General Election

Don Dan

I'm looking for three things over the next week or two

1. The formal death of Indy/Ref2 .

2. Humble Pie from all these pundits on STV and BBC totally rubbishing Scottish Labours prospects.

3. Confirmation that he youth vote went to Labour

An apology from the SNP for letting their obsession allow Scotland to deliver a Tory led Government at Westminster would also be nice but unlikely.

• Replies 5.4k

Did I mention Scotland? You got the nature devolved government wrong in a conversation surrounding NI. It showed you for what you are - an empty-minded, uninformed voice, on an anonymous internet forum.

And there's a difference between "hiding abroad" and moving to Europe for university and employment.

More personal abuse by an angry and bitter wee nationalist.

Why would I know about the inner workings of Northern Ireland? I don't live there or have any interest.

Radio Ga Ga

SNP voters complacency may be a contributing factor. Between 2015 and 2017 conservatives gained circa 320k extra votes. SNP lost circa 480k.

The electorate was also 5% lower.

I feel there would have been a very different result were 16 & 17 year olds permitted to vote.

Can't help but agree that Sturgeon has lost faith of a great deal of people though. Looking at Corbyn though, there's potential to make a u-turn in public opinion.

Can't disagree, the VAST majority of 16-17 year sold that I know would never vote for the SNP, so you're right, there's a good chance the SNP would have lost a lot more seats, as the old saying goes I'm my aunty had baws...

Yeah I recall when the Red Cross came up to Edinburgh last year and declared a Humanitarian Crisis ...

England is probably the first developed Western country in a 100 years to have faced such ignominy.

Yet the Scottish NHS has longer waiting lists and larger cuts than the English NHS. GP surgeries are closing here because doctors can't be found. People are having to travel great distances in some cases to find a GP and in other cases attend A&E for minor ailments. That puts more strain on the A&E departments. Want to talk about the numbers in Scottish hospitals that can't be discharged due to no care or facilities in their areas.

It's complete tosh, should only take the individual a couple of searches to determine the difference between SNHS and the NHS for a start - there is no humanitarian crisis in Scotland ...

I'm Scottish and will return after working/studying abroad, any decisions made will impact me just as much as they do you.

there is no humanitarian crisis in England either-

that is the usual hyperbole of the left.

having to wait a bit for a new knee, or a free place in a nursing home is not the same as as being cluster bombed in Mosul, or paddling across the med in a rubber dingy.

And for all the chat of OAP poverty and "heat or eat"

- I have been into literally thousands of peoples homes of all ages and the only ones where I actually thought "holy crap this is terrible" were young drug addicts

The very fundamentals of devolution are comparable for all, therefore if you know nothing of NI, then I was working on the basis that you know nothing of Scotland.

Absolute nonsense. Not every area of governments are devolved and some areas are devolved to one government and different areas to others. Even within those areas not all of it is always devolved. Eg more welfare has been devolved to Scotland this year but not the full welfare system.

Thunderstruck

To put it into Context how bad the Nationalists performed

It's widely agreed that May did really badly, She lost 12 seats out of 330.... that's 4% of the Tory total.

The SNP lost 21 seats out of 56.... that's a massive 38% of the SNP's total.

May increased the Tory vote from 11,334,574 to 13,616,601.... that's an increase of 20.1%.

Sturgeon drove the SNP vote down from 1,454,426 to a measly 977,569.... that's a decrease of 32.8%.

May's share of the national vote rose from 37.8% to 42.4%. The SNP's share of the National vote plummeted from 4.9% in May 2015 to 3.1% last Thursday.

Sturgeon stood up last Friday in Bute House and claimed that the SNP had won the election in Scotland because it has the most votes and the most seats. Well, if that's the case, using Nippy's logic May has won the election in the UK because she has won the most most votes and most seats, so what's she moaning about?

Sturgeon, you might have been an asset but you're now a liability. So thanks a lot, happy days!

The Nats should file that under Truth/Inconvenient.

I say "Nats" but this is a recurrence of the rash of Secessionists in Denial that we saw in May 16. Only, this time, it is back with a vengeance.

Can't disagree, the VAST majority of 16-17 year sold that I know would never vote for the SNP, so you're right, there's a good chance the SNP would have lost a lot more seats, as the old saying goes I'm my aunty had baws...

You know 100k 16-17+ year olds? Vast majority I know would vote SNP. And a vast majority voted Yes in the referendum.

Not nearly enough support to win a referendum though.

Thunderstruck

You know 100k 16-17+ year olds? Vast majority I know would vote SNP. And a vast majority voted Yes in the referendum.

On what evidence? The Ashcroft poll of 6 of them?

The evidence gathered at "civics" sessions organised around registration and voting suggests that the kids are split along the same lines as older age "cohorts".

Radio Ga Ga

Read what I wrote, the vast majority of the ones I KNOW, as in, know personally, friends of my kids and so forth, where did I say I know 100k 16-17 year olds?!

Please, for the record, provide a link to the voting intention of 16-17 year olds?

Every news article I've read say a mojority of the young (under 25's) have aligned with Corbyn, it's another myth peddled by the Nationalists that every youngster supports them and it's only us old Unionists that die off

Did you not read where I said "the very fundamentals?" You never knew welfare was devolved a couple of hours ago, will take no lessons from you on the nature of devolution.

I didn't know one part of it the bedroom tax was devolved to Northern Ireland so bloody what FFS talk about slavering shite.

I'll repeat not all welfare is devolved to the countries and each country has different areas of welfare devolved to it. As I do not live in NI I'm unaware what parts are devolved and what aren't. I live I Scotland and I'm fully aware what is devolved here at what isn't.

What's so difficult to understand. Hardly a case for trying to be a smart arse.

Roxy Hearts

Not half as funny as seeing that lying fat twat Salmond bubbling away and choking back the tears when he got his erse handed to him on a forklift.

DB5Fnv0XkAE09tc.jpg

Nice Jambo tie Alex. You will be back to frighten the Unionists. They don't like you and it's fun reading their comments.

Stay strong Alex.

Roxy Hearts

Nope I don't think I was caught out earlier at all see now your just being daft. I admitted I do not know what is fully devolved to N.I. Or not. Seen as I'm not living there I have little to no interest in NI politics or it's inner workings. Your daft fishy friend has been asked repeatedly by quite a few people to list the achievements of the SNP in ten years. He has failed to do so because he can't. There are none.

Now seen as your clearly in the stick the fingers in the ear and scream camp when it comes to talking about SNP failures I'll put you down now as another rabid nat who isn't worth the debate.

What is wrong with you? Your posts are demented at times.

Delay to the Queens's speech, aye?

Didn't see much of a delay in getting the atlas out to find out where Belfast is.

Credit to Mooth for calling for cross-party colaboration. Such a notion would be beyond some.

HaymarketJambo

Nice Jambo tie Alex. You will be back to frighten the Unionists. They don't like you and it's fun reading their comments.

Stay strong Alex.

Spot on Roxy well said. 

When I read stuff on here about Salmond bubbling away and being in tears maybe it was because Salmond's father died that week?   

Orange order tell the DUP that they want the Drumcree marches put on the demands of May's power deal .

Stormont suspended.

Orange order making ludicrous demands about marches that were banned because of sectarian murders.

DUP in coalition government.

Tick tock for the peace process

:muggy:

Salmond is a Tory *******. Socialism for him, like many Nationalists, is a flag of convenience.

Credit to Mooth for calling for cross-party colaboration. Such a notion would be beyond some.

Still the most credible leader in all of this farce.

You'll excuse me if I don't sign up to that. But it is a sensible call from someone who doesn't have the same vested interest as the Westminster gang. Hence why she said it. I do get the impression that she, currently, isn't afraid to be her own person.

Space Mackerel

Salmond is a Tory *******. Socialism for him, like many Nationalists, is a flag of convenience.

Can't remember Salmond being a member of the SSP?

When was this?

Roxy Hearts

I don't believe in left, right and centre. I believe in Scotland and it's right to be a nation state.

You'll excuse me if I don't sign up to that. But it is a sensible call from someone who doesn't have the same vested interest as the Westminster gang. Hence why she said it. I do get the impression that she, currently, isn't afraid to be her own person.

You're excused. Her party is falling apart but she's held her own. Dugdale and Sturgeon look damaged.

I don't believe in left, right and centre. I believe in Scotland and it's right to be a nation state.

All Scots believe in Scotland, assuming you are talking about it's potential and it's qualities.

Roxy Hearts

Gave away a second salary to charity for years. Name another politician that has made a similar gesture?

He also apparently placed a call and helped our club.

Salmond is a wonderful bloke and the best political operator in the UK. We're lucky to have had him.

He'd still defend the likes of you even if you do call him a tory *******.

Correct. Greatest politician in my lifetime, a Hearts man and a Scotsman.

Roxy Hearts

All Scots believe in Scotland, assuming you are talking about it's potential and it's qualities.

Not just Scots live here. Some non Scots believe in Scotland more than Scots. Mundell, Davidson and Dugdale don't have belief.

Space Mackerel

Correct. Greatest politician in my lifetime, a Hearts man and a Scotsman.

I would doubt half these rabid Tory Yoons on here are actual Hearts fans myself..

Sounds more like a Ruth 50 pencer.

Not just Scots live here. Some non Scots believe in Scotland more than Scots. Mundell, Davidson and Dugdale don't have belief.

No, you need to move on from that and learn. You're completely wrong.

The very fundamentals of devolution are comparable for all, therefore if you know nothing of NI, then I was working on the basis that you know nothing of Scotland.

No they aren't.

The Scottish Parliament has powers the Northern Irish and in particular Welsh assemblies don't.

And vice versa it would appear.

Welfare/ social security is a reserved matter in Scotland.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I would doubt half these rabid Tory Yoons on here are actual Hearts fans myself..

Sounds more like a Ruth 50 pencer.

wtf are you slavering about now?

So will you stop voting if Scotland becomes independent?

You at least are honest about your priorities rather than pretending the SNP have all the answers.

Roxy Hearts

No, you need to move on from that and learn. You're completely wrong.

Eh? They believe in Westminster more than the people who live in Scotland.

We can be a nation state but they choose their governance elsewhere.

I believe that Scots would vote for independence but propaganda rules.

Imagine if the MSM supported it. What would happen then?

Eh? They believe in Westminster more than the people who live in Scotland.

We can be a nation state but they choose their governance elsewhere.

I believe that Scots would vote for independence but propaganda rules.

Imagine if the MSM supported it. What would happen then?

They represent people living in Scotland, they are Scots, they live and work in Scotland.

People just have different opinions on how we're governed and set up constitutionally. It's nothing to do with who "believes" more.

Why? People should be reminded of the consequences that accompanied a vote made only to spite the SNP.

You can make the arguement that Tory policy is detrimental - as I do. But to tell people they're voting wrongly isn't really respectful of their democratic right to make that choice.

I don't agree with some SNP policies but wouldn't criticise or lecture on voting for them.

To do so fails to allow an objective assessment for why people vote the way they do.

Something like this?

8044ecc09e08a99325bb7d09afa46cde.jpg

The same could be said if SNP voters/members. The dog could be saying "one more push to independence".

The list of SNP government achievements is long and wide-ranging. After a decade of Westminster cuts, the SNP government is working harder than ever to protect the most vulnerable in our society and deliver the best public services anywhere in the UK.

Record health funding - over ?13 billion in 2017, ?3.6 billion more than when we took office.

Higher exam passes up by a third since 2007, and we?re investing record amounts in schools to close the attainment gap. ?120 million will go direct to schools this year alone.

Free tuition protected, saving students in Scotland up to ?27,000 compared to the cost of studying in England.

Free, high quality childcare has been increased to 16 hours a week for all 3 and 4 year olds ? up from 12.5 hours in 2007 ? and extended to 2 year olds from low income households, saving families up to ?2,500 per child per year in total.

We exceeded our world-leading target to reduce emissions by 42 per cent by 2020 ? six years early.

More people in employment in Scotland than the pre-recession high point, outperforming the UK on female employment and inactivity rates.

We?ve kept Council Tax down. Bills are lower in Scotland than in England - by between ?300 and ?400.

Prescription charges abolished. In England, patients are forced to pay ?8.60 per item.

We?re leading the way on fair pay. Scotland has the highest proportion of employees in the UK paid at least the Living Wage.

Over 60,000 affordable homes completed, with a further 22,000 households supported into homeownership.

16 and 17 year olds now have the right to vote in Scottish Parliament and local government elections.

To help protect jobs and businesses through the recession, we?ve slashed or abolished business rates for 100,000 premises ? saving small businesses ?1.2 billion to date.

Recorded crime in Scotland has reached its lowest level in 42 years.

Scotland, with one of the most progressive equal marriage laws in the world, has been rated the best country in Europe for LGBTI equality and human rights for the second year running.

We?re standing up for Scottish industry. We have secured a future for Scottish steel, the last remaining aluminium smelter at Lochaber, and Ferguson shipyard too.

A healthier Scotland

The number of nurses, doctors and dentists working in Scotland?s NHS has increased. Staffing is at record high levels, up more than 12,300 in the last ten years.

Patient satisfaction continues to increase with 90 per cent of NHS Scotland patients rating their care and treatment as good or excellent.

Scotland?s A&E services are the best performing in the UK.

We have brought forward plans for a ?5 million expansion of the Golden Jubilee Hospital - the first part of our plan to invest ?200 million in a network of elective and diagnostic treatment centres to help meet the needs of an ageing population.

Over ?5 billion has been invested in Scotland?s health infrastructure since 2007, including the South Glasgow Hospitals and Emergency Care Centre in Aberdeen.

We?ve kept healthcare local. That means A&E units have been saved, children?s cancer services and neurosurgery units protected, and maternity units kept open.

Nurses in Scotland are better paid than anywhere else in the UK. A nurse in Scotland, at Band 5, is paid between ?225 and ?309 more than their English counterparts.

We?re supporting the lowest paid workers in our NHS by delivering the real Living Wage. Entry level pay for NHS support staff, Band 1, in Scotland is ?881 higher than England, and over ?1,300 higher than Northern Ireland.

We?re recruiting more GPs by increasing the number of training places from 300 to 400 each year.

We?re training more paramedics, with a commitment to train 1,000 more by the end of this Scottish Parliament term.

IVF is being expanded to more families ? making access in Scotland the fairest and most generous in the UK.

Our hospitals are cleaner and safer. In over 65s cases of C.Diff are down 86 per cent, and cases of MRSA are down 93 per cent.

Almost ?40 million has been invested to raise public awareness of cancer, and catch it sooner, driving earlier diagnosis in a range of cancers.

The risk from cervical cancer for the next generation of young women has been cut by providing the HPV vaccine for girls in second year of secondary school.

Scrapping parking charges at all NHS-run hospital car parks has saved patients and staff around ?27 million.

Scotland has the highest number of GPs per head of population in the UK, and we?ve made sure more practices are now open in the evenings and at weekends.

Scotland was the first country in the UK to have a mental health waiting times target, and spending on mental health services in Scotland will exceed ?1 billion for the first time in 2017-18.

A record nine in ten people are now registered with an NHS dentist ? up from just 52 per cent when we took office.

More funding than ever before is being provided to support carers and young carers, with investment of over ?122 million in a range of programmes since 2007.

Irresponsible alcohol discounts in supermarkets and off-licences are now banned, and we?ve raised the legal age for buying tobacco to 18.

We?ve banned smoking in any vehicle carrying anyone under 18.

Everyone who uses social care services can now control their individual care budget through the Self-directed Support Act.

We?ve provided extra funding for Scotland?s veteran charities, and ensured our ex-service men and women receive priority treatment in the NHS and other services.

A smarter Scotland

All children in primaries 1 to 3 ? around 135,000 pupils ? are now benefiting from free school meals, saving families around ?380 per child per year.

We have launched the Scottish Attainment Challenge, and investment in that programme will be ?750 million over the life of this Parliament.

Total revenue spending on schools has risen by at least ?220 million since 2006-07, and spending per pupil is higher in Scotland than England.

More school pupils are now in well-designed, accessible and inclusive learning environments. Between 2007 and 2016, 651 schools were built or refurbished - twice as many as the previous Labour/LibDem administrations.

Since the introduction of the Gaelic Schools Capital Fund in 2008, the number of young people in Gaelic Medium Education has increased nationally by 32 per cent.

The percentage of pupils leaving school with at least one Higher level or equivalent qualification has increased by almost 45 per cent under the SNP.

The First Minister?s Reading Challenge, which aims to encourage children to read for pleasure, has been opened to all primary school pupils after the success of the initial scheme for primaries 4 to 7.

The Disabled Students Allowance has been protected and bursaries for students have been maintained in Scotland, while the Tories have abolished both elsewhere in the UK.

We?ve expanded the Education Maintenance Allowance in Scotland ? now scrapped south of the border ? to support even more school pupils and college students from low income families.

Over 117,000 full-time equivalent Scottish Government-funded college places are now being provided ? exceeding our 2011 manifesto commitment to maintain 116,000 places.

We have invested over ?550 million in college estates between 2007 and 2015, ?250 million more than the previous Labour/Lib Dem administrations.

We?re supporting a further ?300 million of investment to deliver new campuses at City of Glasgow, Inverness and Ayrshire Colleges. And Forth Valley and Fife Colleges will share ?140 million for new campuses too.

We?re providing our further education students with record levels of support of ?106 million - up 34 per cent under the SNP.

The number of full-time college students completing recognised higher education qualifications is at an all time high.

Full-time college students in Scotland can now benefit from the highest bursary of anywhere in the UK. A record number of Scots have been supported into university, and young people from the most deprived areas are now more likely to study at university.

The number of graduates from Scottish universities going into work or further study is among the highest in the UK.

Graduates from Scottish universities are earning more than their counterparts in other UK nations.

The poorest university students who are living at home are benefiting from a minimum income guarantee of ?7,625 per year ? the highest in the UK.

Since 2007, the number of female entrants in STEM subjects at Scottish universities has increased by 26 per cent in first degree courses and 47 per cent in postgraduate courses.

A wealthier Scotland

Youth unemployment has hit its lowest rate since records began, and is the second lowest in the EU.

Scotland is the top destination, outside of London, for foreign direct investment.

Today Scotland has the highest pay anywhere in the UK outside of London and the South East.

Productivity growth in Scotland is four times as fast as the UK ? as measured by output per hour worked. Since the SNP came to office, productivity has increased by 9.4 per cent, while stagnating for the UK as a whole.

Around 200,000 young people have had the opportunity to undertake a Modern Apprenticeship since 2007. And by 2020, a further 30,000 opportunities will be available every year.

Scotland has the highest house-building rate in the UK. Since 2007, we have built 41,000 more homes than if we?d matched the lower rate in England - that?s the equivalent of a new town the size of Paisley.

Councils have been enabled to build new homes for the first time in years ? with 7,169 new council homes delivered.

15,500 social houses for rent have been safeguarded by ending Right to Buy.

We?re taking action to stimulate Scotland?s economy following the result of the EU referendum. This includes bringing forward ?100 million of government spending on infrastructure, and a ?500 million Scottish Growth Scheme to support businesses - particularly start-up companies - with the potential to grow and export more.

?500 million has been committed to stimulate and support economic growth in Glasgow and the Clyde Valley.

?125 million has been allocated through the Aberdeen City Region Deal to stimulate and support economic growth in the city, alongside an additional ?254 million for infrastructure projects in the North-east.

We are investing ?135 million in the Inverness and Highland City Region Deal ? two and a half times the UK Government investment.

By the end of 2021 we will have committed ?1 billion to tackling fuel poverty, and over one million energy efficiency measures have already been installed in almost one million households across Scotland.

We?ve helped people into homeownership through the Land and Buildings Transaction Tax, which has lifted 15,000 households out of tax compared to Stamp Duty in the rest of the UK.

Public sector procurement has been simplified, with more small and medium-sized enterprises now competing for and winning public sector contracts.

The number of registered businesses in Scotland has reached 173,995, the highest number on record.

Scotland?s international exports - valued at ?28.7 billion in 2015 - are up 41 per cent under the SNP.

Scotland?s tourism industry is going from strength to strength ? with 14 million tourists visiting Scotland in 2015.

Enterprise and development spending per head in Scotland is almost double that of the UK.

We won new powers over tax and social security, and protected Scotland?s budget from a ?7 billion cut by the Treasury over the financial arrangements enabling new powers.

A fairer Scotland

From summer 2017, all babies in Scotland are to be provided with a Nordic-style ?baby box? in a bid to reduce infant mortality and help families at the start of a child?s life.

In 2011, we became the first government in the UK to pay the Living Wage to our staff.

We have already ensured that nobody in Scotland has to pay the Bedroom Tax. And we will use new powers to effectively abolish it once and for all, protecting over 70,000 households.

Over 241,000 low income households in crisis have been helped to buy essentials such as nappies, food and cookers through our Scottish Welfare Fund since it was established in 2013.

1.3 million older and disabled people have benefited from free public transport through the National Concessionary Bus Travel Scheme.

Around 77,000 older people in Scotland benefit from access to a wide range of personal care tasks without being charged.

Over half a million vulnerable households in Scotland ? including around 190,000 pensioners and over 80,000 single parents ? have been protected from UK Government cuts to Council Tax benefit.

We have introduced a Child Poverty Bill which will set targets to end child poverty by 2030, and established a new ?29 million fund to tackle poverty at a grassroots level.

We have already safeguarded the rights of 2,800 of the most severely disabled by establishing the Scottish Independent Living Fund.

We?ve kept Scottish Water in public hands. Customers are now paying less for a better service ? charges for the average household bill in Scotland are ?38 lower than in England and Wales.

Our new employment support programmes will be on a voluntary basis and will not interact with the UK government?s punitive benefit sanctions system.

Over 300 companies have signed the Scottish Business Pledge - a voluntary code for companies to commit to policies that boost productivity, recognise fairness and increase diversity.

We are piloting a Returners programme to help women who have had career breaks back into the workplace.

We are leading a 50:50 campaign to encourage public, third and private sector companies to commit to boardroom gender equality by 2020.

We now have Scotland?s first cabinet with an equal number of women and men.

We have launched a ?300,000 Sports Equality Fund with the aim of increasing women?s engagement in sport.

A safer Scotland

Since we took office, violent crime is down by 52 per cent, homicides are down by 52 per cent and handling offensive weapons is down by 69 per cent.

In Scotland, under the SNP, police numbers are up, while they?ve fallen in England.

The new Scottish Crime Campus provides a focal point for excellence in intelligence-sharing, evidence gathering and forensic science to tackle serious organised crime.

Automatic early release has been ended, meaning that long-term prisoners who pose an unacceptable risk to public safety will serve their sentence in full.

The reconviction rate has been reduced to its lowest level in 18 years, thanks to tough community sentences.

?75 million has been seized from criminals and has been reinvested in community projects for young people across Scotland.

HMP Low Moss opened in March 2012 and HMP Grampian opened in March 2014, two major parts of our prison building programme.

Access to air weapons has been tightened to improve public safety.

Tackling sectarianism has been backed up with record investment.

The new Scottish Fire and Rescue Service has been created.

Scotland has the UK?s first national action plan on human rights, showing our ambition to be an example of how to realise human rights and tackle injustice at home and abroad.

Investing for the future

We?re investing ?1 billion annually in public and sustainable transport to encourage people out of cars.

We are delivering the ?1.35 billion Queensferry Crossing.

Commuters have saved around ?2,000 since bridge tolls on the Forth Road Bridge and Tay Bridge were scrapped by the SNP.

We have invested twice as much per head in the rail network in Scotland than the UK Government ? ?7 billion in rail since 2007.

The Borders Railway, the longest new domestic railway to be built in Britain in over 100 years, has reopened and welcomed over 1 million passengers in its first year.

A ?5 billion investment programme in Scotland?s railways up to 2019 will deliver longer, greener trains, new stations, new track upgrades, more seats, and more services.

?3 billion to dual 80 miles of carriageway on the A9 Perth-Inverness, ?745 million for the Aberdeen Western Peripheral Route, plus M8, M73 and M74 motorway improvements.

Contracts worth ?97 million will protect the 150-strong workforce and create 100 new jobs at the last commercial shipyard on the Clyde.

We?ve exceeded the 2016 target to provide broadband access to 85 per cent of premises, and we?ll reach 100 per cent by 2021.

Empowering communities

Scotland?s independence referendum was the biggest democratic exercise in Scotland?s history.

We?ve launched a ?200,000 Access to Politics Fund to help disabled people stand for the 2017 local government elections. And we will continue the fund for the Scottish Parliament elections in 2021.

Local communities have been given a voice in the planning and delivery of local services - backed up by ?20 million of funding - through the Community Empowerment Act.

The Scottish Land Fund has already helped 52 communities across the country to purchase land, with over 500,000 acres now in community ownership. And the Fund has been increased to ?10 million per year.

The radical and ambitious Land Reform Act has been passed to transform rules around the ownership, accessibility and benefits of land in Scotland.

A greener Scotland

Scotland has exceeded its target to produce 50 per cent of its electricity from renewables by 2015 - with almost 60 per cent of Scotland?s electricity needs met from renewable sources.

Scotland is outperforming the UK and all but one of the EU-15 countries in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

With the support of the SNP Scottish Government, low carbon industries in Scotland and their supply chains generated almost ?11 billion for the economy in 2014.

We have blocked underground coal gasification and a moratorium means fracking cannot take place in Scotland.

Scotland?s household recycling rate was 44.2 per cent in 2015 ? up from around 32 per cent for municipal waste in 2007.

Carrier bag use has been reduced by 80 per cent - the equivalent of 650 million bags - in the first year of the carrier bag charge.

We?ve helped make our communities safer from flooding with investment in flood defences and new measures in the Flooding Act. And we?ve agreed a new 10 year funding strategy for flood protection, consisting of ?42 million a year, aiming to protect 10,000 families across Scotland.

Supporting rural communities

A record ?1 billion has been invested in vessels, ports and ferry services since 2007 as part of our commitment to our islands and remote communities, with six ferries added to CalMac?s fleet and two new ferries due for delivery in 2018.

Road Equivalent Tariff has been rolled out to all ferry routes in the Clyde and Hebrides network, delivering significantly reduced ferry fares and the highest passenger numbers since 1997.

Residents of Caithness and north-west Sutherland, Colonsay, Islay, Jura, Orkney, Shetland and the Western Isles are eligible for a 50 per cent discount on air fares.

With produce output worth around ?2.3 billion a year and around 65,000 people directly employed, we work tirelessly to get the best deal for Scotland?s farmers, crofters and growers.

We played a key role in reforming EU fisheries policy to bring an end to the wasteful discarding of fish at sea.

With food and drink exports valued over ?4.5 billion and 14,000 new jobs estimated to be created in the sector by 2020, we strive to promote Scotland?s top quality produce.

Fares on lifeline ferry services have been frozen for 2017 for passengers, cars and commercial vehicles.

The clean, green status of our valuable food and drink sector has been protected by opting out of the cultivation of genetically modified crops in Scotland.

Scotland?s first National Marine Plan aims to achieve the sustainable development of our seas.

Enabling creativity and sport

Free access has been maintained to museums and galleries, with over 27 million visits to Scotland?s world class national collections since 2007.

In government we provided vital support for Scotland to welcome the world in 2014, with the staging of the Ryder Cup at Gleneagles and the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Since the SNP government backed the 'Daily Mile' challenge 180,000 children in over 1,000 of Scotland's primary schools now walk or run a mile each day.

98 per cent of primary and secondary schools across Scotland are now providing two hours of physical education a week ? up from 10 per cent in 2005.

Over ?162 million has been pumped into Scotland?s screen sector since 2007.

Over ?130 million has been invested in our cultural infrastructure - including the revamped National Museum of Scotland, National Portrait Gallery, and homes for our performing companies including National Theatre of Scotland and The Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

More than ?19 million of direct investment in Edinburgh?s major festivals since 2008.

?25 million for the Victoria and Albert Museum of Design in Dundee.

1.5 million opportunities have been created for young people to take part in music and youth arts in 2015.

?but there?s still much more we want to do. Together, we will continue to shape a fairer, more successful Scotland.

That enough for you?

Amazing cut & paste job fishy,  lift it straight from the Beano...did you?

The list of SNP government achievements is long and wide-ranging. After a decade of Westminster cuts, the SNP government is working harder than ever to protect the most vulnerable in our society and deliver the best public services anywhere in the UK.

Record health funding - over ?13 billion in 2017, ?3.6 billion more than when we took office.

Higher exam passes up by a third since 2007, and we?re investing record amounts in schools to close the attainment gap. ?120 million will go direct to schools this year alone.

Free tuition protected, saving students in Scotland up to ?27,000 compared to the cost of studying in England.

Free, high quality childcare has been increased to 16 hours a week for all 3 and 4 year olds ? up from 12.5 hours in 2007 ? and extended to 2 year olds from low income households, saving families up to ?2,500 per child per year in total.

We exceeded our world-leading target to reduce emissions by 42 per cent by 2020 ? six years early.

More people in employment in Scotland than the pre-recession high point, outperforming the UK on female employment and inactivity rates.

We?ve kept Council Tax down. Bills are lower in Scotland than in England - by between ?300 and ?400.

Prescription charges abolished. In England, patients are forced to pay ?8.60 per item.

We?re leading the way on fair pay. Scotland has the highest proportion of employees in the UK paid at least the Living Wage.

Over 60,000 affordable homes completed, with a further 22,000 households supported into homeownership.

16 and 17 year olds now have the right to vote in Scottish Parliament and local government elections.

To help protect jobs and businesses through the recession, we?ve slashed or abolished business rates for 100,000 premises ? saving small businesses ?1.2 billion to date.

Recorded crime in Scotland has reached its lowest level in 42 years.

Scotland, with one of the most progressive equal marriage laws in the world, has been rated the best country in Europe for LGBTI equality and human rights for the second year running.

We?re standing up for Scottish industry. We have secured a future for Scottish steel, the last remaining aluminium smelter at Lochaber, and Ferguson shipyard too.

A healthier Scotland

The number of nurses, doctors and dentists working in Scotland?s NHS has increased. Staffing is at record high levels, up more than 12,300 in the last ten years.

Patient satisfaction continues to increase with 90 per cent of NHS Scotland patients rating their care and treatment as good or excellent.

Scotland?s A&E services are the best performing in the UK.

We have brought forward plans for a ?5 million expansion of the Golden Jubilee Hospital - the first part of our plan to invest ?200 million in a network of elective and diagnostic treatment centres to help meet the needs of an ageing population.

Over ?5 billion has been invested in Scotland?s health infrastructure since 2007, including the South Glasgow Hospitals and Emergency Care Centre in Aberdeen.

We?ve kept healthcare local. That means A&E units have been saved, children?s cancer services and neurosurgery units protected, and maternity units kept open.

Nurses in Scotland are better paid than anywhere else in the UK. A nurse in Scotland, at Band 5, is paid between ?225 and ?309 more than their English counterparts.

We?re supporting the lowest paid workers in our NHS by delivering the real Living Wage. Entry level pay for NHS support staff, Band 1, in Scotland is ?881 higher than England, and over ?1,300 higher than Northern Ireland.

We?re recruiting more GPs by increasing the number of training places from 300 to 400 each year.

We?re training more paramedics, with a commitment to train 1,000 more by the end of this Scottish Parliament term.

IVF is being expanded to more families ? making access in Scotland the fairest and most generous in the UK.

Our hospitals are cleaner and safer. In over 65s cases of C.Diff are down 86 per cent, and cases of MRSA are down 93 per cent.

Almost ?40 million has been invested to raise public awareness of cancer, and catch it sooner, driving earlier diagnosis in a range of cancers.

The risk from cervical cancer for the next generation of young women has been cut by providing the HPV vaccine for girls in second year of secondary school.

Scrapping parking charges at all NHS-run hospital car parks has saved patients and staff around ?27 million.

Scotland has the highest number of GPs per head of population in the UK, and we?ve made sure more practices are now open in the evenings and at weekends.

Scotland was the first country in the UK to have a mental health waiting times target, and spending on mental health services in Scotland will exceed ?1 billion for the first time in 2017-18.

A record nine in ten people are now registered with an NHS dentist ? up from just 52 per cent when we took office.

More funding than ever before is being provided to support carers and young carers, with investment of over ?122 million in a range of programmes since 2007.

Irresponsible alcohol discounts in supermarkets and off-licences are now banned, and we?ve raised the legal age for buying tobacco to 18.

We?ve banned smoking in any vehicle carrying anyone under 18.

Everyone who uses social care services can now control their individual care budget through the Self-directed Support Act.

We?ve provided extra funding for Scotland?s veteran charities, and ensured our ex-service men and women receive priority treatment in the NHS and other services.

A smarter Scotland

All children in primaries 1 to 3 ? around 135,000 pupils ? are now benefiting from free school meals, saving families around ?380 per child per year.

We have launched the Scottish Attainment Challenge, and investment in that programme will be ?750 million over the life of this Parliament.

Total revenue spending on schools has risen by at least ?220 million since 2006-07, and spending per pupil is higher in Scotland than England.

More school pupils are now in well-designed, accessible and inclusive learning environments. Between 2007 and 2016, 651 schools were built or refurbished - twice as many as the previous Labour/LibDem administrations.

Since the introduction of the Gaelic Schools Capital Fund in 2008, the number of young people in Gaelic Medium Education has increased nationally by 32 per cent.

The percentage of pupils leaving school with at least one Higher level or equivalent qualification has increased by almost 45 per cent under the SNP.

The First Minister?s Reading Challenge, which aims to encourage children to read for pleasure, has been opened to all primary school pupils after the success of the initial scheme for primaries 4 to 7.

The Disabled Students Allowance has been protected and bursaries for students have been maintained in Scotland, while the Tories have abolished both elsewhere in the UK.

We?ve expanded the Education Maintenance Allowance in Scotland ? now scrapped south of the border ? to support even more school pupils and college students from low income families.

Over 117,000 full-time equivalent Scottish Government-funded college places are now being provided ? exceeding our 2011 manifesto commitment to maintain 116,000 places.

We have invested over ?550 million in college estates between 2007 and 2015, ?250 million more than the previous Labour/Lib Dem administrations.

We?re supporting a further ?300 million of investment to deliver new campuses at City of Glasgow, Inverness and Ayrshire Colleges. And Forth Valley and Fife Colleges will share ?140 million for new campuses too.

We?re providing our further education students with record levels of support of ?106 million - up 34 per cent under the SNP.

The number of full-time college students completing recognised higher education qualifications is at an all time high.

Full-time college students in Scotland can now benefit from the highest bursary of anywhere in the UK. A record number of Scots have been supported into university, and young people from the most deprived areas are now more likely to study at university.

The number of graduates from Scottish universities going into work or further study is among the highest in the UK.

Graduates from Scottish universities are earning more than their counterparts in other UK nations.

The poorest university students who are living at home are benefiting from a minimum income guarantee of ?7,625 per year ? the highest in the UK.

Since 2007, the number of female entrants in STEM subjects at Scottish universities has increased by 26 per cent in first degree courses and 47 per cent in postgraduate courses.

A wealthier Scotland

Youth unemployment has hit its lowest rate since records began, and is the second lowest in the EU.

Scotland is the top destination, outside of London, for foreign direct investment.

Today Scotland has the highest pay anywhere in the UK outside of London and the South East.

Productivity growth in Scotland is four times as fast as the UK ? as measured by output per hour worked. Since the SNP came to office, productivity has increased by 9.4 per cent, while stagnating for the UK as a whole.

Around 200,000 young people have had the opportunity to undertake a Modern Apprenticeship since 2007. And by 2020, a further 30,000 opportunities will be available every year.

Scotland has the highest house-building rate in the UK. Since 2007, we have built 41,000 more homes than if we?d matched the lower rate in England - that?s the equivalent of a new town the size of Paisley.

Councils have been enabled to build new homes for the first time in years ? with 7,169 new council homes delivered.

15,500 social houses for rent have been safeguarded by ending Right to Buy.

We?re taking action to stimulate Scotland?s economy following the result of the EU referendum. This includes bringing forward ?100 million of government spending on infrastructure, and a ?500 million Scottish Growth Scheme to support businesses - particularly start-up companies - with the potential to grow and export more.

?500 million has been committed to stimulate and support economic growth in Glasgow and the Clyde Valley.

?125 million has been allocated through the Aberdeen City Region Deal to stimulate and support economic growth in the city, alongside an additional ?254 million for infrastructure projects in the North-east.

We are investing ?135 million in the Inverness and Highland City Region Deal ? two and a half times the UK Government investment.

By the end of 2021 we will have committed ?1 billion to tackling fuel poverty, and over one million energy efficiency measures have already been installed in almost one million households across Scotland.

We?ve helped people into homeownership through the Land and Buildings Transaction Tax, which has lifted 15,000 households out of tax compared to Stamp Duty in the rest of the UK.

Public sector procurement has been simplified, with more small and medium-sized enterprises now competing for and winning public sector contracts.

The number of registered businesses in Scotland has reached 173,995, the highest number on record.

Scotland?s international exports - valued at ?28.7 billion in 2015 - are up 41 per cent under the SNP.

Scotland?s tourism industry is going from strength to strength ? with 14 million tourists visiting Scotland in 2015.

Enterprise and development spending per head in Scotland is almost double that of the UK.

We won new powers over tax and social security, and protected Scotland?s budget from a ?7 billion cut by the Treasury over the financial arrangements enabling new powers.

A fairer Scotland

From summer 2017, all babies in Scotland are to be provided with a Nordic-style ?baby box? in a bid to reduce infant mortality and help families at the start of a child?s life.

In 2011, we became the first government in the UK to pay the Living Wage to our staff.

We have already ensured that nobody in Scotland has to pay the Bedroom Tax. And we will use new powers to effectively abolish it once and for all, protecting over 70,000 households.

Over 241,000 low income households in crisis have been helped to buy essentials such as nappies, food and cookers through our Scottish Welfare Fund since it was established in 2013.

1.3 million older and disabled people have benefited from free public transport through the National Concessionary Bus Travel Scheme.

Around 77,000 older people in Scotland benefit from access to a wide range of personal care tasks without being charged.

Over half a million vulnerable households in Scotland ? including around 190,000 pensioners and over 80,000 single parents ? have been protected from UK Government cuts to Council Tax benefit.

We have introduced a Child Poverty Bill which will set targets to end child poverty by 2030, and established a new ?29 million fund to tackle poverty at a grassroots level.

We have already safeguarded the rights of 2,800 of the most severely disabled by establishing the Scottish Independent Living Fund.

We?ve kept Scottish Water in public hands. Customers are now paying less for a better service ? charges for the average household bill in Scotland are ?38 lower than in England and Wales.

Our new employment support programmes will be on a voluntary basis and will not interact with the UK government?s punitive benefit sanctions system.

Over 300 companies have signed the Scottish Business Pledge - a voluntary code for companies to commit to policies that boost productivity, recognise fairness and increase diversity.

We are piloting a Returners programme to help women who have had career breaks back into the workplace.

We are leading a 50:50 campaign to encourage public, third and private sector companies to commit to boardroom gender equality by 2020.

We now have Scotland?s first cabinet with an equal number of women and men.

We have launched a ?300,000 Sports Equality Fund with the aim of increasing women?s engagement in sport.

A safer Scotland

Since we took office, violent crime is down by 52 per cent, homicides are down by 52 per cent and handling offensive weapons is down by 69 per cent.

In Scotland, under the SNP, police numbers are up, while they?ve fallen in England.

The new Scottish Crime Campus provides a focal point for excellence in intelligence-sharing, evidence gathering and forensic science to tackle serious organised crime.

Automatic early release has been ended, meaning that long-term prisoners who pose an unacceptable risk to public safety will serve their sentence in full.

The reconviction rate has been reduced to its lowest level in 18 years, thanks to tough community sentences.

?75 million has been seized from criminals and has been reinvested in community projects for young people across Scotland.

HMP Low Moss opened in March 2012 and HMP Grampian opened in March 2014, two major parts of our prison building programme.

Access to air weapons has been tightened to improve public safety.

Tackling sectarianism has been backed up with record investment.

The new Scottish Fire and Rescue Service has been created.

Scotland has the UK?s first national action plan on human rights, showing our ambition to be an example of how to realise human rights and tackle injustice at home and abroad.

Investing for the future

We?re investing ?1 billion annually in public and sustainable transport to encourage people out of cars.

We are delivering the ?1.35 billion Queensferry Crossing.

Commuters have saved around ?2,000 since bridge tolls on the Forth Road Bridge and Tay Bridge were scrapped by the SNP.

We have invested twice as much per head in the rail network in Scotland than the UK Government ? ?7 billion in rail since 2007.

The Borders Railway, the longest new domestic railway to be built in Britain in over 100 years, has reopened and welcomed over 1 million passengers in its first year.

A ?5 billion investment programme in Scotland?s railways up to 2019 will deliver longer, greener trains, new stations, new track upgrades, more seats, and more services.

?3 billion to dual 80 miles of carriageway on the A9 Perth-Inverness, ?745 million for the Aberdeen Western Peripheral Route, plus M8, M73 and M74 motorway improvements.

Contracts worth ?97 million will protect the 150-strong workforce and create 100 new jobs at the last commercial shipyard on the Clyde.

We?ve exceeded the 2016 target to provide broadband access to 85 per cent of premises, and we?ll reach 100 per cent by 2021.

Empowering communities

Scotland?s independence referendum was the biggest democratic exercise in Scotland?s history.

We?ve launched a ?200,000 Access to Politics Fund to help disabled people stand for the 2017 local government elections. And we will continue the fund for the Scottish Parliament elections in 2021.

Local communities have been given a voice in the planning and delivery of local services - backed up by ?20 million of funding - through the Community Empowerment Act.

The Scottish Land Fund has already helped 52 communities across the country to purchase land, with over 500,000 acres now in community ownership. And the Fund has been increased to ?10 million per year.

The radical and ambitious Land Reform Act has been passed to transform rules around the ownership, accessibility and benefits of land in Scotland.

A greener Scotland

Scotland has exceeded its target to produce 50 per cent of its electricity from renewables by 2015 - with almost 60 per cent of Scotland?s electricity needs met from renewable sources.

Scotland is outperforming the UK and all but one of the EU-15 countries in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

With the support of the SNP Scottish Government, low carbon industries in Scotland and their supply chains generated almost ?11 billion for the economy in 2014.

We have blocked underground coal gasification and a moratorium means fracking cannot take place in Scotland.

Scotland?s household recycling rate was 44.2 per cent in 2015 ? up from around 32 per cent for municipal waste in 2007.

Carrier bag use has been reduced by 80 per cent - the equivalent of 650 million bags - in the first year of the carrier bag charge.

We?ve helped make our communities safer from flooding with investment in flood defences and new measures in the Flooding Act. And we?ve agreed a new 10 year funding strategy for flood protection, consisting of ?42 million a year, aiming to protect 10,000 families across Scotland.

Supporting rural communities

A record ?1 billion has been invested in vessels, ports and ferry services since 2007 as part of our commitment to our islands and remote communities, with six ferries added to CalMac?s fleet and two new ferries due for delivery in 2018.

Road Equivalent Tariff has been rolled out to all ferry routes in the Clyde and Hebrides network, delivering significantly reduced ferry fares and the highest passenger numbers since 1997.

Residents of Caithness and north-west Sutherland, Colonsay, Islay, Jura, Orkney, Shetland and the Western Isles are eligible for a 50 per cent discount on air fares.

With produce output worth around ?2.3 billion a year and around 65,000 people directly employed, we work tirelessly to get the best deal for Scotland?s farmers, crofters and growers.

We played a key role in reforming EU fisheries policy to bring an end to the wasteful discarding of fish at sea.

With food and drink exports valued over ?4.5 billion and 14,000 new jobs estimated to be created in the sector by 2020, we strive to promote Scotland?s top quality produce.

Fares on lifeline ferry services have been frozen for 2017 for passengers, cars and commercial vehicles.

The clean, green status of our valuable food and drink sector has been protected by opting out of the cultivation of genetically modified crops in Scotland.

Scotland?s first National Marine Plan aims to achieve the sustainable development of our seas.

Enabling creativity and sport

Free access has been maintained to museums and galleries, with over 27 million visits to Scotland?s world class national collections since 2007.

In government we provided vital support for Scotland to welcome the world in 2014, with the staging of the Ryder Cup at Gleneagles and the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Since the SNP government backed the 'Daily Mile' challenge 180,000 children in over 1,000 of Scotland's primary schools now walk or run a mile each day.

98 per cent of primary and secondary schools across Scotland are now providing two hours of physical education a week ? up from 10 per cent in 2005.

Over ?162 million has been pumped into Scotland?s screen sector since 2007.

Over ?130 million has been invested in our cultural infrastructure - including the revamped National Museum of Scotland, National Portrait Gallery, and homes for our performing companies including National Theatre of Scotland and The Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

More than ?19 million of direct investment in Edinburgh?s major festivals since 2008.

?25 million for the Victoria and Albert Museum of Design in Dundee.

1.5 million opportunities have been created for young people to take part in music and youth arts in 2015.

?but there?s still much more we want to do. Together, we will continue to shape a fairer, more successful Scotland.

That enough for you?

Some of those were brought in by previous governments and the SNP have maintained inflation matching funding. So barely an achievement more just governing

Roxy Hearts

So will you stop voting if Scotland becomes independent?

You at least are honest about your priorities rather than pretending the SNP have all the answers.

They don't have all the answers but I believe they're doing their best with one hand tied behind their back. They try and balance the budget.

I would vote for who I think has the best and fairest policies. Equality and justice.

Some of those were brought in by previous governments and the SNP have maintained inflation matching funding. So barely an achievement more just governing

Remember this is the guy who wanted a tory majority so he'd be better off. Then demanded a list of all their achievements. Couldn't be bothered to Google what they'd done to make him better off but can Google, cut paste and post stupid pictures lifted from Nat sites. It's like engaging a 3 year old.

Space Mackerel

Amazing cut & paste job fishy, lift it straight from the Beano...did you?

Guan yersel pal, copy and paste from the main Tory website all you want?

I'll be waiting for this :)

Roxy Hearts

They represent people living in Scotland, they are Scots, they live and work in Scotland.

People just have different opinions on how we're governed and set up constitutionally. It's nothing to do with who "believes" more.

I understand what you mean. It's the way they go about it. Talking Scotland down and all they said during the election was indy ref 2. What policies did they have? I suppose Labour tried but made no difference to me as an ex Labour voter.

Mundell, Davidson and Dugdale insult our intelligence.

Especially given that the "Scottish" Tories ran on a one-policy-manifesto.

Those who voted for them should be reminded of their policies, specifically the ones that are responsible for killing innocent citizens.

This just goes in circles. Assuming their one policy was anti-independence the fact they picked up so many seats (in relative terms) tells you the mood of the nation. Sturgeon jumped in with indy ref2 and it all kicked off. Ironically indyref2 probably won the election (again in terms of seats) for the torries. Had those tory seats gone any other way May would be out on her erchie. It's a shambolic mess created by politicians one upmanship and self interest.

deesidejambo

This just goes in circles. Assuming their one policy was anti-independence the fact they picked up so many seats (in relative terms) tells you the mood of the nation. Sturgeon jumped in with indy ref2 and it all kicked off. Ironically indyref2 probably won the election (again in terms of seats) for the torries. Had those tory seats gone any other way May would be out on her erchie. It's a shambolic mess created by politicians one upmanship and self interest.

yup.

The Tory seats in Scotland all came thanks to Nicola shooting her load too quickly.

Now she is stuck with Indy2 which she will get pummelled on, leading to Independence being kicked out for a generation.

Nice one Nicola.

I'm not telling people who to vote for mate, just reminding those that voted for the tories should be reminded of their policies. Especially the ones that the SNP are forced to mitigate.

You do realise that if we were independent the welfare changes made since 2010 would be in place on independence and if you wanted to reverse them you'd need to spend funds and take them from elsewhere to correct them.

It's difficult to disagree with any of that.

And guess who'll suffer....won't be the 80k (or whatever they get) MPs. The mugs in the street trying to earn a living. SNP talking coalition. Torys and the DUP doing a deal. Sinn Fein kicking off. When the tory/dup alliance goes tits up no doubt another election will be called and Brexit will be all over the place. The rest of Europe must be pissing themselves.

Interestingly, it could also be said that some independence supporters gave Tories their gains in Scotland. 

It appears that many who back indy and voted SNP last time, opted for Corbyn and Labour - reducing the SNP vote even more and helping the Tories over the line. 

I'd be vary of suggesting that support for independence has collapsed. There's people who don't necessarily want a referendum, that would still vote yes if there was one. Similarly, the SNP only ever managed to get 11 seats at WM (in 1974!) until 2015, even when independence was higher in the polls. Yet they still managed to win a majority of seats and be the third biggest party in the UK (completely unthinkable only 3 years ago). 

My argument is that, if this were 2014 just hours after the referendum and somebody said, this is what will transpire over the next 3 years... I think the majority of independence supporters/SNP supporters would be pretty chuffed.