• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Susan Mickie (?) from SAGE behavioural panel on 5Lsaying Scotland's approach far better than England's by releasing restrictions slowly and evaluate before moving on to next stage.

We don't have sufficient test and trace policies in place in UK to be lifting at pace.  Needs to be localised too.

Also asked direct question about pubs and would she go back.

Outside only and most likely if standing.  And not at all until acceptable T&T policies in place, or indeed until virus virtually eradicated.  Emma Barnet asked if that meant 'vaccine' and responded no like New Zealand T&T and ergo, compliant population.

Edited by DETTY29

22 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

I wonder if these companies are implementing proper PPE and hygiene rules. I would say not.

No idea it seems like it must be hard to keep production up and social distance though as i cant imagine you can do that with a fraction of staff.

2 hours ago, jonesy said:

You mean those arbitrary guidelines that vary from country to country?

Come closer and say that ;)

You only live in one country so you only have one set of rules to follow.

3 hours ago, jonesy said:

You mean those arbitrary guidelines that vary from country to country?

Come closer and say that ;)

Those who break them are idiots 

33 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

You only live in one country so you only have one set of rules to follow.

I think he is trying to act the “keyboard hard man” -  - best ignored

16 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

The chance of your Nat King. 👍

Lol that’s not a problem for me 👍😀

14 hours ago, Dannie Boy said:

Chatting to my neighbour on WhatsApp about police and how strict they are in Spain (Tenerife)  compared to the U.K. 

is comment was “Three English arrived in Spain no masks in taxi 1000 fine each they don't mess here“ 
If we are/were really serious about beating this virus then we should have adopted the same attitude and level of fines. IMO 

Yes they are . I’ve been to Benidorm several times And the police do not take any shit from the drunken British mob esp stag doos etc who cause bother , huckled into meat wagons etc batons used too . 

14 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes they are . I’ve been to Benidorm several times And the police do not take any shit from the drunken British mob esp stag doos etc who cause bother , huckled into meat wagons etc batons used too . 

I used to work holiday seasons in Torremolinos and Benalmadena. Took an undeserved kicking from the police one night, and would frequently witness them dishing out disproportionate violence.

Took a well deserved batton across the back of the thighs in Magaluf at the Real Mallorca away leg though. 

Spanish cops don't **** about.

Almost beat this. Just have to make sure we test and track everyone coming in. 

The Scots English border could really be the big issue here

1 minute ago, Dannie Boy said:

Fourth day in a row with no Covid-19 deaths recorded in Scotland.

And only 5 new infections . Terrific 

26 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I used to work holiday seasons in Torremolinos and Benalmadena. Took an undeserved kicking from the police one night, and would frequently witness them dishing out disproportionate violence.

Took a well deserved batton across the back of the thighs in Magaluf at the Real Mallorca away leg though. 

Spanish cops don't **** about.

I don’t condone violence but it certainly shut the drunken Brit Arseholes up when they were causing mayhem in the street ( fighting with other British guys etc ) 

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

And only 5 new infections . Terrific 

Yep it’s going in the right direction. No doubt there will be blips and obviously higher figure mid week when the delayed figures filter through. It’s comforting news we are doing better. 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I don’t condone violence but it certainly shut the drunken Brit Arseholes up when they were causing mayhem in the street ( fighting with other British guys etc ) 

I don't condone it either, but at least you know what you're going to get with them. It's their country, respect their rules, no kicking.

As with most things though, it's open to abuse and can be a green light for bullies or those who just like roughing folk up.

3 hours ago, vegas-voss said:

300 test positive at Rowans food plant in Wales.Rowans employ 1000 staff.

I started wiping down all tins, bottles and cardboard before putting them in the kitchen cupboards and also going for more frozen foods than usual. Somebody thought we were over the top but hearing stories coming out of food processing plants maybe that was a good policy. 

4 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I started wiping down all tins, bottles and cardboard before putting them in the kitchen cupboards and also going for more frozen foods than usual. Somebody thought we were over the top but hearing stories coming out of food processing plants maybe that was a good policy. 

I still do ! 

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

Lol that’s not a problem for me 👍😀

Glad to hear it, shegger. :D 👍

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

I still do ! 

I have done it since march but it was hard when all the cleaning products were snapped up in the panic buying spree that hit the country.🙂

25 minutes ago, jonesy said:

My jet set lifestyle means I’m forever having to recalibrate my distancing 😛

Seriously though, shouldn’t we be encouraged to evaluate arbitrarily imposed rules from governments? Slavish, unthinking adherence to any imposition is not healthy. 

You think people should just make up their own rules and do what they want? Does this apply to all laws or just stuff regarding Covid? 

24 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I do the same.Pain in the arse and i dont know if it does anything or not but have done it since start of lockdown after reading a report from Italy where it was advised.

49 minutes ago, Jeff said:

Almost beat this. Just have to make sure we test and track everyone coming in. 

The Scots English border could really be the big issue here

Especially when the summer holidays start.

Welsh police patrol their borders so maybe that could be an option for us.

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

Especially when the summer holidays start.

Welsh police patrol their borders so maybe that could be an option for us.

Even temperature checks would be reasonable

2 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

I do the same.Pain in the arse and i dont know if it does anything or not but have done it since start of lockdown after reading a report from Italy where it was advised.

I heard a well known expert on the radio say that wiping surfaces broke the membrane of the virus and killed it right away. That was when I started.

5 minutes ago, Jeff said:

Even temperature checks would be reasonable

That would be a good idea.

13 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That would be a good idea.

What about us Scots who are back and forward over the border multiple times?

Will they let me go back to ma hoose if I've got a high temperature :D

Full credit to Nicola , I think she’s handled this whole pandemic really well. Of course some will argue she maybe should have acted sooner but hindsight is a wonderful thing. 

Is everyone now calling her Nicola because the PM is referred to as Boris :lol:

Blair, Brown, Cameron or even Salmond weren't referred to by their Christian names

Edited by Nucky Thompson

10 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Blair, Brown, Cameron or even Salmond weren't referred to by their Christian names

I can think of plenty other names to refer to that lot 😄

12 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Does it matter?

3 minutes ago, Jeff said:

Does it matter?

No really but I find it a tad cringey 

6 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I can think of plenty other names to refer to that lot 😄

Aye so can I. 

I don't trust any politician whatsoever. They're all liars 

5 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

No really but I find it a tad cringey 

So you don't find Boris cringey, only Nicola?? Honestly you really are scraping the bottom of the unionist barrel if that's what you are reduced to complaining about

45 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I wouldn't let you back into Jockland full stop tbh. :jj:

22 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Does Fat Alex count? :(

1 hour ago, vegas-voss said:

Yeah its only a slight nuisance and makes me feel less anxious so I don't see it as much a problem.  I just use a little bleach and lots of washing up liquid.

32 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Christian names?

1 minute ago, XB52 said:

So you don't find Boris cringey, only Nicola?? Honestly you really are scraping the bottom of the unionist barrel if that's what you are reduced to complaining about

Read the post again.

I don't find them cringey. Just the people who have started calling her Nicola just because Boris has always been referred to by his Christian name.

Get of your high horse and get that big tartan chip off your shoulder

57 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

You’ll be too bevied to notice.

36 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

What a silly man. 

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

I think people should be encouraged to be critically aware of any and all laws. This also encourages change and progress. 

I didn’t say folk shouldn’t follow rules as far as is reasonable. 

Have you never broken the speed limit?

I try and stick to it. I've crept over it before but never intentionally thought "the speed limit is a load of pish, **** this 30 zone I'm gonna do 40".

The rules are there to determine what is reasonable. If you leave it up to interpretation or preference society would quickly degenerate into carnage - especially rules that are there to protect the wellbeing of others.

Edited by Ray Gin

10 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I wouldn't let you back into Jockland full stop tbh. :jj:

Does Fat Alex count? :(

Fat Alex was perfect 

5 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Christian names?

Sorry. Is it now offensive to call them Christian names?

What are first names referred to now?

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

Sorry. Is it now offensive to call them Christian names?

What are first names referred to now?

Yes it is.

Forenames.

4 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

What a silly man. 

Wow. You've really hurt my feelings

5 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Wow. You've really hurt my feelings

I think if you're the kind of person who gets riled enough to take to a football forum and have a hissy fit about a woman in the public domain being referred to by her first name then your feelings were always going to be a bit vulnerable pal. 😊

Edited by Weakened Offender

CavySlaveJambo
4 hours ago, XB52 said:

Numbers in ICU are creeping back up in the last few days 

I’ve seen reports that ICUs are full in some places in the US. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic