Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

1 minute ago, the general said:

Any good guesses as to what tier Edinburgh might end up in?

5 Gorgie, 1in Lochend

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

18 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes mate ! No freedoms or rights were just Giving , they had to be fought for . Well

done 

So what you are saying is we should be taking to the streets and attacking any UK businesses, tearing down the UJs and declaring UDI. Sounds good, glad to have you on board.

Meanwhile, in the real world, we will go on convincing the people of Scotland that independence is the reality now. No need for any violence, just a peaceful transition to a normal country

16 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

When someone says, and this was why I quoted verbatim “which of course we think should go further” that’s not a fact that’s an opinion.  

Most people believe that, Sunak has changed his opinion once again but has only promised English companies whatever they need, but had refused to back the rest of the dis U.K. you probably missed that bit. 
As you’ve ignored the bit about how Scotland can’t borrow it’s a fact, political or not and is a valid reason whether folk like it or not. 
Is Sturgeon slightly hypocritical? Probably, she said she will try not to make it political but doing these daily briefings and keeping on top of her job she is streets ahead of that lazy shambles of a man that has to struggle by on £150k a year. 

8 minutes ago, the general said:

Can’t see it being different from now where we are in 3. 

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Currently at Level 'Beyond Caring' in the Jonesy household. It overlaps with Level 'Largely doing as we please'.

😀       You're on the right lines .....if this tier thingy is going  down to council level, why not go all the way down to individual household level.     Maybe it should be at football club & supporter level - St.Midden now approaching tier 5  ☺️ 

1 hour ago, graygo said:

Why is level zero not "everything back to normal"?

Becuse she has no intention of ever letting that happen.

1 hour ago, graygo said:

Why is level zero not "everything back to normal"?

Presumably because if everything gets back to normal we won't have a tier system any more.

7 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said:

Anybody any idea at what level an election is permitted?

Tier 6. Currently being used in north Korea. 

40 minutes ago, weehammy said:

Does that mean we can have a pope?

32 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

In keeping with  The SNP's record on education, kids now need 6 fingers to count to 5

19 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Currently at Level 'Beyond Caring' in the Jonesy household. It overlaps with Level 'Largely doing as we please'.

17 minutes ago, the general said:

Whichever one Glasgow is in.

Brighton Jambo
17 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Most people believe that, Sunak has changed his opinion once again but has only promised English companies whatever they need, but had refused to back the rest of the dis U.K. you probably missed that bit. 
As you’ve ignored the bit about how Scotland can’t borrow it’s a fact, political or not and is a valid reason whether folk like it or not. 
Is Sturgeon slightly hypocritical? Probably, she said she will try not to make it political but doing these daily briefings and keeping on top of her job she is streets ahead of that lazy shambles of a man that has to struggle by on £150k a year. 

Just because you think most people believe that doesn’t make it a fact.  It’s still an opinion.  

I agree that he point about borrowing Is a fact but the way it was raised and positioned felt very political.

Anyway let’s not disagree any further, you have said that Nicola Sturgeon is hypocritical and I agree so let’s leave it at that.   

Edited by Brighton Jambo

6 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Whichever one Glasgow is in.

Yep, despite the rate being 3 times the rate of Lothian. Shambles.

12 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Presumably because if everything gets back to normal we won't have a tier system any more.

Just seems to me that it would make sense to always have the system in place. Will make it easier to implement next time it's needed.

Apparently from reading document level 2-3 are only meant to last two weeks to a month !!

Edited by steve123

43 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Can’t see it being different from now where we are in 3. 

There isn’t enough levels if she thinks our current numbers should put us in level 3. 

1 hour ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Anyone who says these daily briefs are not political should watch the last ten minutes.  

1-  When talking about the recent changes to the help for business yesterday she says almost as an afterthought and without any detail that and I quote ‘which of course we think should go further’.  

2- She then threatens Scottish businesses with a withdrawal of funding at a later date due to Scotland’s inability to borrow money.  Which is a clear message they are pushing about how not being independent is holding back Scotland’s ability to deal with pandemic.

I don’t want to get into the validity of either claim but let’s not have any more claims these briefs aren’t political.  It’s as clear as clear can be.  

I wonder why you don't want to get into the validity of the claims. Is that because they are valid? 

1- She is explaining to individuals and businesses that the SG cannot be held responsible for upcoming financial difficulties they might face because if it were up to her the financial support would be greater. Simple point made by all sorts of people including those who think the support should be less. Are you telling us that opposition politicians should not criticise government policy? You seem to think like many Tories that Scotland and those who represent us should just accept what we are given and not complain. A similar position to those in GM represented by Andy Burnham. i suppose he had no right to be political either.

2- She threatened nobody. The SG would not be withdrawing funding either in the scenario she described. She explained that Scottish government resources would run out and because the SG had not yet got additional funding in line with funding in England that might happen sooner rather than later. Maybe you think she should not explain this to them and accept all the blame on behalf of HMG should that situation actually arise.

The new tier system looks shit tbh. If I'm reading it correctly there will be no five a sides until level 0, which isn't actually back to normal as I think you'd reasonably assume, it still involves a maximum of 8 in your house. Level 1, 6 indoors even has a footnote saying that no indoor socialising might be required under this level in some circumstances. I can't see what the criteria for when you go into a different level either. 

Between the Christmas chat yesterday and level 0 still being restrictions on normal life, I'm utterly scunnered. Why not have a level that is no restrictions, even if it takes a vaccine to get there, at least give folk some hope to aim for. 

P. S. I wish all the folk turning this into an SNP/Independence thing would **** off to another thread. Absolute roasters arguing about whether the SNP supported the nazis in a covid thread. 

31 minutes ago, graygo said:

Just seems to me that it would make sense to always have the system in place. Will make it easier to implement next time it's needed.

It's probably the type of model that should have been in place long before Covid. 

Maybe even was, just never needed to be in the public domain.

Edited by DETTY29

1 hour ago, SteauaNeedarest said:

Embarrassing comparisons between Covid and WWII. 

There must be a list of the ****ing obvious that Covid isn't as bad as. I'll start with the Cretaceous - Paleogene extinction event.

1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Finite budget??😄. Still £10bn more than we raise ourselves.  Not forgetting the substantial extra Covid funding already provided by the UK treasury. Live within your means pet!

Are you telling us the budget is not finite? 

The money we spend is not the same as the expenditure attributed to us. We raise far more than we spend. A lot of money is spent on our behalf on things we do not want.

Some Covid expenditure will be allocated by consequentials but much of the cost has gone to supporting the better paid and bigger businesses of London and the South East.

When someone says, and this was why I quoted verbatim “which of course we think should go further” that’s not a fact that’s an opinion.  

No it's a fact. That's what they think. 

34 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Who needs freedom anyways 

Freedom was always an illusion anyway. 

Agree with Capone above. Having a tier system where the highest, least restrictive tier is still massively restrictive gives no one any hope and is just baffling really. What an absolute ****ing farce the UK is making of this. Tougher decisions are going to have to be made soon cos this is just nonsense. 

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

These restrictions aren’t going to disappear before Christmas. So as good as it gets for Chrimbo will be 8 round your table from 3 households.

How likely we’re to get to level 0, I have no idea. Can’t see us being there much before Chrimbo considering the time it takes for measures to filter through into the metrics.

Which is what I'll be doing anyway.

20 minutes ago, westbow said:

There must be a list of the ****ing obvious that Covid isn't as bad as. I'll start with the Cretaceous - Paleogene extinction event.

😃

Closed borders.

Carting folk off to Covid hotels for a fortnight.

Postcode by postcode restrictions,.

Businesses having to report customers to police.

All hospitality pre-booked

Hospitality taking up front non refundable deposits in region of 50% per person, in the event customers try and break 2 househ-old restrictions.

No medical treatment for over 65s (or younger) tested positive once ICU- general beds hit a certain capacity.

Doesn't bear thinking about.

Edit.  Made an erse if quoting @Mauricio Pinilla and tough decisions needed soon because (imo) we continue to pussy foot around the public.

Edited by DETTY29

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

She’s said she’s tried not be political but I don’t see how it can be if you want to be truthful. 

Agreed. It's an inherently political thing. I think she needs to be cognisant of keeping on the topic though (I haven't seen her briefings for months) but when I was last home she was covering the exam stuff and I felt she strayed into general policy at times.

I'm still a fan of her 👍

4 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

No you can’t unless you are in level 0

How are they going to stop people doing whatever they want?

6 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

No you can’t unless you are in level 0

Think someone posted similar earlier. I'm in Tier I'm doing what I want and they can ram their levels and restrictions up their arse.

5 hours ago, graygo said:

Fair enough, I reckon I'd have more chance of catching the virus walking down Musselburgh High Street than most of the places I might want to visit.

We've got one of the worst infection rates in Europe, anyone coming into Scotland from elsewhere is probably reducing the infection rate. I can't see anyway out of it now though without a test with immediate results or a vaccine.

That would be a well-needed game changer, graygo.

Sorry for this late post. In case no-one has already posted today's infection stats:

Scottish numbers: 23 October 2020

Summary

• 1,401 new cases of COVID-19 reported; this is 20.6% of newly tested individuals [-311]
  • 18 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive  [+1]
  • 76 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+2]
  • 975 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+41]
  • 19,014 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 8.0% of these were positive

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

How are they going to stop people doing whatever they want?

4 minutes ago, JWL said:

Think someone posted similar earlier. I'm in Tier I'm doing what I want and they can ram their levels and restrictions up their arse.

please refrain from either saying or encouraging others to break laws 

FAE8FF2C-C992-4159-9A74-57F547F60F8D.jpeg

Today's hastily-calculated per-board per-100,000 infection stats:

Lanarkshire 62, Greater Glasgow 42, Ayrshire & Arran 32, Lothian 19, Tayside 17, Fife 13, Forth Valley 12, Dumfries & Galloway 11.

The rest: under 10.

Down here in the South East it's been a lovely day, pretty much no restrictions on anything and life is back to normal. 

Thankyou Boris x x x x

Laters, I'm off out for a few pints with the gang before the game starts 😀😀

Just because you think most people believe that doesn’t make it a fact.  It’s still an opinion.  

I agree that he point about borrowing Is a fact but the way it was raised and positioned felt very political.

Anyway let’s not disagree any further, you have said that Nicola Sturgeon is hypocritical and I agree so let’s leave it at that.   

I didn’t say it wax a fact. 
That’s your opinion on it being political, you felt that because it is political and why if Scotland was independent we wouldn’t waiting on handouts of our own money. 
But as you as say let’s leave it there. 

9 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Today's hastily-calculated per-board per-100,000 infection stats:

Lanarkshire 62, Greater Glasgow 42, Ayrshire & Arran 32, Lothian 19, Tayside 17, Fife 13, Forth Valley 12, Dumfries & Galloway 11.

The rest: under 10.

Cheers for this really helpful daily, I am going to take a punt and say that I think some people may be surprised where places are placed in the tier system.

On reading the document produced today it says it is thought areas will be in tier 2/3 fortwo weeks to a month and Sturgeon has said today they expect still to see effects of latest restrictions in numbers etc- clearly Lanarkshire, Glasgow etc are in a bit of bother as has been mentioned but when you start to break down into individual council it will be interesting.

I may well be wrong and we will be in level 3/4 for the next 6 months but will be interesting.

Edited by steve123

36 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Agreed. It's an inherently political thing. I think she needs to be cognisant of keeping on the topic though (I haven't seen her briefings for months) but when I was last home she was covering the exam stuff and I felt she strayed into general policy at times.

I'm still a fan of her 👍

I think 99% of the time she keeps politics out of them, hard to do when these so called journalists ask political questions though. 

Just now, Barack said:

Since we're firing out JKB rules:

Screenshot_20201023-153827_Chrome.jpg

Well this thread is full of these 2 rules.

The same pish posted all the time.

8 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said:

Down here in the South East it's been a lovely day, pretty much no restrictions on anything and life is back to normal. 

Thankyou Boris x x x x

Laters, I'm off out for a few pints with the gang before the game starts 😀😀

Enjoy your day, Bullie. 👍

Heartsmad1874

4 minutes ago, Barack said:

Why bother. Either nobody complains about him or trolling must be allowed in these times where people have more access to the internet.

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Unfortunately on here the hard of thinking consider folk with opposite political view to be trolls as opposed to folk who just have opposite political views 

3 minutes ago, steve123 said:

Cheers for this really helpful daily, I am going to take a punt and say that I think some people may be surprised where places are placed in the tier system.

On reading the document produced today it says it is thought areas will be in tier 2/3 fortwo weeks to a month and Sturgeon has said today they expect still to see effects of latest restrictions in numbers etc- clearly Lanarkshire, Glasgow etc are in a bit of bother as has been mentioned but when you start to break down into individual council it will be interesting.

I may well be wrong and we will be in level 3/4 for the next 6 months but will be interesting.

If you have a look at the Travelling Tabby site ("Local Data"->Breakdown by Council Area->Detailed), you can see the per-capita data at local council level. It shows, for example, that Edinburgh City's figure today is 11 while West Lothian's is 47 - if these figures were sustained over a period then that would be a good argument for more focussed restrictions.

I have no idea how the levels will work out, but the current method of lumping everyone in the central belt into the same band is like trying to carry out a medical operation with a stick.

4 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I think 99% of the time she keeps politics out of them, hard to do when these so called journalists ask political questions though. 

If Sturgeon was half the operator that the sycophants imagine that she is she would gracefully swat questions with a political bent aside before the masses even realised what was going on.

That's what Grade A politicians do.

23 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

please refrain from either saying or encouraging others to break laws 

FAE8FF2C-C992-4159-9A74-57F547F60F8D.jpeg

I was asking you a question not encouraging 'criminal activity'

How are they going to stop people doing whatever they want, any idea?

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic