51 minutes ago, Jambo4050 said:

Turns out she did the right thing.

East Lothian should be back in

Tier 3 soon as well.

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Get a grip. That's a fecking appalling post. Everyone wants this to go away. 

They just can’t drop it for a single second of their lives man. Relentless...

5 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Tier 3 soon as well.

Some posters on here think it’s very sinister.

4 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Some posters on here think it’s very sinister.

It's very obvious to me that it was just common sense to keep the two biggest cities who are only 45 miles apart on the same level.

No doubt the ' experts ' on this echo chamber of a forum will put me right.😕

CavySlaveJambo
16 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Tier 3 soon as well.

Yeah and people I know who live there agree too. 

20 minutes ago, luckydug said:

It's very obvious to me that it was just common sense to keep the two biggest cities who are only 45 miles apart on the same level.

There’s certainly a a couple of “Experts” on here.

13 minutes ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

Yeah and people I know who live there agree too. 

I have a relative who can’t understand why I’m not visiting their house over Christmas when I know they will have used up their bubble numbers. 
It’s becoming more apparent to me that the Christmas easing of restrictions is going to be stretched to a critical point, despite the health authorities asking people not to think it’s safe to mix freely, even within the 3 household bubble. 
I wouldn’t be surprised if all of the U.K.  governments pull back on this, at least to having only one other household allowed in our homes.

38 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Tier 3 soon as well.

It took 4 weeks for her to get lucky! 

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

They just can’t drop it for a single second of their lives man. Relentless...

How you doing, Jack? This thread has turned into an absolute disgrace. Everyone is suffering and if any of the critics of any government over covid had to do the job. This is what they'd do. 

giphy.gif

8 hours ago, Gards said:

You know what....just finished the latest episode of 'Hospital' on BBC2 and it's heartbreaking to see the impacts and deaths through covid.

Why anyone would go out of their way to watch something like this is beyond me.

6 hours ago, luckydug said:

6 hours ago, JyTees said:

It took 4 weeks for her to get lucky! 

Even a broken clock... 

2 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

*Even a broken clock... 

Really? Maybe she knows more than you and I. So I'll bow to her supreme judgement. :)

4 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

*Even a broken clock... 

Dp

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Really? Maybe she knows more than you and I. So I'll bow to her supreme judgement. :)

Never in any doubt, buddy.

10 hours ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

I had an operation about two weeks ago. Staff in that hospital said they weren’t being tested. Pretty baffling

Mental.

How are you getting used to the extra four inches?

7 hours ago, luckydug said:

This the new narrative from Nic’s little followers. 😂😂😂

What a utter pile of made up shite. 

10 minutes ago, Barack said:

Happily, in a non-marital relationship. 

Is that what the Welsh are calling the sheep worrying these days?

8 hours ago, luckydug said:

It isn't obvious at all.

It seems to me the real issue is what aren't the SG telling us about why they have allowed the virus to get back out of control.

What is wrong with the measures they have taken and are they political rather than go after the real problems?

Its clear we can now say the problem isn't hospitality so why won't they tell us and give the transparency in their data?  Any competent organisation would put in place measures to investigate and action findings.

In light of a new strain of the virus and the steep rise in cases, should we be giving COVID a Christmas bonus by letting it rip through our families for 5 days over Christmas?

I can’t help think we will regret this. The whole pandemic I listened to the plans in despair knowing that what they are doing will spike the virus. When they let pubs open, Universities, schools I knew it was going to go Pete Tong. 

The Christmas bubble is going to pop hard in January. Hope the selfish enjoy what might be some folks last Christmas. 

19 minutes ago, frankblack said:

It isn't obvious at all.

It seems to me the real issue is what aren't the SG telling us about why they have allowed the virus to get back out of control.

What is wrong with the measures they have taken and are they political rather than go after the real problems?

Its clear we can now say the problem isn't hospitality so why won't they tell us and give the transparency in their data?  Any competent organisation would put in place measures to investigate and action findings.

There was no evidence to suggest Hospitality was the major cause of spreading the virus in the first place.

That sector was hung out to dry despite all their efforts to make their premises safe.

12 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

In light of a new strain of the virus and the steep rise in cases, should we be giving COVID a Christmas bonus by letting it rip through our families for 5 days over Christmas?

I can’t help think we will regret this. The whole pandemic I listened to the plans in despair knowing that what they are doing will spike the virus. When they let pubs open, Universities, schools I knew it was going to go Pete Tong. 

The Christmas bubble is going to pop hard in January. Hope the selfish enjoy what might be some folks last Christmas. 

It will be some folks last Christmas regardless. This way they'll get to spend it with loved ones.

Anyone uncomfortable with it can sit in their Xmas jammies at home, it's not mandatory.

Edited by Taffin

55 minutes ago, Dazo said:

It's only a personal opinion. 

No need to get you UJ knickers in a twist. 😏

In the Premier League of made up shite, my post is way behind most of the claptrap spouted by yourself Enzo, Frank, and the rest of the right wing intelligencia on this forum. 

21 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

I agree. I think the message in the last few days has changed with the emphasis being really think about the dangers of meeting up and you won’t be criminalised if you do.

Politicians saying they won’t meet parents  over Xmas. I know loads of families who’ve stayed away from parents for months but who have now planned a Xmas get together ‘in line with Government guidelines’

It’s a helluva situation to be faced with but I think we’re going to have a horrendous January/February

Would rather they’d said Xmas is off the cards this year

27 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

'Tis the season to be jolly.

:muggy:

The bit in bold is well out of order, btw.

16 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Anyone uncomfortable with it can sit in their Xmas jammies at home, it's not mandatory.

5 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

'Tis the season to be jolly.

:muggy:

The bit in bold is well out of order, btw.

Why does the truth resonate 

28 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It will be some folks last Christmas regardless. This way they'll get to spend it with loved ones.

There will be people who had 10/20 Christmases to go who won’t see the end of January 2021 due to this stupid decision.

months and months of isolation ruined so folk can eat a Turkey with family. Aye that’s logical. 

Glad people are comfortable with this. 

24 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I appreciate your point about some folks last Xmas. 

Your last point is not as straightforward as you make it sound. 

Families will be split over this, say Mum Dad and two teenage children are invited to Granny's for Xmas day. 

Mum doesn't want to go but the rest do. The rest go and pick up Covid and bring it home to Mum who despite following the advice is now infected. 

Covid doesn't do fairness. 😒

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

It's fecking incredible :rofl:

Mass testing students at universities on the run up to Christmas was always going to throw up more positive cases in Edinburgh.

Sturgeon has all the cult zipped up the back

5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

How you doing, Jack? This thread has turned into an absolute disgrace. Everyone is suffering and if any of the critics of any government over covid had to do the job. This is what they'd do. 

giphy.gif

Sound mate aye. A couple of pages of this thread every day or so are about enough to make you feel like that :lol: 

1 minute ago, spirt of 98 said:

Why does the truth resonate 

It's your truth, mate, not mine.

I'll try my best to be a glass half full type of guy and focus on the positives.

I'd have had a couple of folk round for Christmas dinner regardless of what the Government told us we were allowed to do.

Nothing excessive, mind, just that little bit of contact, support, and cheer that makes life actually worth living.

Christmas with a few family members will be an emotional lifeline for many in what has been a fairly shite year all round.

You seem to be in a pretty dark place with all of this, but don't go finger pointing when you know absolutely **** all about other peoples situations or frames of mind.

Now THAT is selfish.

23 minutes ago, luckydug said:

No need to get you UJ knickers in a twist. 😏

So there you have it.

It's not a personal opinion, it's a political opinion 

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

So there you have it.

It's not a personal opinion, it's a political opinion 

I'm still giggling at you being labelled intelligentsia tbh.

6 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

It's your truth, mate, not mine.

I'll try my best to be a glass half full type of guy and focus on the positives.

I'd have had a couple of folk round for Christmas dinner regardless of what the Government told us we were allowed to do.

Nothing excessive, mind, just that little bit of contact, support, and cheer that makes life actually worth living.

Christmas with a few family members will be an emotional lifeline for many in what has been a fairly shite year all round.

You seem to be in a pretty dark place with all of this, but don't go finger pointing when you know absolutely **** all about other peoples situations or frames of mind.

Now THAT is selfish.

Away and boil yer heid ya roaster 

8 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Mass testing students at universities on the run up to Christmas was always going to throw up more positive cases in Edinburgh.

Aye it’s all a cult. All the nations of the world are collaborating to scam everyone. They can’t agree on anything else but have managed to agree this time with what aim??????????🤦‍♂️

13 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

“Cult.”

6 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

Away and boil yer heid ya roaster 

Don't worry mate, I'll be dead soon.

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Christmas is really getting some people’s knickers in a twist, the option is there to spend some family time together if you choose to. There is tons of information out there in how to make it as safe as possible and there are guidelines/restrictions so that there are not mass parties. 

If the rules are followed then it shouldn’t cause the massive spike everyone is afraid of. 

It’s very much up to families personal individual circumstances and choices. For example we have been shielding my dad who is 81 on Thursday for all these months, why risk it now when we are nearing the end. However we are instead having my in laws over as they don’t want to be on their own and we feel it should be safe. 

Nobody is forcing anyone to meet up. 

Good post, Brian.

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

Im having both sets of parents across on Christmas Day.

The volcano should be an excellent accompaniment to the after-dinner brandies.

20 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

There will be people who had 10/20 Christmases to go who won’t see the end of January 2021 due to this stupid decision.

months and months of isolation ruined so folk can eat a Turkey with family. Aye that’s logical. 

Glad people are comfortable with this. 

Nobody has 10/20 Christmases guaranteed. We all succumb to something, for some that will be Covid and this year. Very, very few people who still have 10/20 years of life expectancy left will die from Covid this year however... especially if they themselves take responsibility for their own health.

As I said, nobody is being forced to socialise. My great aunt won't be joining us as she's quite frail and getting on so we are all respecting her decision to not come.

The rest of us are happy with the risk and as such will be spending Christmas together as a family.

Just now, Lord BJ said:

Meeting @jonesy type post. 

Lost weekends at the @jonesy speakeasy has been keeping me going through these troubled times tbh.

4 minutes ago, steve123 said:

https://www.cogconsortium.uk/news_item/update-on-new-sars-cov-2-variant-and-how-cog-uk-tracks-emerging-mutations/

Explanation of mutation, Hancock really should be held to account for his fear driven agenda.

Why do people have to have such a blame culture ?

I have sympathy for all our politicians, trying their best in a situation we have no prior experience of. 

Only thing I would say is perhaps the response to Covid should have been run as a coalition of all the parties. 

Then pointless political point scoring could have been avoided thus keeping everyone on board with decisions. 

24 minutes ago, luckydug said:

I appreciate your point about some folks last Xmas. 

Your last point is not as straightforward as you make it sound. 

Families will be split over this, say Mum Dad and two teenage children are invited to Granny's for Xmas day. 

Mum doesn't want to go but the rest do. The rest go and pick up Covid and bring it home to Mum who despite following the advice is now infected. 

Covid doesn't do fairness. 😒

It's only complicated if you make it, if she was that worried the mum could isolate from them on their return like many people up and down the country have had to do throughout the year in shared accommodation. If she chooses not to, that's her choice.

It's no different to me going out to work in a tier 3 area and working closely with people and then coming back into my household. My partner can either choose to live with the risk, or she can avoid me for 10 days. She's opted to live with the risk...had she not I'd have supported her decision and helped us stay apart for that period.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic