Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Huge case figure today due to backlog issues.

Scottish numbers: 21 December 2020

Summary

• 1,504* new cases of COVID-19 reported [+570]
  • 0 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices are now generally closed at weekends) [-3]
  • 59 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+1]
  • 1,078 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+17]

• 28,051 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 6.0% of these were positive [+1,728; +0.9%]

* The increased number of new cases today (when compared with 934 reported yesterday) may have been affected by backlog issues at UK Government laboratories over the weekend.

0 deaths. I'll take that. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

2 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

0 deaths. I'll take that. 

It’s funny I saw that too . It’s strange how people look at these figures and take what they see . Red sees a “ huge rise “ in cases whereas you and I saw no deaths . No criticising you Red but it’s just an observation , I also note that icu remaining same figures almost . 

Today's per-100,000 case rates around the boards (better to concentrate on the relatives rather than the absolutes due to the backlog):

Scotland 28 [+11].

Lanarkshire 36 [+23], Tayside 33 [+16], Greater Glasgow 31 [+8], Lothian 31 [+15], Ayrshire 29 [+3], Forth Valley 28 [+17], Grampian 25 [+3], Borders 24 [+14], Fife 22 [+6], Dumfries & Galloway 10 [+3].

All the others: less than 10.

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

It’s funny I saw that too . It’s strange how people look at these figures and take what they see . Red sees a “ huge rise “ in cases whereas you and I saw no deaths . No criticising you Red but it’s just an observation , I also note that icu remaining same figures almost . 

It's a Monday and the Registries are closed at the weekend. It is very normal for there to be no deaths reported on a Monday. What I was commenting on was something that was out of the ordinary (and explaining it).

Edited by redjambo

8 minutes ago, redjambo said:

It's a Monday and the Registries are closed at the weekend. It is very normal for there to be no deaths reported on a Monday. What I was commenting on was something that was out of the ordinary (and explaining it).

Yes I know the usual figures for Monday are generally low due to the under reporting but still nice to see “ no deaths “ 

31 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Got a ticking off on Saturday from some old woman/man not sure which. 

I had just paid for my groceries and just as I was leaving the counter I noticed a couple of bakery items were missing. The cashier had moved on to the next customer and said old person was next waiting and nobody else behind her/him, so as it was a wide aisle I moved in behind only to be shouted at 'yer supposed tae go right roond the shoap' dae ye no ken it's a one way system.

Ssssorry says I, now shrinking to about three foot tall,hmph says old person. 

She was in the right off course but I hope I never get like that. 😕

You will ... we all will  :)

13 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Today's per-100,000 case rates around the boards (better to concentrate on the relatives rather than the absolutes due to the backlog):

Scotland 28 [+11].

Lanarkshire 36 [+23], Tayside 33 [+16], Greater Glasgow 31 [+8], Lothian 31 [+15], Ayrshire 29 [+3], Forth Valley 28 [+17], Grampian 25 [+3], Borders 24 [+14], Fife 22 [+6], Dumfries & Galloway 10 [+3].

All the others: less than 10.

The large amount of positive cases has a huge effect on those figures even although the positivity percentage is up slightly at 6%

Brighton Jambo
35 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I just find it amazing that given the sacrifices everyone has made over the last year the powers that be can’t have negotiated with the workforce to get a weekend shift put on in the recording offices to stop these fluctuations between 0 deaths on a Monday and then inflated figures during the week as a result.  It can’t be beyond the wit of the HR and leadership teams to make that happen surely.  

34 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

I just find it amazing that given the sacrifices everyone has made over the last year the powers that be can’t have negotiated with the workforce to get a weekend shift put on in the recording offices to stop these fluctuations between 0 deaths on a Monday and then inflated figures during the week as a result.  It can’t be beyond the wit of the HR and leadership teams to make that happen surely.  

Yes completely agree.  Something fishy about it when Nicola has been splashing out lately with various monies to various peoples.  Very odd. 

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

Get your minds out of the gutter! :D

Anyway, I'm just pleased I didn't post a gif of two pussies fighting.

Had you done so...

111+Scissor+Sisters.jpg

1 hour ago, the general said:

You will ... we all will  :)

I'm 70 on Wednesday perhaps that's the turning point.😕 

Just glad it's not next week we're booked for lunch at a very safe pub/restaurant and been looking forward to it for weeks. 

I agree with the poster saying supermarkets are more dangerous than restaurants. I try to restrict my shopping trips and bus journeys, I just feel unsafe in these places. 

51 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Cause that's the way its always been and chances of getting a civil servant to do anything helpful are virtually nil. 

Would no doubt need pay rise and weeks off to make up for stress involved. 

41 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes completely agree.  Something fishy about it when Nicola has been splashing out lately with various monies to various peoples.  Very odd. 

Fishy.😃

:10900:

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The large amount of positive cases has a huge effect on those figures even although the positivity percentage is up slightly at 6%

The latest per-capita case rates around the councils:

7-day per-100,000 cases              
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday       19 Dec 18 Dec 17 Dec 16 Dec 15 Dec
North Ayrshire 3 189 175 +14     160 174 194 191 185
East Lothian 3 174 148 +26     146 147 148 150 150
Aberdeen City 3 162 163 -1     150 162 166 154 157
East Ayrshire 3 154 153 +1     160 159 171 183 170
Clackmannanshire 3 150 148 +2     138 173 167 171 194
Perth and Kinross 3 139 126 +13     116 143 124 127 116
Midlothian 3 136 136 0     142 151 176 190 182
Glasgow City 3 135 129 +6     122 140 143 145 154
North Lanarkshire 3 131 119 +12     129 133 141 146 152
East Renfrewshire 3 129 101 +28     91 109 109 111 128
South Lanarkshire 3 129 120 +9     119 122 133 135 145
West Dunbartonshire 3 126 120 +6     102 99 105 93 96
Edinburgh City 3 122 109 +13     106 112 113 111 112
Renfrewshire 3 122 116 +6     106 121 141 136 144
Dundee City 3 119 113 +6     125 146 149 155 159
Fife 3 107 97 +10     100 118 128 134 139
Aberdeenshire 3 106 88 +18     79 82 84 80 85
Scottish Borders 1 100 85 +15     87 100 92 92 89
South Ayrshire 3 97 98 -1     96 99 118 126 123
West Lothian 3 97 83 +14     87 89 92 97 104
Stirling 3 94 70 +24     62 67 67 76 80
East Dunbartonshire 3 91 70 +21     67 78 86 90 109
Falkirk 2 80 60 +20     64 65 70 87 90
Inverclyde 2 73 59 +14     54 64 66 60 59
Angus 2 52 37 +15     37 45 47 49 59
Dumfries & Galloway 1 40 32 +8     26 29 24 19 22
Argyll and Bute 2 38 29 +9     28 33 37 33 35
Moray 1 26 13 +13     17 19 21 19 17
Highland 1 24 17 +7     17 18 17 17 19
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 15 22 -7     19 15 15 30 26
Shetland Islands 1 4 0 +4     0 0 0 0 0
Orkney Islands 1 0 0 0     0 0 0 0 0
Scotland   112 98 +14     96 105 111 111 115

10 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases              

24 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases              

Can’t believe those figures from East Lothian compared to last month 😱

2 minutes ago, theshed said:

Was about to say the same. Hope it’s not in any care homes or the hospital. 

3 minutes ago, theshed said:

Absolutely. Perhaps one of the general reasons that the SG decided to place everywhere on the mainland into Tier 4 on Boxing Day rather than pick and choose.

2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Was about to say the same. Hope it’s not in any care homes or the hospital. 

There was definitely at least one case a few days ago in a care home in Wallyford: not sure if there have been anymore since

Is it too simplistic to divide the per 100,000 numbers by 1000 to get a per 100 figure? I find it hard to identify with the per 100,000 figures.

Ie 0.109 per 100 for Edinburgh.

Edited by Taffin

21 minutes ago, theshed said:

We're riddled down here. Hoaching with it. 

I'd love to see which pubs it was this time.  

4 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Maybe missed a story. Why pubs?

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

Maybe missed a story. Why pubs?

Its pubs isn't it?

That's all I've read on here for the last 3 or 4 months.

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

The Blond Buffoon blustering his way through the briefing.

What a useless twat.

Perfectly put. Utter fud of a guy. 

On 19/12/2020 at 20:21, The Real Maroonblood said:

Meant to reply to your post re doctor appointment.

Good luck.

HI mate. My doc appointment went well. I managed a face to face consultation and was with him for around 25 minutes...i had a list of things to ask about and an examination.  A good MOT actually.  Anyway he was very supportive and helpful.  He always has been. Appreciate your thoughts @The Real Maroonblood

2 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

What a useless twat.

You're right, he's a bumbling idiot. but he's not responsible for the shit show up here.

That's devolved to Sturgeon and her fools 

I’m not sure if it’s known yet but I haven’t seen it reported: have any of these people who have tested positive or been ill with this new strain already had covid?  If so, then it would be a real game-changer....

7 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Perfectly put. Utter fud of a guy. 

He just said it’s the common sensicle thing to do 😆😂

2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

You're right, he's a bumbling idiot. but he's not responsible for the shit show up here.

That's devolved to Sturgeon and her fools 

This is an island though and he is responsible for not stopping flights into here, that’s not on the SG. 

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

He just said it’s the common sensicle thing to do 😆😂

😀 was watching it. Questions going to Vallance first gives him time to think about it but he still can’t string a sentence together. Fat radge. 

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

😀 was watching it. Questions going to Vallance first gives him time to think about it but he still can’t string a sentence together. Fat radge. 

He really is way out of his depth, no wonder he’s quitting in January once he’s got the Brexit his masters put him there to achieve. 

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

He really is way out of his depth, no wonder he’s quitting in January once he’s got the Brexit his masters put him there to achieve. 

Is he quitting? Must’ve missed that. Is it just a thing rumour or more than that. 

13 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

What a useless twat.

Anything World Beating and have we sent anything packing yet, never mind Covid? Remember one of his mates recently said that we were ahead of the vaccine game because we are the best country in the world at stuff.

2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Is he quitting? Must’ve missed that. Is it just a thing rumour or more than that. 

That’s the Westminster based press like Peston and Rigby are saying, strange thing to say if it’s not true. 

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

That’s the Westminster based press like Peston and Rigby are saying, strange thing to say if it’s not true. 

Interesting. Pretty surprising give his supposed churchillian fortitude that he’d quit in the middle of a crisis but hope he does. 

11 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

WE can only hope that he does quit. Trouble is the rest are just as radge

4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Interesting. Pretty surprising give his supposed churchillian fortitude that he’d quit in the middle of a crisis but hope he does. 

Drink problems and struggling to get by on £150k a year, still got 8-9 kids to pay for and two ex wife’s. My heart bleeds. 

STV usual scaremongering headlines.. " Country on lock down" .....due to 17 yes 17 new cases of the new strain of the virus.  They really are drama queens.  Also some polis arshole stating " dont chance it " with travelling cross country. 

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

He’s going it’s a question of timing, it’s an open secret. I attended a meeting about a month ago with a very well connected fund manager, the subject was discussed and the impact it was a working assumption. Not that changes all that much. 

He’s to get Brexit done and then **** off basically. 

I even suggested COVID might delay it. The messages was very much Brexit and he’s done. 

Sunak will be next man up seems to be the general opinion. 

Very interesting. Thank you. 

Just now, Lord BJ said:

He’s going it’s a question of timing, it’s an open secret. I attended a meeting about a month ago with a very well connected fund manager, the subject was discussed and the impact it was a working assumption. Not that changes all that much. 

He’s to get Brexit done and then **** off basically. 

I even suggested COVID might delay it. The messages was very much Brexit and he’s done. 

Sunak will be next man up seems to be the general opinion. 

Quite believe it. He has been a stooge for " dark forces" to " get  Brexit done.".  Horrible man. Grossly incompetent.  

13 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

STV usual scaremongering headlines.. " Country on lock down" .....due to 17 yes 17 new cases of the new strain of the virus.  They really are drama queens.  Also some polis arshole stating " dont chance it " with travelling cross country. 

It’s fine for hundreds of Celtic fans to go to Hampden and Celtic Park yesterday though, no arrests. 

35 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

HI mate. My doc appointment went well. I managed a face to face consultation and was with him for around 25 minutes...i had a list of things to ask about and an examination.  A good MOT actually.  Anyway he was very supportive and helpful.  He always has been. Appreciate your thoughts @The Real Maroonblood

James, it appears you've had a very positive consultation and it sounds your doctor is very understanding. 

I've had a face to face consultation and it went okay. 

My sister in laws practise is a nightmare to try and get any sort of appointment. Even pre Covid19. 

34 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

This is an island though and he is responsible for not stopping flights into here, that’s not on the SG. 

Could Sturgeon not stop flights into Scotland? She seems to have decided Scotland's borders are within her remit.

53 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

East Lothian has gone from being by far the best area for Covid in the Lothians to the worst in a very short time. 

This increase has coincided with the reduction from tier 3 to tier 2. The most significant change in this reduction is the opening of pubs. Surely that is a factor in the current increase.

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Could Sturgeon not stop flights into Scotland? She seems to have decided Scotland's borders are within her remit.

No, but maybe next year.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic