Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

What planet does Sturgeon live on?

Delay seeing loved ones until the Spring... aye, nae bother hen. Just because she's incapable of any emotion bar the cold counting of votes from the braindead SNP abyss lurkers doesn't mean the rest of us are immune from needing to see those we care about.

And if they piss about with Midlothian by not moving it, that's just incompetence. Leak, announce, drip, deny. What a shower of *******s this government are.

Is it true you are a teacher ? 😂

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

22 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

I see families with a baby under one can form a support bubble with another household. Think that’s England only. 

My household has pretty much done this already out of absolute necessity. 

3 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Is it true you are a teacher ? 😂

If he’s a teacher he’ll be a geography teacher. Always the bolshy ones 😀. Only joking Jonesy

2 hours ago, jonesy said:

What planet does Sturgeon live on?

Delay seeing loved ones until the Spring... aye, nae bother hen. Just because she's incapable of any emotion bar the cold counting of votes from the braindead SNP abyss lurkers doesn't mean the rest of us are immune from needing to see those we care about.

And if they piss about with Midlothian by not moving it, that's just incompetence. Leak, announce, drip, deny. What a shower of *******s this government are.

Remember, she cares only for her, her husband and her party. Their friends are also SNP workers and part of political elite. She will always be able to see them, under excuse of business. The Murrell project has no idea what it feels like to be a parent and could not give a **** if families split over Christmas. 

11 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Remember, she cares only for her, her husband and her party. Their friends are also SNP workers and part of political elite. She will always be able to see them, under excuse of business. The Murrell project has no idea what it feels like to be a parent and could not give a **** if families split over Christmas. 

Just now, Brian Dundas said:

Except they are letting families meet at Christmas????

Families would be doing it anyway, even if she didn't 'let' us

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Except they are letting families meet at Christmas????

Could that be because she knows they will meet anyway. The motivation to give everyone a wee break from restrictions because it’s Christmas seems a bit suspicious to me. 

5 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Families would be doing it anyway, even if she didn't 'let' us

I think she is beginning to realise that people no longer listen to a word she and Jason say as their credibility is shot.

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

I don’t think here is representative of many parts of the wider public. Many families will be delighted with the easing of restrictions for Christmas 

Everyone I spoke to was going ahead with a family Christmas regardless of whether Nicola allowed us.

Tenaciousdandy

So will a all day breakfast at 10am be classed as a substantial meal and can you then sit there and get drunk all day afterwards? 

Brighton Jambo
30 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

There’s something in this but I personally don’t think she doesn’t care it’s more she simply can’t relate to the majority of people in this country and the decisions reflect that.  

For example she doesn’t have kids (I know that was an unfortunate situation so don’t want to be too harsh here) and so can never fully appreciate how these decisions impact on parents and more importantly the kids.   

She is also notoriously anti-alcohol and clearly doesn’t appreciate what a huge part a good drink with friends plays in the lives of most people.  It’s seems she sees this as a luxury to be discouraged rather than a crucial part of ensuring a work life balance.

Basically she is just so out of touch with the majority of Scottish people and it’s only the constitutional issue that stops her getting the full force of the frustration of the masses over these decisions.  

Edited by Brighton Jambo

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

Everyone I spoke to was going ahead with a family Christmas regardless of whether Nicola allowed us.

A friend of mine takes the Covid restrictions extremely seriously and has elderly parents.  He is self isolating in the two weeks leading to Christmas then visiting his parents on Christmas Day. Everyone else I know is just having the same Christmas they always have. 

5 minutes ago, frankblack said:

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

I believe he existed, maybe not with some of the powers he allegedly had. As a Socialist I’m sure he would look on in disdain at the Capitalist frenzy it become 😜

Yes if he did exist he was the first real social worker. !  Pity his teachings or those who wrote about him have now distorted them. Religion has no place in a modern society . Its a pile of pish.  Im glad our country is becoming more and more secular. 

17 minutes ago, jonesy said:

No, we have failed them. That's the narrative, remember? Stay on message, please.

Your firing on all cylinders today Jonesy....keep it up.. 👍

16 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Same here. I dont know anyone who are changing their plans at all. 

I was just thinking even if Mid lothian had been down graded to Tier 2 some of their pubs would not be able to open anyway if they dont serve food.  " Dickens" in Edinburgh and many other pubs would not be able to open either due to this either, as they dont sell food. 

Well Midlothian officially staying in level 3 according to council Facebook page, a bit if a pain as a long arranged break in Argyll next week looks to be off

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

I was just thinking even if Mid lothian had been down graded to Tier 2 some of their pubs would not be able to open anyway if they dont serve food.  " Dickens" in Edinburgh and many other pubs would not be able to open either due to this either, as they dont sell food. 

They can open if they have an outside area that can be used.

Tenaciousdandy

Copied from midlothian Council Facebook page

Midlothian Council Leader Councillor Derek Milligan has confirmed the Scottish Government has just informed us we are to remain in level 3. He says; “This is disappointing for business and communities given the hard work and preparation that has gone into the plans for opening up tomorrow. Many businesses have taken staff back from furlough and placed orders for goods worth tens of thousands of pounds, some of which is perishable. This decision will make an already volatile situation worse. “We are also disappointed at the short notice given the importance of this decision. On Monday last week we received an email to say we would remain in level 3, by the Tuesday we received word that we would be moving to level 2 and now today we hear that we are back in level 3 based on the data, which was only shared with us this morning.

Edited by Dandyman79

17 minutes ago, Dandyman79 said:

So will a all day breakfast at 10am be classed as a substantial meal and can you then sit there and get drunk all day afterwards? 

Yep, and this just confirms the absurdity of the rules for hospitality. The pub/bar you want to have a few beers in must be able to serve a main meal; you don't have to eat it, but it must be able to serve it. You can then proceed to sit there all day and get absolutely bladdered.

2 minutes ago, Dandyman79 said:

Midlothian Council Leader Councillor Derek Milligan has confirmed the Scottish Government has just informed us we are to remain in level 3. He says; “This is disappointing for business and communities given the hard work and preparation that has gone into the plans for opening up tomorrow. Many businesses have taken staff back from furlough and placed orders for goods worth tens of thousands of pounds, some of which is perishable. This decision will make an already volatile situation worse. “We are also disappointed at the short notice given the importance of this decision. On Monday last week we received an email to say we would remain in level 3, by the Tuesday we received word that we would be moving to level 2 and now today we hear that we are back in level 3 based on the data, which was only shared with us this morning.

shocking 

11 minutes ago, JWL said:

Yep, and this just confirms the absurdity of the rules for hospitality. The pub/bar you want to have a few beers in must be able to serve a main meal; you don't have to eat it, but it must be able to serve it. You can then proceed to sit there all day and get absolutely bladdered.

Don’t know if you know yourself but what is the reason the government are giving for only opening up places that sell food even if you don’t have to eat anything? 

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

Here are the latest per-council 7-day case stats. I've added a couple of columns that show the change in the figures from the first full day of Tier 4 lockdown on 21 Nov - it may turn up interesting data on how effective those Tier 4 designations have been compared to those areas not in Tier 4, especially those in Tier 3. We'll see.

The East Lothian and Midlothian moves to Tier 2 are slated for tomorrow, although Midlothian's move is now looking precarious.

Council Area Tier 7-day per-100,000 cases
    Today Yesterday     Start of Tier 4’s  
Renfrewshire 4 274 250 +24   260 +14
North Lanarkshire 4 234 228 +6   235 -1
South Lanarkshire 4 231 228 +3   233 -2
Glasgow City 4 230 218 +12   235 -5
East Renfrewshire 4 209 191 +18   195 +14
West Lothian 4 182 183 -1   193 -11
Stirling 4 165 178 -13   210 -45
East Ayrshire 4 154 141 +13   152 +2
East Dunbartonshire 4 154 143 +11   161 -7
West Dunbartonshire 4 152 141 +11   142 +10
Clackmannanshire 3 134 150 -16   165 -31
North Ayrshire 3 134 123 +11   124 +10
South Ayrshire 4 130 126 +4   153 -23
Perth and Kinross 3 116 115 +1   116 0
Fife 3 114 109 +5   116 -2
Dundee City 3 107 108 -1   102 +5
Midlothian 2 102 97 +5   101 +1
Angus 3 95 82 +13   88 +7
Inverclyde 3 93 89 +4   99 -6
Edinburgh City 3 87 89 -2   84 +3
Falkirk 3 77 81 -4   85 -8
Aberdeenshire 2 68 64 +4   64 +4
East Lothian 2 63 57 +6   48 +15
Scottish Borders 2 60 65 -5   74 -14
Aberdeen City 2 57 52 +5   51 +6
Argyll and Bute 2 33 31 +2   31 +2
Dumfries and Galloway 2 31 33 -2   34 -3
Highland 1 19 17 +2   19 0
Moray 1 19 20 -1   25 -6
Shetland Islands 1 9 13 -4   13 -4
Orkney Islands 1 4 4 0   4 0
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 0 0 0   0 0

Brilliant thank you. Really useful when you’re looking across ‘connected’ areas ie Edinburgh, and the three Lothians

Tenaciousdandy
Just now, theshed said:

Don’t know if you know yourself but what is the reason the government are giving for only opening up places that sell food even if you don’t have to eat anything? 

You have to order a substantial menu, I'd say a all day breakfast is classed as that, tbh I think it benefits  the big chains like wetherspoons and Toby carvary doing this 

17 minutes ago, Dandyman79 said:

That is ridiculous.

I don't think they should be giving a week's notice for these things in the first place.

The moving of both East Lothian and Midlothian to Tier 2 was unfortunately never laid in stone. It was announced that the tiers would be changed on 24 November with the proviso that there were "no significant deterioration before then". I don't know how else the Government could have phrased it to show that it wasn't a given. Perhaps starting off the announcement with "Look, we're not promising anything, but..." might have helped.

I don't think the Government will be so quick to move council areas down a level from now on - they'll be more cautious and wait for a few weeks of confirmatory data before doing so.

2 minutes ago, graygo said:

That is ridiculous.

I don't think they should be giving a week's notice for these things in the first place.

I’ve got to agree. I see obvious advantages in giving notice that tiers are changing but it is such a quick moving situation that when they change their minds on moving tiers it leaves people up shit creek. 

6 minutes ago, theshed said:

apparently you will get less pissed with something in your stomach apart from alcohol. Less pissed means more awareness of social distancing etc. 

4 minutes ago, graygo said:

That is ridiculous.

I fully agree. Why cant they say they can open the next day after an announcement and also not hint about what areas may be changing tiers.  thus avoiding the shit show in Mid lothian. . 

5 minutes ago, redjambo said:

no significant deterioration before then".

Thais the problem in a nutshell. Wooley , unclear language.  What is their definition of " significant"?  

3 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I’ve got to agree. I see obvious advantages in giving notice that tiers are changing but it is such a quick moving situation that when they change their minds on moving tiers it leaves people up shit creek. 

This is indeed a problem. Either we will have to get used to moving tiers quickly, with measures put in place to support affected businesses and employees, or moving tiers will have to happen very infrequently.

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

This is indeed a problem. Either we will have to get used to moving tiers quickly, with measures put in place to support affected businesses and employees, or moving tiers will have to happen very infrequently.

It’s very difficult. I’m not a supporter of the tier system but now that we have it I have some sympathy for the Scottish government in trying to implement it

41 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes if he did exist he was the first real social worker. !  Pity his teachings or those who wrote about him have now distorted them. Religion has no place in a modern society . Its a pile of pish.  Im glad our country is becoming more and more secular. 

Absolutely 👍🏽

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

Thais the problem in a nutshell. Wooley , unclear language.  What is their definition of " significant"?  

That's a good question, but I assume that a more specific reasoning will be released tomorrow with the details that get published every time that the designations are reviewed. I'm not sure which indicator(s) have them worried about Midlothian - despite the council's position on the 7-day case stats graph that I posted earlier, I suspect there may have been some other factor in play.

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Thanks James. Not trying to ruffle feathers, but it seems that there's a substantial chunk of people who don't like it when people are able to think for themselves. Sometimes I wish I could just 'go with' whatever governments propose and just follow rules without taking issue with them. It would make life easier, but it wouldn't be authentic. But then we get into Heidegger, and that's a dangerous path down which to tread in these times.

Yeah you’re the only one thats ever thought critically and doesn’t follow rules, get over yourself. If folk don’t follow the restrictions, however much we hate them and criticise those in charge  virus will continue to kill folk. 

What would you do in their place?

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

They designed it.

They did and it’s pish but I’d be griping no matter what they did. Realistically the options are leave everything open with masks, social distancing etc. Close everything down nationwide. Close certain sectors nationwide. Tier system.  

Without arguing, because I’ve already argued it, I’d favour the first option or a full lockdown not any of this farting about inbetween but we’ve plumped for a tier system so we’ll just have to deal with it I suppose. 

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Thanks James. Not trying to ruffle feathers, but it seems that there's a substantial chunk of people who don't like it when people are able to think for themselves. Sometimes I wish I could just 'go with' whatever governments propose and just follow rules without taking issue with them. It would make life easier, but it wouldn't be authentic. But then we get into Heidegger, and that's a dangerous path down which to tread in these times.

Its a forum so your allowed your views , and people are allowed to disagree. Just thought u were getting it tight today. 

'The PM said he expected "more regions will fall - at least temporarily - into higher levels than before" and that he was "very sorry" for the "hardship" that such restrictions would cause business owners' - from the BBC

Lockdown worked well then...

Police asked my mate (among other travellers) where he was going/had come from when he came home from work to Musselburgh station. He took a picture of the police car from the bridge. 

Getting a bit strange all this. 

217917B8-FAA2-4D3F-8653-BAE6EF7FFA2B.jpeg

6 minutes ago, redjambo said:

That's a good question, but I assume that a more specific reasoning will be released tomorrow with the details that get published every time that the designations are reviewed. I'm not sure which indicator(s) have them worried about Midlothian - despite the council's position on the 7-day case stats graph that I posted earlier, I suspect there may have been some other factor in play.

Thanks Red.  Not getting at you but you said you " suspect" other factors may be in play, but wheres the transparency and clarity around all these " factors"?  The SG need to clearly explain why Mid lothian was not moved to tier 2.  I suspect they wont.  And I have absolutely zero confidence in any " Journalists" probing  them for any answers. 

Here's a graph of the Midlothian cases over the last 60 days. The decision to put the council into Tier 2 was partly due to that dip after early November. It doesn't look like that dip lasted nearly long enough however for the authorities to decide to place the council into Tier 2, and so it looks like they jumped the gun. That was a mistake, imo.

1033623251_Screenshotat2020-11-2317-59-56.png.8fa87ff36bb581828233a6c65cc4df08.png

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Here's a graph of the Midlothian cases over the last 60 days. The decision to put the council into Tier 2 was partly due to that dip after early November. It doesn't look like that dip lasted nearly long enough however for the authorities to decide to place the council into Tier 2, and so it looks like they jumped the gun. That was a mistake, imo.

1033623251_Screenshotat2020-11-2317-59-56.png.8fa87ff36bb581828233a6c65cc4df08.png

Therefore they need to be clear that a certain length of any " dip" has to be for a certain period of time ? 

6 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Thanks Red.  Not getting at you but you said you " suspect" other factors may be in play, but wheres the transparency and clarity around all these " factors"?  The SG need to clearly explain why Mid lothian was not moved to tier 2.  I suspect they wont.  And I have absolutely zero confidence in any " Journalists" probing  them for any answers. 

The reasoning should be published tomorrow, James. They don't normally do that ahead of time, especially as things can change so rapidly. If they have already told Midlothian council of the imminent decision, then I would definitely hope that they provided the council with a full rationale, explaining which indicator(s) prevented the move to Tier 2.

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

The reasoning should be published tomorrow, James. They don't normally do that ahead of time, especially as things can change so rapidly. If they have already told Midlothian council of the imminent decision, then I would definitely hope that they provided the council with a full rationale, explaining which indicator(s) prevented the move to Tier 2.

I would hope they do. 

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Therefore they need to be clear that a certain length of any " dip" has to be for a certain period of time ? 

It certainly needs to be the case in their decision-making process, but given the need for transparency it should also be included in their publicly-available documentation, yes. Here's a list of indicators, here's how long you need to meet them to be considered for a movement in tier level.

20 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Lockdown worked well then...

It seems to have got the numbers down quite a lot.

Still 3 weeks to Christmas when England open up on the 2nd. I think he wants to take it slow till then

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic