Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

2 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

I was meant to be going to Dundee for a 50th on the 24th ( Dundee was not my choice).

I have a hotel booked for the night and we were all booked in to a pub with tables of 6.

I understand the pub is goosed now but if the hotel won't cancel the booking and we still go will it be able to serve booze? Is it classed differently to a bar or restaurant?

Apologies, if you've already got the info. Pubs can remain open indoors until 6pm but cannot sell alcohol. They can sell alcohol OUTDOORS between 6pm and 10pm. Hopefully your pub has an outside area and the weather is fair. It's not been clear about selling alcohol outdoors pre 6pm... 

Hotel bars/restaurants can remain open in the evening for meals but unfortunately, won't be able to serve alcohol. 

Crackpot decisions all round! 😂 

Someone earlier mentioned non professional sports being cancelled. This is only aimed at contact sports. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

6 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Same with my local. Done everything required. Checked by the council periodically.

A travesty.

Sad to hear. 

4 minutes ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

Whats happens then if your last part does come to fruition? Its not a sustainable strategy going forward.

Indeed.   It's not the only troublesome consequence.   Indoor gathering is another obvious fly in the ointment.   

I still think the UK government is keeping a card up it's sleeve.   The ability to have a full lockdown with furlough.   

Edited by Victorian

Heartsmad1874
1 minute ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Apologies, if you've already got the info. Pubs can remain open indoors until 6pm but cannot sell alcohol. They can sell alcohol OUTDOORS between 6pm and 10pm. Hopefully your pub has an outside area and the weather is fair. It's not been clear about selling alcohol outdoors pre 6pm... 

Hotel bars/restaurants can remain open in the evening for meals but unfortunately, won't be able to serve alcohol. 

Crackpot decisions all round! 😂 

Someone earlier mentioned non professional sports being cancelled. This is only aimed at contact sports. 

Mental about sport, whats the difference between Alloa v Ayr who aren't being tested to a non professional game who are also not being tested :lol: 

31 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Let’s just supposing I wanted a night out with the wife

Could I book into hotel in and pretty much have dinner and drinks as I would on any other night ie. get a meal an alcohol passed 6 but just in hotel?

Also could we meet up with another couple who might want to do similar. 

ah ha swingers :whistling:

Fire_At_The_Disco
14 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

👍🍻

124845E2-C4A4-4387-A6BF-D25B6800A085.jpeg

Ah the sub, it’s a great wee machine, I’ve got one of them too for the specialist beers like Gandolf etc 

29 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

How much has WM spent on Furlough? Around £14Bn?

I think they bailed out the bankers 11 years ago for about £350Bn. 
Seems fair!

It's more like £70Bn on furlough and £500Bn on the bailout. 

We're going to let thousands and thousands of hard working folk hit rock bottom while criminally negligent selfish ***** of the highest order ****ed over the world economy and got bonuses. 

This is the kind off shit people should be protesting, not the wearing of ****ing masks. 

12 minutes ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

Mental about sport, whats the difference between Alloa v Ayr who aren't being tested to a non professional game who are also not being tested :lol: 

Some crazy decisions. During last week's FA Cup, there were National League teams playing universities at home but were no allowed spectators because they are classed as 'Elite Level'. However, where there were ties where the universities were at home, they could have fans!!! 🤪😂

21 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Indeed.   It's not the only troublesome consequence.   Indoor gathering is another obvious fly in the ointment.   

I still think the UK government is keeping a card up it's sleeve.   The ability to have a full lockdown with furlough.   

There's a part of me that thinks they'll do something. The alternative is, well, I'm not sure I want to properly contemplate the alternative it's so bad. 

2 hours ago, jonesy said:

Auld Jimmy, sitting near the door, and quietly contemplating his pint, will be remembered as this country's Rosa Parks. 

We are all Auld Jimmy near the door.

3 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

I mean the SNP should be finished after the way they’ve handled this whole situation, but their cult like following will do what they always do and just blindly support everything they do without question.

Who should we vote for with Scottish interests at HEART? 

The entire night time economy shut for a fortnight and she’s paying for it with £40m? Struggling to see how that sort of money is going to scratch the surface. 

1 hour ago, Tambo_The_Jambo said:

This is the way forward people! 
Meet the Blade beer machine...a thing of beauty producing 15 pints of lovely chilled lager for £26.

Mark my words it will be the must have purchase this year.

I love it, get pished in yer bubble for less than £2 a pint.

9A4B5CE5-39BA-462E-94CB-F57D9C302A5C.jpeg

1 hour ago, theshed said:

Come Xmas only the people that still have a job can afford one of those. 
The rest will be on the home brew 

Out of interest do you notice the difference having a drink from your machine and one from the bottles you buy in supermarkets? 

Please answer the question TTJ.

Can't be a £425 placebo, can it?

2 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Well the chancellor thinks anyone who loses job should simply retrain while no one in Scottish government cares. These people are so out of touch it is painful. 

Retrain for what? 

2 minutes ago, OBE said:

I can confirm that the Moretti from the Sub draught machine is a pub quality pint. I assume the Blade will be the same.

Heartsmad1874
1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Retrain for what? 

Chancellor came out and said those in jobs like events, arts etc should retrain and find new opportunities instead of providing support for their very skilled sectors.

Retrain for what? 

Maybe that Violinist who has trained for years in elite music academies  and played with the Royal Phil can use their transferable skills and look at a career in joinery ? That's how idiotic his suggestion was. 

2 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Presume you will not be suffering job loss or home loss then. The followers just can't help lapping up whatever Nicola says.

I've lost my job. Voting SNP. 

Heartsmad1874
Just now, JamesM48 said:

Maybe that Violinist who has trained for years in elite music academies  and played with the Royal Phil can use their transferable skills and look at a career in joinery ? That's how idiotic his suggestion was. 

Problem is, how many people are unemployed right now applying for 2/3 positions within a company. When i was applying, Indeed always told you the rough number of applicants, a lot of them were in the high hundreds.

Near impossible to find something right now.

2 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

You would vote SNP if Sturgeon burned your house down

The direction of her travel is clear

1 - lower the drink drive limit to lowest in UK

2- introduce drug swabs that mean if you smoke a joint at the weekend you are still likely to fail on Monday or Tuesday 

3- launch war on alcohol during Covid 

she is anti-fun

anything people enjoy is being banned

shes a feckin looney

Heartsmad1874

There will be many SNP voters who are unhappy with how they have handled the pandemic. Theres nothing wrong with that but blindly defending them at every turn when lifes/jobs etc are at risk of the people they are in place to serve is poor behaviour.

2 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

2- introduce drug swabs that mean if you smoke a joint at the weekend you are still likely to fail on Monday or Tuesday 

she is anti-fun

shes a feckin looney

Closer to a politician than you are a Doctor though. 

Imposters everywhere,  sad times.

1 hour ago, joondalupjambo said:

It is interesting.  I lived in Oz for nearly 15 years on and off and most people in the suburbs drank at home, hardly any pubs in those type of areas and it was the norm.   Granted for most of the year you could sit outside but not all the time.

I honestly think we could be going through a bit of a cultural change here and drinking in the home could become the new norm for a vast number of folk. 

I hated Oz for that. I barely drink at home. Did during lockdown but there was feck all else to do. 
Give me ripped off in a restaurant or boozer with my family or mates any day of the week. 

3 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said:

Closer to a politician than you are a Doctor though. 

Imposters everywhere,  sad times.

Ok then🥺

Heartsmad1874
6 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I hated Oz for that. I barely drink at home. Did during lockdown but there was feck all else to do. 
Give me ripped off in a restaurant or boozer with my family or mates any day of the week. 

Australia is crazy expensive for alcohol. Where i lived there was a Dan Murphy's right beside me and you'd pay way over what UK prices were. Bars weren't much different but happy hour at Darling Harbour was always class.

Edited by Heartsmad1874

8 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I wouldn't vote for her if she burnt my local pub down.

:greggy:

8 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

His job must be crap.

Its the only explanation.

Or he’s one of those zealots who would drive to Westminster with a “suicide sporran” packed with explosives

4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

She has not thought this through. 40 million is absolute peanuts. 

Don't worry. Kate "the calculator" Forbes will be along shortly to tell us all its the UK government to blame

The number in hospital and in ICU is starting to increase exponentially. This is very concerning as it means we'll need extra capacity again even if we do find a treatment to mitigate the worst of the effects for the most vulnerable.

So I agree some measures need to be taken to slow the spread again. But the financial impact should be met by the government. We need to protect the hospitality industry so there is something to look forward to when this nightmare is all over. I want my taxes to be used to protect those people and jobs. Hopefully Rishi will do the right thing, especially if the rest of the UK is likely to join this 2 week hospitality hiatus.

32 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

So if I book hotel for me and missus in say Sf. Andrews with possibility of ‘like minded’ couple. We can eat and drink as we would in normal but just in confines of hotel? 

So essentially food and alcohol after 6pm. 

No alcohol after 6pm, food only.

"Outside of the five named health boards, pubs, bars, restaurants and cafes will be able to operate indoors from 6am to 6pm, for the service of food and non-alcoholic drinks only.

They can continue to serve alcohol outdoors up to the existing curfew time of 10pm.

Hotel restaurants will be able to operate beyond 6pm, but only for residents and without alcohol."

8 minutes ago, Fun Boaby said:

Don't worry. Kate "the calculator" Forbes will be along shortly to tell us all its the UK government to blame

I’ve quickly done it for her. It’s roughly £2400 quid per licensed premises. Taxis, mini cabs, late night takeaways, breweries, other pub supply companies (such as washroom supplies) not included. 

18 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

she is anti-fun

shes a feckin looney

Its like being a member of the Wee Free Church

28 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I can confirm that the Moretti from the Sub draught machine is a pub quality pint. I assume the Blade will be the same.

Both machines made in China?

28 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

You'd do the same for your desired political party! I'm not blaming anyone in this. It's dreadful for most of us. 

Fire_At_The_Disco
41 minutes ago, OBE said:

It’s pure nectar.....miles away from a bottle. I order kegs from all over Europe and the beer is beautiful. 

11A4EF63-F9F3-4215-B809-3AA83F5C75EB.jpeg

Edited by Tambo_The_Jambo

You'd do the same for your desired political party! I'm not blaming anyone in this. It's dreadful for most of us. 

Eh, naw.

She has the freedom to not do this .

To not destroy an industry.

To not destroy families and businesses.

Her party has the ability to tell her to sit down and stfu.

21 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

His job must be crap.

Its the only explanation.

Or he’s one of those zealots who would drive to Westminster with a “suicide sporran” packed with explosives

Try addressing me directly you fool. I'm going through redundancy as a senior manager in the travel industry. 

2 minutes ago, Tambo_The_Jambo said:

It’s pure nectar.....miles away from a bottle. I order kegs from all over Europe and the beer is beautiful. 

I concur - don’t usually like Stella but even that was lovely in one of these machines - a smaller sub I think

I don't have a desired political party. 

I'll vote for who I think will do a decent job at that particular time. although they are all shite.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic