• Maroon Sailor

• Big Drew

• The White Cockade

4 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

More than likely full of Celtic fans pre segregation 

True - though that might be a little bit of segregation in the corner

Away fans should never have been allowed anywhere near the shed never mind in it

Edited by Maroon Sailor

4 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

41EFA6CA-1D20-4319-BDB4-872B53DBB185.thumb.jpeg.a3ed693e0f24fe19fb37fee46e62b081.jpeg8538BCB4-36FA-4E2B-BD99-751AE504F718.thumb.jpeg.d087c0c3d265f4e98c480213757fae7d.jpeg

Love that Hearts strip in the Wolves match

20201208_154735.jpg.dd0e9ea920685b7cc8592946bce8b857.jpg 

Needs to come back as our away kit

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

Check oot the tans....

I think they must have visited the Electric Beach at the top of Lothian Road.  

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Did you notice the photo is in reverse, mon ami ?

No, I didn’t notice that.

Well spotted!  👍

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Aye. Nae tan lines.....

A dangerous pastime!

So I’ve been told.  :biggrin:

11 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Check oot the tans....

Check oot the pitch, like a bowling green, no need to spend a million relaying that turf.

12 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Love that Hearts strip in the Wolves match

20201208_154735.jpg.dd0e9ea920685b7cc8592946bce8b857.jpg 

Needs to come back as our away kit

That following xmas I got 2 versions of that strip, one in cotton, the other in nylon, one with maroon shorts, the other in white 

no official replica kits back then

10 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Like the 3 degrees

‘Take good care of yourself’ you ‘Dirty ol’ man’...

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Looks like 103 degrees....

Jim Tansend.  :oohmatron:

Perth to Paisley
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Christ!  Tommy Burns!

I would never have picked him out there.  

I thought it was Burns, Glavin and George Connolly (spelling?)

1 minute ago, Perth to Paisley said:

I thought it was Burns, Glavin and George Connolly (spelling?)

The soaking wet taxi parked outside gave away the fact that it was Pat Stanton!

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Magnificent surface. 

I suppose to be fair, we should remember that Tynecastle didn't have the high stands that it has now. That allowed the sun, during the close season, to pretty much cover the whole pitch for a long time. These days, that doesn't happen, so the natural summer growth isn't as effective.

It usually only stayed in that condition until the early winter months, anyway.

Undersoil heating was not installed in football pitches either. This meant that pitches weren't always wet during the winter. Many a time, we saw players wearing trainers on rock hard pitches. By the late season, many pitches were quite bare of grass, causing bumpy, brick hard surfaces again.

Even the wind being blocked off by the high stands, during the summer, has a negative effect on the pitch. When Wenger was helping design the new Arsenal stadium, they provided channels through the stands that the wind could blow through, for the purpose of helping the grass. 

This isn't meant as an excuse for our pitch, which we were told had high tech monitoring equipment to make sure the correct decisions were made for it's upkeep and maintenance to a high standard.

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Good post. I remember pitches were covered in straw and braziers were used to melt ice...

They used manure at Easter Road

2 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Good post. I remember pitches were covered in straw and braziers were used to melt ice...

I remember when they used to sell pies and bovril outisde the gents toilets under the Main Stand/ Enclosure at Fester Road with pish running out all over the concrete floor.

It was hard to tell if the smell was from the pies or the toilets.

Edited by wavydavy

3 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20201208_215910.thumb.jpg.7bd3ed6f456b1b3de2966bcd4098aeda.jpg

Don Murray, John Gallagher, Ralph Callaghan, Donald Park, Drew Busby and it looks like Jim Cruickshank.

Drew Jarvie trying to score.

Drew Busby and Drew Jarvie had been a highly effective front 2 for Airdrie. It’s a pity we didn’t buy both of them.

4 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20201208_215910.thumb.jpg.7bd3ed6f456b1b3de2966bcd4098aeda.jpg

Quick glance - Drew Jarvie, John Gallagher, Ralphie, Wee Parky, Busby and Cruickshank?

I’m missing the Hearts player on the left, and two of the sheep.

4 minutes ago, Sherbet said:

Don Murray?  Drew Jarvie john Gallagher john Stevenson drew busby cruickie

Don Murray!  Well done. 👍

It’s not wee John Stevenson though.

image.png.bd624af8d715ef9ba714f75fc0a9502b.png

John McMaster is on the right

Could be Jocky Scott in the background

Edited by Maroon Sailor

On 19/02/2019 at 13:38, Finlay James said:

Is that the Eddie Thomson who eventually became manager of Australia?  His brother used to live round the corner from me in Peebles when I was a kid.

Some really nostalgic comments and photos on here.  Keep them coming guys.

12 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

image.png.bd624af8d715ef9ba714f75fc0a9502b.png

John McMaster is on the right

Could be Jocky Scott in the background

Aberdeen left back in the background is Billy Williamson. Game from 22/11/1975 a 0-0 draw.

28 minutes ago, Big Drew said:

Here's a Tester (maybe?). Who is the player and what is the venue he is training at?

Andy Fraser in training.jpg

Im tempted to say thats Dave McKay.

1 hour ago, been here before said:

Im tempted to say thats Dave McKay.

Not Mackay, Wardhaugh or Crawford. A wee clue:- Made less than a handful of competitive appearances.

2 hours ago, Big Drew said:

Aberdeen left back in the background is Billy Williamson. Game from 22/11/1975 a 0-0 draw.

I was at that game. We thought we'd scored very late in the game to snatch a win, but it was disallowed.

13 minutes ago, Big Drew said:

Not Mackay, Wardhaugh or Crawford. A wee clue:- Made less than a handful of competitive appearances.

Please say its Jim Docherty or Jim Campbell.

On 19/02/2019 at 12:48, Morgan said:

Both correct.

My dad and I are actually in the Kenny Aird one!

Great photo (and clear) ... I spotted and old workmate who I used to meet "behind the goals" at games in the 70's

2 hours ago, Big Drew said:

Here's a Tester (maybe?). Who is the player and what is the venue he is training at?

Andy Fraser, at Dreghorn

3 hours ago, Big Drew said:

Correct that it's Andy Fraser training at Saughton Enclosure.

53 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

68565305-12E5-4AE5-9879-ADBE2523E028.jpeg

55A7A69E-3CD5-40F1-9C7F-ADB297E3CCC7.jpeg

4244C69C-8304-4B7F-B145-C9191A6814A9.jpeg

Left to right: Alan Gilzean, Arthur Thomson (tackling), Dave Clunie, Donald Ford, Ian Sneddon, Jimmy Greaves (the Famous Tottenham "G Men")

On 19/02/2019 at 12:31, 4marsbars said:

I got them all except Lynch and Ford, whilst thinking 'where's Ford?' Doesn't look much like him but it must be right enough (and now I see from other posts that it might not be - in fact it looks nothing like him). 

Definitely Ford