Maloney / Hibs - Lee Johnson appointed ( Merged )

• Replies 1.6k

• Sooks

• Rudy T

• Wee Mikey

5 minutes ago, briever said:

Anyone remember his time at Hearts?

Thought he was ok, wasn't much of a chance for anyone as we built towards absolute Vladness.

22 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Its a  different take on "Hibsing" things.    Just appoint anyone who once played for the Big Team.   

2 hours ago, Sooks said:

Is any one else starting to suspect that no body is interested in the job

Fixed it for you.

47 minutes ago, briever said:

Yes - thought he was treated very unfairly  (as were others) - signed given no chance to show what he could do and turfed out. May come back with a bit of a grudge, which could make it more fun

From Daily record at the time:

Lee Johnson has hinted his face did not fit with Hearts owner Vladimir Romanov.

Lee Johnson has hinted he was forced out of Hearts because his face did not fit with owner Vladimir Romanov.

The midfielder has been reunited with his father Gary at Bristol City, after only joining Hearts in January.

But Johnson was restricted to just five appearances for The Jambos and played just once after Graham Rix's departure as manager.

The 25-year-old admits it is a strange situation at Tynecastle and intimated players have to be favoured by Romanov to get selected.

"I think the situation at Hearts is unique and I will leave you to speculate about that," Johnson told the Daily Record.

"I think if I was Maradona, I wasn't going to play at Hearts.

"I was playing with a club at Champions League level and, to be honest, I felt I was good enough to play in the team, but for whatever reason I didn't."

And when quizzed on whether he would have played more often if Rix had stayed on, Johnson replied: "It depends if he was picking the team or not."

46 minutes ago, briever said:

I do he was okay actually but Rix brought him in at a time when Hartley Aguiar McCann Karipidis and Brellier among others were either all ready at the club or on their way …………… when he did play he looked decent but he was never going to get a regular slot 

Seem to remember Lee was a decent player back then and was fairly excited to have him with us. 

Another Romanov disaster. 

He's a rat if he joins them of course. 

1 hour ago, briever said:

Yeah, good player but looked tiny, he and Halkett were Rix signings IIRC and never got a fair crack of the whip.

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Yeah, good player but looked tiny, he and Halkett were Rix signings IIRC and never got a fair crack of the whip.

Hacket. Not you…

Apparently signing David Marshall, Gordon a much better keeper of course, but certainly a calibre above normal Hibs keepers. 

Got a feeling we're hearing all these names and it will be someone shite :D Mind when Ranieri was linked with us and we ended up with Rix? Similar, Keane, Johnson and will end up with some no-mark. Hopefully Fenlon mk 2. 

3 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Hacket. Not you…

:laugh2: oh aye that's the one, it didn't feel right. Lee looked a player but I don't remember much of Hacket

2 minutes ago, OTT said:

Apparently signing David Marshall, Gordon a much better keeper of course, but certainly a calibre above normal Hibs keepers. 

Got a feeling we're hearing all these names and it will be someone shite :D Mind when Ranieri was linked with us and we ended up with Rix? Similar, Keane, Johnson and will end up with some no-mark. Hopefully Fenlon mk 2. 

Marshall isn't that much better if at than Macey and Dabrowski. 

He's an average goalkeeper. Got the blooper in his game too. 

Batistuta87
3 hours ago, Sooks said:

Is any one else starting to suspect that no body of any real pedigree is interested in the job

Yup 🙋🏻

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

I count a normal Hibs keeper to be Zibi, Ma-Kalambay ect. Macey seems half decent, although he seems to have got progressively worse as their season's progressed. Don't know why they let the Israeli boy go, he was a pest to play against. 

Batistuta87
6 minutes ago, OTT said:

Definitely signing Marshall. 

Odd, considering they have no manager. 

1 minute ago, Batistuta87 said:

Definitely signing Marshall. 

Odd, considering they have no manager. 

I really hope they sign a stendel type that wants a sweeper keeper and this ends up a comical cock up :D 

46 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Rix's man 😉 

Easy goading option should he be daft enough to take the gig.

46 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Wee bit maroon tinted there is think. He's not Gordon but has had a brilliant career and a definite upgrade on what they have. Agree about the blooper in his game though. 

3 minutes ago, db211833 said:

Wee bit maroon tinted there is think. He's not Gordon but has had a brilliant career and a definite upgrade on what they have. Agree about the blooper in his game though. 

Definitely an upgrade imo. 

2 hours ago, briever said:

Yes, decent player.  Building a decent career as a manager as well. He could do well in Leith. Hope he doesn’t get the job. 

5 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Yes, decent player.  Building a decent career as a manager as well. He could do well in Leith. Hope he doesn’t get the job. 

Aye first name I have seen mentioned that looks decent.Hope it's not him

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

Yep, and his old man has an encyclopaedic knowledge of talent in the lower leagues in England so they could unearth some gems. 

I wanted Lee Johnson at Hearts after the Brora debacle I must admit. Glad Budge stood firm though 👍🏻

Kevin Thomson written all over that job. Cost cutting and a young manager Rangers come calling in a couple years to be their water boy and he will walk up the M8 over broken glass 😂😂 

10 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Yep, and his old man has an encyclopaedic knowledge of talent in the lower leagues in England so they could unearth some gems. 

Aye not just some random English lower league manager.Hiy actually knows the league and the type needed to do well here.

Lee Johnson?

From what I’ve seen, Alex Neil has done a great job in sorting out the mess he left behind at Sunderland. His teams can’t defend. 

21 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Dunno how serious it was but Mowbray is a far better manager than Johnson. 

colinmorewasgash
2 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Its a  different take on "Hibsing" things.    Just appoint anyone who once played for the Big Team.   

Wee Lee Johnson cannae ride the Pepsi max

8 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Has Billy Davies ruled Billy Davies out of the running yet 

😆

Oh dear.  Hibs went a whole 3 minutes before going 1-0 down.  😂😂😂😂😂

colinmorewasgash
1 hour ago, OTT said:

Hopefully we can just launch it from 50 yards 

b55e45f6af2cf58a9a8c4b9f60d8d3cd.jpeg.jpg

6 minutes ago, colinmorewasgash said:

Hopefully we can just launch it from 50 yards 

b55e45f6af2cf58a9a8c4b9f60d8d3cd.jpeg.jpg

*laughs in Kingsley* :D 

Should get Ozturk back and really give them the fear!!!

20 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

I’ve always rated Karl Robinson at Oxford and MKD tbh so hopefully not him 

They'll end up with Karl Pilkington.

Won’t matter who comes in Ron and his son and Kean will be the ones making the decisions.

35 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Dunno how serious it was but Mowbray is a far better manager than Johnson. 

Monkeyheid  will stay down south.Will wait it out and get another Championship or top League 1 side.He is now firmly part of the English league managerial merry go round 

2 hours ago, OTT said:

Don't know why they let the Israeli boy go, he was a pest to play against. 

Because Feyenoord signed him.

It does appear that a lot of managers are looking at them but the closer they get and realise what they will actually get to control, they quickly change their mind,

9 minutes ago, Darren said:

Because Feyenoord signed him.

They'd tried to replace him several times whilst he was there though - Bogdan, Maxwell etc. 

17 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Jesus Christ 🙈

76351542-CDB7-40D5-AF0A-A109EE9589BF.jpeg

Need to save that for when the inevitable happens

23 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Jesus Christ 🙈

I guess maybe he means better than James Tavernier was when he played in league 2. When he signs for Stirling Albion on loan from his loan at Hibs which is more this lads level. Tbh give it a few years and Hibs will be at that level 

1 hour ago, PTBCAL said:

I’ve always rated Karl Robinson at Oxford and MKD tbh so hopefully not him 

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

The Hibs player of the year awards dinner is apparently on 15th May. 🤣🤣🤣

That would be absolutely fantastic to watch. 
Flair football and all that jazz being celebrated no doubt

Edited by 1971fozzy

1 minute ago, 1971fozzy said:

The Hibs player of the year awards dinner is apparently on 15th May. 🤣🤣🤣

That would be absolutely fantastic to watch. 
Flair football and all that jazz being celebrated no doubt

Especially when they have the embarrassment of having to give it to a player who left in January. I don’t doubt he’ll tell Sauzee to receive and dispose of it on his behalf!

22games nro

They are quite rightly going tonto  over there

This particular one left me feeling "fuzzy’

"I usually have the greenest of tinted specs but this Hibs team has sucked the life right out of me, zero redeeming qualities in this squad, absolutely clueless gimps"

😎😎🍿🍿

colinmorewasgash
53 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Jesus Christ 🙈

Wow what drugs are they on down there and scudded 3 1 by scumdee tonight.Are they now sponsor near enough bantercard. What a deluded bunch they are from ron the con to players to fans.

• davemclaren changed the title to Maloney / Hibs - Lee Johnson appointed ( Merged )