Oldies - Name the players

5 hours ago, Big Drew said:

Dave Smith - Rangers No 6, Peter McCloy (Rangers Goalie), Alex O'Hara - Rangers No 8. Willie Mathieson (Ranger on Ground) and Jim Brown scoring (ball in net far left) on 19 January 1974. Highlights were shown on TV as stated by JF and we lost 4-2 with Derek Parlane scoring four. Busby got Hearts first goal when we were already 3-0 down and Brown got a second consolation when we were 4-1 down.

My first ever game against one of the OF. I may be one at the back of the enclosure, I sat on the barrier at the back, 11 years old. Missed Buzz's goal just before HT, went for a pee.

I remember watching highlights at night.

• Replies 2.4k

• Maroon Sailor

• Big Drew

• The White Cockade

12 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Parkhead, cup tie and another mass brawl !

20201210_191611.jpg.355f47cdae62882e21fbfa011094a9e9.jpg

1989, I think. McGhee collapsed in the box for a dodgy pen and it all kicked off after the restart. Tosh McKinlay sent off?

27 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

1989, I think. McGhee collapsed in the box for a dodgy pen and it all kicked off after the restart. Tosh McKinlay sent off?

He was sent off with McCarthy

I'd have to check London Hearts but I have a feeling Hearts had someone else sent off before Tosh

Might be getting mixed up with the cup match a few years earlier when Willie Johnston got sent off

38 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

He was sent off with McCarthy

I'd have to check London Hearts but I have a feeling Hearts had someone else sent off before Tosh

Might be getting mixed up with the cup match a few years earlier when Willie Johnston got sent off

Wee Robbo was sent off for giving Tommy Burns a punch in the puss if I remember right 

8 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

Wee Robbo was sent off for giving Tommy Burns a punch in the puss if I remember right 

Checked LH and it was Alan McLaren

I would like to know how many penalties Celtic have had against Hearts just in cup matches.

No surprise in this one giving the ref

14 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Parkhead, cup tie and another mass brawl !

20201210_191611.jpg.355f47cdae62882e21fbfa011094a9e9.jpg

Is that Mike Galloway in the number 5 shorts ? Love the way Bannon is looking and saying I’m a football player not a fighter 😄

21 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Is that Mike Galloway in the number 5 shorts ? Love the way Bannon is looking and saying I’m a football player not a fighter 😄

McCarthy is 5

Galloway played for Hearts in this match

Aye Bannon has got the teapot going there !

Edited by Maroon Sailor

Just now, Maroon Sailor said:

McCarthy is 5

Galloway played for Hearts in this match

That’s what I thought but it looked awfy like him. Hearts end was bouncing that day , might even have been the game the Hearts fans ran at the jungle ? 

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Checked LH and it was Alan McLaren

I could have sworn Robbo hooked Tommy Burns that day, maybe you only got a yellow for violent conduct back in the day 😳

3 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

I could have sworn Robbo hooked Tommy Burns that day, maybe you only got a yellow for violent conduct back in the day 😳

I think he did now that you mention it.

The ref missed it !

GW425H648.jpeg.bdf57993ce04db238fd1887a7cf134f5.jpeg

4 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

Robbo did punch Tommy Burns in a game at Parkhead, but he got away with it. Only picked up, later, on tv highlights.

No compliance officer then.

18 hours ago, jbee647 said:

Jim Brown, Ernie Winchester, Eddie Thomson, and Joe McBride of Clyde, (ex Celtic,Hibs)

17 hours ago, Sherbet said:

Jim brown   ernie   Eddie Thomson  at shawfield

Think you’re both wrong and it’s Tommy Veitch, who came on as a sub, not Thomson.

3 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

That’s what I thought but it looked awfy like him. Hearts end was bouncing that day , might even have been the game the Hearts fans ran at the jungle ? 

Aye Id have said that no 5 was Galloway. Looks nothing like McCarthy.

Alan McClaren was s/o for shouting in the face of Syme after Celtic scored from that ludicrous penalty. Tosh and McCarthy went soon after. 

Robbo did punch Burns and, after trial by Scotsport, was given a two match ban. I think it was reduced to one after appeal. 

Disgraceful refereeing that day and, typically, in the aftermath, Hearts were blamed by all. 

We should have walked off. 

Burns probably deserved the right hook. 

Edited by martoon

8 minutes ago, Angel eyes said:

20330-F32-5-C0-A-42-A8-8557-D8850580-EA4

That has to be wrong way round given the mascot has the badge on his strip

20201211_161817.jpg.6c95db9d4d152e76338d1bc53634aba5.jpg

Clunie, Cruickshank, Kay, Callachan ?, Gallagher, Shaw

Just now, John Findlay said:

Graham Shaw, Drew Busby, John Gallacher and Kenny Aird.

What about the Dumbarton players?!!

1386858489_images(6).jpeg.251f2e7e812fb6ff47f16ea84170d730.jpeg

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

What about the Dumbarton players?!!

1386858489_images(6).jpeg.251f2e7e812fb6ff47f16ea84170d730.jpeg

Well I think that the players facing the camera are John Bourke and Jumbo Muir.

1 minute ago, topsport said:

Would that be Ferguson on the right? 

Yep

Looks like he is having his own issues with another Celtic player

14 minutes ago, topsport said:

Robbo obviously 

but is that Walter Kidd for airdie?

It is

Who's the Hearts player on the ground ?

35 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Yep

Looks like he is having his own issues with another Celtic player

👍 dunno who he was wrestling with, but seeing Roy Aitken made me laugh- I couldn’t stand him when at games as a kid. My gran (who had no knowledge about football but watched scotsport etc to see her son’s beloved team 😁) had a massive dislike to Aitken in particular -said she felt like throwing her baffy at him coz he was being a thug to the poor wee hearts laddies🤣) She was evidently a good judge of character! 

1 minute ago, topsport said:

👍 dunno who he was wrestling with, but seeing Roy Aitken made me laugh- I couldn’t stand him when at games as a kid. My gran (who had no knowledge about football but watched scotsport etc to see her son’s beloved team 😁) had a massive dislike to Aitken in particular -said she felt like throwing her baffy at him coz he was being a thug to the poor wee hearts laddies🤣) She was evidently a good judge of character! 

Never liked Aitken myself. He even looked angry acting as the peacemaker !

1 minute ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Never liked Aitken myself. He even looked angry acting as the peacemaker !

Torn faced at that time IMO and always seemed ancient 😆