SNP and Greens coalition.

ri Alban

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

the SNP winning elections in Scotland is pointless

Which is exactly why Scotland needs independence, what a farcical state to be in

• Replies 3.4k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

34 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

No I don't think so.

England don't 'rule' us. We are part of a union on the same island 

England rule us, their electorate decide what government we get.

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

That's hilariously wide of the mark, mate. My friends who voted no in 2014 were well informed and did plenty of research into the economics of indy. Calling them idiots is only making yourself look a wee bit stupid.

People who voted No in 2014 aren't necessarily unionists in 2022

Roxy Hearts
7 minutes ago, jonesy said:

That's hilariously wide of the mark, mate. My friends who voted no in 2014 were well informed and did plenty of research into the economics of indy. Calling them idiots is only making yourself look a wee bit stupid.

In your opinion Jonesy 😁😉

15 minutes ago, jonesy said:

And vice versa, bud.

Of course, just saying he isn't talking about your neebses, if they took it seriously and did what they reckon is good research, who can argue with that? I might disagree with them but that's democracy.

Folk like that shouty Queef lover and the resident pollster seem fair game though, it is Saturday evening after all.

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Ainsley and manalive (who reported on Thursday night that exit polls showed the Tories surging in Scotland)

1 hour ago, The Dragon Reborn said:

I like Nucky. Normally worth reading his posts even though I disagree with his political view and usually quite reasonable. Not sure what’s going on tonight though. 

He used to be one of the more reasonable unionists but the last few weeks he has gone full troll 

6 hours ago, Smithee said:

Ainsley and manalive (who reported on Thursday night that exit polls showed the Tories surging in Scotland)

I’ll need a smaller boat 

Lord Montpelier
11 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Regardless of the circumstances at Westminster I don't think we would win. Boris Johnson is a poor Prime Minister and this is an awful Westminster Government but it would appear people are still not convinced we'd be better governing ourselves, which I find ludicrous. Until I feel a shift then I'm not confident. 

Not a great reflection on the ability of the SNP to sell its vision (if you can call it that) in the current political climate then, is it ? Your right not to be confident. 

Roxy Hearts
4 hours ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Not a great reflection on the ability of the SNP to sell its vision (if you can call it that) in the current political climate then, is it ? Your right not to be confident. 

I don't need the SNP to sell me a vision. I want independence so we can make our own decisions and choices. I've wanted it for decades. It's others that need convincing and it's not completely up to the SNP. 

Lord Montpelier
12 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I don't need the SNP to sell me a vision. I want independence so we can make our own decisions and choices. I've wanted it for decades. It's others that need convincing and it's not completely up to the SNP. 

If it's not the SNPs job to convince people of independence then who else is supposed to do it?

frankblack
15 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

If it's not the SNPs job to convince people of independence then who else is supposed to do it?

There is only so far you can get by persuading people to vote for you because you aren't the Tories.  Beyond that you need to provide a detailed economic breakdown of how your independence vision is viable - they haven't done that, and have been ripped for arsepaper on the rare occasion they are interviewed on this by the English-based media.

Lord Montpelier
5 minutes ago, frankblack said:

There is only so far you can get by persuading people to vote for you because you aren't the Tories.  Beyond that you need to provide a detailed economic breakdown of how your independence vision is viable - they haven't done that, and have been ripped for arsepaper on the rare occasion they are interviewed on this by the English-based media.

Spot on Frank

All rhetoric, posturing, and rabble rousing. No detail or intellect. 

14 hours ago, The Dragon Reborn said:

I like Nucky. Normally worth reading his posts even though I disagree with his political view and usually quite reasonable. Not sure what’s going on tonight though. 

I shouldn't reach for my laptop after a full days bevvy sesh :vrface:

I'll never learn :biggrin2:

Roxy Hearts
1 hour ago, Lord Montpelier said:

I didn't say it wasn't their job. They don't need to convince me. If others are not convinced that their own people can't run their own affairs then they don't trust the people who live here. Why are we incapable of self governance in your opinion?

Lord Montpelier
3 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I didn't say it wasn't their job. They don't need to convince me. If others are not convinced that their own people can't run their own affairs then they don't trust the people who live here. Why are we incapable of self governance in your opinion?

Less concerned about governance and more on the economy. Until someone presents a water tight plan that's independently scrutinised with expert opinion that the economy at the very least won't get any worse, I'm not having it

Only a dafty would vote to be potentially worse off.

6 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

I can't wait until some parochial, Glasgow-centric, mafia are running Scotland, at least we'll be making our own decisions.

Edited by Dirk McClaymore

Lord Montpelier
3 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

I can't wait until some parochial, Glasgow-centric, mafia are running Scotland, at least we'll be making our own decisions.

Occasionally feels a bit like that already Dirk. Mr and Mrs Murrell calling the shots from their living room.

Just heading back from a weekend in the highlands . We met a few English people , most perplexed why Scotland want Indy. Made them aware that it’s a minority of Scot’s which do . Some of us have other priorities. Can’t understand the need for an imaginary line ? To prove some daft point . Nationalism is proven to be a dangerous concept really . Those English people were no different to us , cousins really . It’s sad the anti English hate one sees , disguised as  Nationalism . 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/politics/less-than-a-third-want-independence-referendum-next-year-poll-suggests-3684893?fbclid=IwAR3FKjL2SMnXBE7DNFaGMOHfBRFav6fqcOH0p7jzLsbFaI0eVeNXvEyryEM

Edited by JamesM48

16 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Less concerned about governance and more on the economy. Until someone presents a water tight plan that's independently scrutinised with expert opinion that the economy at the very least won't get any worse, I'm not having it

Same here . The economic argument is in tatters after covid and Brexit .

5 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Occasionally feels a bit like that already Dirk. Mr and Mrs Murrell calling the shots from their living room.

It won't be the Murrells for long.

Once Scotland gains independence the SNP will become irrelevant and the historically free-thinking, left leaning, enlightened Scots will surely elect a proper egalitarian, socialist government.

18 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Plenty of them sadly 🤯

She's got to release the legal advice they've got on holding a second independence referendum by the 10th of June. 

That's either going to tell us that it's not possible for her to deliver what she's been dangling infront of Nationalists for years, or she does have the power to hold it, in which case what is she waiting on?

Either way, it will be a significant event. 

Just heading back from a weekend in the highlands . We met a few English people , most perplexed why Scotland want Indy. Made them aware that it’s a minority of Scot’s which do . Some of us have other priorities. Can’t understand the need for an imaginary line ? To prove some daft point . Nationalism is proven to be a dangerous concept really . Those English people were no different to us , cousins really . It’s sad the anti English hate one sees , disguised as  Nationalism . 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/politics/less-than-a-third-want-independence-referendum-next-year-poll-suggests-3684893?fbclid=IwAR3FKjL2SMnXBE7DNFaGMOHfBRFav6fqcOH0p7jzLsbFaI0eVeNXvEyryEM

I’d be perplexed why people under me would want to leave when I constantly get the governance i want. 
English people make me laugh when you talk about indy. Clueless doesn’t quite cover it.
Jumped up jocks eh what are we aw aboot. 

20 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I’d be perplexed why people under me would want to leave when I constantly get the governance i want. 
English people make me laugh when you talk about indy. Clueless doesn’t quite cover it.
Jumped up jocks eh what are we aw aboot. 

But when you add up non snp votes in Scotland it’s less than all the other parties votes? ( at least I think it is ) 

5 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

But when you add up non snp votes in Scotland it’s less than all the other parties votes? ( at least I think it is ) 

Yeah it is i think. The conservatives get about 30% of the vote in the U.K. too which because of this FPTP nonsense meant they get to form a majority govt. 

Doesn’t make English peoples opinions on indy any less amusing. 

It’s almost as funny as Scottish people thinking we’d have less control joining the EU. Did Britain have to ask the EU to leave? Imagine they’d said listen now is not the time we’ll decide when you can have one. 
Scotland having to ask for permission is the biggest con they’ve ever pulled. 

The Dragon Reborn
1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I shouldn't reach for my laptop after a full days bevvy sesh :vrface:

I'll never learn :biggrin2:

😂👍🏻

56 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

It won't be the Murrells for long.

Once Scotland gains independence the SNP will become irrelevant and the historically free-thinking, left leaning, enlightened Scots will surely elect a proper egalitarian, socialist government.

I don’t care whether it’s an evolved SNP party or another party. Our country needs run by a government whose sole ambition is to improve the lives of Scottish people and who has all of the powers necessary to do so. 

16 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Yeah it is i think. The conservatives get about 30% of the vote in the U.K. too which because of this FPTP nonsense meant they get to form a majority govt. 

Doesn’t make English peoples opinions on indy any less amusing. 

It’s almost as funny as Scottish people thinking we’d have less control joining the EU. Did Britain have to ask the EU to leave? Imagine they’d said listen now is not the time we’ll decide when you can have one. 
Scotland having to ask for permission is the biggest con they’ve ever pulled. 

This will be pretty pointless, but Scotland seceding the UK isn't remotely the same as the UK leaving the EU. Not on any level. 

frankblack
34 minutes ago, The Dragon Reborn said:

I don’t care whether it’s an evolved SNP party or another party. Our country needs run by a government whose sole ambition is to improve the lives of Scottish people and who has all of the powers necessary to do so. 

That is the problem here.

We are getting no clear vision on how that is feasible.  Everything spouted is idealistic bluff and bluster with no details committed for scrutiny.

Lord Montpelier
4 minutes ago, frankblack said:

That is the problem here.

We are getting no clear vision on how that is feasible.  Everything spouted is idealistic bluff and bluster with no details committed for scrutiny.

Yep. As plenty of posters on here continually prove. 

30 minutes ago, pablo said:

This will be pretty pointless, but Scotland seceding the UK isn't remotely the same as the UK leaving the EU. Not on any level. 

Then why do people constantly throw up being ruled by Brussels instead?
You’re right it’s absolutely nothing remotely similar. 

2 hours ago, Lord Montpelier said:

And yet here we are.

Highest taxes for 70 years.

Economy in the shitter.

Inflation becoming stagflation.

Brexit costing £800 million. Every. Single. Week 

22 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Timmy Mallet in Dundee yesterday 

7C3C8DD2-4D75-41D0-A478-91101D4669B3.jpeg

Selfie moment with the kids glasses on 🥸

frankblack
23 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

And yet here we are.

Economy in the shitter.

I assume those nonsense figures came from the National?  I am curious how the last figure is even measurable, and whether it is adjusted for Covid and Putin's war?

What exactly would an Independent Scotland have done to prevent the first three given Covid and Putin?

Lord Montpelier
4 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I assume those nonsense figures came from the National?  I am curious how the last figure is even measurable, and whether it is adjusted for Covid and Putin's war?

What exactly would an Independent Scotland have done to prevent the first three given Covid and Putin?

Some Nationalists don't understand geopolitical influences beyond our border Frank. 

henryheart
3 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Well said James. I couldn't agree more. 

45 minutes ago, frankblack said:

39 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Some Nationalists don't understand geopolitical influences beyond our border Frank. 

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-vote-cost-trade-eu-b1843018.html

That was a year ago.

Feel free to update me on the Brexit benefits that have improved that situation.

Tax at the highest for 70 years. Widely reported.

Economy in the shitter. Food prices up. Fuel prices up. Energy prices up. All in the pipeline long before Putin kicked off. 

Second worst performing economy in the G7

Aye only a dafty would vote to be worse off eh?

henryheart
1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

And yet here we are.

Economy in the shitter.

If someone was able to explain that independence would make us all better off then maybe it would get my vote, but that mainstays of the SNP, including the Deputy First Minister and the Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Economy, stated before the recent economic downturn that if Scotland was to become independent people would face at the very least a decade of austerity. For most people it is not about being what some people see as either a true Scot or a Unionist, it is about having the opportunity to live a comfortable life and 10 years of self inflicted austerity is not at all appealing. Yes, times are difficult at the moment but it is the same everywhere in the western world. Independence will not give Scotland a magic wand; indeed it will be quite the opposite.  It would have no credit rating, the cost of borrowing will be much higher than the rates afforded the UK (which has an AA rating) and to fund the key public services that we all need taxes will rise even higher - it is not rocket science.  As for Brexit, yes this was stupid, but as for rejoining the EU, forget it. When in the UK pre Brexit  Scottish businesses had the benefit of free access to a bigger market, but the reality is that it does most of their trade within Scotland and with the rest of the UK. EU membership would just present barriers to trade with its biggest market.        

frankblack

23 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-vote-cost-trade-eu-b1843018.html

That was a year ago.

Feel free to update me on the Brexit benefits that have improved that situation.

Tax at the highest for 70 years. Widely reported.

Economy in the shitter. Food prices up. Fuel prices up. Energy prices up. All in the pipeline long before Putin kicked off. 

Second worst performing economy in the G7

Aye only a dafty would vote to be worse off eh?

You are all over the place - that is some desperate deflection that failed to address my points.

Can those figures from the article separate the effect of Brexit from the global pandemic and complete breakdown of global and local supply chains cause by lockdowns?

The rest of your comments are revisionist nonsense.  Shouldn't Energy prices be reducing if the SNP's claims of renewables is true or isn't the fact that energy prices etc were going up because of demands from China on oil before Putin stepped in?

Edited by frankblack

54 minutes ago, henryheart said:

Well said James. I couldn't agree more. 

I just feel that all English on this seemed to be lumped together as elitist toffs like BJ et al, when they are not they are just working class / middle class peoples like Scottish people are. WE aren't very different .  More in common with each other than separates us. 

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

So in other words

You are all over the place - that is some desperate deflection that failed to address my points.

Can those figures from the article separate the effect of Brexit from the global pandemic and complete breakdown of global and local supply chains cause by lockdowns?

The rest of your comments are revisionist nonsense.  Shouldn't Energy prices be reducing if the SNP's claims of renewables is true or isn't the fact that energy prices etc were going up because of demands from China on oil before Putin stepped in?

As per you've jumped onto my reply to someone else with a load of utter tam kite irrelevant to the original post or reply. 

Point 2 - I'd say given the current shitshow £800m a week is low ball. Again feel free to post the Brexit benefits and how those are impacting our economy. 

See when I said the energy price hikes were in the pipeline before Putin kicked off, what that means is the energy price hikes were in the pipeline before Putin kicked off.

Who do you think owns the renewables Frank? The SG? 😂

8 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

As per you've jumped onto my reply to someone else with a load of utter tam kite irrelevant to the original post or reply. 

Point 2 - I'd say given the current shitshow £800m a week is low ball. Again feel free to post the Brexit benefits and how those are impacting our economy. 

See when I said the energy price hikes were in the pipeline before Putin kicked off, what that means is the energy price hikes were in the pipeline before Putin kicked off.

The poster’s got previous for not reading posts properly.

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

frankblack
2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Nope.  Nice try.

Whoosh.  Yet again you miss the point.

Your obsession of Brexit is intentionally omitting the effect of the global pandemic, corresponding lockdowns, and supply chains.

It is impossible to separate this but keep bashing on.

And I already told you that above.  Keep up.

Again Covid related and the effect of economies starting up at once after lockdown.  China were paying whatever it took to get energy supplies and driving up prices of fuel and therefore those prices directly and indirectly drive up inflation.

You are making it easy by making my point for me.  So you are saying the SNP's renewable energy policy has been for the benefit of foreign companies and not the Scottish or UK people?  A bit short sighted that one.

frankblack
16 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I just feel that all English on this seemed to be lumped together as elitist toffs like BJ et al, when they are not they are just working class / middle class peoples like Scottish people are. WE aren't very different .  More in common with each other than separates us. 

Good post. 👍

15 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Nope.  Nice try.

No Frank that's actually what happened. You jumped on a reply to another poster. Half cocked. As usual.

Whoosh.  Yet again you miss the point.

You've not got a point Frank. Brexit happened in 2016. Implemented in 2020. The outcomes of removing yourself from a huge trading bloc were inevitable, regardless of Covid or Ukraine. 

As Rees Mogg put it last week. An act of economic self harm. 

And I already told you that above.  Keep up.

No Frank. I told YOU that. Scroll up.

Your obsession of Brexit is You are making it easy by making my point for me.  So you are saying the SNP's renewable energy policy has been for the benefit of foreign companies and not the Scottish or UK people?  A bit short sighted that one.

The SGs renewables policy is about ensuring there's a n inhabitable planet left for our kids and grandkids. 

Please feel free to post where Sturgeon or the SG have said prices would be cheaper due to renewables. 

I can post Tory ministers telling us they'd be cheaper after Brexit. 

One comment I would make is that the current SG takes a hammering over education, but given your reading and understanding skills I'd suggest education has been sub par for years. 

Edited by The Mighty Thor

henryheart

Indeed. In my past life I was the Chairperson of a Scottish professional body and I spent a considerable amount of time liaising with our English/Welsh (they are a joint body) equivalent. The experiences that we faced both work wise and socially were very similar. In fact, as a city dweller I would say that I had many more common experiences with my English/Welsh equivalents than I did with my colleagues in the remoter parts of Scotland. As you said in your original post that I replied to, getting fixated by invisible lines on the ground is never the way to harmony.   

The outcomes of removing yourself from a huge trading bloc were inevitable, regardless of Covid or Ukraine. 

wont that happen if we become Indy from England ? 

1 minute ago, henryheart said:

Indeed. In my past life I was the Chairperson of a Scottish professional body and I spent a considerable amount of time liaising with our English/Welsh (they are a joint body) equivalent. The experiences that we faced both work wise and socially were very similar. In fact, as a city dweller I would say that I had many more common experiences with my English/Welsh equivalents than I did with my colleagues in the remoter parts of Scotland. As you said in your original post that I replied to, getting fixated by invisible lines on the ground is never the way to harmony.   

frankblack
Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

No Frank that's actually what happened. You jumped on a reply to another poster. Half cocked. As usual.

You've not got a point Frank. Brexit happened in 2016. Implemented in 2020. The outcomes of removing yourself from a huge trading bloc were inevitable, regardless of Covid or Ukraine. 

As Rees Mogg put it last week. An act of economic self harm. 

There was always going to be initial friction but covid hit and that made making meaningful stats out of it are pointless until the pandemic is truly under control globally.

Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

No Frank. I told YOU that. Scroll up.

The SGs renewables policy is about ensuring there's a n inhabitable planet left for our kids and grandkids. 

Please feel free to post where Sturgeon or the SG have said prices would be cheaper due to renewables. 

One comment I would make is that the current SG takes a hammering over education, but given your reading and understanding skills I'd suggest education has been sub par for years. 

Again, I think we were kind of agreeing here.  Governments on both sides of the border were short-sighted in decomissioning Nuclear plants without replacements.

Then we have energy companies owned by foreign governments etc profitting from us e.g. France with EDF.

I think that policy was wrong and won't defend it.  Germany were even worse in being duped into decomissioning their nuclear plants and becoming dependent on Russian gas.