Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Fans back in England adds just a wee bit atmosphere.

When will we see fans back here seeing as Scotland has the lowest covid levels in the UK?

Think the central belt might be granted small crowds after the vaccine rollout is complete say in August....

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Keep reading about how the vaccine is going to be handed out, NHS, care workers and vulnerable folks which is fair enough but NHS Scotland is being blighted with calls from folks asking when they can all have the jag. Furloughed twats should be at the back of the queue behind the likes of my wife and I and thousands more key workers who have kept shops supplied to keep you all in bog roll and pasta.

Stop demanding you selfish barstewards.

Edited by FinnBarr Saunders

30 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Keep reading about how the vaccine is going to be handed out, NHS, care workers and vulnerable folks which is fair enough but NHS Scotland is being blighted with calls from folks asking when they can all have the jag. Furloughed twats should be at the back of the queue behind the likes of my wife and I and thousands more key workers who have kept shops supplied to keep you all in bog roll and pasta.

They can procrastinate all they like but it won't get them up the priority queue.

I doubt anyone other than care home residents or similar classification will get the jags before 2021.

2 hours ago, frankblack said:

They can procrastinate all they like but it won't get them up the priority queue.

I doubt anyone other than care home residents or similar classification will get the jags before 2021.

It's actually a good sign that folk will take it. Imo

14 hours ago, redjambo said:

Per-board, per-100,000 case stats:

Scotland 14 [-4].

Greater Glasgow 18 [-4], Lanarkshire 18 [-7], Ayrshire 17 [-2], Forth Valley 16 [+1], Lothian 16 [+3], Fife 14 [-3], Grampian 12 [=], Tayside 10 [-6].

All others: less than 10.

It's definitely working. Social settings are the environment for superspreading, so, they were right to shut pubs and restaurants etc... Imo. Now the vaccine is here, they should be opened soon enough. 

5 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

This is tough for everyone but some folk are beyond selfish from the minute they wake up to to the minute they go to bed.

Doesn't help with those two prats Leonard and Rennie being irresponsible agent provocateurs than challenging responsible opposition. 

1 hour ago, Lord BJ said:

Yeah it is. Unfortunately, I doubt we will be back at Tynie this season. 

Be a bit gutting not to get a Cup parade this year.

Just delay it and have 2 next year. 👍

17 hours ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

Beginning of the very slow road back to normality, Not long now folks. Stay strong everyone.

Superb. Bring it on. :) 

10 hours ago, frankblack said:

Indeed, but it won't stop some moaning like feck because they have to wait until probably the early summer for the general public roll-out.

It was hoped that all of those in the 9 groups which were released last week would be vaccinated by Easter, which is early April, however that entirely depends upon no delays or hold-ups or problems with distribution etc, so the time frame for joe public would be April at the earliest and then the second shot 2 or 3 weeks later, so you are looking into around late April early May time for the first group outwith of the 9 priority groups being completly vaccinated.

I'm in group 6 and I reckon I'll be lucky to get my first shot by the end of February or early March and my second by the end of March, but once again that is assuming that there isn't any hiccups, so even myself I have probably around about at least 3 months to wait until it's my turn.

3 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Indeed, but it won't stop some moaning like feck because they have to wait until probably the early summer for the general public roll-out.

It was hoped that all of those in the 9 groups which were released last week would be vaccinated by Easter, which is early April, however that entirely depends upon no delays or hold-ups or problems with distribution etc, so the time frame for joe public would be April at the earliest and then the second shot 2 or 3 weeks later, so you are looking into around late April early May time for the first group outwith of the 9 priority groups being completly vaccinated.

I'm in group 6 and I reckon I'll be lucky to get my first shot by the end of February or early March and my second by the end of March, but once again that is assuming that there isn't any hiccups, so even myself I have probably around about at least 3 months to wait until it's my turn.

Where do you see the list of groups - just curious as to how you work out what group you are in?

8 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Where do you see the list of groups - just curious as to how you work out what group you are in?

Its down the page on this 

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/priority-groups-for-coronavirus-covid-19-vaccination-advice-from-the-jcvi-2-december-2020/priority-groups-for-coronavirus-covid-19-vaccination-advice-from-the-jcvi-2-december-2020

2 minutes ago, Candy said:

Thanks - looks like I might just scrape in at the bottom group.  Looks like back at Tynie next season ... hopefully!

14 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Fans back in England adds just a wee bit atmosphere.

When will we see fans back here seeing as Scotland has the lowest covid levels in the UK?

Unfortunately once a Govt has a whiff of control and power over its populous it finds it hard to let go of that control . The restrictions will take a long time to be lowered unless the populous start mass demonstrations etc . After all once the older people and vulnerable are vaccinated that should mean things are now safe ? The NHS is hardly overwhelmed as it is never mind when the vaccine is rolled out 

Interesting the amount of people who seem to think once they've been vaccinated they can just get back to everything...yet deride those who currently believe we should just get back to normal

She certainly has a brass neck to write this tweet . I thought it was a parody account at first 

54396B73-0169-4391-BE58-D2E52D0E5AD1.jpeg

There are some potentially adverse consequences that are being considered regarding people within multi-generational households and households of mixed priority - no priority status receiving the vaccination.  There is a bit of a fly in the ointment in that priority people will have their vaccinations well in advance of people living in the same house.  It's reasonable to expect that a degree of this priority group will begin to engage in more routine activities,  etc,  and may well inadvertently expose other household members to virus,  whether from surfaces or potentially asymptomatic infection (the risk of onward transmission being unknown).  Worse is when the non-priority vaccinations begin.  People going out to get their shots and everything opens back up close to normality.  Inevitably some people wont glean any protection from the vaccine (not 100% effective) and will end up infecting or being infected by other people in their households.

Seems like a rather unavoidable complication but it just goes to show how complex the concept is to vaccinate and return to normality.

8 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

She certainly has a brass neck to write this tweet . I thought it was a parody account at first 

You couldn’t make the shit up she comes out with, brass neck doesn’t cover it. Closes down the majority of Scotland but we’ve to shop local, feckin hypocrite. 

Just now, Radio Ga Ga said:

You couldn’t make the shit up she comes out with, brass neck doesn’t cover it. Closes down the majority of Scotland but we’ve to shop local, feckin hypocrite. 

I know . She rightly got pelters on Twitter with that tweet . It’s grossly insensitive 

9 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

Lets hope a journalist throws that one at her at the next press briefing. 

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

Thanks - looks like I might just scrape in at the bottom group.  Looks like back at Tynie next season ... hopefully!

Priority groups cover around 99% of the "at risk" population so things should be opened back up before anyone not on the list gets vaccinated.

Just now, graygo said:

Priority groups cover around 99% of the "at risk" population so things should be opened back up before anyone not on the list gets vaccinated.

Not quite.  It covers about 99% of fatalities but serious illness still occurs in those not within the list of 9 groups.  People who become quite ill or severely ill but who are successfully treated.

Ainsley Harriott
29 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Shes scum absolutely no other word for her. Uses money intended to bail out small businesses to buy up votes ahead of an election 

6 minutes ago, graygo said:

Until they prove it stops onward transmission then nothing should be opened back up until the vaccine has been made available to everyone.

Otherwise we'd basically be in the scenario we are in now, some people are safe whilst others aren't.

Personally I'd open up, but to do so before everyone has the chance to bevaccinated, after this year, would be totally hypocritical.

Edited by Taffin

34 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Well get the hospitality open.

7 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Not quite.  It covers about 99% of fatalities but serious illness still occurs in those not within the list of 9 groups.  People who become quite ill or severely ill but who are successfully treated.

Yes, by "at risk" I meant "at risk of death".

My point though is that I wouldn't expect things not to open up 

Edited by graygo

15 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

If the opposition did their job properly it would help.

6 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Shes scum absolutely no other word for her. Uses money intended to bail out small businesses to buy up votes ahead of an election 

:vangry:

5 minutes ago, graygo said:

Yes, by "at risk" I meant "at risk of death".

My point though is that I wouldn't expect things not to open up 

Things will have to and will open up,  but probably very gradually.

Future knowledge regarding vaccines preventing / reducing onward transmission and persistence of immune protection will determine the speed of the opening back up.  Even better would be a really good,  mass scale programme of antibody testing.  It's one thing to have proof of vaccination,  but without proving you're in the lucky 90 odd percent,  it's of much more value to know you're vaccinated and antibody positive.

Knowledge of onward transmission should begin to come through in the spring or summer.  Near full prevention of onward transmission is the holy grail.

Scottish numbers: 6 December 2020

Summary

• 643 new cases of COVID-19 reported [-134]
  • 5 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [-17]
  • 62 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-2]
  • 951 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+6]
  • 14,790 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 5.2% of these were positive [-5.933; +0.7%]

Per-board, per-100,000 case stats:

Scotland 12 [-2].

Ayrshire 19 [+2], Lanarkshire 19 [+1], Fife 16 [+2], Greater Glasgow 16 [-2], Tayside 12 [+2].

Forth Valley 8 [-6], Grampian 8 [-4], Lothian 7 [-9].

Others: less than 5.

1 hour ago, Boy Daniel said:

aye

Edited by Harry Potter

31 minutes ago, luckydug said:

How is Scotland doing in comparison with the other home nations this week ? 

Scotland are doing the best with positive cases coming in between 4-5% of tests that report results.

England are doing much better after their lockdown

Wales are fecked 

51 minutes ago, luckydug said:

How is Scotland doing in comparison with the other home nations this week ? 

From the Travelling Tabby site, the comparative cases and deaths per 1m population over the last 7 days:

613388009_Screenshotat2020-12-0616-40-38.png.0f4ae48bcd1a216d702b961a1d4967de.png839282783_Screenshotat2020-12-0616-41-04.png.5831334b2476b7be577b04b8878aa8ec.png

The latest per-council 7-day infection rates:

7-day per-100,000 cases              
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday   Start of T4’s       4 Dec 3 Dec 2 Dec 1 Dec 30 Nov
Clackmannanshire 3 194 217 -23 165 +29     208 200 192 155 140
Argyll and Bute 2 176 173 +3 31 +145     182 79 77 77 83
Glasgow City 4 162 156 +6 235 -73     155 153 160 155 158
East Renfrewshire 4 154 150 +4 195 -41     156 164 169 155 149
North Lanarkshire 4 152 153 -1 235 -83     159 159 170 176 169
Renfrewshire 4 152 158 -6 260 -108     162 179 206 194 195
North Ayrshire 3 139 136 +3 124 +15     137 131 140 128 127
South Lanarkshire 4 128 136 -8 233 -105     146 159 172 174 179
East Ayrshire 4 123 121 +2 152 -29     114 118 118 115 120
West Lothian 4 116 110 +6 193 -77     114 130 132 127 128
East Dunbartonshire 4 110 101 +9 161 -51     100 113 121 117 110
Fife 3 105 101 +4 116 -11     103 103 107 99 96
Dundee City 3 104 101 +3 102 +2     96 98 92 92 97
South Ayrshire 4 103 101 +2 153 -50     103 100 114 125 125
Aberdeenshire 2 92 90 +2 64 +28     91 92 87 93 94
Perth and Kinross 3 89 100 -11 116 -27     100 102 97 93 95
Midlothian 3 82 86 -4 101 -19     83 88 86 65 71
Falkirk 3 76 68 +8 85 -9     62 57 59 58 49
East Lothian 2 71 66 +5 48 +23     63 56 49 48 51
Edinburgh City 3 70 72 -2 84 -14     67 63 68 69 74
Stirling 4 70 84 -14 210 -140     94 99 124 123 132
West Dunbartonshire 4 70 87 -17 142 -72     89 85 94 89 85
Angus 3 67 64 +3 88 -21     66 66 62 62 65
Inverclyde 3 67 57 +10 99 -32     55 64 90 87 96
Aberdeen City 2 66 73 -7 51 +15     64 65 71 90 92
Scottish Borders 2 37 35 +2 74 -37     35 34 33 33 29
Dumfries & Galloway 2 23 21 +2 34 -11     20 21 21 21 19
Highland 1 18 17 +1 19 -1     20 18 18 19 19
Na h-Eileanan Siar 1 15 15 0 0 +15     15 22 22 22 11
Moray 1 14 11 +3 25 -11     11 14 11 9 8
Orkney Islands 1 4 4 0 4 0     4 4 9 9 4
Shetland Islands 1 4 4 0 13 -9     4 4 9 17 17
Scotland   99 101 -2 135 -36     101 101 106 105 105

49 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases              
Council Area Tier Today Yesterday   Start of T4’s       4 Dec 3 Dec 2 Dec 1 Dec 30 Nov
Clackmannanshire 3 194 217 -23 165 +29     208 200 192 155 140
Argyll and Bute 2 176 173 +3 31 +145     182 79 77 77 83
Glasgow City 4 162 156 +6 235 -73     155 153 160 155 158
East Renfrewshire 4 154 150 +4 195 -41     156 164 169 155 149
North Lanarkshire 4 152 153 -1 235 -83     159 159 170 176 169
Renfrewshire 4 152 158 -6 260 -108     162 179 206 194 195
North Ayrshire 3 139 136 +3 124 +15     137 131 140 128 127
South Lanarkshire 4 128 136 -8 233 -105     146 159 172 174 179
East Ayrshire 4 123 121 +2 152 -29     114 118 118 115 120
West Lothian 4 116 110 +6 193 -77     114 130 132 127 128
East Dunbartonshire 4 110 101 +9 161 -51     100 113 121 117 110
Fife 3 105 101 +4 116 -11     103 103 107 99 96
Dundee City 3 104 101 +3 102 +2     96 98 92 92 97
South Ayrshire 4 103 101 +2 153 -50     103 100 114 125 125
Aberdeenshire 2 92 90 +2 64 +28     91 92 87 93 94
Perth and Kinross 3 89 100 -11 116 -27     100 102 97 93 95
Midlothian 3 82 86 -4 101 -19     83 88 86 65 71
Falkirk 3 76 68 +8 85 -9     62 57 59 58 49
East Lothian 2 71 66 +5 48 +23     63 56 49 48 51
Edinburgh City 3 70 72 -2 84 -14     67 63 68 69 74
Stirling 4 70 84 -14 210 -140     94 99 124 123 132
West Dunbartonshire 4 70 87 -17 142 -72     89 85 94 89 85
Angus 3 67 64 +3 88 -21     66 66 62 62 65
Inverclyde 3 67 57 +10 99 -32     55 64 90 87 96
Aberdeen City 2 66 73 -7 51 +15     64 65 71 90 92

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

CavySlaveJambo
1 hour ago, redjambo said:

-7 51 +15     64 65 71 90 92

Hmm. The only secure Council's are the really rural ones except Argyll and Bute. everyone else still has issues.  

And Ikea is going to be a double problem again come next Friday

Edited by CavySlaveJambo
forgot the mess in Argyll and Bute

CavySlaveJambo

In other news, the whole of Southern California will be under a stay at home order from tonight until 2020.  Gavin Newsom has been called out for taking things slow, (none of the theme parks in CA are open again), but maybe this is more evidence he knows what he is doing.  The problem is no county is going to enforce the order.  ICU availability is below 15% of capacity there. 

4 minutes ago, JWL said:

Hearing Edinburgh in tier 2 from next week.

Im in East Lothian and in tier 2 and now Edinburgh is lower than us so don’t see why not?

10 minutes ago, JWL said:

Hearing Edinburgh in tier 2 from next week.

Still pretty sh&& for pubs  and restaurants but I suppose better than nothing.  "  Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars can open indoors for the consumption of food and non alcoholic drinks. Alcoholic drinks can only be served with the purchase of a main meal.  Last entry is 19:00 and all venues must be closed and all customers off the premises by 20:00. 

6 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Still pretty sh&& for pubs  and restaurants but I suppose better than nothing.  "  Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars can open indoors for the consumption of food and non alcoholic drinks. Alcoholic drinks can only be served with the purchase of a main meal.  Last entry is 19:00 and all venues must be closed and all customers off the premises by 20:00. 

Not sure how reliable the information is, but as you say, better than what it currently is, Scotch Egg and 15 pints please:robboyas:

Edited by JWL

4 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

I hope you are right 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/health/coronavirus/experts-give-thumbs-edinburgh-being-moved-level-two-covid-restrictions-3059360

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic