• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

13 hours ago, Weakened Offender said:

On the day the organiser of a protest in Manchester regarding nurses only getting a 1% pay increase was fined 10k. 

Sympathise with their reasons for protesting but That’s how you deal with it. Handing out fines on the spot after they refused to move on as well. 

Sturgeon will be asked today why she appears unable or unwilling to control large swathes of the population. 

Police Fed guy this morning said it takes 20 minutes to give out a ticket/fine so would be impossible to do yesterday with what was going on and the numbers involved. 

Just now, manaliveits105 said:

Police Fed guy this morning said it takes 20 minutes to give out a ticket/fine so would be impossible to do yesterday with what was going on and the numbers involved. 

that is why they should be indentifying those they can and fining them this week for it. maybe get a work experience boy in to write all the tickets then send the rossers round to serve it. 

Yep they could well do but at least it explains the perception that they just stood back and did nothing .

2 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

See when we go to Parkhead, they look at the Hearts fans misbehaving (i.e. standing up, rustling crisp packets noisily) and just grab the nearest person. They do not appear to be intimidated then?

Just grab the nearest, ask him to move on and, if he doesn;'t move, fine him. That's what they did in Manchester at a NHS protest.

But i think we all know that Police Scotland have very little control over the actions of the old firm fans. Perhaps a lesson for us all there: turn up mob handed, stand your ground, and the police will not touch you? Same goes for any business shut right now.

In fact, let's storm the Tynecastle gates next home game!

Not forgetting that our neighbours exuberant riot after celtic reserves won the cup in 2016 went relatively unpunished and set what is acceptable for football fans.

5 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Not forgetting that our neighbours exuberant riot after celtic reserves won the cup in 2016 went relatively unpunished and set what is acceptable for football fans.

Hibstic 😁

13 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

The pond life at Ibrox and George Square yesterday just don't give a shit and those utter clowns that were interviewed should be ashamed of themselves but they won't be. Their Andy Warhol moment. 

I wonder if their employers saw them on TV. 

Stevie Wonder could see what was going to happen yet nothing was done.

you actually think any of those soap dodgers have jobs, i'll crack the jokes

the general
29 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

See when we go to Parkhead, they look at the Hearts fans misbehaving (i.e. standing up, rustling crisp packets noisily) and just grab the nearest person. They do not appear to be intimidated then?

Just grab the nearest, ask him to move on and, if he doesn;'t move, fine him. That's what they did in Manchester at a NHS protest.

But i think we all know that Police Scotland have very little control over the actions of the old firm fans. Perhaps a lesson for us all there: turn up mob handed, stand your ground, and the police will not touch you? Same goes for any business shut right now.

In fact, let's storm the Tynecastle gates next home game!

The Hearts fans that go to Parkhead have been turned into pussycats after years of being victimised by the police and to a lesser extent our own fans. We need to stand up and start taking bigger numbers again.

15 minutes ago, the general said:

The Hearts fans that go to Parkhead have been turned into pussycats after years of being victimised by the police and to a lesser extent our own fans. We need to stand up and start taking bigger numbers again.

I think the lower numbers means the local cops can easily pick us out without fear of other fans fighting back.

Sad days.

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

that is why they should be indentifying those they can and fining them this week for it. maybe get a work experience boy in to write all the tickets then send the rossers round to serve it. 

Waste of time now. Lockdown is nearly ending. People literally voting with their feet out and about in crowds etc. The Meadows was packed yesterday and various cafe outlets packed out with queues etc. Its over. 

SG basically telling Rangers - ye were telt so what are you gonnae dae aboot it so it doesnae happen again

Edited by Maroon Sailor

2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

SG basically telling Rangers - ye were telt so what are you gonnae dae aboot it so it's no gonnae happen again

She sent out her lacky to face the music today. ! I still cant believe that they are still going on about " stay at home" ! mantra.  

Just now, JamesM48 said:

She sent out her lacky to face the music today. ! I still cant believe that they are still going on about " stay at home" ! mantra.  

Wheel oot the deputy to deal with Fitbaw related issues

Great leadership

2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Wheel oot the deputy to deal with Fitbaw related issues

Great leadership

😁 

Sevco Statement (timed to coincide with the daily briefing?)

https://www.rangers.co.uk/article/club-statement-4/1eY7WhmE2hY1o18GUC9arB

DURING the last number of weeks, Rangers can confirm that we initiated open dialogue with key stakeholders in relation to the possibility of us achieving a historic 55th league title.

We have proactively engaged with our local MP, the Justice Minister, the Scottish Government, Police Scotland and the SPFL in relation to maintaining a cohesive message regarding public safety during the Covid-19 pandemic.

We understand the jubilance of our support across the world who recognise this has been a historic year for the club.

Nevertheless, it has been of great frustration for all football fans across the world that they have not been able to watch their team within stadiums, especially for the loyal Rangers season-ticket holders who have stood by this football club through thick and thin in the last decade.

We reiterate the message from our manager, Steven Gerrard, who highlighted that fans should adhere to government guidelines – stay safe, socially distance and look after each other in this difficult time.

We are aware there is the possibility of more, significant milestones within this season, and we will continue to proactively engage with key stakeholders to maintain a cohesive message in relation to government guidance at this present time.

We look forward to further open dialogue with the government, police, SPFL and other key stakeholders.

15 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

The SFA must be worried about the Euros now. Once again Glasgow football fans have shown no regard for processes put in place to suppress the virus. They clearly cannot be trusted.

It would now be an easy excuse for the SG to refuse to give the assurances that UEFA want about spectators attending. Presumably the SFA stand to lose money from advertising or broadcasting if the games get taken elsewhere? Not sure what they are entitled to.

This won’t be the only day that “we arra peepel” come out and do this either. They’ve still to get their trophy. That will probably trigger another parade and party. Gerrard has already said that it’s acceptable behaviour, given how long they’ve had to wait for their first major trophy. Maxwell and Petrie don’t have the courage to go after Rangers on this.

We have to hope that no Hearts fans are daft enough, or bothered enough, to do anything outside Tynecastle when we win the Championship. Whatever punishment Celtic and Rangers have got away with, Hearts won’t.

There will be a few that congregate outside Tynecastle no doubt, and we will be punished in some way. 
Like the booze ban the actions of fans of the uglies will cost us money, there’s not a chance in hell we will have anywhere near a full crowd at home this year never mind next season. Football will be at the end of the queue due to these morons behaviour. Let’s hope they don’t play each other in the Scottish Cup final. 

Just now, jonesy said:

Both sides are absolutely shameless in their refusal to condemn their fans. A cancer on Scottish football and wider society, the pair of them.  

Add H1b5 to that list.

16 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Sevco Statement (timed to coincide with the daily briefing?)

https://www.rangers.co.uk/article/club-statement-4/1eY7WhmE2hY1o18GUC9arB

DURING the last number of weeks, Rangers can confirm that we initiated open dialogue with key stakeholders in relation to the possibility of us achieving a historic 55th league title.

We have proactively engaged with our local MP, the Justice Minister, the Scottish Government, Police Scotland and the SPFL in relation to maintaining a cohesive message regarding public safety during the Covid-19 pandemic.

We understand the jubilance of our support across the world who recognise this has been a historic year for the club.

Nevertheless, it has been of great frustration for all football fans across the world that they have not been able to watch their team within stadiums, especially for the loyal Rangers season-ticket holders who have stood by this football club through thick and thin in the last decade.

We reiterate the message from our manager, Steven Gerrard, who highlighted that fans should adhere to government guidelines – stay safe, socially distance and look after each other in this difficult time.

We are aware there is the possibility of more, significant milestones within this season, and we will continue to proactively engage with key stakeholders to maintain a cohesive message in relation to government guidance at this present time.

We look forward to further open dialogue with the government, police, SPFL and other key stakeholders.

Talk about a non statement.  Abdicating any responsibility about their fans . In fact almost sympathizing with them and their " rule breaking"...Jezz 

5 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

That’s a ****ing awful statement. 

What should they have said in your opinion?  In my opinion nothing.

6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

That’s a ****ing awful statement. 

Maybe we could loan them Budge to look after that side of things. 

2 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

The pond life at Ibrox and George Square yesterday just don't give a shit and those utter clowns that were interviewed should be ashamed of themselves but they won't be. Their Andy Warhol moment. 

I wonder if their employers saw them on TV. 

Stevie Wonder could see what was going to happen yet nothing was done.

As much as I enjoy having a go at both cheeks when the opportunity arises I have to wonder how Hearts fans might have reacted if the club had just won the premiership for the first time? 

5 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

As much as I enjoy having a go at both cheeks when the opportunity arises I have to wonder how Hearts fans might have reacted if the club had just won the premiership for the first time? 

oooooooohh 

5 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

I would imagine like the vast majority of Rangers fans they would celebrate at home. 
Some can’t help themselves though. More arrests in England than up here. 
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-northamptonshire-56318880

18 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

If you want your answer, just contrast our behaviour when we won the cup in 1998 (a longer wait than Hibs had for any silverware) versus the Hibs literally rioting on the pitch. 

No need to wonder, ffs. We have some class. 

2 hours ago, the general said:

mind getting a pie at parkhead and someone taking it off the shelf from behind me😮.

We are in danger of fecking this Covid recovery up *again* (sigh) if we all start saying that it's "over" and relaxing too soon, imo. Another uptick in the cases today... That's why Rangers and the Rangers fans need sorting out - the message they sent out yesterday is coming right at the point where we actually have a good chance of getting Covid down to a manageable handful of cases.

Scottish numbers: 8 March 2021

Summary

• 501 new cases of COVID-19 reported [+111; up from 386 a week ago]
  • 11,529 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 5.0% of these were positive [-2,528; +1.8%]
  • 1 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices are now generally closed at weekends) [+1]
  • 59 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-2]
  • 654 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+26]
  • 1,774,659 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 118,732 have received their second dose [+14,909; +2,802]

Note: This is first increase in hospitalised Covid cases in quite a while.

14 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

I also think  there will be consequences.

Like why didn't Nicola Sturgeon think ahead?

It was obvious this was going to happen. 

They asked Rangers to discourage their fans from meeting up and celebrating. They failed to do so.

Here are the latest 7-day stats. An uptick in cases today, generally spread about the place. Now that we've recovered from the festive surge and, with the exception of ICU beds in use (which was about 50 before the surge), regained the indicator values we had before the surge and in most cases bettered them, I've changed the column on the right to show the values at the start of the month so that it can be used as the new "see how we've got on since..." value.

Pre- 7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Lockdown Today Yesterday     6 Mar 5 Mar 4 Mar 3 Mar 2 Mar ... 1 Mar
Scotland     64 62 +2   66 65 66 71 76 ... 78
Clackmannanshire 4 3 157 149 +8   159 149 165 151 144 ... 126
Falkirk 4 2 125 123 +2   127 127 137 146 158 ... 162
Stirling 4 3 124 126 -2   123 123 131 140 155 ... 155
North Lanarkshire 4 3 113 105 +8   108 105 102 112 115 ... 122
Glasgow City 4 3 112 111 +1   112 108 104 105 110 ... 113
West Lothian 4 3 104 103 +1   109 113 114 120 126 ... 128
East Renfrewshire 4 3 93 86 +7   91 89 76 84 83 ... 75
North Ayrshire 4 3 90 90 0   88 81 79 76 72 ... 74
South Lanarkshire 4 3 81 76 +5   83 84 84 93 95 ... 96
Renfrewshire 4 3 68 65 +3   79 80 94 110 117 ... 121
Dundee City 4 3 67 66 +1   71 74 66 65 74 ... 70
Na h-Eileanan Siar 4 1 64 71 -7   60 34 22 15 22 ... 34
East Lothian 4 3 59 55 +4   63 69 77 91 100 ... 95
East Ayrshire 4 3 56 54 +2   54 57 66 80 81 ... 88
Midlothian 4 3 55 63 -8   75 79 81 94 105 ... 106
Angus 4 2 48 47 +1   45 52 47 43 44 ... 46
Fife 4 3 45 39 +6   45 38 46 51 56 ... 58
Edinburgh City 4 3 42 42 0   45 49 52 59 63 ... 67
East Dunbartonshire 4 3 41 41 0   48 51 49 60 69 ... 77
Perth & Kinross 4 3 41 39 +2   47 38 45 55 58 ... 60
West Dunbartonshire 4 3 39 45 -6   61 69 81 100 118 ... 128
Highland 4/3 1 37 35 +2   34 33 28 26 32 ... 30
Moray 4 1 33 32 +1   31 37 37 38 40 ... 38
Aberdeen City 4 3 32 32 0   31 27 28 26 29 ... 29
South Ayrshire 4 3 28 24 +4   24 26 31 43 45 ... 49
Aberdeenshire 4 3 23 18 +5   17 16 15 14 17 ... 18
Alban Edges 4 1 23 20 +3   18 16 15 17 16 ... 15
Inverclyde 4 2 21 23 -2   30 32 41 50 51 ... 55
Dumfries & Galloway 4 1 14 16 -2   16 16 17 19 26 ... 32
Argyll & Bute 4/3 2 12 14 -2   16 21 24 22 17 ... 17
Shetland Islands 3 1 4 4 0   4 4 4 0 0 ... 0
Orkney Islands 3 1 0 0 0   0 0 0 0 0 ... 0

7-day averages                          
Tests     18764 18543 +221   19058 18576 18758 18739 18616 ... 18830
Positivity rate %     3.2 3.1 +0.1   3.2 3.2 3.3 3.5 3.7 ... 3.8
Hospital (non-ICU)     627 650 -23   677 713 747 779 814 ... 852
ICU     65 67 -2   69 71 73 76 79 ... 83
Deaths     17 16 +1   17 18 20 21 23 ... 26
All Vaccinations     28992 29353 -361   30803 31085 30861 30890 30052   29659
1st Dose     23297 23722 -425   24817 24963 24661 24829 24160   23727
2nd Dose     5695 5631 +64   5986 6122 6200 6061 5892   5932

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

Here are the latest 7-day stats. An uptick in cases today, generally spread about the place. Now that we've recovered from the festive surge and, with the exception of ICU beds in use (which was about 50 before the surge), regained the indicator values we had before the surge and in most cases bettered them, I've changed the column on the right to show the values at the start of the month so that it can be used as the new "see how we've got on since..." value.

Pre- 7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Lockdown Today Yesterday     6 Mar 5 Mar 4 Mar 3 Mar 2 Mar ... 1 Mar
Scotland     64 62 +2   66 65 66 71 76 ... 78
Clackmannanshire 4 3 157 149 +8   159 149 165 151 144 ... 126
Falkirk 4 2 125 123 +2   127 127 137 146 158 ... 162
Stirling 4 3 124 126 -2   123 123 131 140 155 ... 155
North Lanarkshire 4 3 113 105 +8   108 105 102 112 115 ... 122
Glasgow City 4 3 112 111 +1   112 108 104 105 110 ... 113
West Lothian 4 3 104 103 +1   109 113 114 120 126 ... 128
East Renfrewshire 4 3 93 86 +7   91 89 76 84 83 ... 75
North Ayrshire 4 3 90 90 0   88 81 79 76 72 ... 74
South Lanarkshire 4 3 81 76 +5   83 84 84 93 95 ... 96
Renfrewshire 4 3 68 65 +3   79 80 94 110 117 ... 121
Dundee City 4 3 67 66 +1   71 74 66 65 74 ... 70
Na h-Eileanan Siar 4 1 64 71 -7   60 34 22 15 22 ... 34
East Lothian 4 3 59 55 +4   63 69 77 91 100 ... 95
East Ayrshire 4 3 56 54 +2   54 57 66 80 81 ... 88
Midlothian 4 3 55 63 -8   75 79 81 94 105 ... 106
Angus 4 2 48 47 +1   45 52 47 43 44 ... 46
Fife 4 3 45 39 +6   45 38 46 51 56 ... 58
Edinburgh City 4 3 42 42 0   45 49 52 59 63 ... 67
East Dunbartonshire 4 3 41 41 0   48 51 49 60 69 ... 77
Perth & Kinross 4 3 41 39 +2   47 38 45 55 58 ... 60
West Dunbartonshire 4 3 39 45 -6   61 69 81 100 118 ... 128
Highland 4/3 1 37 35 +2   34 33 28 26 32 ... 30
Moray 4 1 33 32 +1   31 37 37 38 40 ... 38
Aberdeen City 4 3 32 32 0   31 27 28 26 29 ... 29
South Ayrshire 4 3 28 24 +4   24 26 31 43 45 ... 49
Aberdeenshire 4 3 23 18 +5   17 16 15 14 17 ... 18
Alban Edges 4 1 23 20 +3   18 16 15 17 16 ... 15
Inverclyde 4 2 21 23 -2   30 32 41 50 51 ... 55
Dumfries & Galloway 4 1 14 16 -2   16 16 17 19 26 ... 32
Argyll & Bute 4/3 2 12 14 -2   16 21 24 22 17 ... 17
Shetland Islands 3 1 4 4 0   4 4 4 0 0 ... 0
Orkney Islands 3 1 0 0 0   0 0 0 0 0 ... 0

7-day averages                          
Tests     18764 18543 +221   19058 18576 18758 18739 18616 ... 18830
Positivity rate %     3.2 3.1 +0.1   3.2 3.2 3.3 3.5 3.7 ... 3.8
Hospital (non-ICU)     627 650 -23   677 713 747 779 814 ... 852
ICU     65 67 -2   69 71 73 76 79 ... 83
Deaths     17 16 +1   17 18 20 21 23 ... 26
All Vaccinations     28992 29353 -361   30803 31085 30861 30890 30052   29659
1st Dose     23297 23722 -425   24817 24963 24661 24829 24160   23727
2nd Dose     5695 5631 +64   5986 6122 6200 6061 5892   5932

1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Impossible to answer but i do know that, had we won the cup and flooded Gorgie in our thousands then we would have quite rightly been called out for it by anyone and everyone and Sturgeon would be on the blower to Budge pronto.

It would be understandable but we would still be *****.

Brighton Jambo
13 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

They asked Rangers to discourage their fans from meeting up and celebrating. They failed to do so.

Rangers definitely deserve to be punished. But the fact the the police literally escorted a huge crowd into George Square is ridiculous.  They have had months to plan for how to deal with this and when it happened the police literally stood back and let it happen.  Meanwhile millions of people have adhered to the rules and watch police allow this to happen.  It’s absolutely scandalous and a complete failure from police Scotland and the Scottish government.   

Edited by Brighton Jambo

24 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Summary

• 654 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+26]

Note: This is first increase in hospitalised Covid cases in quite a while.

It was explained at the briefing that Greater Glasgow, uniquely among Health Boards, did not include patients with a positive Lighthouse lab test in their stats, relying only on NHS lab tests.  GGHB has now fallen into line with the other Health Boards

As a result, GGHB's bed occupancy number rose by 33 yesterday (163 to 196) which was greater that the overall national increase, meaning that the other health boards continued their recent trend of reductions.

Sent out the deputy to face the music this morning , yeah?

More weak leadership.

I'm calling this lockdown over 👍

3 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Call it what you want.

I can't go to the pub, watch football, visit "non essential" shops, visit my grandkids.  Still feels like a lockdown to me.

Edited by Footballfirst

3 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Sent out the deputy to face the music this morning , yeah?

More weak leadership.

No doubt she had a meeting ...... that somebody reminded her about

Auldbenches
1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Also finding it hard not to feel hypocritical regarding their fans celebrating.  Not the smashing things, but imagine if we had won the cup against Celtic a few weeks ago?   No way none of oyt fans wouldn't have crossed any lines.  

Still buckle dragging idiots who let their club die.  

At least our fans and club are getting credit for taking it on the chin and working hard to get the club back on a sure footing.  

9 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Call it what you want.

I can't go to the pub, watch football, visit "non essential" shops, visit my grandkids.  Still feels like a lockdown to me.

Oh yeah, apart from that!

I'll definitely be having folk over for my birthday though 👍

21 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Rangers definitely deserve to be punished. But the fact the the police literally escorted a huge crowd into George Square is ridiculous.  They have had months to plan for how to deal with this and when it happened the police literally stood back and let it happen.  Meanwhile millions of people have adhered to the rules and watch police allow this to happen.  It’s absolutely scandalous and a complete failure from police Scotland and the Scottish government.   

Aw feck up ya bore. 

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

We are in danger of fecking this Covid recovery up *again* (sigh) if we all start saying that it's "over" and relaxing too soon, imo. Another uptick in the cases today... That's why Rangers and the Rangers fans need sorting out - the message they sent out yesterday is coming right at the point where we actually have a good chance of getting Covid down to a manageable handful of cases.

54B3B7EC-5FD2-458F-813A-0103309BB4FD.jpeg

Brighton Jambo
21 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Aw feck up ya bore. 

If it bores you stick me on ignore.  Problem solved.  Because no way I’m stopping.  

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

Call it what you want.

If all goes to plan, lockdown finishes 5 weeks today for me when Boris opens up self contained holiday accommodation and outside hospitality opens.

Sturgeon can do what she wants up here. I'll be working and sleeping in Edinburgh during the week, then leaving on a Friday afternoon to cross the border to enjoy myself

4712 new positive cases and 65 deaths reported in the UK.

The lowest levels since September

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Aw feck up ya bore. 

You're in a right good mood today, think that's the third person I've seen you slag off so far.

Keep up the "good" work. 😩

3 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

It was explained at the briefing that Greater Glasgow, uniquely among Health Boards, did not include patients with a positive Lighthouse lab test in their stats, relying only on NHS lab tests.  GGHB has now fallen into line with the other Health Boards

As a result, GGHB's bed occupancy number rose by 33 yesterday (163 to 196) which was greater that the overall national increase, meaning that the other health boards continued their recent trend of reductions.

Bloody statisticians, eh. :)  You would have thought that they would have insisted on consistency. Thanks, FF. :thumb:

3 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

54B3B7EC-5FD2-458F-813A-0103309BB4FD.jpeg

No panicking here, James. Just disappointment that there are still those intent on kicking the legs from underneath us when we're so close to the goal. Never ever consider something done until it is.

11 minutes ago, redjambo said:

No panicking here, James. Just disappointment that there are still those intent on kicking the legs from underneath us when we're so close to the goal. Never ever consider something done until it is.

Yes it was disappointing .  But not surprisng I suppose that area will be watched keenly the next few weeks for any spikes. 

Enzo Chiefo
3 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

No doubt she had a meeting ...... that somebody reminded her about

But were there any minutes taken? The Banana Republic test, if you like👍

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic