SNP and Greens coalition.

ri Alban

Joining the Greens so they look good at Cop  They can feck off. The sooner Scotland is independent and rid of these ***** the better. 

Hopefully there becomes alternative party like Alba, but they need a different leader as Salmond is toxic.

Independence Nicola, that's what people voted your party for, not for you to be FM forever with the nutty greens in toe backing weirdo laws through.

Again feck off.

• Replies 3.3k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

53 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Joining the Greens so they look good at Cop  They can feck off. The sooner Scotland is independent and rid of these ***** the better. 

Hopefully there becomes alternative party like Alba, but they need a different leader as Salmond is toxic.

Independence Nicola, that's what people voted your party for, not for you to be FM forever with the nutty greens in toe backing weirdo laws through.

Again feck off.

56 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Not that’s your point but don’t think it’s going to be a coalition. It’s a cooperation deal from what I’ve heard. 

it’s hard to deny that some of the green policies are bonkers 

BBC report is saying it's a power-sharing deal with the Greens in government for the first time anywhere in the UK and will also likely have ministers in government, in effect it's a coalition in all but name.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-58272209

14 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

The Krankies and the Minnions a marriage made in heaven 

Relentless...gibberish, but relentless.

12 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Is that Swinney or Yousaf's biography you're typing up your notes for?

No, it's for a journal collating your more "out there" posts in The Shed ;) :)

SNP/Greens have been running the gaff together for yonks.

It's just always been an informal arrangement before with the Greens giving votes on a policy by policy basis..

Now it's actually more formal. Seems the parties get along well enough to be going steady now.

We've already had trash pieces in the Unionist media about how this deal will bring down both parties.

They're in blind panic mode.

This change has occurred because Sturgeon needed a stronger guarantee her position was unassailable after the Salmond scandal almost toppled her rule and now she has it - at the expense of the Scotland and its people per usual. 

8 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

This change has occurred because Sturgeon needed a stronger guarantee her position was unassailable after the Salmond scandal almost toppled her rule and now she has it - at the expense of the Scotland and its people per usual. 

Did you mean unassailable? Doesn't make sense to me if you did. If her position was unassailable then she wouldn't need support from anyone else.

13 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Did you mean unassailable? Doesn't make sense to me if you did. If her position was unassailable then she wouldn't need support from anyone else.

I meant is unassailable not was. It's a spin off from her feet being held to the fire over her and Swinney's shameless lies on Salmond and their buffoon James Hamilton QC's bogus let off. Tightening down the hatches at the expense of Scotland.  

Edited by JackLadd

Can't really see what is so significant in this arrangement,or will change anything?

The Greens will get a couple of ministerial positions, the SNP will get to boost their environmental credibility ahead of Glasgow Cop26. (Without actually doing anything meaningful going by their track record).

6 minutes ago, Deke Thornton said:

When you’re sitting in a mile long queue at Sherrifhall after the proposed bypass improvements have been formally and finally binned, you can reflect on the significance of Green involvement in government.

Building more roads only generates more traffic. I'm with the Greens on that tbh.

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

The Krankies and the Minnions a marriage made in heaven 

A match made in Hell.

I expect nothing will happen to the Sheriffhall roundabout and the Edinburgh city bypass will remain unfit for the 21st century 

3 minutes ago, pablo said:

Building more roads only generates more traffic. I'm with the Greens on that tbh.

More roads was massively needed there. Congestion is equally bad for the environment as more traffic. I am not convinced more roads = more traffic. The same folk will use sherif hall regardless. 

3 minutes ago, pablo said:

Surely people sitting in traffic with their engines idling will be a lot worse for the environment than building a flyover to keep traffic moving

Good to see this. Going forward there has to be more importance put on green policies (certainly not all of them though). Scotland already is one of the top countries in the world regarding renewable and we really can become world leaders in this, after independence of course. 

1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

More roads was massively needed there. Congestion is equally bad for the environment as more traffic. I am not convinced more roads = more traffic. The same folk will use sherif hall regardless. 

I know, not an easy one is it? One thing is for sure, if we do want people to use their cars less, there has to be alternatives - and really good ones at that. And that costs serious money.

3 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Never ceases to amaze me that people whinge at politicians behaving as politicians do.

I agree. The SG was voted in as SNP plus greens being the majority so this deal just cements that

Ainsley Harriott

I dread to think what is going to be forced on Scotland during this term with wee Pat and Lorna in a position of power. Boris seriously needs to speed up the removal of devolved powers to The Scottish "Government". Its become an absolute circus.

Ainsley Harriott
41 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Surely people sitting in traffic with their engines idling will be a lot worse for the environment than building a flyover to keep traffic moving

Your assuming we will still be allowed cars 😂

1 hour ago, Ked said:

I like the green party having influence.

Given the reality of what we are facing environmentally .

I'm with you on this one, Ked.

Ainsley Harriott
4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Again feck off.

Ah the moment when even her most blinded followers start to realise that Nicola is playing them all as fools. Glorious 

A genuine green party keeping a reality check on the incumbent govt is no bad thing.  The perception here though is that the Scottish Greens are just the SNP with flowers in their hair.

Time will tell

1 hour ago, Boab said:

Democracy is a bugger eh !

It is when a party that about 6 people voted for end up with a share of the power. 

What's the problem l with this Scottish government? There will be no future independence or freedoms for the people of Scotland voting SNP, more pish 

"TEMPORARY powers to close schools, introduce lockdowns and require face coverings could be made permanent in the event of future pandemics under proposals tabled by SNP ministers.

The Scottish Government has put forward a host of temporary powers it would like to either make permanent or extend – covering schools and education provision, justice and court procedures and digitising statutory processes.

But opponents have warned the SNP is heading down "a dangerous route" by proposing handing ministers permanent powers "on a whim".

Under the plans, launched in a public consultation, powers set to expire in March 2022 including “prohibiting or limiting numbers at gatherings, introducing lockdown measures, and requiring that face coverings are worn” could be permanently available to ministers.

2 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Wouldn't give any Political Party the steam off my shite. 

That's a pity as I'm sure the green party could use it to power up something.

🙂

1 hour ago, Jonkel Hoon said:

A genuine green party keeping a reality check on the incumbent govt is no bad thing.  The perception here though is that the Scottish Greens are just the SNP with flowers in their hair.

Time will tell

Most of our resident nats would wear flowers in their hair but they don’t have much 

10 minutes ago, Beni said:

Luv u 2 Bob x.

I had typed something that even I didn't agree with so deleted it again! Argument in an empty room situation...

Happy with this. The Greens will use their position to force more environmentaly sound policies through, while the SNP will knock back the slightly crazier ones. So what we should see is more policies that focus on the environment, but without some of the extreme plans the Greens propose. 

2 minutes ago, Norm said:

Happy with this. The Greens will use their position to force more environmentaly sound policies through, while the SNP will knock back the slightly crazier ones. So what we should see is more policies that focus on the environment, but without some of the extreme plans the Greens propose. 

Where is the limit though Norm?  We already have the greenest most environmentally aware UK government in the history of our country and we have the highest financial contributions via tax to green causes ever.

All I hear from the Greens and their associated terrorist organisation extinction rebellion are ridiculous predictions, imminent doomsday and propaganda.

Money does not grow on trees and every demand from the greens costs us a staggering amount of money.

We must have a balance, where we do our green duty but continue with our lives.  

People need to work, industry needs to produce and the world needs to move.

They seem to just sit there and constantly demand shit with zero ****s given about the impacts to people's lives right now.

2 hours ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

I dread to think what is going to be forced on Scotland during this term with wee Pat and Lorna in a position of power. Boris seriously needs to speed up the removal of devolved powers to The Scottish "Government". Its become an absolute circus.

I agree. The Tory 'power grab' can't come quickly enough :biggrin2:

1 minute ago, i8hibsh said:

Where is the limit though Norm?  We already have the greenest most environmentally aware UK government in the history of our country and we have the highest financial contributions via tax to green causes ever.

All I hear from the Greens and their associated terrorist organisation extinction rebellion are ridiculous predictions, imminent doomsday and propaganda.

Money does not grow on trees and every demand from the greens costs us a staggering amount of money.

We must have a balance, where we do our green duty but continue with our lives.  

People need to work, industry needs to produce and the world needs to move.

They seem to just sit there and constantly demand shit with zero ****s given about the impacts to people's lives right now.

Completely understandable points. Although I would assume they would say that the impact on our lives with these changes, is nothing compared to the impact on future generations if we carry on as is. Whether they're right or not, who knows? 

And as said, I would reckon the Nats will tame some of their more extreme policies to lessen the impact. I'm sure the Jerry's had a Green coalition years ago and they seem to be doing alright. 

I'll give an example of the Greens unreasonable and ill thought out demands.  They dermand an end to Trident.  

6,000 people are employed at Faslane.  That is 6,000 people out of work.  Now say that associated dependants, mouths to feed from the 6,000 will be around 20,000 - 25,000 people.

That is 25,000 overnight in financial hardship.

Almost every demand I see from these ***** means job losses and financial hardhship somewhere - they just don't care.

Just now, i8hibsh said:

I'll give an example of the Greens unreasonable and ill thought out demands.  They dermand an end to Trident.  

6,000 people are employed at Faslane.  That is 6,000 people out of work.  Now say that associated dependants, mouths to feed from the 6,000 will be around 20,000 - 25,000 people.

That is 25,000 overnight in financial hardship.

Almost every demand I see from these ***** means job losses and financial hardhship somewhere - they just don't care.

I would assume they would argue their plans to increase renewable energy would provide new jobs. 

Just now, Norm said:

I would assume they would argue their plans to increase renewable energy would provide new jobs. 

But these 6,000 poor buggers may not be qualified.

The Greens purport to be a socialist party for the 'worker' and 'for the people' when all I see them want to do is put people out of work.

An end to all man made CO2 by 2030 or whatever it is means no industry in 9 years time.

I read somewhere that volcanoes actually produce almost as much CO2 emisisons than humans - what we going to do about that?