Oldies - Name the players

26 minutes ago, japanjambo said:

Is it not Ray Dunlop?

Looks like Ray Dunlop.

Mind you he's getting to the ball first so it might not be !

• Replies 2.4k

• Maroon Sailor

• Big Drew

• The White Cockade

6 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Looks like Ray Dunlop.

Mind you he's getting to the ball first so it might not be !

Yep, JJ is correct - it is Ray Dunlop. I've got the wrong date on my photo files. It's the game at Fester on 4/11/1978 with Ray Dunlop in goal. We  played them there three times that season and used three different goalkeepers. We won 2-1 on 4/11, 1-2 in the Cup on 10/3/1979 with John Brough in goal and then 1-1 a week later on 17/3/1979 with Thomson Allan in goal.

1 hour ago, Big Drew said:

Yep, JJ is correct - it is Ray Dunlop. I've got the wrong date on my photo files. It's the game at Fester on 4/11/1978 with Ray Dunlop in goal. We  played them there three times that season and used three different goalkeepers. We won 2-1 on 4/11, 1-2 in the Cup on 10/3/1979 with John Brough in goal and then 1-1 a week later on 17/3/1979 with Thomson Allan in goal.

That game on the 4/11/78 came off the back of wins at Pittodrie and beating Celtic at Tynie. Was at all 3 - season went rapidly downhill after that !

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

That game on the 4/11/78 came off the back of wins at Pittodrie and beating Celtic at Tynie. Was at all 3 - season went rapidly downhill after that !

There was a 0-0 draw with Rangers at Tynecastle in that sequence, too. A good 7 points from 8 after a rocky start.

I wasn't there but that derby win was the first I'd really experienced, aged 10. Our previous win in 1973 was just a wee bit to early for me to recall. As was the defeat earlier that year, thankfully. 

First derby I clearly remember my dad going to, whilst I kept up on the radio at my Nan's, was the 1976 New Year game. He, apparently, left ER when Hibs went 3-0 up in the first half and arrived back in Oxgangs at FT. I remember him being relieved it had got no worse. 

Thankfully, Wallace, Doddie, Robbo etc. put a stop to all that nonsense by the time I was in my teens. 😁

17 minutes ago, martoon said:

There was a 0-0 draw with Rangers at Tynecastle in that sequence, too. A good 7 points from 8 after a rocky start.

I wasn't there but that derby win was the first I'd really experienced, aged 10. Our previous win in 1973 was just a wee bit to early for me to recall. As was the defeat earlier that year, thankfully. 

First derby I clearly remember my dad going to, whilst I kept up on the radio at my Nan's, was the 1976 New Year game. He, apparently, left ER when Hibs went 3-0 up in the first half and arrived back in Oxgangs at FT. I remember him being relieved it had got no worse. 

Thankfully, Wallace, Doddie, Robbo etc. put a stop to all that nonsense by the time I was in my teens. 😁

78/79 was the season I started going home and away on a regular basis.

Aberdeen H 1-4

Celtic A 0-4

Hibs H 1-1

What a start to the season. That Hibs match is the one I remember most from the 70's - You could sense an atmosphere around Tynecastle that day and boy did it all kick off. Don't think they put the away fans in the school end again after that.

9cc339358630771f095d83aa62bf5071.jpg

Anderson, Oliver, Thomson, Cruickshank, Brown, Clunie and Winchester.

Lynch? Ford, Hegarty, Townsend and Fraser.

I think!

78/79 was the season I started going home and away on a regular basis.

Aberdeen H 1-4

Celtic A 0-4

Hibs H 1-1

What a start to the season. That Hibs match is the one I remember most from the 70's - You could sense an atmosphere around Tynecastle that day and boy did it all kick off. Don't think they put the away fans in the school end again after that.

Last game without segregation, I believe. 

46 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20201206_170436.jpg

Willie Gibson no9. Willie Miller immediately to his right and possibly Doug Rougvie to his left. No idea who the other Aberdeen player is.

48 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20201206_170416.jpg.9c7cce08004842f92f404d0bbeedcd2a.jpg

Bobby Prentice scoring. Was this 2-2 game in 1975 when all the goals were scored in the first 8 minutes?

5 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Bobby Prentice scoring. Was this 2-2 game in 1975 when all the goals were scored in the first 8 minutes?

Believe it to be Jan 76

3-3

7 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

I've just checked London Hearts to confirm it

Still not sure of the left hand and right hand Aberdeen players in the Gibson header picture.

Checking the line-up on LH

Right back would be Billy Williamson

Left back would be Charles McLelland

6 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Still not sure of the left hand and right hand Aberdeen players in the Gibson header picture.

18 hours ago, jimbojambo said:

Chris Shevlane, Davie Holt, Jim Cruickshank, Willie Pollan's, Alan Anderson, Billy Higgins.

Johnny Hamilton, Willie Wallace, Frank Sandman, Tommy Traynor

Circa 1965: team that threw away the league

Alan Gordon was in that team, I know cause I was there, I'm sure he hit the post early on.....time can play tricks on the memory....😁😁

7 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I think that is Willie Garner on the left. A centre back who went to Celtic from Aberdeen.

Am I right in thinking that we were going to sign Garner but Celtic came in late for him?Celtic then sold Roddy McDonald to us.

33 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Willie Gibson no9. Willie Miller immediately to his right and possibly Doug Rougvie to his left. No idea who the other Aberdeen player is.

Stuart Kennedy for the other Aberdeen player?

6 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

I think that is Willie Garner on the left. A centre back who went to Celtic from Aberdeen.

Am I right in thinking that we were going to sign Garner but Celtic came in late for him?Celtic then sold Roddy McDonald to us.

Does look a bit like Garner but he didn't play in that match. 

https://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197601171.html

1 hour ago, micole said:

Alan Gordon was in that team, I know cause I was there, I'm sure he hit the post early on.....time can play tricks on the memory....😁😁

Raold Jensen hit the post and Gordon hit a volley into the ground that, if he'd caught it cleanly, Ferguson wouldn't have close to.

2 minutes ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

The players shown are before my time but I'm drawn to the quality of the pitch.😍

It's shocking, not a bit of green anywhere.

4 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

9cc339358630771f095d83aa62bf5071.jpg

See that drill top Ernie Winchester is wearing?

They should be on sale in the shop.

20190219_092231.jpg.28f28df62a6ab3c2e1588977cbe58c34.jpg

5 minutes ago, been here before said:

See that drill top Ernie Winchester is wearing?

They should be on sale in the shop.

20190219_092231.jpg.28f28df62a6ab3c2e1588977cbe58c34.jpg

Along with the strip , I’m biased as it’s the first replica strip I was bought as a bairn 

Just now, SectionDJambo said:

Jim Irvine,George Miller,Jim Townsend.

I think.

All new signings 

21 minutes ago, assessor said:

19 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Graham Shaw?

I wouldn't have recognised him.

My last memory of what he looked like was

20201206_204041.jpg

Had a Gilzean badge of Graham Shaw

" Shuggie Shaw eats soft centres " as he takes out a Hibs player

4 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

20201206_165452.jpg

Wow ...  we obviously had the most skilled  groundsman in Scotland back in the 60s  !!    

2 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Wow ...  we obviously had the most skilled  groundsman in Scotland back in the 60s  !!    

Pitches all looked like that for the new season, back in the day. Longer close season maybe. But it usually didn’t take long for them to get bare and muddy.

Had a Gilzean badge of Graham Shaw

" Shuggie Shaw eats soft centres " as he takes out a Hibs player

I had the ‘Jesus saves, but Busby nets the rebound’ one from Gilzeans.  :vrface:

Or, the slightly more critical ‘Jesus saves, but Busby hits the floodlights’.

5 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Pitches all looked like that for the new season, back in the day. Longer close season maybe. But it usually didn’t take long for them to get bare and muddy.

Aye that's true.   I think most clubs did ball-work training on their own pitches too.  That photo must have been before the players came re-started  training after the summer !!

29 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Aye that's true.   I think most clubs did ball-work training on their own pitches too.  That photo must have been before the players came re-started  training after the summer !!

The benches are out for the pre season team phot as well. 

Don't think the pitch lines have been painted on either. Get the old pot of paint and brush out I suspect in those days.

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Get the feeling if you got tackled by this guy you knew about it

0_bigday099.thumb.jpg.73831581e3d478ac8223e18545c7ec25.jpg

Is that Danny Ferguson or perhaps Davy Holt??

Edited by Jambo-Fox

7 hours ago, Morgan said:

I had the ‘Jesus saves, but Busby nets the rebound’ one from Gilzeans.  :vrface:

Or, the slightly more critical ‘Jesus saves, but Busby hits the floodlights’.

I had Eamonn Bannon shoots like a cannon.

Or on a more critical note "and his penalties land in Tynecastle School"

🙃

20 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

I had Eamonn Bannon shoots like a cannon.

Or on a more critical note "and his penalties land in Tynecastle School"

🙃

That penalty against Der Hun was a shocker.