Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

1 minute ago, weehammy said:

Get a few pints of fizzy water down you :food-smiley-004:

Lol it is a bit of an insult to them, can't see many opening unless do significant food.

I don't know but I would not expect the retired clientele to be popping in of an afternoon for 2 or 3 coca colas instead of pints.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Brighton Jambo
56 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Why can’t you socialise on video calls if you are watching the game anyway?

We all endure your absolutely chronic trolling but when you start using that trolling to ‘comment’ on someone who is saying they are struggling mentally it crosses a line.

Knock it off or better yet just leave the thread.  You won’t be missed.  

28 minutes ago, steve123 said:

Saying that pubs can open in tier 3 but not sell alcohol is bizarre to say the least.

They've been totally shafted.

Death by a thousand cuts

SectionFJambo

There is no doubt some people's mental health has been adversely impacted by lockdown and lack of socialisation, there is also no doubt that some folk use the mental health card to justify making poor decisions.

Not sure that many people will genuinely need to sit in their flat with a few cans of tenants and their pals or risk massive mental health illness.

8 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

They've been totally shafted.

Death by a thousand cuts

Mind when Boris was (rightly) lambasted for hanging the pubs out to dry by refusing to order them to close but telling folk not to go to them? Well this is in no way similar to that situation.

SectionFJambo
Just now, jonesy said:

Could it be that the two are linked?

It could

There are also people now who know you can mention mental health as a defence for breaking the rules, or minor illness for not wearing masks etc.

I'd question how much it impacts those people just to follow the rules for another 6 months - if it even stops one person getting ill then you know what a fairly small price to pay.

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Could it be that the two are linked?

Maybe alcohol is part of the problem as it is a depressant 

10 minutes ago, SectionFJambo said:

There is no doubt some people's mental health has been adversely impacted by lockdown and lack of socialisation, there is also no doubt that some folk use the mental health card to justify making poor decisions.

Not sure that many people will genuinely need to sit in their flat with a few cans of tenants and their pals or risk massive mental health illness.

The fact of the matter is that you just don't know.

12 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

We all endure your absolutely chronic trolling but when you start using that trolling to ‘comment’ on someone who is saying they are struggling mentally it crosses a line.

Ummm please don’t make false presumptions 

if someone is struggling there are plenty of ways they can get help, various phone helplines, exercise etc

all I’m saying is that is not an excuse to break the rules to just have people over to watch football.

2 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Mind when Boris was (rightly) lambasted for hanging the pubs out to dry by refusing to order them to close but telling folk not to go to them? Well this is in no way similar to that situation.

Whats that got to do with whats happened to hospitality in Scotland?

SectionFJambo
Just now, Fun Boaby said:

If NS and co force the pubs shut they have to be more generous with the cash than if they can open. It's all politics. Expect the funding schemes to reduce from the SG to coincide with this.

Erm, telling pubs they can open but not sell alcohol is kind of hanging them out to dry.

1 minute ago, SectionFJambo said:

If NS and co force the pubs shut they have to be more generous with the cash than if they can open. It's all politics. Expect the funding schemes to reduce from the SG to coincide with this.

Just now, Governor Tarkin said:

Erm, telling pubs they can open but not sell alcohol is kind of hanging them out to dry.

Indeed. But thats England and isnt a justification for the way hospitality has been treated in Scotland.

3 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

if someone is struggling there are plenty of ways they can get help, various phone helplines, exercise etc

Recommendations pls, thx. 👍

1 hour ago, JWL said:

Uh oh, someone will be along in a minute to tell you that you're a twit for breaking the law. Same for us though, half a dozen heading to the mates house around 1.00. Pretty sure there will be packed houses all over Edinburgh on Saturday afternoon.

Not Berwick then? Or the mate with the big hoose? 😀

Indeed. But thats England and isnt a justification for the way hospitality has been treated in Scotland.

I'm not saying it is, bud.

3 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Never thought I would see it happen in Scotland but she is slowly morphing into our version of Donald Trump. Has a cult following that laps up her every word and won't accept any criticism. Needs to appear on tv every day to sprout her bullshit, while refusing to provide any evidence or justification of what she is doing.  Surrounds herself with sycophants and allows no dissent in party. Has a relative working alongside to ensure more money comes into them, while ignoring poverty her decisions are causing to people. She really has lost the plot and now considers herself a personality that we should be grateful for.

FFS, she is supposed to be working for us, and accountable to us. Not the other way round.

😁😁😁

7 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Ummm please don’t make false presumptions 

all I’m saying is that is not an excuse to break the rules to just have people over to watch football.

You are dangerously close to crossing a line. Unless you have qualifications in mental health issues, please stay off the subject and refrain from your tedious attempts at winding up anyone who may suffer from such issues.

1 hour ago, GBJambo said:

Yep and the vaccine won’t be ready for public roll out for another 18 months. 
In and out of lockdowns for the next couple of years then. 

Won't wait that long trust me 👍. People will have had it by Christmas, it will be two doses 28 days apart from one another. 

Edited by Bongo 1874

3 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Won't wait that long trust me 👍. People will have had it by Christmas, it will be two doses 28 days apart from one another. 

You seem very confident. How so?

2 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Won't wait that long trust me 👍

Out of interest mate, do you work in a related field to the vaccine development? Just asking as seen you mention a few times about it being available soon etc. Wasn’t sure if you have “inside knowledge” or just being optimistic?

5 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

How do you know this?

1 minute ago, Bongo 1874 said:

92% survival rate, we will get through this we are learning everyday 👍

Can you answer how you know the stuff about vaccines being in hospitals next week?

41 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Spot on!  He was so blinded by his trolling that he never even thought about the other posters current mental state.  It's either that or he has zero empathy for others.  It's easy just scrolling past his sad attempts at some sort of relevance, but well done for pulling him up on this.

Do you think he will be 'mature' enough to apologise? 

1 minute ago, Auldbenches said:

Spot on!  He was so blinded by his trolling that he never even thought about the other posters current mental state.  

The poster could be lying about his mental state. They guys are out there too. 

1 minute ago, Weakened Offender said:

11 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

92% survival rate, we will get through this we are learning everyday 👍

I’m getting on this train 

Just now, Weakened Offender said:

So the lying about his mental state?  How can you tell from reading what the poster said.  The poster was being honest and open about his mental state, which we as a Society are supposed to be encouraging, but we must take onto account he might be lying?  Why not just give the benefit of the doubt and or leave it to others if some feel he isn't being sincere.  

I don't get your point about him lying.  

16 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

To be delivered to hospitals next week 👍

Sorry but as much as I believe you on the goings on at hearts there is no chance anything is being delivered to hospitals next week 

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

Indeed. I've had him on ignore for about a month now. Makes scrolling through here a bit easier. Happy to have a discussion/disagreement with the likes of Victoria and Red, even Aussie, but Troll4Eva either doesn't actually exist beyond a few lines of code, or is a sad wee man in his ma's basement for whom the onset of social distancing and the banning of socialising meant very little changed in his daily routine. 

I like reading his posts as they make me feel...human? 

Just now, Auldbenches said:

So the lying about his mental state?  How can you tell from reading what the poster said.  The poster was being honest and open about his mental state, which we as a Society are supposed to be encouraging, but we must take onto account he might be lying?  Why not just give the benefit of the doubt and or leave it to others if some feel he isn't being sincere.  

If he is telling the truth why would that make it ok to break rules and laws?

there are loads of other things he can do to get help 

4 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

So you responded the way you did because you thought he might be lying?  

A complete lack of empathy in that post. 

1 minute ago, theshed said:

Sorry but as much as I believe you on the goings on at hearts there is no chance anything is being delivered to hospitals next week 

Believe me 

Just now, Jambo 4 Ever said:

If he is telling the truth why would that make it ok to break rules and laws?

there are loads of other things he can do to get help 

So you are still thinking he might be lying?

3 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

Maybe I know him and know he's at the lash? 

1 minute ago, Auldbenches said:

So you are still thinking he might be lying?

There’s your answer 

Do you know him and can confirm he is currently pished?  If he is pished ,he was still being open about his mental state and should expect a better response from people nowadays.  

10 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

So just assume anyone you don’t agree with is lying then or....

2 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

There’s your answer 

What has him being on the lash got to do with him being open about his mental state?  Can you confirm that he does know him and he is on the lash and at it? 

So he is trolling? 

Just now, Auldbenches said:

Do you know him and can confirm he is currently pished?  If he is pished ,he was still being open about his mental state and should expect a better response from people nowadays.  

Listen pal, if you want to get the violins oot because someone you don't know has posted on JKB that they're meeting up with 5 pals to get leathered and watch Hearts play Hibs in the semi final of the Scottish Cup because they've got mental health problems then crack on. 

2 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

There’s your answer 

You’ve found an ally. Someone who’s willing to doubt a poster who has posted on here for years and back you, your pants must be soaking 😂

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

So just assume anyone you don’t agree with is lying then or....

Thank feck neither him or the Riddler work for the samaritans etc...

1 minute ago, Barack said:

Think the mods need to step in shortly. Becoming rather unsavoury.

Good shout. I'm out  just thought it was wrong how they replied to someone's mental health.  

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic