Levein’s time is up...

Heartsofgold

5 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I really can’t think any Hearts fan can be happy with performances at the moment. 

Agreed 

• Replies 20k

• Spoleto

• Alex Kintner

• JamboAl

17 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Yeah you seem to struggle with a lot of posts don’t you. I was being sarcastic there.

Celebrating those things that I mentioned is something we slagged Hibs got doing bit now we do it. Business success is great but all pales into insignificance if the product on the pitch is awful, as it was at Hibs when the had a good set of accounts. 

I didn’t t mention trophy hunter, I think you mean glory? my wiser than the average Hearts fan verbal jousting friend. 

Hearts do have glory hunters, not folk like me who have suffered four relegations and seen five trophies won since the early 70s. It’s folk like us that have seen far to much mediocrity and don’t want to put up with it anymore.

I certainly want to win trophies, the man in charge of our football department is a serial loser and should be removed from the club immediately.

I hope that was clear enough for you, if not get someone to explain it to you because that’s the last time I’m attempting  it 👍🏽👋🏿

Well said pasquale.

16 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Yeah you seem to struggle with a lot of posts don’t you. I was being sarcastic there.

Celebrating those things that I mentioned is something we slagged Hibs got doing bit now we do it. Business success is great but all pales into insignificance if the product on the pitch is awful, as it was at Hibs when the had a good set of accounts. 

I didn’t t mention trophy hunter, I think you mean glory? my wiser than the average Hearts fan verbal jousting friend. 

Hearts do have glory hunters, not folk like me who have suffered four relegations and seen five trophies won since the early 70s. It’s folk like us that have seen far to much mediocrity and don’t want to put up with it anymore.

I certainly want to win trophies, the man in charge of our football department is a serial loser and should be removed from the club immediately.

I hope that was clear enough for you, if not get someone to explain it to you because that’s the last time I’m attempting  it 👍🏽👋🏿

So we're to accept your assertion  that Craig Levein is a serial loser. Despite his better than average managerial stats?

In your eyes perhaps, not mine.

13 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I think you would really struggle to find anyone calling Alex a loser, he won about everything possible with Rangers and was so close with us and Airdrie. 

I know you’re not old enough to remember but he was the 80s version of Naismith for us, along with Sandy, and I see a lot of him in Naismith who will hopefully go on to become our manager and win trophies with us. You can’t compare him and Levein, i don’t think anyone would.  

He built a team that won nothing. 

Bridesmaids we were called. 

Under your and others criteria he was a loser. 

Wining stuff with Rangers is irrelevant, if not you're also have a go at CL for being a Hearts player for so long. 

Basically saying guys like him, Robbo, mackay, jc Smith amongst others should have ****ed off from us to win more. 

It's actually honking patter from a Hearts fan. 

Absolute Honking patter from anyone that experienced, like I did the defeats and not winning a thing for decades. 

Hearts, BTW have won 3 trophies in about 55 years. 

Lets go about calling folk a loser. 

Great stuff. 

It's ridiculous. 

5 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

He built a team that won nothing. 

Bridesmaids we were called. 

Under your and others criteria he was a loser. 

Wining stuff with Rangers is irrelevant, if not you're also have a go at CL for being a Hearts player for so long. 

Basically saying guys like him, Robbo, mackay, jc Smith amongst others should have ****ed off from us to win more. 

It's actually honking patter from a Hearts fan. 

Absolute Honking patter from anyone that experienced, like I did the defeats and not winning a thing for decades. 

Hearts, BTW have won 3 trophies in about 55 years. 

Lets go about calling folk a loser. 

Great stuff. 

It's ridiculous. 

56 years by my reckoning. Even I can’t remember the LC win in 63. 🙄

1 hour ago, Forever Hearts said:

What a day that was. Thousands lined the streets of Edinburgh as the victorious Hearts team paraded through the city in a open top bus showing off the top six trophy to the jubilant Jambos. Great memories. 

The new standard, if you listen to some.

3 minutes ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

The new standard, if you listen to some.

If we only judged success by trophies, then most managers, players and teams have been losers throughout our entire history. 

4 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

If we only judged success by trophies, then most managers, players and teams have been losers throughout our entire history. 

32 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

MacDonald was a loser with us. 

Ken like. 

Won nothing, just a loser. 

Some posters in order to have a go at CL have lost all perspective. 

As Dave McLaren said earlier, life is not "black and white".  Therefore, comparing Wee Doddie and Levein is fruitless. Although neither have won trophies as managers, Doddie was dripping with medals as a player and has come far closer as a manager than Levein. The biggest factor against Levein is his managerial record which, at any other club, would result in dismissal.  It's probably understandable trying to hoodwink a naive owner and similarly minded fans but that is only a last desperate attempt to keep himself in a job.

1 minute ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

As Dave McLaren said earlier, life is not "black and white".  Therefore, comparing Wee Doddie and Levein is fruitless. Although neither have won trophies as managers, Doddie was dripping with medals as a player and has come far closer as a manager than Levein. The biggest factor against Levein is his managerial record which, at any other club, would result in dismissal.  It's probably understandable trying to hoodwink a naive owner and similarly minded fans but that is only a last desperate attempt to keep himself in a job.

I agree, his record is now sacking material. 

1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

I agree, his record is now sacking material. 

Fsir point Smithie and AB has decided not to act on that. Tine will tell whether or not that is the right decision or not.

51 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

That is true and to your point 

I actually think the previous point being made was more around the acceptance of what is current and the fact it won’t lead to any trophy success whatsoever 

it’s more around now and when the team take the park the overall performance levels, tactics and team selections bear serious scrutiny therefore what is now deemed acceptable by AB and the board is confusing the supporters as abject performances and allowing CL to continue in his role still seems to be acceptable in their eyes 

I really don’t know what the hell CL is telling AB and the board in the background and why she still retains belief that he is the man to take us forward. Can only put that down to the fact that her key advisor on all things football is telling her that things will get better and not to worry with the football side, as that isn’t her domain or specialist area 

and I don’t buy the financial aspect either with those who say it will cost us to get rid of the current management team and coaches

I dont see any reason or vindication whatsoever and based on their time at the club as to why they were given long term contracts in the first place.

They really should have been on yearly contracts and no more given their overall performances in their time at the club so point being if we can’t afford to get rid of the current set up then who’s fault is that 

2 hours ago, innerjambo said:

Half empty stands, tumbleweed, a few angry supporters booing the team and the management. This is how it will be, get used to it, if that's your thing. 

As I doubt you ever attend matches at Tynecastle your view from the TV might have been compromised

Tumbleweed !!!!...stick to your childhood 'Cowboys and Indians' fantasies for you are clearly living in a dream world

This period in history is nothing compared to what some have seen before but what is new is the lack of fight and support by a portion of the fans....you are clearly one of them

1 minute ago, Hearts1975 said:

That is true and to your point 

I actually think the previous point being made was more around the acceptance of what is current and the fact it won’t lead to any trophy success whatsoever 

it’s more around now and when the team take the park the overall performance levels, tactics and team selections bear serious scrutiny therefore what is now deemed acceptable by AB and the board is confusing the supporters as abject performances and allowing CL to continue in his role still seems to be acceptable in their eyes 

I really don’t know what the hell CL is telling AB and the board in the background and why she still retains belief that he is the man to take us forward. Can only put that down to the fact that her key advisor on all things football is telling her that things will get better and not to worry with the football side, as that isn’t her domain or specialist area 

and I don’t buy the financial aspect either with those who say it will cost us to get rid of the current management team and coaches

I dont see any reason or vindication whatsoever and based on their time at the club as to why they were given long term contracts in the first place.

They really should have been on yearly contracts and no more given their overall performances in their time at the club so point being if we can’t afford to get rid of the current set up then who’s fault is that 

Maybe fair in general, but we have been closest to the cups for the first time in 5/6 years. 

Celtic winning nine trophies and rangers re-emerging will make it difficult for anyone to win trophies. 

His record is poor and is stackable. 

I can only think AB and the board have mitagated the poor league form using the injuries and the cup runs. 

I can't see anything else, maybe the players are still on side as well. 

On form alone and the start to the league season it is sacking form. 

Boycotting and abandoning the team on match day isn't for me tho. 

1 hour ago, Smith's right boot said:

If we think top 6 quantifies as success for HMFC managers........we are most definitely losers and will deservedley continue to be labelled so.

23 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Maybe fair in general, but we have been closest to the cups for the first time in 5/6 years. 

Celtic winning nine trophies and rangers re-emerging will make it difficult for anyone to win trophies. 

His record is poor and is stackable. 

I can only think AB and the board have mitagated the poor league form using the injuries and the cup runs. 

I can't see anything else, maybe the players are still on side as well. 

On form alone and the start to the league season it is sacking form. 

Boycotting and abandoning the team on match day isn't for me tho. 

Fair enough and I take your point re protests etc. that’s for every individual to choose and neither should be vilified if they choose to/not to 

only thing I would add is that the league performances should be the leading indicators and not the afore mentioned cup runs - argument being that on paper we were probably favourites for every game we played in the lead up to both respective finals 

29 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

As I doubt you ever attend matches at Tynecastle your view from the TV might have been compromised

Tumbleweed !!!!...stick to your childhood 'Cowboys and Indians' fantasies for you are clearly living in a dream world

This period in history is nothing compared to what some have seen before but what is new is the lack of fight and support by a portion of the fans....you are clearly one of them

Of course it's not good, or acceptable, at the moment but you are spot on given what we have had to endure in the past, and the real prospect of better in the future.

Hibs fans must be looking on and laughing at us - well they would if they weren't even worse.

48 minutes ago, Hearts1975 said:

Fair enough and I take your point re protests etc. that’s for every individual to choose and neither should be vilified if they choose to/not to 

only thing I would add is that the league performances should be the leading indicators and not the afore mentioned cup runs - argument being that on paper we were probably favourites for every game we played in the lead up to both respective finals 

League is a better indicator in general

However, injuries......... Would impact that more imo

All fair tho, it's also about going forward and not only concentrating on lag measures. 

It would appear CL isn't the person to take us forward. 

52 minutes ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

If we think top 6 quantifies as success for HMFC managers........we are most definitely losers and will deservedley continue to be labelled so.

We're we not 6th In 2012?

Naming posters who haven't posted on this thread might get you a spell in the Kickback pokey, boys.

4 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Naming posters who haven't posted on this thread might get you a spell in the Kickback pokey, boys.

Cheers for reminder.

Assumed he had posted. 

1 hour ago, CJGJ said:

Never before in our history have we been so poor on the park and so wealthy and sorted off it.. our current form is an unprecedented level of failure, and an unprecedented tolerance of failure..

2 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

Anybody still fancy Tommy Wright as the next manager?

no vlad. But he’s done better than levein on a fraction of the budget

Edited by kingantti1874

6 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

Not for me.

Neil McCann gets my vote.

Leveins Battalion
7 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

Have a night off man,chill oot watch x factor or summin.🙈

9 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

Knows how to win a trophy before dragging his side into a relegation battle, I’ll give him that.

Bring Back Paulo Sergio
17 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

You been on here all day arguing with people? :rofl:

Even Mrs Levein would have given up by now.

1 hour ago, Spoleto said:

Of course it's not good, or acceptable, at the moment but you are spot on given what we have had to endure in the past, and the real prospect of better in the future.

Hibs fans must be looking on and laughing at us - well they would if they weren't even worse.

Given we haven't finished above Hibs in the SPL for about 6 or 7 years, I don't think we're in a position to mock them. They certainly won't be giving Heckingbottim 2 or 3 years to finish 6th because they would be worried about "who would we get". Get Leanne Dempster in as CEO and do AB's job for her.

5 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Given we haven't finished above Hibs in the SPL for about 6 or 7 years, I don't think we're in a position to mock them. They certainly won't be giving Heckingbottim 2 or 3 years to finish 6th because they would be worried about "who would we get". Get Leanne Dempster in as CEO and do AB's job for her.

And they call me a hobo 🙂

Still, you know where I'm coming from though eh?

Frying pan ... fire.

3 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Eh? In 3 out of the last 6 or 7 years Hibs weren’t in the same league (thanks to us). In one of those seasons we actually won more points than them but only finished below them because we started on -15. And within that time period there was also a cup final you might recall (or want to forget)?

Hibs have finished just ahead of us in the last 2 seasons. Is this the point you want to make?

9 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Eh? In 3 out of the last 6 or 7 years Hibs weren’t in the same league (thanks to us). In one of those seasons we actually won more points than them but only finished below them because we started on -15. And within that time period there was also a cup final you might recall (or want to forget)?

Hibs have finished just ahead of us in the last 2 seasons. Is this the point you want to make?

As expected,  a comment about Hibs flushes out all the Levein apologists. Just to clarify things; under Levein"s watch, we had a 1 year start on Hibs in the SPL and we've not finished ahead of them since. As for Killie, we've also trailed them for 2 years too. Both Killie and Hibs were behind us when they changed their managers and guess what happened:  they kicked on and overtook us while we stagnated with the bearded dullard at the helm. THAT is the point I'm trying to make.

Cc; spoleto/vlad magic/levein ...whoever he is

Edited by Enzo Chiefo

1 minute ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

As expected,  a comment about Hibs flushes out all the Levein apologists. Just to clarify things; under Levein"s watch, we had a 1 year start on Hibs in the SPL and we've not finished ahead of them since. As for Killie, we've also trailed them for 2 years too. Both Killie and Hibs were behind us when they changed their managers and guess what happened:  they kicked on and overtook us while we stagnated with the bearded dullard at the helm. THAT is the point I'm trying to make.

Oh, I don't know, it looks like we've flushed out more than you're letting on.

Oh dear!

1 minute ago, Spoleto said:

Oh dear!

Facts Spoleto old son. Anything I said thst is factually incorrect?? 

13 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

Oh dear!

You’ve still not told us about your really interesting user name.

19 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Facts Spoleto old son. Anything I said thst is factually incorrect?? 

What do you think Enzo? Should we go for Tommy Wright as manager?

5 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

What do you think Enzo? Should we go for Tommy Wright as manager?

Wouldn't do any worse than the guy we've got just now. A manager who has won silverware, yes a good shout Spoleto but he may struggle to get on the shortlist, given that we will attract a lot of applicants.  We will find out in 2 or 3 weeks,  certainly before the Semi Final.

5 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Wouldn't do any worse than the guy we've got just now. A manager who has won silverware, yes a good shout Spoleto but he may struggle to get on the shortlist, given that we will attract a lot of applicants.  We will find out in 2 or 3 weeks,  certainly before the Semi Final.

I don't think so Enzo. 

You might hope so but you know better don't you?

Levein has a great record against Hibs doesn't he? I think he'll be around to mastermind a few more victories against Hibs yet.

Edited by Spoleto
missing info

4 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

I don't think so Enzo. 

Levein has a great record against Hibs doesn't he? I think he'll be around to mastermind a few more victories against Hibs yet.

Against Hibs? Run of the mill bottom 6 games ?  I was talking about Tommy Wright and Scottish Cup wins. How did we get back down to talking about Levein?

6 minutes ago, Spoleto said:

I don't think so Enzo. 

He won’t even be in charge for the next game against Hibs. That’s how little a chance he has of turning it round. Two tankings   off Rangers followed by the usual shit  shows against Livi and St Johnstone and he will be long gone. If he even gets the Semi Final that is 

9 minutes ago, rick witter said:

He won’t even be in charge for the next game against Hibs. That’s how little a chance he has of turning it round. Two tankings   off Rangers followed by the usual shit  shows against Livi and St Johnstone and he will be long gone. If he even gets the Semi Final that is 

Is this similar to the predictions that we wouldn’t beat Hibs two weeks ago?  😄 You might be right but it is just speculation, which is often wrong ( not just yours ). . 

2 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

League is a better indicator in general

However, injuries......... Would impact that more imo

All fair tho, it's also about going forward and not only concentrating on lag measures. 

It would appear CL isn't the person to take us forward. 

We have had shit luck with injuries but Good managers can still bring in other players and make them perform just as much as The football department and this key side of the business is failing us at the moment 

for me it’s about our potential as a club Vs where CL and his tactical beliefs/considerations will actually take us.

I just don’t think at this stage he would be prepared to change and that is a problem in itself. 

One key point, he feeds the players he has at his disposal at the time into a preferred tactical system as per who is available (and whatever this may be) rather than feed the tactical system into the players he has.

Hence the fact we end up chopping and changing formations/tactics all the time and get no continuity/confidence through the players on the park as they aren’t getting time to get used to the one formation or tactic at a time 

just my opinion 

7 minutes ago, Hearts1975 said:

We have had shit luck with injuries but Good managers can still bring in other players and make them perform just as much as The football department and this key side of the business is failing us at the moment 

for me it’s about our potential as a club Vs where CL and his tactical beliefs/considerations will actually take us.

I just don’t think at this stage he would be prepared to change and that is a problem in itself. 

One key point, he feeds the players he has at his disposal at the time into a preferred tactical system as per who is available (and whatever this may be) rather than feed the tactical system into the players he has.

Hence the fact we end up chopping and changing formations/tactics all the time and get no continuity/confidence through the players on the park as they aren’t getting time to get used to the one formation or tactic at a time 

just my opinion 

It’s my opinion as well along with thousands of us . 

I think what is he doing at times it’s beyond belief 

• JKBMod 12 changed the title to Levein’s time is up...
  • davemclaren locked this topic