Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

10 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

I am becoming really concerned about the people in USA watching this. 

Why are you concerned about people in the USA watching this?

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Just now, been here before said:

That well know coastal area of Musselburgh and East Lothian.

Is your hysteria making you forget what you've typed?

I mentioned Prestonpans, Musselburgh AND Dalkeith. Besides, it wasn't over the sea. Quite some way inland. 

I'm not gonna completely ignore your opinions. Could be isolated, I was just curious was all. Hysteria is a rather strong word though.

1 minute ago, Locky said:

I mentioned Prestonpans, Musselburgh AND Dalkeith. Besides, it wasn't over the sea. Quite some way inland

So 2 out of 3 "well known coastal areas".

2 minutes ago, Locky said:

I'm not gonna completely ignore your opinions. Could be isolated, I was just curious was all. Hysteria is a rather strong word though.

But very apt.

Just now, been here before said:

So 2 out of 3 "well known coastal areas".

But very apt.

Fair enough. Just an observation.

Haven't seen a big chopper around Musselburgh for a while. Apart from mine of course.

Just now, Zlatanable said:

because Trump isn't explicitly telling people to stay at home/social distance/wash their hands

If people don't observer these things, the likelihood is, that many people will get and spread this corona virus. 

the more people that get it, the more people that get it bad.

and the more people get it bad, the more people will die.

Aye, because over 3 hundred million folk need old Donald to remind them to wash their hands.

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Aye, because over 3 hundred million folk need old Donald to remind them to wash their hands.

Enough clowns look up to Trump over there that it might make a difference though. He’s doing the opposite and essentially wanting business as usual and if folk die in the name of the Dow so be it.

33 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Having seen some fleshed out advice re what constitutes essential travel to work,    I'm furious about that shitshow earlier from the boss.     I wont be forgetting that,   or hurrying back.     This goes on past 3 weeks.     There is no way on earth or in heaven they can validate people going back to 'normality' in 3 weeks.      A supercharged mass release of ****wits from their nae bbqs for 3 weeks hell?    

No.    That's just not happening.

I feel for you mate but unless you tell us what sector or industry your job is in then continually moaning about your boss deciding whether or not your work is essential on here is a bit pointless. Apologies if you have already posted what it is you do.

47 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I feel sorry for her, a mouth piece for adults whi know they'd not get the column inches and screen time that an autistic child would, cynical child manipulation, you've only to see her when she's asked questions she's not been prep'd for, it's embarrassing and sad.

Spot on! Used by a crowd of puppet-masters, cringey as feck at times.

I should add I don't disagree with the the evidence supporting climate change but she's become a parody.

55 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

I am becoming really concerned about the people in USA watching this. 

I watched a live stream a few days ago.

It was pretty much 50% arsehole 50% in Donald and God we trust for the comments.

It's their scientists and experts you feel for.  They must feel like walking away but their sense of duty is keeping them there despite knowing that you know who will throw them under the bus eventually.

heartstastic

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/high-consequence-infectious-diseases-hcid

What does everyone make of this? According to the goverment website COVID-19 was taken off the HCID High Consequence Infectious Diseases on 19th March 2020. Boris Johnson announced a Lockdown on the 23rd March. Doesn't make sense to me.

Status of COVID-19

As of 19 March 2020, COVID-19 is no longer considered to be a high consequence infectious diseases (HCID) in the UK.

The 4 nations public health HCID group made an interim recommendation in January 2020 to classify COVID-19 as an HCID. This was based on consideration of the UK HCID criteria about the virus and the disease with information available during the early stages of the outbreak. Now that more is known about COVID-19, the public health bodies in the UK have reviewed the most up to date information about COVID-19 against the UK HCID criteria. They have determined that several features have now changed; in particular, more information is available about mortality rates (low overall), and there is now greater clinical awareness and a specific and sensitive laboratory test, the availability of which continues to increase.

The Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens (ACDP) is also of the opinion that COVID-19 should no longer be classified as an HCID.

The need to have a national, coordinated response remains, but this is being met by the government’s COVID-19 response.

Cases of COVID-19 are no longer managed by HCID treatment centres only. All healthcare workers managing possible and confirmed cases should follow the updated national infection and prevention (IPC) guidance for COVID-19, which supersedes all previous IPC guidance for COVID-19. This guidance includes instructions about different personal protective equipment (PPE) ensembles that are appropriate for different clinical scenarios.

Definition of HCID

In the UK, a high consequence infectious disease (HCID) is defined according to the following criteria:

• acute infectious disease
  • typically has a high case-fatality rate
  • may not have effective prophylaxis or treatment
  • often difficult to recognise and detect rapidly
  • ability to spread in the community and within healthcare settings
  • requires an enhanced individual, population and system response to ensure it is managed effectively, efficiently and safely

24 minutes ago, heartstastic said:

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/high-consequence-infectious-diseases-hcid

What does everyone make of this? According to the goverment website COVID-19 was taken off the HCID High Consequence Infectious Diseases on 19th March 2020. Boris Johnson announced a Lockdown on the 23rd March. Doesn't make sense to me.

Status of COVID-19

As of 19 March 2020, COVID-19 is no longer considered to be a high consequence infectious diseases (HCID) in the UK.

The 4 nations public health HCID group made an interim recommendation in January 2020 to classify COVID-19 as an HCID. This was based on consideration of the UK HCID criteria about the virus and the disease with information available during the early stages of the outbreak. Now that more is known about COVID-19, the public health bodies in the UK have reviewed the most up to date information about COVID-19 against the UK HCID criteria. They have determined that several features have now changed; in particular, more information is available about mortality rates (low overall), and there is now greater clinical awareness and a specific and sensitive laboratory test, the availability of which continues to increase.

The Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens (ACDP) is also of the opinion that COVID-19 should no longer be classified as an HCID.

The need to have a national, coordinated response remains, but this is being met by the government’s COVID-19 response.

Cases of COVID-19 are no longer managed by HCID treatment centres only. All healthcare workers managing possible and confirmed cases should follow the updated national infection and prevention (IPC) guidance for COVID-19, which supersedes all previous IPC guidance for COVID-19. This guidance includes instructions about different personal protective equipment (PPE) ensembles that are appropriate for different clinical scenarios.

Definition of HCID

In the UK, a high consequence infectious disease (HCID) is defined according to the following criteria:

• acute infectious disease
  • typically has a high case-fatality rate
  • may not have effective prophylaxis or treatment
  • often difficult to recognise and detect rapidly
  • ability to spread in the community and within healthcare settings
  • requires an enhanced individual, population and system response to ensure it is managed effectively, efficiently and safely

From reading through, it looks like it's not a HICD because it has a relatively low mortality rate, statistically speaking.

That's good news, but it's still dangerous and has to be taken seriously. We also have to remember that the more people it infects, the more likely mutations are, and we don't need more of that. 

heartstastic
10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

From reading through, it looks like it's not a HICD because it has a relatively low mortality rate, statistically speaking.

That's good news, but it's still dangerous and has to be taken seriously. We also have to remember that the more people it infects, the more likely mutations are, and we don't need more of that. 

Yeah i get that...but why the unprecendented measures for something they don't class as having a high mortality rate? Closing down almost the entire economy for something they took of the danger list 4 days prior does not make sense. Surely once off this list, then this part of the definitions of HCID's is no longer valid.

requires an enhanced individual, population and system response to ensure it is managed effectively, efficiently and safely

Also why not on the news if it's on the goverments own website?

Here is a list of the UK HCID's...there not closing down whole economy's for any of these.

Argentine haemorrhagic fever (Junin virus) Andes virus infection (hantavirus)
Bolivian haemorrhagic fever (Machupo virus) Avian influenza A H7N9 and H5N1
Crimean Congo haemorrhagic fever (CCHF) Avian influenza A H5N6 and H7N7
Ebola virus disease (EVD) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS)
Lassa fever Monkeypox
Lujo virus disease Nipah virus infection
Marburg virus disease (MVD) Pneumonic plague (Yersinia pestis)
Severe fever with thrombocytopaenia syndrome (SFTS) Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)*
Edited by heartstastic

6 minutes ago, heartstastic said:

Yeah i get that...but why the unprecendented measures for something they don't class as having a high mortality rate? Closing down almost the entire economy for something they took of the danger list 4 days prior does not make sense. Surely once off this list, then this part of the definitions of HCID's is no longer valid.

requires an enhanced individual, population and system response to ensure it is managed effectively, efficiently and safely

Also why not on the news if it's on the goverments own website?

Here is a list of the UK HCID's...there not closing down whole economy's for any of these.

Argentine haemorrhagic fever (Junin virus) Andes virus infection (hantavirus)
Bolivian haemorrhagic fever (Machupo virus) Avian influenza A H7N9 and H5N1
Crimean Congo haemorrhagic fever (CCHF) Avian influenza A H5N6 and H7N7
Ebola virus disease (EVD) Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS)
Lassa fever Monkeypox
Lujo virus disease Nipah virus infection
Marburg virus disease (MVD) Pneumonic plague (Yersinia pestis)
Severe fever with thrombocytopaenia syndrome (SFTS) Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)*

It's just a name, a classification. It's still filling our hospitals and endangering many, particularly the weak, with numbers growing daily.

heartstastic
2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

It's just a name, a classification. It's still filling our hospitals and endangering many, particularly the weak, with numbers growing daily.

So despite the low mortality rate and the stats showing most people dying have underlying health conditions and are towards the end of life (much like the flu is a danger to people in those situations) you think the current response is justified? I don't wish illness to befall anyone but the reaction to this is extreme and unprecendented given the other diseases on the HCID list.

heartstastic
1 minute ago, Zlatanable said:

Please stay in your home. 

Listen to the advice from many health experts.

Behave as if you already have this, because if you spread it, people might die. 

But the many health experts just took it off the danger list of infectious diseases.

14 minutes ago, heartstastic said:

So despite the low mortality rate and the stats showing most people dying have underlying health conditions and are towards the end of life (much like the flu is a danger to people in those situations) you think the current response is justified? I don't wish illness to befall anyone but the reaction to this is extreme and unprecendented given the other diseases on the HCID list.

I do, yes, how many new cases of SARS were there yesterday?

heartstastic
7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Fair enough man you do you. The info put out on the goverments own website to me is in contradiction to the pm's statement of 'the greatest crisis this country has faced in decades'.

Edited by heartstastic

6 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

Life is now watching the numbers of the dead.

Very sad and very true.

All we can do each day is observe figures to see if we are getting it under control.

I thought yesterday, like the plague years, the cart going round the streets shouting "bring out your dead"

We are the modern day, cyber version.

1 hour ago, heartstastic said:

Fair enough man you do you. The info put out on the goverments own website to me is in contradiction to the pm's statement of 'the greatest crisis this country has faced in decades'.

It's certainly worth a journalist asking the question.

hearts related nickname
1 hour ago, heartstastic said:

It's doesn't matter what list its on. It doesn't matter. The rate at which it is infecting people and them needing ICU care is at a level where ICU will become overwhelmed very quickly.  Do you want to risk a situation where someones 80 years old grandparents get left to die because there isn't capacity to treat them all because you considered it to be not that big a deal?

Stay in your house. It will save lives. 

2 hours ago, heartstastic said:

Well if you think it's too extreme you should immediately contact the relevant authorities and offer your insights. This is going to cost the global economy trillions and you apparently have information demonstrating the response is unjustified. Get in touch with them quickly. Save the global economy trillions.

1 hour ago, JFK-1 said:

Well if you think it's too extreme you should immediately contact the relevant authorities and offer your insights. This is going to cost the global economy trillions and you apparently have information demonstrating the response is unjustified. Get in touch with them quickly. Save the global economy trillions.

1 hour ago, JFK-1 said:

People are allowed to express themselves whether you agree or not. 

12 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

People are allowed to express themselves whether you agree or not. 

I know, that's what I just did. Whether you agree or not.

3 hours ago, Smithee said:

Don't know! What were the flu numbers? Or the people dying anyway, numbers, but have been added to the Coronavirus numbers.

People are doing as they are told, but let's not tell people not to hold an opinion. We need opinion and even an opinion just to spark debate, as we'll soon be talking to ourselves. The Brain needs a wee argument now and then, too.

And people will be bored for a wee while. Anyway there's self-righteousness on here, and that smithee is like a moth to a flame with me. :D

one more thing, these specialists who are fighting this. They should ask JKBs for the 2 hour reading course they do, which makes them an expert in the field of contagious disease and Day to day doctoring. Save them a life time of work and the years of schooling that came before. 👍

1 minute ago, JFK-1 said:

I know, that's what I just did. Whether you agree or not.

I agree! :D How's yer jkb PhD in Contagious diseases coming along. 👍

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I agree! :D How's yer jkb PhD in Contagious diseases coming along. 👍

I don't have one. I made no comment on the virus or how to respond to it. The one I was addressing did.

So you need to get back to the one I was responding to who was declaring the response to the pandemic isn't justified for information on how his is coming along. 👍

1 minute ago, JFK-1 said:

I don't have one. I made no comment on the virus or how to respond to it. The one I was addressing did.

So you need to get back to the one I was responding to who was declaring the response to the pandemic isn't justified for information on how his is coming along. 👍

If we just follow the advice, we can take to task post panic, if and a 'IF' they did some things for political bias, well end them. End of.

But I like a bit of debate, so let's debate. I'm sure no one has anywhere to be.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

If we just follow the advice, we can take to task post panic, if and a 'IF' they did some things for political bias, well end them. End of.

But I like a bit of debate, so let's debate. I'm sure no one has anywhere to be.

So what's that got to with the comment I made you're quoting? Are you getting on to the person I was addressing for how his PHD is coming along? To debate it with him.

Just now, JFK-1 said:

So what's that got to with the comment I made you're quoting? Are you getting on to the person I was addressing for how his PHD is coming along? To debate it with him.

No, just you, Now!

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

No, just you, Now!

Well you're frankly not much of a debater. You're all over the place and contradicting yourself while apparently not even knowing it.  First you say people are entitled to their opinion then request PHD qualifications from someone expressing an opinion which din't even mention any opinion of the virus or how to deal with it.

4 hours ago, heartstastic said:

Because the thing thats going to kill a lot of people and raise the mortality rate isn't the disease itself but rather the lack of care that people will be able to receive because of hospitals being overwhelmed by the rapid spread.

Mortality rate is somewhere in the region of 1-3%. That is with our current care system operating at optimal capacity. Fill up the beds and ICUs and that mortality rate goes up.

Bee Stings aren't a high risk of killing people in the UK but if we had a plague of them stinging millions of people everyday then we would likely see more people die from it. Should the government just let that happen because typically a bee sting is relatively harmless?

Edited by hughesie27

People should leave folk alone who are going to their work. The government has said people can work as long as they keep to the advise. Yet, pants pissers are demonising folk going to work. I hope people have a good idea for repairing the country when it crashes, worse than 2008. 

7 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

People should leave folk alone who are going to their work. The government has said people can work as long as they keep to the advise. Yet, pants pissers are demonising folk going to work. I hope people have a good idea for repairing the country when it crashes, worse than 2008. 

The government has said people can travel to work as long as its absolutely essential. No one is demonising folk going to work, the government should be clearer on what is and isn't allowed. 

5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

No they really shouldn't. 

Unless you are building a hospital you should be at home. 

The health minister had a shitemare yesterday contradicting Scotland's FM and appearing to give an opening to people who should be at home for their own and others well being.

The economy will still be there in whatever form when this is all said and done, however you might not be. 

Do the right thing, don't be a dick. 

16 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

The caveat to that would be, if you’re going to work you are helping to spread the virus and potentially cause the deaths of others. Nothing the health minister or any other minister says can change that fact. 

17 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Coronavirus Cases in NY Are Doubling Every Three Days

Think he is saying that is the rate they are seeing in places like Italy and China.

3 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

The caveat to that would be, if you’re going to work you are helping to spread the virus and potentially cause the deaths of others. Nothing the health minister or any other minister says can change that fact. 

Bit unfair on key workers who have to go to Work. There is no option for them they have to. Calling them out for potentially killing people! 

I think there's a significant element of really bad things happen to other people not me going around. We all have a bit of that type of mental block.

But something has to be appreciated about this, it's nothing like flu. Do people seriously think we would be going through the current restrictions for something that was like flu?

This thing can severely incapacitate or kill anybody. Personally I don't currently know anybody who has contracted it. But I was listening to a podcast by a guy called Sam Harris who is a neuroscientist and author. He mentioned a couple of friends of his who were the only people he knew who had contracted it.

Two guys both in their early 30's and superbly fit and healthy extreme skiers. They contracted it on the same skiing trip. One of them is on a ventilator the other in a medically induced coma. Flu doesn't do that to healthy relatively young guys who are fitter than average. It might occasionally randomly but two fit young guys contracting it on the same trip?

Yes it will hit the older and the less healthy harder, we all know that but we also know everything always does. But don't doubt for a minute that this can and will be a serious threat to everybody and anybody.

15 minutes ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

The government has said people can travel to work as long as its absolutely essential. No one is demonising folk going to work, the government should be clearer on what is and isn't allowed. 

People are posting images of busy high streets and cramped public transport hubs lambasting everyone in the image. With 0 knowledge of each individuals reasons and circumstances stances for being there.

17 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

No they really shouldn't. 

Unless you are building a hospital you should be at home. 

The health minister had a shitemare yesterday contradicting Scotland's FM and appearing to give an opening to people who should be at home for their own and others well being.

The economy will still be there in whatever form when this is all said and done, however you might not be. 

Do the right thing, don't be a dick. 

I look after severely Autistic (amongst other disabilities) individuals. Infact I just finished a 24 hour shift away from my home. Does this mean I can take the next few months off? Sorry for being a dick like.

2 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

People are posting images of busy high streets and cramped public transport hubs lambasting everyone in the image. With 0 knowledge of each individuals reasons and circumstances stances for being there.

I don’t know if they are slaughtering the individuals or the system. One thing for sure - they don’t all have “essential” jobs

Just now, kingantti1874 said:

I don’t know if they are slaughtering the individuals or the system. One thing for sure - they don’t all have “essential” jobs

Probably. But if their employer isn't closing up shop meaning they would be disciplined and not paid if they never showed up then it's essential to them until the Gov steps in.

I look after severely Autistic (amongst other disabilities) individuals. Infact I just finished a 24 hour shift away from my home. Does this mean I can take the next few months off? Sorry for being a dick like.

Behave yourself.

don’t think anyone said that did they? As a career your job is essential.. 

Just now, hughesie27 said:

Probably. But if their employer isn't closing up shop meaning they would be disciplined and not paid if they never showed up then it's essential to them until the Gov steps in.

Agree, doesn’t make the country any less ****ed so people are right to be annoyed 

1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Behave yourself.

Right back at you. Sensationalist posting doesn't help anything.

Just now, kingantti1874 said:

don’t think anyone said that did they? As a career your job is essential.. 

He did above

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic