Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

Last time i was there was stuck for an hour , shortcut from north berwick,  got that wrong.

Whats your trip General. 

Just a wee breakout pal but there will be other places

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Tenaciousdandy
4 minutes ago, SteauaNeedarest said:

Apologies for a Daily Mail article but seen this "Freedom Pass" trending on Twitter and this is the UK Gov't's latest bright idea:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8974617/Britons-test-negative-Covid-twice-week-set-receive-freedom-pass.html?fbclid=IwAR0rCitOuGtwXvpm4iNz9WajCufWp3UxWaxZ-H4wfkPXrzA-PmNOoqrh63U

🤣🤣 what a stupid idea, so your nice and healthy, now go and try and get covid lol 

Per-board, per-100,000 case stats:

Scotland 17 [+2].

Greater Glasgow 31 [+5], Lanarkshire 29 [+2], Ayrshire 22 [+10].

Fife 16 [+4], Tayside 13 [+1], Forth Valley 11 [+3], Lothian 10 [-3].

Others: less than 10.

Just now, Heartsmad1874 said:

0 deaths is good but i suspect that is just a lag from the weekend :( 

Yes, effectively a day's stats are largely (but not entirely) from the day before. The death stat in particular has some lag due to the reporting mechanism, more so at weekends due to the register offices being closed. So, probably better to look at the 7-day average than the vagaries of day-to-day figures. 0 is a deaths figure I'd like to see more often though!

39 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

The 95% effective one.

But then again, it having to travel and kept at -80 degrees when no freezers have been procured yet, may be the 70% effective one (that does go up to above 90% on second boost)

It's not 70% effective with one dose and above 90% on a second boost.

It's 62% effective with 2 full doses and 90% effective with half a dose initially and then a full dose. Both these methods together average out at 70%.

1 minute ago, steve123 said:

I see they are saying Liverpool's numbers have come down but randomly Leicester's have went up under the top tier of restrictions in England.

Hasn't Liverpool had that mass testing project though? I can see that making a difference.

Just now, redjambo said:

Hasn't Liverpool had that mass testing project though? I can see that making a difference.

Yea an expert on Sky just now though saying he does not think that is it, apparently Liverpool numbers were dropping before lockdown- in Leicester he thinks they have been in tough restrictions for so long that people are just getting bored of them and doing their own thing.

22 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Doom and Gloom - focus on the positives.

Clearly u don’t own a business in mid Lothian 

CavySlaveJambo
24 minutes ago, theshed said:

Thats the mental thing in all this. 
Things are getting better so dropping to tier 2 so can’t visit costco anymore.... no hold on things are getting worse again so that means it’s ok to visit Costco now 🙄🙄

The travel restrictions despite being enforced in law are so full

of loopholes.  

Well I decided to switch my collect shopping to Tesco in Dalkeith but that's now scuppered if they remain in T3 and we (EL) go to T2.  Oh well if I get a criminal record so be it.

16 minutes ago, steve123 said:

I see they are saying Liverpool's numbers have come down but randomly Leicester's have went up under the top tier of restrictions in England.

Potentially more Diwali parties in Leicester? 

1 minute ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

That was a week ago, so doubtful there would be an affect on numbers this soon.

1 hour ago, Brian Dundas said:

the Oxford Vaccine is now being reported as highly effective (early morning headlines were very negative), 

I had BBC Breakfast on when the Oxford news broke and didn't find the headlines negative at all.

I take it you were watching Piers Morgan

31 minutes ago, SteauaNeedarest said:

Apologies for a Daily Mail article but seen this "Freedom Pass" trending on Twitter and this is the UK Gov't's latest bright idea:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8974617/Britons-test-negative-Covid-twice-week-set-receive-freedom-pass.html?fbclid=IwAR0rCitOuGtwXvpm4iNz9WajCufWp3UxWaxZ-H4wfkPXrzA-PmNOoqrh63U

I can see merit in having a Vaccinated Pass to enable those vaccinated to gain entry to events but not this - that is bonkers.

5 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

It's interesting Christmas is being deemed worthy of rule relaxation despite not being so for Diwali. Removes any doubt that we're still not on the path to a secular state.

Edited by Taffin

8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

What planet does Sturgeon live on?

Delay seeing loved ones until the Spring... aye, nae bother hen. Just because she's incapable of any emotion bar the cold counting of votes from the braindead SNP abyss lurkers doesn't mean the rest of us are immune from needing to see those we care about.

And if they piss about with Midlothian by not moving it, that's just incompetence. Leak, announce, drip, deny. What a shower of *******s this government are.

I hope I see my local before Spring. 

😭

3 minutes ago, frankblack said:

That was a week ago, so doubtful there would be an affect on numbers this soon.

Premature, story of my life, 13 to 16th so probably won’t see an affect till next Monday. 

Heartsmad1874
2 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I can see merit in having a Vaccinated Pass to enable those vaccinated to gain entry to events but not this - that is bonkers.

Hiya pal why you not wearing a mask??

Hold on a minute i have a freedom pass on my phone, Let me show ye.

Laughable if they weren't actually serious.

CavySlaveJambo
Just now, The Frenchman Returns said:

Premature, story of my life, 13 to 16th so probably won’t see an affect till next Monday. 

Median time to show symptoms is 4-5 days 

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

And quite right, too. Lockdowns don't work in a modern, civilised society such as ours. The governments have lost all control, and anyone with half a brain is doing what's right by them and their family/friends.

It is attitudes like this that have contributed to the pandemic having had a worse effect and lasting far longer than it should have done in this country.

It's selfish entitled shite, and is illustrative not of a modern, civilised society but of a society that is breaking down with regards to watching out for each other and striving for the common good. Too many people only care about themselves these days, sadly.

6 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It's interesting Christmas is being deemed worthy of rule relaxation despite not being so for Diwali. Removes any doubt that we're still not on the path to a secular state.

Christmas isn't a religious festival for most folk these days, it's an annual getting-together, present-giving, drinking and eating feast, involving *far* more folk than Diwali.

It's a question of scale, not of religion. Don't worry, religion is becoming less and less significant as the years roll by.

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

It is attitudes like this that have contributed to the pandemic having had a worse effect and lasting far longer than it should have done in this country.

It's selfish entitled shite, and is illustrative not of a modern, civilised society but of a society that is breaking down with regards to watching out for each other and striving for the common good. Too many people only care about themselves these days, sadly.

Fair comment. 

5 minutes ago, Taffin said:

A small percentage of the population celebrate Diwali, the majority celebrate Xmas which these days ironically enough has little to do with JC or the religions that worship him. Look at the idiots boycotting Sainsbury’s for having people with brown skin in their Xmas advert for example. Secular state here we come, not a minute to soon.  

Just now, redjambo said:

Christmas isn't a religious festival for most folk these days, it's an annual getting-together, present-giving, drinking and eating feast, involving *far* more folk than Diwali.

It's a question of scale, not of religion. Don't worry, religion is becoming less and less significant as the years roll by.

So we'll still have the reduced restrictions for new year by that reckoning? I hope so.

5 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Spot on, I thought we saw an upsurge in community spirit during the first successful lockdown but it’s been overtaken by selfishness as opined hourly by Mr Jones. 

3 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

A small percentage of the population celebrate Diwali, the majority celebrate Xmas which these days ironically enough has little to do with JC or the religions that worship him. Look at the idiots boycotting Sainsbury’s for having people with brown skin in their Xmas advert for example. Secular state here we come, not a minute to soon.  

True, but there's lots of things the majority of people want back but isn't seeing relaxation. This is being positioned as specifically for Christmas.

And yes, people's reaction to that advert are disgraceful.

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

So we'll still have the reduced restrictions for new year by that reckoning? I hope so.

No she said today that it’s only Xmas, that will be hard enough. 

3 minutes ago, Taffin said:

True, but there's lots of things the majority of people want back but isn't seeing relaxation. This is being positioned as specifically for Christmas.

And yes, people's reaction to that advert are disgraceful.

Not all these things are annual traditions that see families gather together, few do anything religious during it. 
The reaction to the advert is ironic seeing as Jesus most certainly had brown skin too. 

Just now, Taffin said:

You would have thought so, but the SG is indicating that this probably won't be the case. I suppose they are differentiating the two by looking at Christmas as consisting of smaller family get-together type events which can be considered as a temporary enlarging of family bubbles, and New Year as involving larger gatherings involving a greater coming-together and intermingling of folk, with alcohol thrown in to the equation.

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

The reaction to the advert is ironic too seeing as Jesus most certainly had brown skin too. 

If he existed, then

22 minutes ago, jonesy said:

What planet does Sturgeon live on?

Delay seeing loved ones until the Spring... aye, nae bother hen. Just because she's incapable of any emotion bar the cold counting of votes from the braindead SNP abyss lurkers doesn't mean the rest of us are immune from needing to see those we care about.

And if they piss about with Midlothian by not moving it, that's just incompetence. Leak, announce, drip, deny. What a shower of *******s this government are.

I'm not going to get into a big debate about this but for what it's worth I won't be seeing my mum on Xmas day for the same reason as I won't be seeing her today. Not because the SG say that it won't be against the law but because I've decided that there is too much risk to her health involved. To suggest that I care more about the SNP than seeing my mum is right up there with some of the most ignorant posts on here. You moan almost daily about this being political yet almost every post you make is political.

A maximum of 4,000 fans to be allowed at outdoor sports events - BBC Sport

A maximum of 4,000 fans are to be allowed at outdoor events in the lowest-risk areas when the national lockdown in England ends on 2 December, BBC Sport understands.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson is expected to make an announcement this afternoon on the return of crowds.

There will be no crowds allowed at sport in the highest-risk areas under the new Covid-19 restrictions for England from 2 December.

22 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Nonsense, it shows we're not there yet but doesn't show we're not on the path to it.

12 minutes ago, graygo said:

I'm not going to get into a big debate about this but for what it's worth I won't be seeing my mum on Xmas day for the same reason as I won't be seeing her today. Not because the SG say that it won't be against the law but because I've decided that there is too much risk to her health involved. To suggest that I care more about the SNP than seeing my mum is right up there with some of the most ignorant posts on here. You moan almost daily about this being political yet almost every post you make is political.

I hope you are getting her a present 

12 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

A maximum of 4,000 fans to be allowed at outdoor sports events - BBC Sport

A maximum of 4,000 fans are to be allowed at outdoor events in the lowest-risk areas when the national lockdown in England ends on 2 December, BBC Sport understands.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson is expected to make an announcement this afternoon on the return of crowds.

There will be no crowds allowed at sport in the highest-risk areas under the new Covid-19 restrictions for England from 2 December.

usual crowd for fester road

Here are the latest per-council 7-day case stats. I've added a couple of columns that show the change in the figures from the first full day of Tier 4 lockdown on 21 Nov - it may turn up interesting data on how effective those Tier 4 designations have been compared to those areas not in Tier 4, especially those in Tier 3. We'll see.

The East Lothian and Midlothian moves to Tier 2 are slated for tomorrow, although Midlothian's move is now looking precarious.

Council Area Tier 7-day per-100,000 cases
    Today Yesterday     Start of Tier 4’s  
Renfrewshire 4 274 250 +24   260 +14
North Lanarkshire 4 234 228 +6   235 -1
South Lanarkshire 4 231 228 +3   233 -2
Glasgow City 4 230 218 +12   235 -5
East Renfrewshire 4 209 191 +18   195 +14
West Lothian 4 182 183 -1   193 -11
Stirling 4 165 178 -13   210 -45
East Ayrshire 4 154 141 +13   152 +2
East Dunbartonshire 4 154 143 +11   161 -7
West Dunbartonshire 4 152 141 +11   142 +10
Clackmannanshire 3 134 150 -16   165 -31
North Ayrshire 3 134 123 +11   124 +10
South Ayrshire 4 130 126 +4   153 -23
Perth and Kinross 3 116 115 +1   116 0
Fife 3 114 109 +5   116 -2
Dundee City 3 107 108 -1   102 +5
Midlothian 2 102 97 +5   101 +1
Angus 3 95 82 +13   88 +7
Inverclyde 3 93 89 +4   99 -6
Edinburgh City 3 87 89 -2   84 +3
Falkirk 3 77 81 -4   85 -8
Aberdeenshire 2 68 64 +4   64 +4
East Lothian 2 63 57 +6   48 +15
Scottish Borders 2 60 65 -5   74 -14
Aberdeen City 2 57 52 +5   51 +6
Argyll and Bute 2 33 31 +2   31 +2
Dumfries and Galloway 2 31 33 -2   34 -3
Highland 1 19 17 +2   19 0
Moray 1 19 20 -1   25 -6
Shetland Islands 1 9 13 -4   13 -4
Orkney Islands 1 4 4 0   4 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 0 0 0   0 0
Edited by redjambo

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Here are the latest per-council 7-day case stats. I've added a couple of columns that show the change in the figured from the first full day of Tier 4 lockdown on 21 Nov - it may turn up interesting data on how effective those Tier 4 designations have been compared to those areas not in Tier 4, especially those in Tier 3. We'll see.

The East Lothian and Midlothian moves to Tier 2 are slated for tomorrow, although Midlothian's move is now looking precarious.

Council Area Tier 7-day per-100,000 cases
    Today Yesterday     Start of Tier 4’s  
Renfrewshire 4 274 250 +24   260 +14
North Lanarkshire 4 234 228 +6   235 -1
South Lanarkshire 4 231 228 +3   233 -2
Glasgow City 4 230 218 +12   235 -5
East Renfrewshire 4 209 191 +18   195 +14
West Lothian 4 182 183 -1   193 -11
Stirling 4 165 178 -13   210 -45
East Ayrshire 4 154 141 +13   152 +2
East Dunbartonshire 4 154 143 +11   161 -7
West Dunbartonshire 4 152 141 +11   142 +10
Clackmannanshire 3 134 150 -16   165 -31
North Ayrshire 3 134 123 +11   124 +10
South Ayrshire 4 130 126 +4   153 -23
Perth and Kinross 3 116 115 +1   116 0
Fife 3 114 109 +5   116 -2
Dundee City 3 107 108 -1   102 +5
Midlothian 2 102 97 +5   101 +1
Angus 3 95 82 +13   88 +7
Inverclyde 3 93 89 +4   99 -6
Edinburgh City 3 87 89 -2   84 +3
Falkirk 3 77 81 -4   85 -8
Aberdeenshire 2 68 64 +4   64 +4
East Lothian 2 63 57 +6   48 +15
Scottish Borders 2 60 65 -5   74 -14
Aberdeen City 2 57 52 +5   51 +6
Argyll and Bute 2 33 31 +2   31 +2
Dumfries and Galloway 2 31 33 -2   34 -3
Highland 1 19 17 +2   19 0
Moray 1 19 20 -1   25 -6
Shetland Islands 1 9 13 -4   13 -4
Orkney Islands 1 4 4 0   4 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 0 0 0   0 0

No way Midlothian should be tier 2 and Edinburgh Tier 3 , seperated by the width of the A720 

Edited by steve123

26 minutes ago, redjambo said:

If he existed, then

I believe he existed, maybe not with some of the powers he allegedly had. As a Socialist I’m sure he would look on in disdain at the Capitalist frenzy it become 😜

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

I believe he existed, maybe not with some of the powers he allegedly had. As a Socialist I’m sure he would look on in disdain at the Capitalist frenzy it become 😜

Which ones do you think he might have had?

Oxford vaccine will reach 90% or more being tweaked as we speak, initial trial results, go for nothing just look at pfzier 👍

Big thing to look at is those that were infected with having the vaccine had mild symptoms and didn't die 👍

Edited by Bongo 1874

AstraZeneca
‘’We promise to ensure broad and equitable access to the vaccine at no profit for duration of the pandemic’

:bravo:

Their share price has tanked 4% on the day so far after that announcement because Capitalism is a bawbag.

8 minutes ago, Cade said:

AstraZeneca
‘’We promise to ensure broad and equitable access to the vaccine at no profit for duration of the pandemic’

:bravo:

Their share price has tanked 4% on the day so far after that announcement because Capitalism is a bawbag.

No, it tanked because the efficacy was below that of it's competition.

Edited by graygo

26 minutes ago, redjambo said:

If he existed, then

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

That's cool. I agree that we should all be making our own decisions about who we see and when. Everyone's individual circumstances are unique.

It's political because governments have made it so. My comments are a response to their actions. Happy to tone it down as we approach the season of goodwill to all men. :) 

Great 👍

Women are fair game though. 😁

Bojo's statement - deja vu. Back (in England) to three tiers to be allocated by region on Thursday. No details on the basis for allocating tiers and for promotion or relegation. Continued absurdities on hospitality with no apparent logic and certainly no clear rationale or  evidence of effectiveness. Pubs (where they are allowed to open) can now remain open until 11 but last orders at 10. Unless there is a restriction of how much you can order before 10 what effect will that have except to result in more rushed orders to get through the extra hour? And the "substantial meal" requirement remains in force. What is the rationale and how on earth is it going to be defined, enforced, and understood. 

Edited by Francis Albert

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Just another layer of shite to be piled upon the previous layers laid down since March. A compost of incompetence.

We should be used to it by now. Government on every level, both UK and Scotland, have failed us at every turn. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic