Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

12 minutes ago, weegranty said:

I missed The Specials  concert 2 weeks ago because the wife had it.Got From The Jam this Friday  so hopefully  im negative.

Hopefully bud.

We've all had cold symptoms in my household, but not one positive test.

I've had a really sore throat and a wee bit of a cough but felt fine. It was going away yesterday and I've woken up this morning as right as rain

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Not 100% sure if this totally relevant but I read this morning that the government is mandating the addition of folic acid to white flour to aid the prevention of approx 200 spinal birth defects a year. 

How does that sit with those pissing and whining about having to take a vaccine when folk die anyway?

Are Warburtons getting boycotted?

Folic acid has been proven through many studies and years of trial that it’s helpful to a person whereas the jab …..is still in infancy 

2 hours ago, Taffin said:

Are they being accompanied by loaf consumption passports to prove you've had sufficient white flour to get into the football or a nightclub?

If yes, then yes, screw Warburtons.

If no, then no, I don't care.

Good point 

35 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I've got the same and it's just the cold. The first one I've had in about 5 years.

Loads of folk are getting the cold just now

Yes breaking news we are allowed to have other illnesses . That covid thinks it’s the only game in town . Bloody prima Donna 

20 minutes ago, weegranty said:

I missed The Specials  concert 2 weeks ago because the wife had it.Got From The Jam this Friday  so hopefully  im negative.

Was it strawberry or raspberry jam ? Think raspberry is worse fir u 

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It kind of is relevant though as people are being coerced into taking something they might not want just to stop 200 defects a year.

That type of argument is the central plank of this thread for the last 18 months.  

I'm expecting a full suite of Mike Yeadons, a plethora of Judy Garlands and a 30 minute Neil Oliver special on G Beebies

791A6259-CB18-434E-94D2-8D7B963C51A9.gif

Some sort of snafu at the Grampian lab means that the data continues to be incomplete. "Investigation" - what is the world like? :D People used to step up to the plate and just get things sorted out.

Scottish numbers: 20 September 2021

Summary

• 2,917* new cases of COVID-19 reported [-916; down from 4,241 a week ago]
  • 29,098* new tests for COVID-19 that reported results [-16,887]
    • 10.8%* of these were positive [+1.7%]
  • 0 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices are now generally closed on weekends) [-2]
  • 97 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-3]
  • 1,088 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+14]
  • 4,157,613 people have received their first dose of a COVID-19 vaccination and 3,810,775 have received their second dose [+2,565; +3,795]

*Please note that NHS Grampian Lab have not submitted lab files since Saturday 18 September, investigation into this issue is ongoing.

Here are the latest trend stats. I don't know how they determine which areas send their tests to which lab, but you can probably assume that the north east results are lower than they should be due to the data issue du jour.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area WHO   Today Yesterday     18 Sep 17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep ... 1 Sep
Scotland 4   495 519 -24   557 524 N/A 666 682 ... 747

West Dunbartonshire 4   787 821 -34   875 825 N/A 1097 1120 ... 1105
North Lanarkshire 4   664 686 -22   721 679 N/A 856 907 ... 1261
South Ayrshire 4   663 670 -7   673 614 N/A 702 659 ... 658
Renfrewshire 4   637 650 -13   690 703 N/A 837 832 ... 1041
North Ayrshire 4   616 647 -31   682 658 N/A 804 812 ... 772
Inverclyde 4   610 625 -15   671 711 N/A 955 908 ... 1238
East Renfrewshire 4   601 656 -55   714 709 N/A 919 962 ... 1080
East Ayrshire 4   596 604 -8   633 631 N/A 743 769 ... 627
East Dunbartonshire 4   585 617 -32   656 584 N/A 687 757 ... 1150
West Lothian 4   580 613 -33   700 639 N/A 805 761 ... 668
South Lanarkshire 4   551 563 -12   601 565 N/A 732 756 ... 1013
Fife 4   546 573 -27   636 588 N/A 737 751 ... 597
Midlothian 4   545 596 -51   666 612 N/A 720 782 ... 754
Falkirk 4   543 569 -26   605 519 N/A 642 681 ... 690
Dundee City 4   539 582 -43   609 592 N/A 785 773 ... 697
Stirling 4   539 569 -30   612 542 N/A 660 655 ... 628
Glasgow City 4   521 543 -22   582 565 N/A 753 779 ... 989
Aberdeenshire 4   475 500 -25   522 480 N/A 615 619 ... 424
Argyll & Bute 4   447 469 -22   471 461 N/A 549 572 ... 712
Clackmannanshire 4   443 501 -58   556 452 N/A 671 723 ... 704
Aberdeen City 4   413 432 -19   439 403 N/A 524 526 ... 414
Perth & Kinross 4   386 398 -12   372 357 N/A 423 400 ... 297
Edinburgh City 4   384 419 -35   484 445 N/A 583 602 ... 722
Dumfries & Galloway 4   363 368 -5   384 343 N/A 426 469 ... 620
East Lothian 4   340 363 -23   435 382 N/A 505 495 ... 604
Scottish Borders 4   325 351 -26   378 370 N/A 417 444 ... 430
Angus 4   311 340 -29   366 367 N/A 457 452 ... 430
Highland 4   299 313 -14   339 307 N/A 451 490 ... 531
Moray 4   197 210 -13   233 194 N/A 247 250 ... 183
Shetland Islands 3   144 162 -18   162 166 N/A 223 223 ... 262
Na h-Eileanan Siar 3   140 151 -11   136 140 N/A 117 136 ... 170
Orkney Islands 3   107 134 -27   134 188 N/A 205 246 ... 67

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     18 Sep 17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep ... 1 Sep
Tests     43022 44687 -1665   46067 41663 N/A 51511 51475 ... 46368
Cases     3863 4052 -189   4349 4090 N/A 5199 5327 ... 5832
Positivity rate %     9.7 9.8 -0.1   10.2 10.6 N/A 10.8 11.1 ... 13.3
Deaths     19.4 19.4 0.0   19.1 16.7 15.6 13.6 11.7 ... 6.0

All Vaccinations     5771 6279 -508   6699 7342 N/A 8263 8847 ... 15364
1st Dose     2119 2062 +57   2004 2118 N/A 2287 2345 ... 2844
2nd Dose     3652 4217 -565   4695 5224 N/A 5976 6502 ... 12520

All in hospital     1064 1058 +6   1050 1041 1032 1014 986 ... 524
Non-ICU     970 965 +5   959 952 944 927 900 ... 473
ICU     94 93 +1   91 89 88 87 86 ... 51

17 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Here are the latest trend stats. I don't know how they determine which areas send their tests to which lab, but you can probably assume that the north east results are lower than they should be due to the data issue du jour.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area WHO   Today Yesterday     18 Sep 17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep ... 1 Sep
Scotland 4   495 519 -24   557 524 N/A 666 682 ... 747

West Dunbartonshire 4   787 821 -34   875 825 N/A 1097 1120 ... 1105
North Lanarkshire 4   664 686 -22   721 679 N/A 856 907 ... 1261
South Ayrshire 4   663 670 -7   673 614 N/A 702 659 ... 658
Renfrewshire 4   637 650 -13   690 703 N/A 837 832 ... 1041
North Ayrshire 4   616 647 -31   682 658 N/A 804 812 ... 772
Inverclyde 4   610 625 -15   671 711 N/A 955 908 ... 1238
East Renfrewshire 4   601 656 -55   714 709 N/A 919 962 ... 1080
East Ayrshire 4   596 604 -8   633 631 N/A 743 769 ... 627
East Dunbartonshire 4   585 617 -32   656 584 N/A 687 757 ... 1150
West Lothian 4   580 613 -33   700 639 N/A 805 761 ... 668
South Lanarkshire 4   551 563 -12   601 565 N/A 732 756 ... 1013
Fife 4   546 573 -27   636 588 N/A 737 751 ... 597
Midlothian 4   545 596 -51   666 612 N/A 720 782 ... 754
Falkirk 4   543 569 -26   605 519 N/A 642 681 ... 690
Dundee City 4   539 582 -43   609 592 N/A 785 773 ... 697
Stirling 4   539 569 -30   612 542 N/A 660 655 ... 628
Glasgow City 4   521 543 -22   582 565 N/A 753 779 ... 989
Aberdeenshire 4   475 500 -25   522 480 N/A 615 619 ... 424
Argyll & Bute 4   447 469 -22   471 461 N/A 549 572 ... 712
Clackmannanshire 4   443 501 -58   556 452 N/A 671 723 ... 704
Aberdeen City 4   413 432 -19   439 403 N/A 524 526 ... 414
Perth & Kinross 4   386 398 -12   372 357 N/A 423 400 ... 297
Edinburgh City 4   384 419 -35   484 445 N/A 583 602 ... 722
Dumfries & Galloway 4   363 368 -5   384 343 N/A 426 469 ... 620
East Lothian 4   340 363 -23   435 382 N/A 505 495 ... 604
Scottish Borders 4   325 351 -26   378 370 N/A 417 444 ... 430
Angus 4   311 340 -29   366 367 N/A 457 452 ... 430
Highland 4   299 313 -14   339 307 N/A 451 490 ... 531
Moray 4   197 210 -13   233 194 N/A 247 250 ... 183
Shetland Islands 3   144 162 -18   162 166 N/A 223 223 ... 262
Na h-Eileanan Siar 3   140 151 -11   136 140 N/A 117 136 ... 170
Orkney Islands 3   107 134 -27   134 188 N/A 205 246 ... 67

7-day averages     Today Yesterday     18 Sep 17 Sep 16 Sep 15 Sep 14 Sep ... 1 Sep
Tests     43022 44687 -1665   46067 41663 N/A 51511 51475 ... 46368
Cases     3863 4052 -189   4349 4090 N/A 5199 5327 ... 5832
Positivity rate %     9.7 9.8 -0.1   10.2 10.6 N/A 10.8 11.1 ... 13.3
Deaths     19.4 19.4 0.0   19.1 16.7 15.6 13.6 11.7 ... 6.0

All Vaccinations     5771 6279 -508   6699 7342 N/A 8263 8847 ... 15364
1st Dose     2119 2062 +57   2004 2118 N/A 2287 2345 ... 2844
2nd Dose     3652 4217 -565   4695 5224 N/A 5976 6502 ... 12520

All in hospital     1064 1058 +6   1050 1041 1032 1014 986 ... 524
Non-ICU     970 965 +5   959 952 944 927 900 ... 473
ICU     94 93 +1   91 89 88 87 86 ... 51

6 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It kind of is relevant though as people are being coerced into taking something they might not want just to stop 200 defects a year.

That type of argument is the central plank of this thread for the last 18 months.  

I'm expecting a full suite of Mike Yeadons, a plethora of Judy Garlands and a 30 minute Neil Oliver special on G Beebies

Folic acid is added to flour in over 80 countries and has been for many years now, the UK is way behind the curve on this.

20 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

@redjambonpt been paying much attention to the numbers, despite your Stirling work. I take thats is over the peak and beginning a downward trend, or is data issue giving a misleading opinion.

Had a quick look on travelling tabby and it suggests we’re over the latest peak and the downward, well until the next wave. 

Yes, we're heading downwards, case-wise. :thumb:

29 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Folic acid is added to flour in over 80 countries and has been for many years now, the UK is way behind the curve on this.

What?

You mean this isn't the usual 'world leading/world beating' sunlit uplands global Britain (Great nation) stuff we've become used to.

I'm shocked. 

5 hours ago, weegranty said:

I've had a cough and a sore throat since Saturday,hopefully  just a cold but went and got a pcr  test this morning.

Why didn’t you get one on Saturday or yesterday?

59 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

What?

You mean this isn't the usual 'world leading/world beating' sunlit uplands global Britain (Great nation) stuff we've become used to.

I'm shocked. 

That's right, no world leading/beating banging the UK's drum this time.

Gutted eh?

59 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Why didn’t you get one on Saturday or yesterday?

Didn't feel too bad over the weekend but felt worse today.

40 minutes ago, weegranty said:

Didn't feel too bad over the weekend but felt worse today.

Fair enough but to you and anyone else reading - the moment you have a cough - you MUST book a test no matter what.

could save lives 

Edited by Jambo 4 Ever

1 minute ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Fair enough but to you and anyone else reading - the moment you have a cough - you MUST book a test no matter what.

could save lives 

12 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

could save lives 

Incorrect.

https://www.nhsinform.scot/illnesses-and-conditions/infections-and-poisoning/coronavirus-covid-19/test-and-protect/coronavirus-covid-19-get-a-test-if-you-have-symptoms

Symptoms of coronavirus are:

• a high temperature or fever
  • a new continuous cough
  • a loss of, or change in sense of smell or taste

A new, continuous cough means coughing for longer than an hour, or three or more coughing episodes in 24 hours. If you usually have a cough, it may be worse than usual.

7 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Incorrect.

https://www.nhsinform.scot/illnesses-and-conditions/infections-and-poisoning/coronavirus-covid-19/test-and-protect/coronavirus-covid-19-get-a-test-if-you-have-symptoms

• a new continuous cough

A new, continuous cough means coughing for longer than an hour, or three or more coughing episodes in 24 hours. If you usually have a cough, it may be worse than usual.

Thank you for cutting out the melodrama

17 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Incorrect.

• a new continuous cough

So by Sunday he should have booked a test

never a problem to take a test to be on the safe side anyway 

1 minute ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

My cough wasn't continuous over the weekend.

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

That's right, no world leading/beating banging the UK's drum this time.

Gutted eh?

Cannae believe some Johnny Foreigner types thought of this first. 

Raging.

13 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Only if he fulfilled the criteria, which is not the simplistic and incorrect one you originally stated. If everyone who had a simple cough booked in for a PCR, it would cause mayhem, particularly around the season when folk start getting coughs. Perhaps you ought to be more careful in your advice and point folk towards lateral flow tests in the first instance for coughs which do not meet the criteria.

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

Only if he fulfilled the criteria, which is not the simplistic and incorrect one you originally stated. If everyone who had a simple cough booked in for a PCR, it would cause mayhem, particularly around the season when folk start getting coughs. Perhaps you ought to be more careful in your advice and point folk towards lateral flow tests in the first instance for coughs which do not meet the criteria.

Advice ?

C’mon, Red, it’s not Jambo 4 Ever’s daytime surgery !

It’s guys spraffing on a football message board. No offence, mate !

2 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

could save lives 

Woo hoo welcome back ! Where u been ? And more importantly was it voluntary ? 

415C94FC-A849-4E16-B5AD-CF1BE15F40C8.gif

45 minutes ago, Boab said:

Advice ?

C’mon, Red, it’s not Jambo 4 Ever’s daytime surgery !

It’s guys spraffing on a football message board. No offence, mate !

I was only ever slightly tongue in cheek, Boab. ;) My delivery is far too dry, I admit.

On 19/09/2021 at 07:14, Governor Tarkin said:

This news certainly takes the edge of the disappointing result in Dingwall.:pleasing:

Be sure to fill your boots, Enzo.

Cheers Guv. Will do.👍

Think a few weeks back I said I had covid cos that's what the hospital told me to get rid of me, went private turns out I had blood clots on both lungs and pneumonia, on top of that a small private centre passed me fit, I could have died had I believed either.

Big private hospital always.

Just now, jonesy said:

Sorry to hear that - you on the mend?

Nothing worse than lazy/incompetent healthcare. I remember turning up at a small hospital in China with my son. Doc didn't even look up from her computer and diagnosed him. As I was leaving, she clocked I was a foreigner and suddenly suggested he undergo a battery of (very expensive) tests. :( 

The only Doc I trust is @doctor jambo:)😜 

Probably not even a real doctor.

😄

11 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Aye, and Red probably isn't even a Commie.

👍:lol:

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

11 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

Last week I was reading about a mother & daughter from N. Ireland who both caught covid-19 and died within days of each other, both worked in the care sector and both were unvaccinated, the mother (aged 55) had shared numerious anti-vaxx videos and conspiracy theory shite online, the daughter (aged 32) leaves behind a husband and 4 young kids.

31 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

This is the place for all your anti-vaccine people bearing the consequences of their actions: https://www.reddit.com/r/LeopardsAteMyFace/

It is absoultely tragic the number of people losing their lives after reading & believing some of the anti-vaxxer shite that's on the internet.

I caught the tail end of a report on the news the other day where an A&E consultant said that he's seeing more and more unvaccinated people being brought in seriously ill with Covid-19 and many are now begging to be vaccinated, but in many cases it's too late.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

4 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Vile comment.

It was a compliment to the guy . He Made his own choices at that age . He wasn’t afraid of illness or death . Good him . Whats to say if he had been jabbed he would have survived anyway ? . He died living not dying . Unlike you who is doom merchant number one on this . There are a few close to you but you take the biscuit . 

Edited by JamesM48

Just now, JamesM48 said:

It was a compliment to the guy . He Made his own choices at that age . He wasn’t afraid of illness or death . Go on him . Whats to say if he had been jabbed he would have survived anyway . He died living not dying . Unlike you who doom merchant number one on this . There are a few close to you but you take the biscuit . 

My life is pretty much completely back to normal other than working from home, thanks.

Imagine that 74 year old was your relative. Have some empathy. Old lives matter.

3 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

It is absoultely tragic the number of people losing their lives after reading & believing some of the anti-vaxxer shite that's on the internet.

I caught the tail end of a report on the news the other day where an A&E consultant said that he's seeing more and more unvaccinated people being brought in seriously ill with Covid-19 and many are now begging to be vaccinated, but in many cases it's too late.

In every case it's too late to be vaccinated.  A vaccine trains the immune system to recognise a pathogen and to mount a response to it.  It can never act as a therapeutic intervention.

Just now, Ray Gin said:

My life is pretty much completely back to normal other than working from home, thanks.

Imagine that 74 year old was your relative. Have some empathy. Old lives matter.

If he was I’d feel exactly the same . He stood by his principles . Made his own risk assessment . It was his choice . He was an adult . 

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

They were just getting on with it and living their lives. Go on them.

Rattled much ?? So dredging up this from earlier !! Sweet !!! Now that was just plain stupid of them . There’s a difference between stupidity and making choices out of principle. 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Rattled much ?? So dredging up this from earlier !! Sweet !!! Now that was just plain stupid of them . There’s a difference between stupidity and making choices out of principle. 

Tying yourself up in knots of hypocrisy and contradiction as per usual. All over the place.

Edited by Ray Gin

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic