Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

4 hours ago, Nookie Bear said:

Impossible to answer but i do know that, had we won the cup and flooded Gorgie in our thousands then we would have quite rightly been called out for it by anyone and everyone and Sturgeon would be on the blower to Budge pronto.

It would be understandable but we would still be *****.

And there's the rub. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Must have missed this last week was it mentioned in daily briefings 

Hundreds of St Johnstone fans defied lockdown rules to gather outside McDiarmid Park after the club's historic 1-0 victory over Livingston at Hampden.

Rowdy crowds flocked to the grounds to set off flares and cheer on players returning with the League Cup for the first time in the teams history last night.

The gathering crowds defied lockdown 'stay at home rules' currently in place as Scotland remains in a Covid pandemic.

Riot cops were called to tackle crowds as red smoke filled the air.

The Police aren't too happy either.

https://www.scotland.police.uk/what-s-happening/news/2021/march/statement-from-dcc-malcolm-graham-on-football-fans-gathering-in-glasgow/

Statement from DCC Malcolm Graham on football fans gathering in Glasgow

Deputy Chief Constable Malcolm Graham said: “The behaviour which we saw at the weekend was disgraceful and I utterly condemn the individuals who chose to completely disregard the coronavirus regulations, putting both the wider community and our officers at risk.

“I also strongly condemn the lack of support from Rangers Football Club over the messages we repeatedly asked them to put out to persuade fans not to go out celebrating and encourage those who did gather in large numbers to return home.

“We’ve been planning for the conclusion of the football season for some time since the league was allowed to resume and the sport is in a very privileged position given the restrictions seen across the country for almost a year.

“It was very clear through the lack of messaging that Rangers did not take seriously their responsibilities in terms of seeking to persuade their fans to celebrate safely and responsibly.

“I commend the officers who delivered a policing operation which was entirely consistent with our approach throughout this pandemic to maintain public safety and minimise disorder, disruption and damage to property.

“They did this faced with considerable danger, all of which was completely unnecessary and avoidable.

“Where large numbers of people gather at an unplanned event such as this we use established crowd control measures to ensure we are keeping the public safe and manage those who are refusing to disperse.

“We will work with football clubs, local authorities and the Scottish Government to ensure we do everything we can to persuade people that none of these scenes can be repeated as the football season continues.”

Should've batton charged, tear-gassed, and water cannoned the lot of the ****s. 

10 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Fixed the typos...

😊 well they injured a steward and a policeman - square goes obviously

38 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

should have just shown them hand sanitizer they would have run a mile

50 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Fixed the typos...

Lol 

52 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Jezz ! Another one advocating tough love it seems ! 

13 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

should have just shown them hand sanitizer they would have run a mile

Lol lol 😂 or drank it 

Edited by JamesM48

the general
6 hours ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Rangers definitely deserve to be punished. But the fact the the police literally escorted a huge crowd into George Square is ridiculous.  They have had months to plan for how to deal with this and when it happened the police literally stood back and let it happen.  Meanwhile millions of people have adhered to the rules and watch police allow this to happen.  It’s absolutely scandalous and a complete failure from police Scotland and the Scottish government.   

Smacks of the Merseyside cops when Liverpool won the league and fans celebrated

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

Keep Govan in tier 4 for an extra month.

Forever would be better. 

7 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

I think you missed the gist of Seymour's post....

Been a long day, so apols if I missed the /s

46 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I get thats tongue in cheek; well in part. 

This is one of my concerns of returning to tier system. You potentially have a large area of populace with Glasgow, who has a significantly higher infections rate than other areas of the country (Glasgow is about 3-4 times higher than Edinburgh)

Let’s say we keep Glasgow at a higher tier than the rest of central belt, especially if hospitality open, you are going to have people moving from high infection rate to lower infection rates and potentially spreading, probably not giving all that much concern for the rules.

Now, hopefully, vaccine prevents that from coming a issue and/or reinfection rates are rock bottom. However, I have reservations about the regional basis of the tier system is the best route for this unlocking. 

Anyway, looks like we might see some acceleration of easing of lockdown today, with rumours of up to 4 people from 2 households being allowed to meet and under 18 outside sports being allowed to progress. Doesn’t sound like we will get too much more info today of rest of unlocking, 

Next significant update is planned for 15th,I think, including what initial proposals are for the revised content of what can be done within each tier.

47 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I get thats tongue in cheek; well in part. 

This is one of my concerns of returning to tier system. You potentially have a large area of populace with Glasgow, who has a significantly higher infections rate than other areas of the country (Glasgow is about 3-4 times higher than Edinburgh)

Let’s say we keep Glasgow at a higher tier than the rest of central belt, especially if hospitality open, you are going to have people moving from high infection rate to lower infection rates and potentially spreading, probably not giving all that much concern for the rules.

Now, hopefully, vaccine prevents that from coming a issue and/or reinfection rates are rock bottom. However, I have reservations about the regional basis of the tier system is the best route for this unlocking. 

Anyway, looks like we might see some acceleration of easing of lockdown today, with rumours of up to 4 people from 2 households being allowed to meet and *under 18 outside sports being allowed to progress. Doesn’t sound like we will get too much more info today of rest of unlocking, 

*that's already been happening. I wasn't sure if this was relaxed or not. 

11 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

My boys football or martial arts aren’t back. So if happening it’s been ‘unofficial’, sound like formal announcement today, 

Grandson (9) has been training more or less all through the lockdown. No physical contact allowed, only some coaching in small groups. Looking forward to getting back out myself and watching him play some football hopefully very soon.

6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

12-17 years return to sport. 

👏

What a difference it was seeing and hearing the weans teams training when I walked the dog on Saturday. 

Not long before I get to lift some heavy duty weights again. This belly is e/affecting my whole life and I can't get off the bevvy either. 

20 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

👏

What a difference it was seeing and hearing the weans teams training when I walked the dog on Saturday. 

Not long before I get to lift some heavy duty weights again. This belly is e/affecting my whole life and I can't get off the bevvy either. 

Nowt wrong wi a wee belly🙂

21 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Nowt wrong wi a wee belly🙂

It's not my biggest, but it isn't wee, either. I'll get rid, no problem. But it's a problem, now. 

1 hour ago, Lord BJ said:

My boys football or martial arts aren’t back. So if happening it’s been ‘unofficial’, sound like formal announcement today, 

There were groups of lads playing football at the meadows on Sunday . Unofficially ofcourse 

22 minutes ago, jonesy said:

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-nearly-11-000-people-could-be-living-with-undiagnosed-breast-cancer-due-to-pandemic-charity-warns-12240205

Yet another good reason to get lockdowns, and fear of something the vulnerable are now vaccinated against, behind us and ramp up the return to normal life without delay.

This has been a disgrace and will

be one of the scandals when there is the cover up sorry inquest into lockdown whenever that is ! 

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-nearly-11-000-people-could-be-living-with-undiagnosed-breast-cancer-due-to-pandemic-charity-warns-12240205

Yet another good reason to get lockdowns, and fear of something the vulnerable are now vaccinated against, behind us and ramp up the return to normal life without delay.

Cancer patients are vulnerable to Covid.

2 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

They are a bit more vulnerable to the spread of cancer in their own bodies.

Just now, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

They are a bit more vulnerable to the spread of cancer in their own bodies.

They can't get safe treatment in a hospital when the hospital is full of covid patients.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

It's not my biggest, but it isn't wee, either. I'll get rid, no problem. But it's a problem, now. 

Still waiting on my jag date, im sure they said yesterday 48% of the over 60s had been done, looks like

im last or down the list.

11 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

And vulnerable to death if not treated 

6 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

They can't get safe treatment in a hospital when the hospital is full of covid patients.

Hospitals are not “ full of covid “ patients 

Just now, JamesM48 said:

And vulnerable to death if not treated 

Even more vulnerable to death if treated in a hospital full of covid.

21 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Even more vulnerable to death if treated in a hospital full of covid.

If I had cancer I think I'd rather take the chance if treatment in 'hospital full of covid' (slightly dramatic on your part) than go untreated and die as a result.

Critical thinkers, read this and then trying rubbing both of your brain cells together for 10 minutes. See if you can fathom why opening everything up ahead of schedule and sending people with weakened immune systems into hospitals might be a bad idea.

49 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Depends how the hospital is set up. Suspected Covid and Covid wards should be isolated from others.

52 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Still waiting on my jag date, im sure they said yesterday 48% of the over 60s had been done, looks like

me too HP i'm 64 soon

20 minutes ago, hmfcbilly said:

If I had cancer I think I'd rather take the chance if treatment in 'hospital full of covid' (slightly dramatic on your part) than go untreated and die as a result.

Exactly . 

Just now, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Depends how the hospital is set up. Suspected Covid and Covid wards should be isolated from others.

Yep 

20 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Critical thinkers, read this and then trying rubbing both of your brain cells together for 10 minutes. See if you can fathom why opening everything up ahead of schedule and sending people with weakened immune systems into hospitals might be a bad idea.

Article is 3 weeks old and looking at cases in Jan . Things have considerably moved on since then . Your argument about cancer patients being at home  with the cancer spreading instead of getting treatment at hospital is ludicrous really . Maybe the patients need to be asked What they would prefer ? Or maybe hospitals need to have a more rigorous and safe testing regime in place in all wards ? 

24 minutes ago, steve123 said:

So according to below at this point Edinburgh would be inlevel 2 and Glasgow level 3 

Covid in Scotland: Tighter rules will be used to decide on levels - BBC News

If and it's an if the boozers in Engerlund open before Scotland imagine the seethe when our rates are lower and we are sitting watching punters down there out for meals drink etc utter carnage i would expect.

27 minutes ago, steve123 said:

So according to below at this point Edinburgh would be inlevel 2 and Glasgow level 3 

Covid in Scotland: Tighter rules will be used to decide on levels - BBC News

A disgrace really . Over “ cautious “ to an extreme but it’ll please those who want the govt to “ keep them safe “ and absolve them of any Personal responsibility in regards to their own personal  safety and risk 

Edited by JamesM48

1 minute ago, **** the SPFL said:

If and it's an if the boozers in Engerlund open before Scotland imagine the seethe when our rates are lower and we are sitting watching punters down there out for meals drink etc utter carnage i would expect.

Yes scenes like a Sunday will be common place and she will have no option but to open up more . 

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

17 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

me too HP i'm 64 soon

I've been reliably informed its all the good looking over 60's that's getting their vaccine first. I've had mines😎

17 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Exactly . 

Yep 

Article is 3 weeks old and looking at cases in Jan . Things have considerably moved on since then . Your argument about cancer patients being at home  with the cancer spreading instead of getting treatment at hospital is ludicrous really . Maybe the patients need to be asked What they would prefer ? Or maybe hospitals need to have a more rigorous and safe testing regime in place in all wards ? 

They have moved on considerably in recent weeks, but we are still in lockdown. The whole easing process is geared around getting hospitalisation levels down to a low level as quickly as possible and keeping it there. Doing so will enable cancer patients to be treated safely. Fully opening everything up when only a third of the population has received a single dose is not a prudent way of achieving this.

2 minutes ago, Jambo314 said:

I've been reliably informed its all the good looking over 60's that's getting their vaccine first. I've had mines😎

😄

6 minutes ago, Jambo314 said:

Got mine nearly a month ago

Couldn't understand why, but thanks for clearing that up.

40 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

A disgrace really . Over “ cautious “ to an extreme but it’ll please those who want the govt to “ keep them safe “ and absolve them of any Personal responsibility in regards to their own personal  safety and risk 

Yep this whole “keep me safe “ attitude is embarrassing to say the least.

Take some responsibility in your own life. 
I worry about the level of control that some want the government to have over our lives 

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

I'm still waiting as well

14 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

Yep this whole “keep me safe “ attitude is embarrassing to say the least.

Take some responsibility in your own life. 
I worry about the level of control that some want the government to have over our lives 

It’s been an eye opener 

25 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Given their impressive ability to get a number of Nightingale hospitals up and running, a furlough scheme in place, a tier system set up, reviewed and adapted, a vaccination roll out ahead of any other country of a similar size, keeping patients apart and given equal priority to people whether they have Covid or cancer wouldn't have been logistically too taxing if the desire had been there. From the outside, it appears that, bar the absolute minimum such as births, authorities washed their hands (!) of anything non-Covid in relation to medical treatment, kicking the can down the road for people who have been brought up to depend on and trust the NHS as being there for them. The monomania around CV19, and the idea that 'every CV19 death is a tragedy' has already caused, is causing and will continue to cause many 'excess deaths' from people who could have been diagnosed at a time when their illness was treatable. 'Protecting the NHS'? What a lark.

Well said . They should have just had bouncers on the hospital doors ! “ “ “sorry mate only Covid allowed in ! Your name ain’t on the list “ ! 

1 hour ago, Jambo314 said:

:ears: good looking you say

I really don't care for this debate, but I would like to point out that this year alone I've had an MRI, an ultrasound, a biopsy, I've been in A&E, I have a neurology appointment tomorrow and saw a hand specialist last week, all in hospital.

The narrative that everything bar births has been ignored is a long way removed from my experience.

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

They have moved on considerably in recent weeks, but we are still in lockdown. The whole easing process is geared around getting hospitalisation levels down to a low level as quickly as possible and keeping it there. Doing so will enable cancer patients to be treated safely. Fully opening everything up when only a third of the population has received a single dose is not a prudent way of achieving this.

i get what you are saying but given that the third of the population that have had the vaccine are the ones who would be more likely to end up in hospital this in theory should keep hospital admissions down. The Nightingale hospital and all others in England getting closed never needed for Covid cases some used as testing centres it was all about protecting the NHS which it has and i applaud all the staff for all their great work. But imo it's time to open up a bit quicker i'm not advocating everything at once but non essential shops, pubs/restaurants even for outside only, now that the weather hopefully gets a bit warmer. As things progress more people vaccinated less hospital admissions in the long term. i will not argue that they will go up initially but it's at the stage were we have to move on an live with Covid and treat it like the flu which kills as well.

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Glad to hear it. That's different from other experiences I've heard about (including close family members), but nevertheless, anyone getting treated for such things is a positive sign :) 

It's no different from last year in my experience

2 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

The vaccine is working, vulnerable and over 40’s at least should be vaccinated by the end of April. Maybe you should let that sink in instead of trying to be smart and having a go at people. If you don’t have a life outside this forum that’s fine sit in the house until you feel it’s safe, some of us are ready to get in with our life. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic