Hearts transfers (Cochrane goes on loan to Montrose)

dazajmbo

Kenneth Dubeke
8 minutes ago, LarrysRightFoot said:

Injury prone? Welcome to Tynecastle Stephen!

44 appearances in 3 years 

• Replies 15.6k

• Cruyff

2 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Yeah Jackson Irvine would be a very sensible signing indeed 🤞🏻 

Not a chance. 

LarrysRightFoot
9 minutes ago, Kenneth Dubeke said:

Pretty decent by our standards 

19 minutes ago, Kenneth Dubeke said:

For a good team too. People are downplaying this one, it's terrific business if he signs as the EEN have pointed out 

4 hours ago, Vlad the impaler said:

I was expecting a lot more for a current internationalist. Worries me that Budge is undervaluing our players even if we want rid 

Unfortunately due to Covid 19 it’s a buyers market. Lots of excess players kicking about this summer. Won’t be a lot of big transfer fee moves this summer except in epl. 

Kenneth Dubeke
1 minute ago, rudi must stay said:

For a good team too. People are downplaying this one, it's terrific business if he signs as the EEN have pointed out 

Sure. If he's fit. If he's not it follows a well trodden unsuccessful path 

Rick Sanchez

Connor Washington move to Charlton off for now? Charlton under a transfer embargo and their prospective new owners have failed a fit and proper test.

5 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Unfortunately due to Covid 19 it’s a buyers market. Lots of excess players kicking about this summer. Won’t be a lot of big transfer fee moves this summer except in epl. 

It’s a good point. We’ll be adding new faces so I’m sure it’ll even out. Maybe get guys that could’ve cost us more (or more in wages) normally.  

1 hour ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Looks like they have been set at 1.5m and 2.5m a year. Cant see there being many players that will now free up for us 

Don’t apply until summer 2021 though. 

1 hour ago, Rick Sanchez said:

I'm no mathematician but 2.5m a year is about 35k a week for an entire squad. League Two even less.

It’s for a squad of 20 senior pro’s so that’s £2.5k per week per player. Means that we should be competitive with nearly all league 1 clubs. 

23 hours ago, DC_92 said:

Not sure when Nicholson did that either to be fair. He's talking about this goal. I think you might be thinking or Gordon Smith?

Nah, me being a numpty - I meant Templeton, lol! 

Though Nicolson did score a peach against them at Tynie! 

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

True.

If they have a squad of around 28 player you are probably looking at around £2k/week average. We can beat that all day long for the right player!

Absolutely. 

19 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

Connor Washington move to Charlton off for now? Charlton under a transfer embargo and their prospective new owners have failed a fit and proper test.

Aye, move to Charlton must certainly be off. 

8 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

Aye, move to Charlton must certainly be off. 

You would imagine it is. Though I am sure there will be other clubs Washington is speaking to.

Glad we're looking at this lad:

_90273611_mediaitem90273608.jpg

I never did get over the loss of Tynie and Teenie Tiger.

9 minutes ago, tian447 said:

Glad we're looking at this lad:

_90273611_mediaitem90273608.jpg

I never did get over the loss of Tynie and Teenie Tiger.

Looks like a good backup goalie!  Hands out and a big napper.  Unbeatable.

Tennant's  6's
35 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

You would imagine it is. Though I am sure there will be other clubs Washington is speaking to.

Fingers crossed, the more high, or even low, earners that don't want to be here, or who Robbie & Andy Kirk don't rate, that we can offload, the better. 

Glad a bit of realism is returning to the English lower leagues. Some of the utterly utterly gash little village teams that take players from us or outbid us by offering them multiples of what we can afford is nauseating. You then have a wee look at their ground and attendances and you just shake your head in disbelief. 

21 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

Salary cap vote is being taken to arbitration by the PFA :laugh:

Spoilt bairns.

BackOfTheNet

Had a slight hope a scarf may be above the head when the posts started today. Seemingly no closer to that. Shame.

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

Yes, read that now however on BBC 5Live at 2.30 they said clubs would be given a grace period this summer to bring players in. Clearly they got it wrong. Original proposal was for this summers window to be the last free for all but some clubs injected to that and that was why a number of clubs moved quickly when the window opened eg Bristol Rovers and Sam N. 

2 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

They have a few days left to sign players before the cap is introduced. 

Think it’s immediate so Washington’s move is almost certainly off. Might be difficult to shift him, Smith and Damour now unless it’s championship clubs that come calling. £4/5k pw  probably too rich for most league 1 clubs now. 

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

Absolutely. 

The cap in both leagues covers up to 20 players over the age of 21. Clubs can have as many u21’s as they want and their salaries are not included in the cap. 

11 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Think it’s immediate so Washington’s move is almost certainly off. Might be difficult to shift him, Smith and Damour now unless it’s championship clubs that come calling. £4/5k pw  probably too rich for most league 1 clubs now. 

don’t think they will be on 4/5k pw now.. think (hope) most had a relegation clause

15 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

The players all took a pay cut so won’t be on these figures now though?

Kingsley if fit would be a great signing. The boy is in a tricky spot, relegated with Hull who have released him, salary cap in English lower leagues, injury record will put off English championship and not many teams in Scotland with cash to flung at him. Confident if we want him enough we will sign him. 

Kenneth Dubeke
3 minutes ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

The players all took a pay cut so won’t be on these figures now though?

When the wage bill is £9M it stands to reason that a few are on a chunk of change. 

29 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Yes, read that now however on BBC 5Live at 2.30 they said clubs would be given a grace period this summer to bring players in. Clearly they got it wrong. Original proposal was for this summers window to be the last free for all but some clubs injected to that and that was why a number of clubs moved quickly when the window opened eg Bristol Rovers and Sam N. 

No they’ve had their grace period, it ended today, hence Nicholson signing for Rovers and Clare to Oxford.

30 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Well that and as you pointed out earlier Charlton hadn’t had their ban lifted. Can’t see a Championship club paying money for either when they could’ve got them for nothing last summer. 

34 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

The cap in both leagues covers up to 20 players over the age of 21. Clubs can have as many u21’s as they want and their salaries are not included in the cap. 

I read the 20 player bit in an article but not in the EFL statement, it mentions U21s. https://www.efl.com/news/2020/august/squad-salary-caps-introduced-in-league-one-and-league-two/

Will be ways round the cap, surely? If they really want a player employ their wife as a marking executive at 100k a year, sell a club house to him that is worth 250k for 25k, buy him new BMW cars for the next 10 years at one every two years etc.  You just need to get creative.

Edited by joondalupjambo

Washington would be mad to move to Charlton in their circumstances

Ownership not clear nor funds to complete sale claimed earlier this year..takeover rejected by EFL

'Owners business occupied by fans' wanting to know truth

Prospective new Charlton owner Paul Elliott and lawyer Chris Farnell have both had their applications to take over the League One club rejected by the English Football League.

In a statement released on Friday, the EFL said three individuals were "subject to a disqualifying condition".

BBC Sport understands Elliott and Farnell are two of the three.

The precise reason for the decision is not known. However, it is understood that EFL officials have been trying to get proof of funding from East Street Investments, the company that bought Charlton from Roland Duchatelet in January.

ESI was originally owned by Tahnoon Nimer and Matt Southall but after the pair fell out and Nimer refused to put any more funding into the club, Elliott stepped in to buy it in June. However, in a court case the following month, Farnell admitted the sale had still not been completed.

Farnell's status has been the subject of increasing scrutiny amongst Charlton fans.

Police had to be called to his offices in Hale on Friday after a number of supporters gained entry and demanded answers about the running of the club. No arrests were made, although it was reported after the fans had been moved on that some pushing and shoving had taken place.

Former Southampton manager Dave Jones was in the office at the time discussing a role at Charlton, although it is understood it would not involve replacing any current members of staff.

BBC Sport has also established the Solicitors' Regulation Authority is investigating a complaint made about Farnell.

It is understood that allegations have been made that Farnell has conflict of interest by acting on behalf of both parties in the potential sale of the club.

Farnell has said on social media that the "accusation is not true". The SRA has indicated it could decide 'to commence a formal investigation which could lead to sanctions or restrictions' or it could choose 'to not take any formal action at this time'.

BBC Sport has been told Farnell's stake in Charlton would be minimal, that he and Elliott regard the EFL's decision as being related to a technical breach and an appeal has already been submitted.

Should the appeal not be successful, it would put Charlton and the EFL in a difficult position given the owners of the club would have no authority to run it on a day-to-day basis.

In their statement, the EFL said: "Every submission under the Owners' and Directors' Test is reviewed by the EFL using a variety of sources including external databases, and in appropriate cases, the EFL commissions external providers to conduct more detailed research."

Earlier on Friday, before the EFL decision was released, the Charlton Athletic Supporters Trust wrote to Elliot and urged him to "come clean" and explain why he had not met EFL regulations.

"We don't demand the release of commercially sensitive detail but surely, we deserve better than the fog of bland and empty reassurance that is all we have been offered so far," the letter said.

1 hour ago, soonbe110 said:

You got it wrong so just admit it...you were told a few days ago it was for next season and told us that was wrong

Is this a fake news report for no one else can seem to find this at 2.30pm ?

11 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Will be ways round the cap, surely? If they really want a player employ their wife as a marking executive at 100k a year, sell a club house to him that is worth 250k for 25k, buy him new BMW cars for the next 10 years at one every two years etc.  You just need to get creative.

Sounds like Vlad paying a portion of some players wages to their bank account in Luxembourg to minimise their declared UK income tax liabilities (allegedly of course). 

9 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Washington would be mad to move to Charlton in their circumstances

Ownership not clear nor funds to complete sale claimed earlier this year..takeover rejected by EFL

'Owners business occupied by fans' wanting to know truth

Prospective new Charlton owner Paul Elliott and lawyer Chris Farnell have both had their applications to take over the League One club rejected by the English Football League.

In a statement released on Friday, the EFL said three individuals were "subject to a disqualifying condition".

BBC Sport understands Elliott and Farnell are two of the three.

The precise reason for the decision is not known. However, it is understood that EFL officials have been trying to get proof of funding from East Street Investments, the company that bought Charlton from Roland Duchatelet in January.

ESI was originally owned by Tahnoon Nimer and Matt Southall but after the pair fell out and Nimer refused to put any more funding into the club, Elliott stepped in to buy it in June. However, in a court case the following month, Farnell admitted the sale had still not been completed.

Farnell's status has been the subject of increasing scrutiny amongst Charlton fans.

Police had to be called to his offices in Hale on Friday after a number of supporters gained entry and demanded answers about the running of the club. No arrests were made, although it was reported after the fans had been moved on that some pushing and shoving had taken place.

Former Southampton manager Dave Jones was in the office at the time discussing a role at Charlton, although it is understood it would not involve replacing any current members of staff.

BBC Sport has also established the Solicitors' Regulation Authority is investigating a complaint made about Farnell.

It is understood that allegations have been made that Farnell has conflict of interest by acting on behalf of both parties in the potential sale of the club.

Farnell has said on social media that the "accusation is not true". The SRA has indicated it could decide 'to commence a formal investigation which could lead to sanctions or restrictions' or it could choose 'to not take any formal action at this time'.

BBC Sport has been told Farnell's stake in Charlton would be minimal, that he and Elliott regard the EFL's decision as being related to a technical breach and an appeal has already been submitted.

Should the appeal not be successful, it would put Charlton and the EFL in a difficult position given the owners of the club would have no authority to run it on a day-to-day basis.

In their statement, the EFL said: "Every submission under the Owners' and Directors' Test is reviewed by the EFL using a variety of sources including external databases, and in appropriate cases, the EFL commissions external providers to conduct more detailed research."

Earlier on Friday, before the EFL decision was released, the Charlton Athletic Supporters Trust wrote to Elliot and urged him to "come clean" and explain why he had not met EFL regulations.

"We don't demand the release of commercially sensitive detail but surely, we deserve better than the fog of bland and empty reassurance that is all we have been offered so far," the letter said.

This in spades. Following Charlton's misfortunes down here in South London and they are a basket case. Supporters have all but given up hope of getting out of this mess. Just hoping that Ron leads the Hibs down this road....

Sad times for Charlton fans but CW must be relieved that he didn't sign for a club who may be in administration before the end of the month.

Hopefully his agent can find him a move as he will have "mentally" left us and probably no longer wants to be here.

Sort of fecks us up too if we had plans for his freed up wages.

Tennant's  6's
2 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Please tell me that we’re trying our hardest to get Berra off the payroll?

Yeah, wasnt impressed with him at all last season, not just his 'performances ' on the park, but the allegedly buggering off from training asap and showing no leadership or responsibility whatsoever. 

Sadly, Robbie seems to rate him & Walker.

Whether he can get a tune out of them is another matter 

Rick Sanchez
4 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Doesn't appear so, Robbie said he's part of his plans. When does his contract expire? He'll be fine in the championship but after that...na.

Kenneth Dubeke
1 minute ago, Rick Sanchez said:

Doesn't appear so, Robbie said he's part of his plans. When does his contract expire? He'll be fine in the championship but after that...na.

Next summer. He was terrible last season. Really dreadful. Which is a shame as pre injury he was as good as anything in Scotland 

8 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

why would we do that? Absolutely perfect for the championship. Dundee’s best player by an absolute mile.

1 hour ago, Jambo92 said:

Kingsley if fit would be a great signing. The boy is in a tricky spot, relegated with Hull who have released him, salary cap in English lower leagues, injury record will put off English championship and not many teams in Scotland with cash to flung at him. Confident if we want him enough we will sign him. 

Agreed ... 🤭

20200807_182945.jpg

17 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Was a fierce critic of Berra last season but given how well he done at Dundee it’s hard to argue against him. Would love us to sign the next Christophe Berra and give hi, a season in the championship but players under contract are going to be given priority. 

Rick Sanchez
7 minutes ago, Kenneth Dubeke said:

Next summer. He was terrible last season. Really dreadful. Which is a shame as pre injury he was as good as anything in Scotland 

It is a shame, even more so as he put his body on the line to prevent a Celtic goal. He's probably on a decent wage but it'd be nice to see him get a decent cheerio at the end of this season.

11 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

why would we do that? Absolutely perfect for the championship. Dundee’s best player by an absolute mile.

Because he’s probably one of our highest earners, he’s finished after the injury he got against Celtic. He’s been woeful ever since.

i hate this “he’ll be fine in the championship “ chat, he’s on premiership wages. Get rid of him.

40 minutes ago, stuart500 said:

Sad times for Charlton fans but CW must be relieved that he didn't sign for a club who may be in administration before the end of the month.

Hopefully his agent can find him a move as he will have "mentally" left us and probably no longer wants to be here.

Sort of fecks us up too if we had plans for his freed up wages.

Another player caught up in the Charlton saga..oh and note though the ignorance of the English media re Washington..it's as if he never left QPR...The other player is from MK Dons and you never know maybe Robbie knows of him (MK DONS PLAYER OF THE YEAR 2018/19 and 19/20)and played under him for a short while...as good a reason as any to start a bit of speculation

This though means Alex Gilbey's move to The Valley may have to be put on hold, should the appeal be lodged, or could indeed be withdrawn entirely, along with a deal Charlton allegedly had in place to sign Conor Washington from QPR.

Edited by CJGJ

5 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Because he’s probably one of our highest earners, he’s finished after the injury he got against Celtic. He’s been woeful ever since.

i hate this “he’ll be fine in the championship “ chat, he’s on premiership wages. Get rid of him.

Budge had alluded to relegation clauses in folks contracts. Who it applies to I don't know, but would assume means safe cuts.

So possible Berra won't be on premiership wages.

3 minutes ago, Boris said:

Budge had alluded to relegation clauses in folks contracts. Who it applies to I don't know, but would assume means safe cuts.

So possible Berra won't be on premiership wages.

That’s fair enough, I still think it’s time to move him on.