Oldies - Name the players

11 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Deffo looks like Brownlie to me, then he may have gone to Newcastle by then. I dont see the Des Bremner moustache.

Pre Tache

20201212_183014.jpg.05a36545596d87c2e31aa441ed02741d.jpg

• Replies 2.4k

• Maroon Sailor

• Big Drew

• The White Cockade

3 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

I think Angel Eyes and Sherbet are right.

A grown man using the term "piggery" as well. 🤦‍♂️

I used it for many years too, then it became Compost Corner. Nowadays its the Methadome (a proper grown up name). What do you call Tynecastle on mymumismysister.net?

McGlynn The Money
35 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Never cried to the mods, never will.

Aye right...

6 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

I used it for many years too, then it became Compost Corner. Nowadays its the Methadome (a proper grown up name). What do you call Tynecastle on mymumismysister.net?

At least Compost Corner and the Methadome have a bit of wit and humour about them.  As for your question, I shall treat that with the contempt which it so clearly deserves.

Merry Christmas my man.🎄

WoolfordsHearts
2 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Never heard fester road called the piggery before tbh.

Always thought that was darkheid.

I'm running to the mods😎

McGlynn The Money
7 minutes ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

I'm running to the mods😎

Just tell them your name's Jon Finlay and they'll be at your service.

N Lincs Jambo
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

I thought it was Derek scoring at the piggery in our 2-1 win there in March(I think) 1979. If not my mistake and apology for getting the match and venue wrong.

The venue is correct John but the 2-1 win there was November 78. March 1979 unfortunately was the cup QF when it was 2-1 to the vermin.

There’s a photo which was added a few months ago of the March 79 game when it all kicked off in the Hearts end and a still 15 year old NLJ is right in the middle. Of the photo that is, not the scrapping 😂

2 hours ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

I'm running to the mods😎

Dinny run wi anyone else, that'll be counted as a mass gathering in Woolfords.

16 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Is that not Alan Anderson?

Probably - the white ankle tape makes me think it's him now

5 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Rather odd behaviour...

Not to a Hearts fan, it’s not.

3 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

:spoton:  Always ‘The Piggery’ to me.

McGlynn The Money
23 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I meant the stalking behaviour. 

Only ever heard Rangers fans refer to Parkhead as "the piggery". Hearts fans (those of us with brains and a bit class anyway) are better than that.

2 minutes ago, McGlynn The Money said:

I meant the stalking behaviour. 

Only ever heard Rangers fans refer to Parkhead as "the piggery". Hearts fans (those of us with brains and a bit class anyway) are better than that.

Easter Road has been known as ‘The Piggery’ to Hearts fans for all of my life.

Don’t even tempt me with your ‘brains and a bit class’ nonsense.  Just don’t.

15 minutes ago, Morgan said:

There was a chant about Easter Road being a piggery

Edited by Maroon Sailor

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

No, the hair for a start, is wrong.

Who do you think it is then? I still think it’s big Alan. The hairstyle is of the day. Sideburns.

It’s not Wilson Wood. He hardly had any hair.

8 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Of all the things on this forum to get exercised about, that’s an odd one 

🤔

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Mr McGlynn has sneaked in from the dark side Morgan.

7 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Just watch the game and stop trolling.

its going to take some

one to ask so it might as well be me, what end were you in at the 0-7 game, did you greet like a wee lassie after a 5 -1 pumping in 2012?

-

14 hours ago, John Findlay said:

I think this is Donald scoring New year's day 1974, alas we lost 3-1.

Drew Busby the other Hearts player.

Hibs players right to left. Brownlie, Schaedler McArthur the goalie. Blackley and Black.

I can only assume that haven't scored.

Ford scored at the other end to put us 1-0 up.

Can't think of any other game.

I also thought you were right in the O'Connor one, scoring at the piggery.

Ah, the nostalgia, I still call them the Muppets.:lol:

McGlynn The Money
9 hours ago, Morgan said:

Don’t even tempt me with your ‘brains and a bit class’ nonsense.  Just don’t.

Apologies mate, you clearly have neither. I honestly wasn't meaning to mock the afflicted though. Genuinely no offence meant and Merry Christmas.

8 hours ago, topsport said:

Of all the things on this forum to get exercised about, that’s an odd one 

🤔

I suppose. Just seems a bit childish to me but looking back I probably should have just let it slide.

7 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

its going to take some

one to ask so it might as well be me, what end were you in at the 0-7 game, did you greet like a wee lassie after a 5 -1 pumping in 2012?

-

"Might as well be me", what a hard life you must have!

Luckily I wasn't born yet for the first game you mention but why would a Hearts fan even bring that match and score up?  Are you sure you're on the right forum?

West Stand, right behind the goal, you can even see me on one of the replays of one of our goals.  Not telling you which one though ya pervert because you'd be straight on the video. If you actually have a video of that game which I'm beginning to doubt.

1 hour ago, Angel eyes said:

2-D686-C0-E-85-BE-4774-9646-5-B1068167-C
1976 v Motherwell 

7 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Its Roy Kay. Motherwell player I've no idea.

Peter Marinello.

19 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Perhaps you are unaware that Hearts fans used to chant "Easter Road's a piggery" in the late 60's and early 70's?

7 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20201213_134646.thumb.jpg.64cb86ed0cddf348a7679aba18933c82.jpg

Pittodrie. Drew Jarvie jumping with JJ. Steve Archibald far right. McLeish/Rougvie Aberdeen no5

McGlynn The Money
4 hours ago, henryheart said:

Perhaps you are unaware that Hearts fans used to chant "Easter Road's a piggery" in the late 60's and early 70's?

Before my time mate. Fortunately a lot of expressions from that era have fallen by the wayside.

16 minutes ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Before my time mate. Fortunately a lot of expressions from that era have fallen by the wayside.

Though some are still valid

McGlynn The Money
49 minutes ago, Sherbet said:

Though some are still valid

Indeed. For example, I still say Hoover when no doubt folk think I should be saying vacuum cleaner. I won't give in to the PC Brigade though, they can go and get ****ed for all I care.

18 minutes ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Indeed. For example, I still say Hoover when no doubt folk think I should be saying vacuum cleaner. I won't give in to the PC Brigade though, they can go and get ****ed for all I care.

Yet you’re offended by ‘piggery’ which is at worst, childishly amusing but harmless- weird

I’m a proud member of the pc brigade’ (so guess I can ‘go and get ****ed’ 😆) as generally I understand that as referring to folks who try to no longer use language that’s discriminatory...
But there you go 😬

anyway , irrelevant and apologies for going off topic 

enjoying the old pics, even though many are before my time 👍

don’t put up too many of the piggery though, brings me out in a rash 😬

16 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Mr McGlynn has sneaked in from the dark side Morgan.

Evidently, Finnbarr.

I had a hunch too, but on this occasion, didn’t want to be the ‘accuser’.

16 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

its going to take some

-

I think we both know the answers to your questions.  👍

8 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Apologies mate, you clearly have neither. I honestly wasn't meaning to mock the afflicted though. Genuinely no offence meant and Merry Christmas.

A few things, Mac.  If you don’t mind?

In the order of your post:

I don’t want your apology.

I’m delighted to say that I’m not your ‘mate’.

I have both brains, and class.

Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.

Keep your seasonal greetings to yourself.  

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

A few things, Mac.  If you don’t mind?

In the order of your post:

I don’t want your apology.

I’m delighted to say that I’m not your ‘mate’.

I have both brains, and class.

Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.

Keep your seasonal greetings to yourself.  

Quality.

Just now, topsport said:

Yet you’re offended by ‘piggery’ which is at worst, childishly amusing but harmless- weird

I’m a proud member of the pc brigade’ (so guess I can ‘go and get ****ed’ 😆) as generally I understand that as referring to folks who try to no longer use language that’s discriminatory...
But there you go 😬

anyway , irrelevant and apologies for going off topic 

enjoying the old pics, even though many are before my time 👍

don’t put up too many of the piggery though, brings me out in a rash 😬

I'm glad you said this as I was thinking that I was missing something and that the word has taken on a whole new meaning. It might, for all I know. When I was growing up on the site of what is now the flats that sit between Gylemuir Primary and Tesco Corstorphine was a piggery. When you walked past there was a terrible smell and you really had to hold your nose at times. The word piggery was used to describe somewhere that was smelly (as in smells like a piggery); nothing more, nothing less. The term, as you say, was used in a juvenile way that meant no harm - it was only a childish retort implying that Easter Road stinks. When directing it at a Hibs supporter they might respond along the lines of "well it's bigger than Tynecastle". Did they take any real offence - of course not. 

Like you I'm loving the old photos.   

1 minute ago, henryheart said:

I'm glad you said this as I was thinking that I was missing something and that the word has taken on a whole new meaning. It might, for all I know. When I was growing up on the site of what is now the flats that sit between Gylemuir Primary and Tesco Corstorphine was a piggery. When you walked past there was a terrible smell and you really had to hold your nose at times. The word piggery was used to describe somewhere that was smelly (as in smells like a piggery); nothing more, nothing less. The term, as you say, was used in a juvenile way that meant no harm - it was only a childish retort implying that Easter Road stinks. When directing it at a Hibs supporter they might respond along the lines of "well it's bigger than Tynecastle". Did they take any real offence - of course not. 

Like you I'm loving the old photos.   

👍 my interpretation too.  Like you though, happy to be corrected if meaning has evolved.

The piggery it is 🐷😎

the pics are great  

keep them coming folks 👍