Won the Championship by 12 Points (title updated)

wattie exploited

8 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

The ironic thing is these folk expect us to compete with celtic and rangers and are the first to go tonto at the team if we are humped by them. 

Their logic only works one way for them. 

The kind of people that described Saturdays match as “probably the worst half of football we’ve played this season”? I do expect us to compete with the uglies, at home especially but they can give you a doing without getting out of second gear at times. It’s usually a good judge of where you are and if your team are capable of a decent challenge. For instance we’ve had an awful record in Glasgow for the last decade but did reasonably well for us anyway the decade before.
You only have to look down to Leith to see you can do well against the uglies just now, Celtic haven’t beaten them there for something like 6 years (half of that in our league). I don’t think they’ve had a proper doing off either for a while. 

ps I think “going tonto” could be classed as racist nowadays for future reference, I know you didn’t it mean it to be. 

• Replies 1.3k

• jr ewing

8 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

You could even argue that the Dundee 6-2 win made teams realise quickly that defensively is the way to go. Dundee tried to go out attack and were badly burned by it, next game we go to Arbroath and they play very defensively and we only win 1-0.

Both teams naturally play that way though, it worked for Dundee at home against us and nearly did again 9 days ago. I think if teams press us for a while when we’re frustrated it works and they will get chances, risk and reward. 

2 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Or your playing in the worst championship in living memory with the same gap in budget 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️?

There probably is a similar gap in budget between us and the rest and Celtic/Rangers and the rest, and we're winning the league by a lot of points just like they do.

50 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Not said with ease, just not as laboured and losing 3 drawing 3. The manager knows this league and it knows him, needlessly negative. 
As for spending the most, Pep said recently it’s why his squad  is full of great players and it’s why the top teams dominate in every league. I think he knows his stuff. 

Last time I looked we were dominating the league we're in.

16 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Both teams naturally play that way though, it worked for Dundee at home against us and nearly did again 9 days ago. I think if teams press us for a while when we’re frustrated it works and they will get chances, risk and reward. 

I hope more teams will try to attack us. We'll get to watch better games and will still win. Of course sometimes teams put together good performances against us as they have this season. As someone else said, it's a like a cup tie against a lower league team every week for us, except in the cup games teams actually try to win more often because they have to. And as that person said, do we always dominate those cup games and skoosh it by 3 or 4 goals? No.

40 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

The ironic thing is these folk expect us to compete with celtic and rangers and are the first to go tonto at the team if we are humped by them. 

Their logic only works one way for them. 

They also talk about wanting us to adopt an OF mindset, which traditionally means winning even when playing badly just like we are. I mean the OF win games by the odd late goal against vastly inferior opposition multiple times every season.

3 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Last time I looked we were dominating the league we're in.

We are, but not with style. 

2 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Also, while we're being compared to Man City...they've drawn 5 and lost 3.

NOT GOOD ENOUGH PEP!!!

Indeed, keeps dropping my fantasy players, Mad Pep oot. 

4 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I hope more teams will try to attack us. We'll get to watch better games and will still win. Of course sometimes teams put together good performances against us as they have this season. As someone else said, it's a like a cup tie against a lower league team every week for us, except in the cup games teams actually try to win more often because they have to. And as that person said, do we always dominate those cup games and skoosh it by 3 or 4 goals? No.

Not sure if that bears examination, when the Pars/Dundee/Raith did this we lost. 
It would make for a better spectacle, as long as the manager has his big boy pants on and doesn’t panic after 65 minutes and make defensive subs at home. 
It’s a good point about cup games, we do usually score a few goals and play well in the majority of them, not so much the LC but those results are used to defend the incumbent in the dug out. 
It’s still possible to play well and create chances against teams that defend on the edge of their own box, a struggling Celtic did it in the final for instance. 

6 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

We are, but not with style. 

Indeed, keeps dropping my fantasy players, Mad Pep oot. 

How do you play with style against 10-man defences? You appear to know the secret. Or maybe Pep has some words of wisdom on that?

14 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

There probably is a similar gap in budget between us and the rest and Celtic/Rangers and the rest, and we're winning the league by a lot of points just like they do.

A struggling Celtic are 13 points ahead of Hibs and Rangers 33 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️😆?!?!

9 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

They also talk about wanting us to adopt an OF mindset, which traditionally means winning even when playing badly just like we are. I mean the OF win games by the odd late goal against vastly inferior opposition multiple times every season.

I touched on that on another thread, my mate goes home and away following Celtic and has always said more often than not it's exactly like Hearts games just now.

Folk need to get over themselves.

3 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Not sure if that bears examination, when the Pars/Dundee/Raith did this we lost. 
It would make for a better spectacle, as long as the manager has his big boy pants on and doesn’t panic after 65 minutes and make defensive subs at home. 
It’s a good point about cup games, we do usually score a few goals and play well in the majority of them, not so much the LC but those results are used to defend the incumbent in the dug out. 
It’s still possible to play well and create chances against teams that defend on the edge of their own box, a struggling Celtic did it in the final for instance. 

This simply isn't true 🤣 We do sometimes, just like sometimes this season we've scored a lot of goals and played well. We also frequently lose to lower league opposition in the cup or scrape through by the odd goal. And we ARE creating lots of chances, even against teams that defend on the edge of the box like Ayr and others have. We could easily have won by 7 on Saturday! Their goalie had about 3 very good saves and we missed at least two easy chances.

Our problem has mainly been finishing and our final ball in terms of our lack of goals in some recent games.

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

How do you play with style against 10-man defences? You appear to know the secret. Or maybe Pep has some words of wisdom on that?

Hahahahaha you really are clueless, you think City don’t play with style against ten man defences nearly every week? You don’t have to be in loads of space to play good passes, make good runs, put in quality crosses or hit great shots. Helps when you do it at a quicker pace too. 

2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

This simply isn't true 🤣 We do sometimes, just like sometimes this season we've scored a lot of goals and played well. We also frequently lose to lower league opposition in the cup or scrape through by the odd goal.

Go and look at the stats, this year we have won all our lc home cup games relatively easily and then lost away to Alloa who are in our league. The odd bad result doesn’t hide that.

4 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

A struggling Celtic are 13 points ahead of Hibs and Rangers 33 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️😆?!?!

Kind of proving my point. How far ahead are we? Celtic won the league by 9 points in 17/18 and 18/19. They don't always skoosh it. How much more than us had Rangers and Hibs spent on their squads in 14/15? 

And I don't actually believe the financial gap between us and say Dundee and Dunfermline is as big as between us and Celtic and Rangers, especially when you factor in transfer fees to what they pay for their squads. And of course most teams, especially at their home grounds, don't park the bus against Celtic and Rangers the way teams in this league are doing with us this season. Some like Hamilton might, but not most.

10 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Hahahahaha you really are clueless, you think City don’t play with style against ten man defences nearly every week? You don’t have to be in loads of space to play good passes, make good runs, put in quality crosses or hit great shots. Helps when you do it at a quicker pace too. 

I'm not a fan of the EPL but do watch games and, no, teams don't play against them the way teams are playing against us. But maybe being able to sign the best players in the world could also have a wee effect in Pep land?

5 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Go and look at the stats, this year we have won all our lc home cup games relatively easily and then lost away to Alloa who are in our league. The odd bad result doesn’t hide that.

I don't need to. I've watched Hearts for 3 decades. I know exactly what cup games against lower league opposition are like and what a minefield they are. And that's when the lower league team usually comes at us a bit more, which they're not this season aside from a few games. If they did, we'd be winning by more, which is why they're not.

7 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Tbh you're hardly covering yourself on much glory yourself, comparing us to Man City.

Wonder if Pep has sent his scouts up to take a look at McEneff yet?

9 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

you just have to have good players, at a level which don’t exist in Scotland.

2 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Tbh you're hardly covering yourself on much glory yourself, comparing us to Man City.

McEneff is not Man City quality, which reflects VERY badly on Neilson's recruitment.

2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Kind of proving my point. How far ahead are we? Celtic won the league by 9 points in 17/18 and 18/19. They don't always skoosh it. How much more than us had Rangers and Hibs spent on their squads in 14/15? 

And I don't actually believe the financial gap between us and say Dundee and Dunfermline is as big as between us and Celtic and Rangers, especially when you factor in transfer fees to what they pay for their squads. And of course most teams, especially at their home grounds, don't park the bus against Celtic and Rangers the way teams in this league are doing with us this season. Some like Hamilton might, but not most.

It’s proving mines as well as Celtic are struggling and well ahead of Hibs. I think most teams do park the bus against them. Not many teams press them the way the Pars and Dundee did in their home games. The uglies more often than not create good chances from good play. 

5 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

We could talk about any team top of their league, who face teams that pack their defence. 

All this talk about pep, is another good example of the board not having a knee jerk reaction and sacking someone and getting the benefits after. 

He could easily have been sacked last season. 

4 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

you just have to have good players, at a level which don’t exist in Scotland.

When you have a budget of over £8m a year you surely should have far better players than part time teams and those that have less than a quarter of your budget. We do but it doesn’t quite equate to performances. 

11 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I'm not a fan of the EPL but do watch games and, no, teams don't play against them the way teams are playing against us.

Hahahahaha should’ve went to spec savers, they dominate possession every game as we do yet create a lot more with class and style against teams who have comparable budgets to our league. 

13 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I don't need to. I've watched Hearts for 3 decades. I know exactly what cup games against lower league opposition are like and what a minefield they are.

When you’ve watched them for 6 decades you might crave better football and success, probably not though.

The phrase "going tonto" is racist? 

I can't be A-Lone in this being news to me. 

😜

****ing hell, I like the term pant wetting or slavering anyway.

Just now, Smith's right boot said:

The phrase "going tonto is racist"? 

I can't be A-Lone in this being news to me. 

😜

****ing hell, I like the term pant wetting or slavering anyway.

Look it up. Maybe you don’t care about it after all. 

12 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

What you moaning about the day Big Yin?

4 minutes ago, sadj said:

My specialist subject, clueless happy clapping Hearts fans and their acceptance of mediocrity. 
That particular comment was an old saying that might not stand up to scrutiny in today’s world “going tonto” can be construed as using a racial stereotype. I enjoyed the recent Lone Ranger film but it was controversial to say the least. 

24 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

When you have a budget of over £8m a year you surely should have far better players than part time teams and those that have less than a quarter of your budget. We do but it doesn’t quite equate to performances. 

Hearts have an 8million a year budget. 

Is that what you are saying ? 

I'd like to see the figures on that one 🤔

15 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Hahahahaha should’ve went to spec savers, they dominate possession every game as we do yet create a lot more with class and style against teams who have comparable budgets to our league. 

Budgets again...

What you fail to take into account is that the standard of player you get for 500-1000 per week isn't a million miles off a 2000-3000 player per week. Compare that between players at Man City vs players at Sheff Utd. Talk budgets all you want but if you can't grasp that point, you never will.

While we're comparing Man City to Hearts like you obviously seem to like doing.

Points Per Game

Hearts - 2.25

Man City - 2.36

Goals Per Game

Hearts - 2.4

Man City - 2.1

Avg Possession

Hearts - 61%

Man City - 64%

Shots Per Game

Hearts - 14

Man City - 16

Interesting...

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Another made up figure.

21 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I did, no mention of it being racist. 

Don't tell me what I care about either, as mentioned I'll use pant wetters or slavering. 

Settle the **** down. 

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Last year we had a £8.7m budget, Budge said recently it hadn’t changed much this season. We’ve signed 11 players and paid a fee for one, sold a few too. 

3 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Budgets again...

What you fail to take into account is that the standard of player you get for 500-1000 per week isn't a million miles off a 2000-3000 player per week. Compare that between players at Man City vs players at Sheff Utd. Talk budgets all you want but if you can't grasp that point, you never will.

While we're comparing Man City to Hearts like you obviously seem to like doing.

Points Per Game

Hearts - 2.25

Man City - 2.36

Goals Per Game

Hearts - 2.4

Man City - 2.1

Avg Possession

Hearts - 61%

Man City - 64%

Shots Per Game

Hearts - 14

Man City - 16

Interesting...

Good stats, what you and others fail to accept is the paucity of our rivals. Similar in many ways so why are people saying it’s so different? Did you see the nick of Ayrs striker on Saturday, looked a steward or a coach. Their first sub looked like an fan picked up on the way to the ground. 
I think City fans are happier than ours. 

8 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Another made up figure.

It’s not, im not apologising for knowing more than you. What other figures have I made up?

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

Good stats, what you and others fail to accept is the paucity of our rivals. Similar in many ways so why are people saying it’s so different? Did you see the nick of Ayrs striker on Saturday, looked a steward or a coach. Their first sub looked like an fan picked up on the way to the ground. 
I think City fans are happier than ours. 

Ah right so it's ok to compare budgets but when we actually produce similar results your attentions turn to the "paucity of our rivals".

You're all over the place. Enjoy your night.

10 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

I did, no mention of it being racist. 

Don't tell me what I care about either, as mentioned I'll use pant wetters or slavering. 

Settle the **** down. 

I’m cool as a cucumber.
Using outdated cultural stereotypes could be construed as racist in today’s society was my point. I know you’re not a racist or would use racist terms. The furore over the recent Lone Ranger film alludes to this. 

10 minutes ago, sadj said:

Going tonto is racist. 

1 minute ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Ah right so it's ok to compare budgets but when we actually produce similar results your attentions turn to the "paucity of our rivals".

You're all over the place. Enjoy your night.

Hahahahaha I agreed with you, they’re really similar yet City play with pace, style and panache compared to us. I was also going to say enjoy your night 😆👍🏽

2 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I’m cool as a cucumber.
Using outdated cultural stereotypes could be construed as racist in today’s society was my point. I know you’re not a racist or would use racist terms. The furore over the recent Lone Ranger film alludes to this. 

There was a furore of the Lone ranger film! 

Is it not fiction? 

****ing hell, every day is an education. 

Pant wetters and slavering goons it is then. 

26 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

My specialist subject, clueless happy clapping Hearts fans and their acceptance of mediocrity. 
That particular comment was an old saying that might not stand up to scrutiny in today’s world “going tonto” can be construed as using a racial stereotype. I enjoyed the recent Lone Ranger film but it was controversial to say the least. 

The recent lone ranger film? Wasn’t aware there was one. 

2 hours ago, DH1986 said:

To those going on about us struggling to break down teams when they have a defensive set-up.....

Where do you stand regarding the matches we’ve played against teams who’ve attacked us ? There hasn’t been all that many to be fair and yet we lost 3 of them. 

We were 3 down at home to Raith ffs.....a team who’d trained once in a fortnight. 

Maybe it's better to view games where we went three goals down as rare exceptions?

In all his games in charge, including first time round, how often has a Neilson team been three goals down? 

In any case, Raith's second goal was a debatable penalty (Smith was first to the ball) and their third was scored with a hand. 

1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

There was a furore of the Lone ranger film! 

Is it not fiction? 

****ing hell, every day is an education. 

Pant wetters and slavering goons it is then. 

Yes I only realised when I looked it up today.https://www.indianz.com/News/2013/06/03/opinion-blatant-racism-in-tont.asp

https://www.mic.com/articles/51443/tonto-racist-lone-ranger-johnny-depp-character-understandably-offends-native-americans

It seems going tonto is a Scottish term.

Maybe come up with some other terms in case you offend the incontinent or those with abnormal mouths 😱🙈. You could instead say 
Dogs - delusion of grandeur or Hues  - High unachievable expectations 😆😂🤪?!?!

• davemclaren changed the title to Won the Championship by 12 Points (title updated)