Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

I've just been on the Jet2 website and there are no holidays left from Newcastle going to the Canaries in the Scottish October school holidays.

Plenty left going to Turkey though. I'm tempted, but not sure what the weather's like in October

At least the English airports will be coining it in and the airport jobs will be safe

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

2 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Ken. Surrounded by exotic, foreign beauties at every turn, and plumped for an angry, ginger, Jock bursd. :(

She can cook though eh !

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I've just been on the Jet2 website and there are no holidays left from Newcastle going to the Canaries in the Scottish October school holidays.

Plenty left going to Turkey though. I'm tempted, but not sure what the weather's like in October

At least the English airports will be coining it in and the airport jobs will be safe

Still nice and warm in the day in Turkey in October but gets cool at night

The UK government control borders and the UK border force at airports, so how would the SG know if anyone has taken a pre departure test and booked a 2 day PCR test? 

They would need that information from UK government sources 

Landed in Alicante this afternoon and the whole process was slick as. From the Jet2 staff at EDI checking vaccination status to the health authorities im ALC, it really was well organised.  The QR code is scanned at ALC and the queue moves quickly through.

Airport as busy as it was pre-pandemic with numerous nationalities passing through.

Not only a bonus of 30C temperatures but you get your passport stamped too. 

4 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

In the town near where I live today ans three shops closed due to lack of staff including subway.  

Why are they struggling for staff?  

Maybe struggling with staff absences due to self isolation rules? 

3 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Maybe struggling with staff absences due to self isolation rules? 

It does make it feel that we aren't out of this as much as we think.   

Going to be a long winter with this and the struggle to get things on shelves.  

1 hour ago, Auldbenches said:

It does make it feel that we aren't out of this as much as we think.   

Going to be a long winter with this and the struggle to get things on shelves.  

That's where I'm at. 

As I've mentioned previously, the week that my daughter's school went back, half the year tested positive in PCRs. And the obvious knock-on to parents and siblings. 

Catching Covid feels like "when"  not "if". Hopefully the vaccines take the edge off the symptoms. 

Me, my wife and daughter have all had it last week... Felt like flu. But getting through it. 

I am surprised though that (in Wales at least) there has been very little reporting of covid rates in schools. I'm really not suggesting that they close schools, but a lot of assertions about kids and schools and covid could be scrutinised. 

8 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Saw the reports / leaks of what was to come and booked Canaries on Friday morning for 2nd November. Chose to fly from Manchester as I couldn't trust what SG would come up with, appears I made the correct call.

May not save me money but gives me peace of mind. Really irritating though as I can walk out of my house, take a few steps and then get on an airport bus to Turnhouse.

10 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Ken. Surrounded by exotic, foreign beauties at every turn, and plumped for an angry, ginger, Jock bursd. :(

It’s in your blood man and it’s what you need. I’ve had girlfriends in different places too but they just don’t get you. 
Angry, ginger jock bursd is the one🥰😀

8 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Landed in Alicante this afternoon and the whole process was slick as. From the Jet2 staff at EDI checking vaccination status to the health authorities im ALC, it really was well organised.  The QR code is scanned at ALC and the queue moves quickly through.

Airport as busy as it was pre-pandemic with numerous nationalities passing through.

This news certainly takes the edge of the disappointing result in Dingwall.:pleasing:

Be sure to fill your boots, Enzo.

Edited by Governor Tarkin

8 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Yeah was like that in June - no hassle

will be there in couple of days for the unionist convention 🍺😎🕺🏻

9 hours ago, Auldbenches said:

In the town near where I live today ans three shops closed due to lack of staff including subway.  

Why are they struggling for staff?  

Probably more Brexit than COVID related though. 

8 hours ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Saw the reports / leaks of what was to come and booked Canaries on Friday morning for 2nd November. Chose to fly from Manchester as I couldn't trust what SG would come up with, appears I made the correct call.

May not save me money but gives me peace of mind. Really irritating though as I can walk out of my house, take a few steps and then get on an airport bus to Turnhouse.

This is what I will be doing in November if things don’t change and will fly from Newcastle probably. 

As you say it gives you peace of mind you don’t have to take a test before you come home so can relax on holiday and enjoy yourself without the worry of testing 

11 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The UK government control borders and the UK border force at airports, so how would the SG know if anyone has taken a pre departure test and booked a 2 day PCR test? 

They would need that information from UK government sources 

Regards the pre departure test, you can't get on the plane without showing proof of a negative result. The 2 day test is a more thorny issue. As you and many others know, I am a big supporter of the SG but, although i think the pcr test is a good thing, it's so easily by passed by people flying to England that it's unworkable. 

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

You don’t need to proof of a negative test to fly into England from the start October, The biggest advantage of this is you will not be stuck abroad. 

You just need to do antigen on day 2, which is about half price of PCR. 

There is a undoubted irony about having such strict testing to get into the most infected country in Europe. Still think SG will u turn next week, when they have gauged the reaction. 

I know that;my reply was to a poster asking about tests before flying to Scotland. I think the SG should do a u-turn, maybe saving face by saying they wanted to keep pcr tests but it's pointless if people just fly from Newcastle instead. 

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

Regards the pre departure test, you can't get on the plane without showing proof of a negative result. The 2 day test is a more thorny issue. As you and many others know, I am a big supporter of the SG but, although i think the pcr test is a good thing, it's so easily by passed by people flying to England that it's unworkable. 

The airlines were checking negative pre departure tests under the instruction of the UK border force. Come October that won't be required.

The SG won't have the authority to make airlines do this after October, as they don't control the borders.

I think they will have to do a U-turn as it's unworkable 

25 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The airlines were checking negative pre departure tests under the instruction of the UK border force. Come October that won't be required.

The SG won't have the authority to make airlines do this after October, as they don't control the borders.

I think they will have to do a U-turn as it's unworkable 

We'll have to agree to disagree on that one

2 minutes ago, XB52 said:

We'll have to agree to disagree on that one

I'm not saying that I'm right, I'm just trying to work out what powers the SG have to implement it.

I think it's a bit of a grey area

56 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I'm not saying that I'm right, I'm just trying to work out what powers the SG have to implement it.

I think it's a bit of a grey area

Aye she’s geting shit from all dye tons regarding this issue and the vaccine passports . Not looking good for her and she had her 7 year anniversary yesterday 😂

Data issues still ongoing, it appears.

Summary

• 3,833* new cases of COVID-19 reported [-2,283; down from 5,912 a week ago]
  • 45,985* new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [-27,373]
    • 9.1% of these were positive [+0.1%]
  • 2 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices are now generally closed at weekends) [-25]
  • 100 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+1]
  • 1,074 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+22]
  • 4,155,048 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 3,806,980 have received their second dose [+3,313; +4,797]

*There may be variability in the number of new cases and tests reported in the latest 24 hour period. This is due to a backlog of data being processed following technical issues affecting reporting on 16th September 2021.

Bearing in mind the current data issues, here are the latest trend stats. Good to see the 7-day positivity rate drop below 10%.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area WHO   Today Yesterday     17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep 13 Sep ... 1 Sep
Scotland 4   519 557 -38   524 N/A 666 682 725 ... 747

West Dunbartonshire 4   821 875 -54   825 N/A 1097 1120 1158 ... 1105
North Lanarkshire 4   686 721 -35   679 N/A 856 907 960 ... 1261
South Ayrshire 4   670 673 -3   614 N/A 702 659 677 ... 658
East Renfrewshire 4   656 714 -58   709 N/A 919 962 1006 ... 1080
Renfrewshire 4   650 690 -40   703 N/A 837 832 910 ... 1041
North Ayrshire 4   647 682 -35   658 N/A 804 812 826 ... 772
Inverclyde 4   625 671 -46   711 N/A 955 908 954 ... 1238
East Dunbartonshire 4   617 656 -39   584 N/A 687 757 795 ... 1150
West Lothian 4   613 700 -87   639 N/A 805 761 805 ... 668
East Ayrshire 4   604 633 -29   631 N/A 743 769 788 ... 627
Midlothian 4   596 666 -70   612 N/A 720 782 842 ... 754
Dundee City 4   582 609 -27   592 N/A 785 773 831 ... 697
Fife 4   573 636 -63   588 N/A 737 751 787 ... 597
Falkirk 4   569 605 -36   519 N/A 642 681 733 ... 690
Stirling 4   569 612 -43   542 N/A 660 655 679 ... 628
South Lanarkshire 4   563 601 -38   565 N/A 732 756 821 ... 1013
Glasgow City 4   543 582 -39   565 N/A 753 779 848 ... 989
Clackmannanshire 4   501 556 -55   452 N/A 671 723 801 ... 704
Aberdeenshire 4   500 522 -22   480 N/A 615 619 637 ... 424
Argyll & Bute 4   469 471 -2   461 N/A 549 572 615 ... 712
Aberdeen City 4   432 439 -7   403 N/A 524 526 553 ... 414
Edinburgh City 4   419 484 -65   445 N/A 583 602 645 ... 722
Perth & Kinross 4   398 372 +26   357 N/A 423 400 395 ... 297
Dumfries & Galloway 4   368 384 -16   343 N/A 426 469 512 ... 620
East Lothian 4   363 435 -72   382 N/A 505 495 510 ... 604
Scottish Borders 4   351 378 -27   370 N/A 417 444 451 ... 430
Angus 4   340 366 -26   367 N/A 457 452 480 ... 430
Highland 4   313 339 -26   307 N/A 451 490 534 ... 531
Moray 4   210 233 -23   194 N/A 247 250 271 ... 183
Shetland Islands 4   162 162 0   166 N/A 223 223 267 ... 262
Na h-Eileanan Siar 4   151 136 +15   140 N/A 117 136 140 ... 170
Orkney Islands 3   134 134 0   188 N/A 205 246 259 ... 67

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep 13 Sep ... 1 Sep
Tests     44687 46067 -1380   41663 N/A 51511 51475 53583 ... 46368
Cases     4052 4349 -297   4090 N/A 5199 5327 5658 ... 5832
Positivity rate %     9.8 10.2 -0.4   10.6 N/A 10.8 11.1 11.3 ... 13.3
Deaths     19.4 19.1 +0.3   16.7 15.6 13.6 11.7 11.0 ... 6.0

All Vaccinations     6279 6699 -420   7342 N/A 8263 8847 9324 ... 15364
1st Dose     2062 2004 +58   2118 N/A 2287 2345 2432 ... 2844
2nd Dose     4217 4695 -478   5224 N/A 5976 6502 6892 ... 12520

All in hospital     1058 1050 +8   1041 1032 1014 986 949 ... 524
Non-ICU     965 959 +6   952 944 927 900 865 ... 473
ICU     93 91 +2   89 88 87 86 84 ... 51

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

Bearing in mind the current data issues, here are the latest trend stats. Good to see the 7-day positivity rate drop below 10%.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area WHO   Today Yesterday     17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep 13 Sep ... 1 Sep

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep 13 Sep ... 1 Sep

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases                

On 18/09/2021 at 15:51, Nucky Thompson said:

I certainly hope that the SG do scrap this pcr testing etc, because if they don't and it continued for any length of time, Scotland would run the danger that the airlines could scrap certain routes, simply because people would be flying from English airports and those routes flying out of Scotland would no longer be commerically viable.  We could end up losing a lot of routes, which would be deprimental to the whole of Scotland.

I do not fancy a return to the days when flying out of Newcastle was a better & far cheaper option than flying out of Edinburgh, I had thought we'd left those days back in the '90's/00's.

28 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Exactly what I'd expect from the KaiserChiefs in fairness.

Band of cretins, for cretins.

👍👍👍👍😎

On 18/09/2021 at 13:38, Governor Tarkin said:

I love ginger burds. 

The amount of people I know who have the cold but tested negative for covid is ridiculous.

Are things changing and the common cold is taking over 

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The amount of people I know who have the cold but tested negative for covid is ridiculous.

Are things changing and the common cold is taking over 

The second you get any symptom at all you think you have the Chinese aids. 
It’s rampant. I don’t care anymore personally. You can’t hide in the hoose. 

Take a test. Negative, as you are, positive, sit on the hoose for a week. Easy.

Aw naw I've caught the cauld, I need to over react and moan on JKB. :yadayada: Fecking Kaiser chiefs/SNP. I've a caravan I need to get to. #Gypsiedruleok!

46 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Aw naw I've caught the cauld, I need to over react and moan on JKB. :yadayada: Fecking Kaiser chiefs/SNP. I've a caravan I need to get to. #Gypsiedruleok!

Not 100% sure if this totally relevant but I read this morning that the government is mandating the addition of folic acid to white flour to aid the prevention of approx 200 spinal birth defects a year. 

How does that sit with those pissing and whining about having to take a vaccine when folk die anyway?

Are Warburtons getting boycotted?

2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Not 100% sure if this totally relevant but I read this morning that the government is mandating the addition of folic acid to white flour to aid the prevention of approx 200 spinal birth defects a year. 

How does that sit with those pissing and whining about having to take a vaccine when folk die anyway?

Its 100% not relevant. 

Anyway, numerous other sources of folic acid for woman to source and use. Not sure how the bread companies will feel about it as i am presuming this will come at a cost. 

2 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Its 100% not relevant. 

Anyway, numerous other sources of folic acid for woman to source and use. Not sure how the bread companies will feel about it as i am presuming this will come at a cost. 

It kind of is relevant though as people are being coerced into taking something they might not want just to stop 200 defects a year.

That type of argument is the central plank of this thread for the last 18 months.  

I'm expecting a full suite of Mike Yeadons, a plethora of Judy Garlands and a 30 minute Neil Oliver special on G Beebies

Edited by The Mighty Thor

8 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Are they being accompanied by loaf consumption passports to prove you've had sufficient white flour to get into the football or a nightclub?

If yes, then yes, screw Warburtons.

If no, then no, I don't care.

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Are they being accompanied by loaf consumption passports to prove you've had sufficient white flour to get into the football or a nightclub?

If yes, then yes, screw Warburtons.

If no, then no, I don't care.

I'm not sure if Chief Pappy Johnson has dictated them yet?

Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

I'm not sure if Chief Pappy Johnson has dictated them yet?

Well, without knowing that, it's hard to give an answer on it I'm afraid.

15 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Roll of a lifetime: Robert De Niro's ad for Warburtons bagels is his best  work in years | Robert De Niro | The Guardian

YOU TALKIN TO ME ?

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

It was a wee bit tongue in cheek. 

Yup, been tested and negative so can still soldier on working while coughing and spluttering

There will be plenty of Gypsies down at this caravan park next week as it's the Weegie September weekend, so I'll give it a  wide berth.

The place was full of Edinburgh folk this weekend. It was funny watching them come into the complex with masks on only to ditch them after 2 minutes.

Fully liberated, taking advantage of relaxed Tory rules :thumbsup:

7 minutes ago, weegranty said:

I've had a cough and a sore throat since Saturday,hopefully  just a cold but went and got a pcr  test this morning.

I've got the same and it's just the cold. The first one I've had in about 5 years.

Loads of folk are getting the cold just now

15 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I've got the same and it's just the cold. The first one I've had in about 5 years.

Loads of folk are getting the cold just now

I missed The Specials  concert 2 weeks ago because the wife had it.Got From The Jam this Friday  so hopefully  im negative.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic