Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

My daughter who carries out all sets of blood testing in one of Scotland’s general hospital has two ex university pals who work in a hospital in Pretoria and the word is that they believe that Omicron is mutating into a cold like virus she has heard that data should be out in the next two weeks on the impact on the NHS. Once this peak has passed which will be very quickly then testing will be abandoned for the masses and only hospital admissions will require testing. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

2 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

My daughter who carries out all sets of blood testing in one of Scotland’s general hospital has two ex university pals who work in a hospital in Pretoria and the word is that they believe that Omicron is mutating into a cold like virus she has heard that data should be out in the next two weeks on the impact on the NHS. Once this peak has passed which will be very quickly then testing will be abandoned for the masses and only hospital admissions will require testing. 

Sounds good news.

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

Don't care if it's milder virus or virus with milder effect. If it kills less people and harms less people, it's an improvement and something worth hoping for.

Ideally, it mutates again to something even milder.

Until we can knock this thing down entirely, no idea if it's possible, I'll settle for that.

The French have now said they would be prepared to relax entry restrictions on UK citizens in the event of another German invasion 

2 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

I had a look at your source and it increased but it seems to be a slow, linear upwards trend as opposed to an exponential trend. If Omicron is growing exponentially as fast as has been claimed, it is definitely not turning into a similar trend in hospitalisation.

I think there is a real bit of hope around this not least because many cases are asymptomatic or low impact. Early indications to me would suggest a far smaller burden on hospitals but imo a bit too early to be conclusive.

In the UK, there’s been 12 deaths linked to the omicron variant, out of a population of around 70 million. 

Twelve.

How many people are dying of cancer and suicide? 

Just now, Malinga the Swinga said:

Don't care if it's milder virus or virus with milder effect. If it kills less people and harms less people, it's an improvement and something worth hoping for.

Ideally, it mutates again to something even milder.

Until we can knock this thing down entirely, no idea if it's possible, I'll settle for that.

Exactly.  The milder virus thing is a red herring and largely unhelpful,  until that Eureka cry.  

3 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

I never claimed any comments were false. I said the claim that hospitalisations had not gone up was false. I don't know what is going to happen in the future but i can check official figures to see what has happened in the past. 

I think the academic might be wrong primarily because of the interpretation of figures given by ff but also because of the current concentration of Omicron in the south east. I may be wrong but i'm prepared to bet that i am not. What about you do you have an opinion or are you going with the Daily Mail?

Bloomberg also shared some stats on South Africa as a whole yesterday. It shows that cases are falling across the country but there was an uptick overall in hospitalisations. I haven't seen the data for Gauteng province.

Therefore, it is possible that Omicron may peak pretty quickly. It is being hypothesised here in Oz that the need for PCR tests to travel interstate to the likes of QLD is finding more asymptomatic cases because testing rates and numbers are huge at present. That said, Omicron seems to be more of a factor in NSW than anywhere else. For once, we in VIC seem to have got lucky and our overall case numbers are stable (for now).

4 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Israel to give over 60s another booster

4th jab 

I'm already looking forward to mine, around end Feb if my calculations are correct.

Don't mind jags or needles, donated platelets for years, and it's half an hour of my time I'm happy to get it when offered.

Might even have tablet to take.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga

4 hours ago, SE16 3LN said:

A few angry racists have been outed on here in the last couple of days 😂. Sad news about further restrictions in the Celtic triangle, but no doubt will be coming to rUK soon. Every one keep calm

Square go Enoch 🤣

Take that back, you better watch what you say next, where did I fekin say that, I am blocking you and your are duly reported... I really don't like racists, its a very unattractive quality in a human don't you think.

The absolute state of this, your incessant virtue signalling and labelling people racist, erroneously I'd add, actually demeans efforts to call out actual racism. Muppet.

5 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Israel to give over 60s another booster

4th jab 

Unless this is a mRNA update targeted at Omicron it's pretty pointless, but the Israelis seem to want vaccines to eliminate the thing. This isn't smallpox.

Just now, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Unless this is a mRNA update targeted at Omicron it's pretty pointless, but the Israelis seem to want vaccines to eliminate the thing. This isn't smallpox.

Way too soon to have made one and manufacture at scale.  I see no point now in a strain specific vaccine for omicron.  It should be managed and allowed to sweep the world as a de facto live vaccine.  

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Way too soon to have made one and manufacture at scale.  I see no point now in a strain specific vaccine for omicron.  It should be managed and allowed to sweep the world as a de facto live vaccine.  

13 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

These things are not in my opinion, they are demonstrable facts. You said "but there's STILL no increase in hospital admissions.". Your statement is not true as the statistics i posted showed an increase in hospitalisations of 232 in one day.  

check for yourself  https://www.travellingtabby.com/uk-coronavirus-tracker/ or maybe you can find a source to support your claim.

The STILL no increases is lifted from a paper.

There is another article I read the other day which stated that half the patients who were in hospital had tested positive for Omicron whilst in hospital for other conditions, testing for Covid is now a standard procedure. So taking that standard procedure into consideration the Omicron increase is not responsible for the 232 figure increase. 

The Metropolitan Police has referred itself to the misconduct watchdog over allegations officers failed to step in and shut down 'lockdown-breaching' parties in and around Downing Street - and then didn't investigate them properly later.  

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb wrote to the Independent Office for Police Conduct (IOPC) to raise concerns over the reported event on December 18 2020 and the lack of an investigation.

The force has now replied to confirm her complaint has been split into two parts.

Lady Jones had said there is a 'case to answer' for the Met 'aiding and abetting a criminal offence, or deliberately failing to enforce the law in favour of Government politicians and their staff' due to the 'extensive' police presence in Downing Street

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10333913/Met-Police-refers-misconduct-watchdog-No10-party-allegations.html

With regards to the confidence of LFT tests for the up and coming Christmas gatherings 

Im going to my older sons and his two children house for Christmas and we are all doing LFT test before we gather together. 

How accurate are lateral flow tests?

The Queen Mary University of London published evidence of a study into the effectiveness of lateral flow tests. 

As part of the study, more than 2,500 people with mild to moderate flu-like symptoms were tested for Covid using an antigen test.

All of the people chosen for the study were assessed by GPs in Austria between October 22 and November 30, 2020.

Those who were suspected to have Covid were also tested using a PCR test.

It found that lateral flow tests detected more than 95 per cent of cases found by PCR - and correctly identified 89 per cent of cases as negative.

The research was done in collaboration with the University of Oxford, Institute of Advanced Studies, Vienna and the Medical University of Graz.

Experts tested five different brands of testing kits, three labs and professional swabbing offered at 20 GP practices.

Dr Werner Leber, the study author from Queen Mark University of London, said that lateral flow test kits should be ‘integral to any strategy’ in dealing with new waves of infection.

The expert added: “Previous studies have suggested lateral flow tests may be less sensitive than PCR in detecting Covid-19, particularly among asymptomatic individuals and during the early or late stage of an infection when the viral load is lowest.

“But we have found that in patients who are newly symptomatic, the two testing methods have similar levels of accuracy.”

How accurate are LFTs at detecting Omicron?

There have been a number of claims that lateral flow tests are not accurate when it comes to detecting Omicron.

But the UK Health Security Agency said that the kits just as effective at detecting Omicron as the previous Delta variant.

In a technical briefing published earlier this month, UKHSA said: “UKHSA have performed an initial laboratory validation of the current lateral flow devices for Covid-19 in current use by NHS Test and Trace.

“Preliminary data assess these devices as effective at detecting Omicron as Delta.”

How often should you take a lateral flow test?

The Scottish Government has urged Scots to take a lateral flow test before socialising with others during the festive period.

Nicola Sturgeon earlier today advised that people should take a test “as close to going out as possible”.

“This is important for family gatherings on Christmas or Boxing Day”, the First Minister said.

Edited by Boy Daniel

42 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

The absolute state of this, your incessant virtue signalling and labelling people racist, erroneously I'd add, actually demeans efforts to call out actual racism. Muppet.

👌

13 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

The Metropolitan Police has referred itself to the misconduct watchdog over allegations officers failed to step in and shut down 'lockdown-breaching' parties in and around Downing Street - and then didn't investigate them properly later.  

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb wrote to the Independent Office for Police Conduct (IOPC) to raise concerns over the reported event on December 18 2020 and the lack of an investigation.

The force has now replied to confirm her complaint has been split into two parts.

Lady Jones had said there is a 'case to answer' for the Met 'aiding and abetting a criminal offence, or deliberately failing to enforce the law in favour of Government politicians and their staff' due to the 'extensive' police presence in Downing Street

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10333913/Met-Police-refers-misconduct-watchdog-No10-party-allegations.html

What a waste of time and money. What's it going to result in.

All that will happen is some junior officer will get punted whilst those at top carry on as before.

Lady Jones got her name in paper though so something positive for her to crow about.

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

That's what they're not getting.  The odd comment about Westminster is irrelevant.  The important matter is making decisions that put votes in peril.

Yet still they made them.

You wont get a sensible,  rational thought from any of these vultures though.

They're behaving like a class of

5 year olds who have had their favourite toys confiscated. 😭

I could put a stronger description but I'd get banned. 

Brighton Jambo
2 hours ago, XB52 said:

That's what the rabid unionists/SG haters can never explain. She is making decisions that are pretty universally unpopular and yet they say she's doing it for political reasons????

1.  They aren’t universally unpopular.  There are plenty of people, usually middle class, wealthy people who can comfortably work from home in their nice houses who quite welcome some of these restrictions.  No financial hardship or wintery commute for them.  There are also her supporters who like being able to position her as decisive and taking action even if a lot of todays changes make no sense.  

2.  From the beginning she has positioned herself as super cautious.  It’s her go to strategy, not least because it exposes Boris’ dithering, and she can’t be seen to change course now.  Wales announce sports grounds closures, within a day so do we.  She’s is trying to portray consistency of approach. That’s political.

3.  Not political and actually not intended as a criticism but I think she is broken from what happened in early 2020.  The deaths, the care homes etc and I think understandably she is now absolutely paranoid of a repeat.  That’s genuinely not a dig at her I think many of the leaders feel that way.  

Either way she has spent so much political capital through her approach that she’s done.  She may hang on for a year or two but she’s done and any notion she could lead Scotland to a successful independence vote is for the birds.  In my opinion she just never leaned to pivot her strategy.  Whereas cautious and hard measures were popular in late 2020, when her popularity was soaring, now they seem like someone with only one trick to play, they don’t seem based on the data and frankly, and to her credit it’s doesn’t often happen,  she has totally misjudged the mood of the majority of the country.  

And before anyone says it that clown Boris will be lucky to last a month or two.  If sturgeons done, he’s treble super cooked done. 

3 hours ago, Ked said:

Sturgeon gleefully announcing that the SG will find money to out give the UK .

Aye nae bother Nicola I've never been in the hoose the last year working to make up shortfalls for other family.

And you willy nilly tax me at 40%.

Fekin overtime you found no extra money .

You took it out our pockets and others to fantasise that your tinpot govt created some wealth.

What a bam

No doubt the bams will applaud you.

It's shit. I work for a British company and pay more tax than my English equivalents and see no benefit to my life. I'm preparing to move over the border pretty soon to add a few grand to my salary rather than hand it over to Sturgeon to waste on her own Agenda.... 

20 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

1.  They aren’t universally unpopular.  There are plenty of people, usually middle class, wealthy people who can comfortably work from home in their nice houses who quite welcome some of these restrictions.  No financial hardship or wintery commute for them.  There are also her supporters who like being able to position her as decisive and taking action even if a lot of todays changes make no sense.  

2.  From the beginning she has positioned herself as super cautious.  It’s her go to strategy, not least because it exposes Boris’ dithering, and she can’t be seen to change course now.  Wales announce sports grounds closures, within a day so do we.  She’s is trying to portray consistency of approach. That’s political.

3.  Not political and actually not intended as a criticism but I think she is broken from what happened in early 2020.  The deaths, the care homes etc and I think understandably she is now absolutely paranoid of a repeat.  That’s genuinely not a dig at her I think many of the leaders feel that way.  

Either way she has spent so much political capital through her approach that she’s done.  She may hang on for a year or two but she’s done and any notion she could lead Scotland to a successful independence vote is for the birds.  In my opinion she just never leaned to pivot her strategy.  Whereas cautious and hard measures were popular in late 2020, when her popularity was soaring, now they seem like someone with only one trick to play, they don’t seem based on the data and frankly, and to her credit it’s doesn’t often happen,  she has totally misjudged the mood of the majority of the country.  

And before anyone says it that clown Boris will be lucky to last a month or two.  If sturgeons done, he’s treble super cooked done. 

Wishful thinking.

Who in her party is agitating for her removal or is currently  a genuine rival? Joanna Cherry was, and she was quickly knifed in the back.  

Brighton Jambo
5 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Wishful thinking.

Who in her party is agitating for her removal or is currently  a genuine rival? Joanna Cherry was, and she was quickly knifed in the back.  

I don’t think the party is agitating for her removal.  I think that she will look at the independence polling both in terms of yes/no but more pertinently how many Scot’s actually believe it’s a priority, look at her own popularity ratings, both of which have fallen significantly in a year and think to herself I have done enough.  

She knows there no realistic route to a second indyref so rather than carry on and risk having the party faithful turn on her I think she will step down on her terms while her stock is still relatively high and take a lucrative job with the UN or some other similar global organisation.  

20 minutes ago, Aaron78 said:

It's shit. I work for a British company and pay more tax than my English equivalents and see no benefit to my life. I'm preparing to move over the border pretty soon to add a few grand to my salary rather than hand it over to Sturgeon to waste on her own Agenda.... 

Where are you going to move when the UK government introduces the NI increases, as I expect that will see no benefit to your life either. 

33 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

There are plenty of people, usually middle class, wealthy people who can comfortably work from home in their nice houses who quite welcome some of these restrictions.  No financial hardship or wintery commute for them.

It’s not just middle class. Any office based worker no matter what class can effectively work from home these days. Electronic internet tracking can monitor every key stroke and timing of it and there is no hiding place these days. It’s phenomenal how these tracking devices work on mobile phones, laptops and even transport vehicles. It’s frightening that they can tract your every move. Obviously if you are consciences the there is no worry. 

This pandemic and it’s travel restrictions and communication platforms like zoom have made these working situations possible and I would imagine in the near future home working will become more the norm. 

The service industry and in my case working for BG, depots, offices, store facilities all disappeared as we embraced modern technology. Conference Calls, hiring of venues, McDonald’s car park meetings and Costa Coffee performance revues became the norm. 

Sturgeon's political posturing has reached Denmark, as they too have now joined the growing list of European countries to have reintroduced restrictions. Theirs include:

• Cultural attractions (theatres, museums, galleries, nightclubs, zoos, casinos) closed
  • No alcohol sales after 10pm. Bars must close by 11pm.
  • Bars, cafes and restaurants must restrict customers to allow 2m of space per seated guest, 4m if standing. All require a valid coronavirus passport for entry.
  • House gatherings must end by 11pm.
  • Face masks must be worn in all businesses and public settings.

2 hours ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Doffs cap. Fair assessment.

1 hour ago, Boy Daniel said:

image.jpeg.fc38a8b345cbc3b5d456fc66c9d0e313.jpeg

Food for thought🤷🏽‍♂️ 

Now showing increasing signs of impacting  65-69 age group when it seemed it was the youngsters were the most adversely affected.

Just seen that in Wandsworth (IIRC) , 1 in 6 of the 20s age group is infected. 

We all know what's coming. 

2 hours ago, Boy Daniel said:

It’s not just middle class. Any office based worker no matter what class can effectively work from home these days. Electronic internet tracking can monitor every key stroke and timing of it and there is no hiding place these days. It’s phenomenal how these tracking devices work on mobile phones, laptops and even transport vehicles. It’s frightening that they can tract your every move. Obviously if you are consciences the there is no worry. 

It's nothing to do with class/not class  - and I'm assuming you don't know how some IT systems work, but that statement is not true. 

The "office worker" will need access to a laptop (not all do, currently) and they need access to all their current services (not always possible). 

30 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Now showing increasing signs of impacting  65-69 age group when it seemed it was the youngsters were the most adversely affected.

Just seen that in Wandsworth (IIRC) , 1 in 6 of the 20s age group is infected. 

We all know what's coming. 

Impacting in hospitalisations? In ICU? Those should be the key stats.

4 hours ago, Aaron78 said:

:byebye:

4 hours ago, Gizmo said:

Where are you going to move when the UK government introduces the NI increases, as I expect that will see no benefit to your life either. 

The higher tax is to help the poorer folk. I'd gladly pay more tax to bring the lower earners life up, without benefit to myself. It's the councils who waste tax that get on my tits. 

One other thing. I'm pretty sure NS and the SG could have found money for business, if they tried. Especially when they seem to find some amount of shite, no ***** needs and very few want. But I suppose most governments waste money and then there's Westminster. At least Dick Turpin had the decency to wear a mask.

Well after a just getting on with life type of night out for food and to the excellent panto at the Kings this thread has been an incredible catch up.

What I've learned;

Sturgeon is a lying, greeting faced, self aggrandising, stuka pilot from the Terrahawks, who is only in this to fatten her bank balance from the absolutely staggering amounts of tax monies the billionaires of kickback pay to keep the SNPs labotomised, jakeball supporters, none of whom pay tax, working from their state provided houses.

We used to have one or two members who should probably step away from the internet for a while but of late a few more, and one particularly special individual, have stepped forward. 

So to summarise;

68625-funny-crying-baby-snot-bubble.jpg

Edited by The Mighty Thor

7 hours ago, Aaron78 said:

Mate by my rudimentary calculations if you're going to add thousands to your salary by not paying the extra 1% at higher rate then I'd seriously suggest you speak to a tax expert or financial advisor who will probably be better placed to help you balance the tax exposure of your 250,000 pa salary. 

7 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

Sturgeon's political posturing has reached Denmark, as they too have now joined the growing list of European countries to have reintroduced restrictions. Theirs include:

• Cultural attractions (theatres, museums, galleries, nightclubs, zoos, casinos) closed
  • Bars, cafes and restaurants must restrict customers to allow 2m of space per seated guest, 4m if standing. All require a valid coronavirus passport for entry.

Nope, it's just wee Krankie/Elsie the power mad psycho that's invented Covid as part of her dasterdly plan to take over the world. 

4 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Impacting in hospitalisations? In ICU? Those should be the key stats.

That would show it's less virulent and that would never do. 

Mr Brightside
48 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Mate by my rudimentary calculations if you're going to add thousands to your salary by not paying the extra 1% at higher rate then I'd seriously suggest you speak to a tax expert or financial advisor who will probably be better placed to help you balance the tax exposure of your 250,000 pa salary. 

It’s not the extra 1% that will be the issue it’s the threshold for the 40% tax kicking in. The threshold is quite a bit lower in Scotland and means someone on £40-50k pays around £2k (figures not accurate would need to check) more tax than an English colleague.

1 minute ago, Mr Brightside said:

It’s not the extra 1% that will be the issue it’s the threshold for the 40% tax kicking in. The threshold is quite a bit lower in Scotland and means someone on £40-50k pays around £2k (figures not accurate would need to check) more tax than an English colleague.

I'm sure it happens throughout the world. When Scotland is independent, we'll have many different things. And we can close the border before we get ****ed, next time.

7 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Israel now to roll out 4th jab to over 60’s.

Probably a good chance that booster number 5 (when it arrives) will end up being a omicron specific vaccine I suspect.  

The levels of projection on this thread is mental, this combined with numerous posters believing they have psychic  ability to know what others think better than the others has made for some epic reading. 

@The Mighty Thor how was the panto? We were due to go Boxing Day as it’s a family tradition, well was pre COVID, but that ain’t happening. Can’t lie pretty disappointed as I love the damn thing. 

The panto was really good. First one without Andy Gray, who is a big big miss, but it's full of the nonsense you'd expect at the King's.

I'm gutted for you LBJ as I'm the same as you, I love the panto. It's a massive part of my Christmas.

Boris has just eased slightly the isolation time down south, with cases hopefully levelling off and possibly getting ready to decline 🙏, if he holds off on new restrictions it could make nippy and that Welsh weirdo look they've jumped the gun. Possible master stroke by Boris? 

10 minutes ago, Mr Brightside said:

£37,500 in the rUK and £31,500 in Scotland. Again though the poster would have to be earning a very large salary to pay thousands extra as the HR tax band is only on earnings above the threshold. 

Not shocked by this mornings read. The mocking and judgement continues by the usual crowd despite not living in other peoples shoes. The restrictions no matter how little they appear to you may have major implications in other peoples lives. Is your wife waiting on cancer treatment or an operation  ? Do you have a child suffering from mental health ? Do you have elderly family that are struggling at this time of year ?  Are you trying to run a business during the pandemic ? Just some of the things that can make little changes have big implications. If restrictions have little impact on your life then that’s great, maybe not the same for everyone though. 

Carry on mocking though. 👍

Dennis Denuto
8 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

What are the restrictions on outdoor events?

Juan Jose Carricondo Perez
19 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The panto was really good. First one without Andy Gray, who is a big big miss, but it's full of the nonsense you'd expect at the King's.

I'm gutted for you LBJ as I'm the same as you, I love the panto. It's a massive part of my Christmas.

we were supposed to be taking the kids for the 1st time this year between Christmas and new year. Mrs scrambling around trying to find tickets for next few days but looking impossible. 
The wee ones would have loved it as well

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )