson

Thank feck Thatcher sold off all our utilities to her mates for a few quid otherwise the country would really be in the shit.

Oh wait!

Edited by The Mighty Thor