Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

9 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Its £12.99 a month for an unlimited Zoom (video conferencing) subscription.

And if you have a works one :) or similar, nothing.

Big risk though.  I've heard of complete randoms joining work conferences. 

Edited by DETTY29

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

12 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

My wee sis works in a privete Edinburgh care home. 

A fair portion of the staff are off in isolation, and another chunk have bailed on the grounds of self preservation (who can blame them). The ones that are left are pulling up to 14 hour shifts 7 days a week to cover the shortfall. As far as PPE goes they have a wee pinnie and masks they are having to re-use as there's **** all else.

She says when they come to pick up the bodies (3 dead so far) they arrive like that scene in the movie where they came to get E.T.

She is a single parent with a 3 year old boy and is ****ing terrified.

After the utter arsehole of a lassie she was as a teenager I couldn't be more proud. These people are absolute ****ing Jedi and are continuing to be let down.

The NHS people and other care workers have my never ending admiration. People in other work would refuse to do a job, that could cause personal harm, without ppe.

These great people just get on with it and hope they are lucky. It’s not fair or right.
Hopefully, a complete rethink of how these people get paid and looked after at work, will be a positive outcome of this virus. They deserve far more than they get now.

1 hour ago, kingantti1874 said:

🤦‍♂️ Transport for London have now had what 14 dead? 14 bus divers all dead becuase of the politics and utter stupidity of this government.

A point of clarification (because I made thre same mistake a couple of days ago)

That's 14 from across the whole TfL network; a pretty massive employer. Not just bus drivers but those on the tubes, trains, station staff and more. 

Not saying that's ok but it's not as alarming as when I thought it was just bus drivers. 

52 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

It's baffling how can you get a 10k pay rise for staying in your house 

I don't think it's a pay rise - it better not be. I think it's am expense allowance. Given that it's costing me a net of about nothing to work at home, I think any MP who takes a penny to do the same should be made to explain why. 

27 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

My wife works in ICU so she is at the actual front of the front line and, a cracking idea that all of the staff have came up with..........get the news tv crews to show the thousands of rubber body bags being shipped (snuck) in the back door of all our main hospitals.....being snuck in so as not to worry the poor we souls that flaunt the rules........ that would be an excellent reminder of where we are.

And hopefully stop the numpties 

America will take over as the worst bit country in the world today. Donald trump's reaction to the virus will surely be the final nail in the coffin for that utter lunatic. He cannon win another term. 

46 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Mate and his partner both work for same company.

Work lap tops (although othet employers have software you can down load safely on your own pc)

£30 each a month to cover costs of WFH (self employed can claim £6 per week, was £4

And no bus passes to pay.

So £170 a month better off.  Suppose they will see difference in utility costs to figure out.

Anyway back to politicians I wonder what they will need to the extent of 10k, especially as most of their homes and second homes will already be kitted out.

Richard Littlejohn made a list of the important things they'll need to spend it on in the Mail.

With an extra £10,000 burning a hole in their pocket, this is what an especially creative MP’s ‘to-do’ list might look like over the Easter weekend . . .

1) Ring secretary, tell her to ­cancel all calls on the grounds that I’m self-isolating.

2) Go on Amazon Prime and order new 65-inch QLED TV, vital for keeping up with latest ­coronavirus news and watching daily briefing.

3) Renew Sky subscription, and add BritBox in order to watch Yes, Minister and House Of Cards for research purposes.

4) Upgrade to latest Apple ­MacBook, to Zoom staff and answer essential emails. ­Remember to send a Get Well Soon eCardto Boris.

5) Play Fortnite.

'Play Fortnite' - With an extra £10,000 burning a hole in their pocket, this is what an especially creative MP’s ‘to-do’ list might look like over the Easter weekend . . .    +3
'Play Fortnite' - With an extra £10,000 burning a hole in their pocket, this is what an especially creative MP’s ‘to-do’ list might look like over the Easter weekend . . .

6) Monitor porn websites, to see if they comply with parental ­control regulations.

7) Go back to Amazon, order new garden furniture, essential for maintaining recommended daily vitamin D intake.

😎 Add patio heater, to enable late night sitting.

9) Ditto, new Weber barbeque.

10) Remember to register at Ocado as an NHS ‘key worker’, courtesy of membership of health select committee.

11) Don’t forget to include 120 bog rolls in priority order, along with 5kg organic quinoa, 144 packets of pasta, a six-pack of Hotel Chocolat Easter Eggs and two dozen hot cross buns.

12) Put out urgent press release condemning panic-buying and ­calling on police to arrest shoppers posing as nurses at Aldi.

13) While waiting for Ocado delivery, check out John Lewis website for new ‘home office’ furniture.

14) Order Oka sofa, Chinon chair, matching desk and one of those Alexa thingies.

15) Strip trashy paperbacks from shelves, replace with ­unreadable political biographies and incomprehensible books about economic theory, just in case invited on Newsnight for Skype interview.

16) Make plans for extended lockdown. Kitchen will obviously need makeover. Order new Aga, American-style fridge-freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, wine safe and one of those taps that gives you instant hot water — essential for washing your hands regularly, as per Department of Health instructions.

17) If stuck indoors much longer, going to need a new bathroom, too. Walk-in steam shower, low-level loo, chrome fittings.

18) Oh, and a bidet might not be a bad idea, either, if the bog roll shortage gets any more acute.

19) Make plans for tomorrow. Get local handyman to paint

duck house and drain moat, remembering to observe all social distancing guidelines.

20) Keep receipts.

21) If anyone from Ipsa asks, insist it’s all essential expenditure. You’re staying home, protecting the NHS and saving lives!

I really didn't think it would be possible to see the official response to PPE shortages evolving into an implied accusation that some PPE is being wasted.    But there we have it.

You know what,   there probably is a small amount of PPE being used where it isn't absolutely needed.     But it's hardly the point in any way,  shape or form.     There are still disgusting shortages of it for the majority who do need it.     This recent re-drawing of the PPE 'rulebook' is scandalous.     A rancid insult to all the frontline people who have died and all those to come.

10 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Richard Littlejohn made a list of the important things they'll need to spend it on in the Mail.

With an extra £10,000 burning a hole in their pocket, this is what an especially creative MP’s ‘to-do’ list might look like over the Easter weekend . . .

1) Ring secretary, tell her to ­cancel all calls on the grounds that I’m self-isolating.

2) Go on Amazon Prime and order new 65-inch QLED TV, vital for keeping up with latest ­coronavirus news and watching daily briefing.

3) Renew Sky subscription, and add BritBox in order to watch Yes, Minister and House Of Cards for research purposes.

4) Upgrade to latest Apple ­MacBook, to Zoom staff and answer essential emails. ­Remember to send a Get Well Soon eCardto Boris.

5) Play Fortnite.

'Play Fortnite' - With an extra £10,000 burning a hole in their pocket, this is what an especially creative MP’s ‘to-do’ list might look like over the Easter weekend . . .    +3
'Play Fortnite' - With an extra £10,000 burning a hole in their pocket, this is what an especially creative MP’s ‘to-do’ list might look like over the Easter weekend . . .

6) Monitor porn websites, to see if they comply with parental ­control regulations.

7) Go back to Amazon, order new garden furniture, essential for maintaining recommended daily vitamin D intake.

😎 Add patio heater, to enable late night sitting.

9) Ditto, new Weber barbeque.

10) Remember to register at Ocado as an NHS ‘key worker’, courtesy of membership of health select committee.

11) Don’t forget to include 120 bog rolls in priority order, along with 5kg organic quinoa, 144 packets of pasta, a six-pack of Hotel Chocolat Easter Eggs and two dozen hot cross buns.

12) Put out urgent press release condemning panic-buying and ­calling on police to arrest shoppers posing as nurses at Aldi.

13) While waiting for Ocado delivery, check out John Lewis website for new ‘home office’ furniture.

14) Order Oka sofa, Chinon chair, matching desk and one of those Alexa thingies.

15) Strip trashy paperbacks from shelves, replace with ­unreadable political biographies and incomprehensible books about economic theory, just in case invited on Newsnight for Skype interview.

16) Make plans for extended lockdown. Kitchen will obviously need makeover. Order new Aga, American-style fridge-freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, wine safe and one of those taps that gives you instant hot water — essential for washing your hands regularly, as per Department of Health instructions.

17) If stuck indoors much longer, going to need a new bathroom, too. Walk-in steam shower, low-level loo, chrome fittings.

18) Oh, and a bidet might not be a bad idea, either, if the bog roll shortage gets any more acute.

19) Make plans for tomorrow. Get local handyman to paint

duck house and drain moat, remembering to observe all social distancing guidelines.

20) Keep receipts.

21) If anyone from Ipsa asks, insist it’s all essential expenditure. You’re staying home, protecting the NHS and saving lives!

Is it a one off £10k or an increase of £10k on their parliamentary credit card limit?  :)

Edited by DETTY29

2 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Is it a one off £10k or an increase of £10k on their parliamentary credit card limit?  :)

I think it's money to support their key staff while they're in lockdown but there is nothing to stop them using it for themselves. He also wonders why they need it considering they gave themselves a £25k increase in staff running costs in March taking it to over £200k per year per MP (excluding their salary of course).  And they wonder why we give them zero credibility nowadays. 

26 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

America will take over as the worst bit country in the world today. Donald trump's reaction to the virus will surely be the final nail in the coffin for that utter lunatic. He cannon win another term. 

He can, and he will.

16 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I really didn't think it would be possible to see the official response to PPE shortages evolving into an implied accusation that some PPE is being wasted.    But there we have it.

You know what,   there probably is a small amount of PPE being used where it isn't absolutely needed.     But it's hardly the point in any way,  shape or form.     There are still disgusting shortages of it for the majority who do need it.     This recent re-drawing of the PPE 'rulebook' is scandalous.     A rancid insult to all the frontline people who have died and all those to come.

I've been saying it for weeks, PPE is the real scandal of this Govt's failure...Everything else just follows. This is the one they should've sorted in Jan & Feb but it is now Easter and it is still unticked on the To Do list, as is everything else...

18 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

On top of.

Also on top of their annual £35k each for office equipment.

Just now, Spellczech said:

I've been saying it for weeks, PPE is the real scandal of this Govt's failure...Everything else just follows. This is the one they should've sorted in Jan & Feb but it is now Easter and it is still unticked on the To Do list, as is everything else...

As well as the disgusting deflection about incorrect usage and the re-classification as a precious resource,   the excuses go on and on about logistics and associated problems.    It's becoming increasingly more likely that this is all bullshit to cover for profound shortages.      There never has been enough to go around.    Never has been plenty for everyone.

The repeated use of the same excuse plus the atrocity of telling frontline heroes they might not need PPE as much as they're saying can only really indicate the real reason.     They're failing to produce enough supply.

1 minute ago, Cade said:

On top of.

And they don't even need to show proof of purchase. 

As a civil servant I'd get hung drawn and quartered for not showing proof of purchase. 

7 minutes ago, Victorian said:

As well as the disgusting deflection about incorrect usage and the re-classification as a precious resource,   the excuses go on and on about logistics and associated problems.    It's becoming increasingly more likely that this is all bullshit to cover for profound shortages.      There never has been enough to go around.    Never has been plenty for everyone.

The repeated use of the same excuse plus the atrocity of telling frontline heroes they might not need PPE as much as they're saying can only really indicate the real reason.     They're failing to produce enough supply.

Spot on and despite the Scottish Governments daily assurances 

12 minutes ago, Cade said:

On top of.

It's a fecking sham no wonder they go into politics.

5 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Spot on and despite the Scottish Governments daily assurances 

The PPE gets ordered and delivered, Yes? It is then up to the hospital and care home management to issue said PPE, is it not.

And why should private homes get PPE for free. They charge a fortune.

Mac_fae_Gillie
3 hours ago, Jambo Jim said:

So the Chinese example of disinfecting streets and total lockdown had failed to register in Downing Street. You and I are suppose to take advice from this lot. Christ all mighty, sorry but we are on target to have the second highest death rate in the world. Why. A bunch of wankers in charge. 

Total lockdown is of course a great option, not sure the disinfecting streets is worthwhile, seen them driving 5 trucks abreast down highways just seems a waste of manpower, time and resources. China had the forces to  do a lockdown it was only in parts of the country so easy for them to throw things at. Bricking up people in buildings, dragging away anyone with symptoms by force even though many just had a cold.

But my post has nothing to do with the overall handling of this event it was a reply to Boris shaking hands before the lockdown was in effect.

Our total is going to be bad but so is France, Belgium, Netherlands, Italy and  Spain which in effect is all the countries of Western Europe outside of Portugal. Only when you hit Germany the economic power house of the EU does it get good or the eastern nations that have way less tourists or students coming in from China or Singapore.

For the guys looking at stats, some qs

Do France, Italy, Spain only register hospital tested deaths?

Do any include care home and community suspicions?  Or at least split and report separately.

Are the UK only including Scotland, Wales and NI hospital cases?

Jambo-Jimbo
8 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Do any include care home and community suspicions?  Or at least split and report separately.

Italy I know for a fact (as it's been reported and commented upon several times now) only count those who have died in hospital and do not count care homes or home deaths, Spain could also be the same.

France I'm not so sure about tbh.

2 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

My wife works in ICU so she is at the actual front of the front line and, a cracking idea that all of the staff have came up with..........get the news tv crews to show the thousands of rubber body bags being shipped (snuck) in the back door of all our main hospitals.....being snuck in so as not to worry the poor we souls that flaunt the rules........ that would be an excellent reminder of where we are.

TV showed the coffins going into a special remote site - just a big hole in America. 

13 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Scotland report community deaths, hence the huge upswing in numbers. 

Not sure on Italy & Spain 

2 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

France include care homes now, but they only started adding them very recently.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/in-france-scrutiny-of-nursing-homes-brings-soaring-coronavirus-death-toll-11586384344

Italy don't include those who die in care homes or at home.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/italy-coronavirus-deaths-likely-much-higher/

Spain only include those in nursing homes who have tested positive for coronavirus, excluding those who die showing symptoms but untested.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_coronavirus_pandemic_in_Spain#Statistics

Frankly, the reporting is a mess. You can't really compare like with like. All you can say is that the situation is bad or not in any given area.

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, AlimOzturk said:

Yet the Donald said last night in his presser, that America was doing a great job in keeping the death total down so low, much better than many other countries he said.

Was the Donald being a tad bit economical with the truth.................surely he wouldn't do that, not the Donald.

The worst thing is, his base will believe every word of it.

58 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Its all part of shifting the natrative. 

Yesterdays presser was the text book deflection exercise. 1000 deaths laying bare the ineffective nature of HM government's handling of this shitshow and Hancocks first pitch is that Boris is up and about closely followed by the PPE debacle.

The questions from the MSM were offensive softball shite other than the boy from LBC who nailed him on why flights were still coming in from infection hotspots unfettered. 

Contrast that with New York governor Cuomo who's presser was lucid and informative. 

Every nation is counting deaths differently, and testing methodology is totally different too, so the number of cases differs hugely as well.

Comparing numbers means absolutely nothing.

1 minute ago, Cade said:

Every nation is counting deaths differently, and testing methodology is totally different too, so the number of cases differs hugely as well.

The only we'll be able to get a more accurate picture is after this is all over and the social scientists analyse the numbers, taking into account the methodologies used and using stats to fill in the gaps.

8 minutes ago, Cade said:

Still would say the numbers in intensive care is an absolute reliable indicator of the situation and trends. 

29 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

China goes into lockdown again, should they ever have come out of it in the first place? 

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1264413/coronavirus-news-china-henan-hubei-wuhan-covid-19-pandemic-second-wave-lockdown

It's overwhelming Japan, I don't understand China coming out of lockdown. 

This is here til vaccine or cure.

6 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Still would say the numbers in intensive care is an absolute reliable indicator of the situation and trends. 

Even that only counts people in hospital, not people in care homes or at home.

7 minutes ago, Cade said:

Yes. 

If people are just being allowed to die to not take up hospital resources.

17 minutes ago, Cade said:

It depends on what you're using the data to do. If its just counting the dead then its not important as the number is the number.

If it's to set your lockdown strategy and ultimately exit strategy then I'd suggest you've got a huge problem, particularly in the absence of any kind meaningful testing. 

IMO the government are working blind. Wilfully.

From Beeb:

Throughout the pandemic, Sweden's response to the coronavirus has been an odd one out. Unlike most of Europe, it did not introduce a lockdown - cafes and restaurants remain open, and schools have not closed. Although the government advised against non-essential travel, it has largely been business as usual, albeit a bit quieter.

Now Prime Minister Stefan Löfven has has admitted that Sweden was not properly prepared for the pandemic and that it is "obvious that country has not done enough". Restaurants not observing social distancing should be shut, he told Swedish broadcaster SVT.

In Sweden, 870 people have died from the virus - many more than neighbours Denmark (247) and Norway (113), where lockdowns were introduced in early March.

image.gif

44 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I didn’t know that about Japan, I honestly thought they’d be extremely efficient in dealing with it, although they are very heavily populated, but the Japanese are usually very efficient and clean in everything they do. 

39 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

I didn’t know that about Japan, I honestly thought they’d be extremely efficient in dealing with it, although they are very heavily populated, but the Japanese are usually very efficient and clean in everything they do. 

They have an incredibly old and ageing population.

Most of east asia have been ready for this due to SARS a few years ago.

They learned their lessons and put systems in place to deal with any new outbreak.

The West didn't because SARS never got here in a significant way.

We've been caught cold with our balls in the breeze.

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

And the sooner people realise that the better, how can you have people going back to normal, what logic do you go by? aww that's person has had it before so he has Immunity. 

Bollocks!!!  this virsus kills anyone doesn't matter how fit you are, 11 year old boy today died in England ****ing brutal man I'm in tears, such a cruel way to go out his family can't even properly get to give him a funeral. 

When is reality going to sink in to these Incompetent fools, this ain't going away. 

Until like people have said we have a vaccine, simple as the world that we live in today isn't the world we know.

Call me crazy all you want i don't care what people think about me, they say that 80% of people recover from this just having mild symptoms, I truly believe i had the mild symptoms, touch wood. 

What stats do they have to prove that as fact none? 

But ministers are aiming to lift the more drastic lockdown measures in weeks, including the potential of opening up schools in June, and shops.

Other non-essential services to be phased back in could include restaurants and pubs, although they may have to limit their numbers.

Your having a ****ing laugh man haha, that will result in nothing but genocide, will any of the ministers and government put themselves forward to be at risk. 

Look at China they have just opened back up only to lockdown again, what failures. 

8 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

And the sooner people realise that the better, how can you have people going back to normal, what logic do you go by? aww that's person has had it before so he has Immunity. 

Bollocks!!!  this virsus kills anyone doesn't matter how fit you are, 11 year old boy today died in England ****ing brutal man I'm in tears, such a cruel way to go out his family can't even properly get to give him a funeral. 

When is reality going to sink in to these Incompetent fools, this ain't going away. 

Until like people have said we have a vaccine, simple as the world that we live in today isn't the world we know.

Call me crazy all you want i don't care what people think about me, they say that 80% of people recover from this just having mild symptoms, I truly believe i had the mild symptoms, touch wood. 

What stats do they have to prove that as fact none? 

But ministers are aiming to lift the more drastic lockdown measures in weeks, including the potential of opening up schools in June, and shops.

Other non-essential services to be phased back in could include restaurants and pubs, although they may have to limit their numbers.

Your having a ****ing laugh man haha, that will result in nothing but genocide, will any of the ministers and government put themselves forward to be at risk. 

Look at China they have just opened back up only to lockdown again, what failures. 

Tak yer fit aff ma neck, Bongo. :D

China will take a hit in this, hence why they are trying to get back to normal. 

Fools with all they research they have and scientists knowledge, they seem to think they can start to go back to normal. 

Wrong incompetently wrong 

1.386 billion (2017)
1960198020001.5B1.5B1.0B1.0B0.5B0.5B00

Show more

PEOPLE ALSO ASK

What is China's Population 2019?

Why is China population so high?

What country has the highest population?

What will be the population of China in 2050?

The current population of China is 1,438,101,197 as of Saturday, April 11, 2020, based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data. China 2020 population is estimated at 1,439,323,776 people at mid year according to UN data

Fecking crazy how stupid do they have to be. 

People who are ill and  don't have Coronavirus need to get their arses to the hospital and the doctors. Folk falling ill and not wanting to bother the NHS is costing them their lives.

5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

People who are ill and  don't have Coronavirus need to get their arses to the hospital and the doctors. Folk falling ill and not wanting to bother the NHS is costing them their lives.

Fell a ****er The other day during a run. Struggling to lift my arm properly since. Normal times I would head along to the western get it checked but not going to bother. Think it is just jarred but it is quite swollen. 

Can't blame folk not wanting to add to the already struggling NHS. If folk are genuinely really ill though you are correct the need to go to their doctors. 

2 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Fell a ****er The other day during a run. Struggling to lift my arm properly since. Normal times I would head along to the western get it checked but not going to bother. Think it is just jarred but it is quite swollen. 

Can't blame folk not wanting to add to the already struggling NHS. If folk are genuinely really ill though you are correct the need to go to their doctors. 

The non Corona deaths for the same time last year are too much.

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I agree but you can see why people would put off, scared to go out incase they get coronavirus. 

Especially those with underlying health conditions. 

It's a shambles. 

You watch the succide rate go up 

Quite simply as the football chant goes the government 

If it's killing more men, maybe the key the vaccine is through women's genetics. Just thinking out loud.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic