Hybrid Pitch

kila

27 minutes ago, Bad Religion said:

The maroon track around the outside of the pitch looks dated and shit. Can't believe they kept it.

Is that defo the old one??

• Replies 4.8k

• Thomaso

• kila

• Boris5115

Bad Religion
19 minutes ago, Hackney Hearts said:

What should we have had instead?

Grass or astro like the majority of other hybrid pitch installations. Gives the ground a much cleaner more modern look in my opinion. 

Like this for example:

image.png.5cb5a8ee1ea148b1b9ccd6a6d20a386f.png

5 minutes ago, GavK1012 said:

Is that defo the old one??

Not sure, could be new.

Edited by Bad Religion

1 hour ago, Primejambo said:

Long time lurker here but as my first post I just want to say this thread is getting me proper excited for the new season. As simple a thing as 'planting a new field' just shows the progress that has been made in the last few years, OK we aren't loaded but the improvements keep coming slow and steady and in the end I fully believe they will culminate in a perfect storm of a season 

Hi PJ, welcome to the crazy world of JKB.  There are a lot of very knowledgeable posters on here and a lot of arseholes. Sometimes the two are one and the same. Like life, you have to negotiate your way through the shite. But we're all Jambos really. (Well most of us). Oh and I'm sure there are some that think I'm an arsehole (see earlier in this thread) but I can deal with that crap. If you can then you're well in mate. HHGH. And on  topic, whit a braw park. !

11 minutes ago, Bad Religion said:

Grass or astro like the majority of other hybrid pitch installations. Gives the ground a much cleaner more modern look in my opinion. 

You want less maroon and more green...?

Bad Religion
4 minutes ago, kila said:

You want less maroon and more green...?

Yes. Bizarrely I’m intelligent enough not to associate grass with Hibs. 

Edited by Bad Religion

44 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Out with a Hibby for lunch. Is the hybrid pitch a reality ? He said. 

Feckin right and up ye ya wank was my predictable yet cultured response.

Tool.

Hey Jonno, that was a brilliant post, full of your usual poeticism. You're usually one of my favourite posters on here, but you're shiting on my post makes no sense whatsoever. We're not all gardeners you know. (And yeah I know what the big tenty looking thing is too). ~I hope being out for lunch with a Hobo hasn't adversley affected you.        ::troll::.

38 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Wow are they cutting the grass already ? That's amazing progress. I just get more and more proud of what this club has achieved since administration. :wub:

I hope they know what they are doing (the groundsman or contractor with the mower).  I would have thought that cutting the grass within a bawhair of its life in this weather isn't the best idea, sprinklers or not.

1 minute ago, Footballfirst said:

I hope they know what they are doing (the groundsman or contractor with the mower).  I would have thought that cutting the grass within a bawhair of its life in this weather isn't the best idea, sprinklers or not.

FF, I would assume that everything is still under the control of the contractors. Not sure at what time it’s handed over as a finished product but, with the sewing tent still being in use, I guess it’s not ours to cut yet.

All Out Attack
51 minutes ago, kila said:

Some screencaps:

1.png.61355125625d33110a98605070765bbe.png2.png.d6e0cc05d004cb2302834a29978ae265.png3.png.d5ec16dc30abc4033b021c97a443c60a.png4.png.201a2e60a26dadb76066a6536d307034.png

Thanks for posting these, they are excellent pics. 

I can't believe how quickly this pitch has matured. It looks superb. 

These will be no excuses for not playing football on this pitch. 

1 hour ago, Bad Religion said:

The maroon track around the outside of the pitch looks dated and shit. Can't believe they kept it.

Sure Oor Ann changed that from the old almost maroon colour to the new correct pantone shade of maroon only a couple of years ago. 

3 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

My Eighty four year old Mum was out thinning her apple trees yesterday.  She told me that she takes a lot of the young apples off the tree and reduces the height. This allows the tree to grow bigger, better apples and thickens the tree rather than it getting taller. My wee mum is getting wee-er. I think cutting young grass might help to thicken it , I dunno though.

2 minutes ago, whodanny said:

My Eighty four year old Mum was out thinning her apple trees yesterday.  She told me that she takes a lot of the young apples off the tree and reduces the height. This allows the tree to grow bigger, better apples and thickens the tree rather than it getting taller. My wee mum is getting wee-er. I think cutting young grass might help to thicken it , I dunno though.

Nah we are obviously just winging it , no way are we following the installation instructions. 

9 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Cutting the grass will promote stronger growth, it's water it needs now and lots of it. Until a full days rain is forecast they will need to get the sprinklers on through the night. Hope we have enough cash for the water bill?

9 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Danny. I am home now after a feckin nightmare journey in the heat with the feckin train going like a feckin tortoise. 

I am owe you an apology. I never saw the feckin mower originally m and was being a smartarse. I admit when I am wrong and I was here so apologies mate. 

Apology gladly accepted Jonno. We all miss-read or miss-see posts from time to time. Also, as I said in my following post I always find your posts at the least interesting and often fecking hilarious ! Have you ever considered a career as a comedic poet ?? No probs fellow Jambo. :thumbsup:  I know what a feckin nightmare train journeys can be, especially in the heat. Fort William to Crianlarich in the oppressive heat like today can be awful. Last time, me and some fellow mountain wanderers had to empty the trolley of whisky miniatures just to cope! Apart from my brother in law who was driving. Oh the seethe !!!

Edited by whodanny

19 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Sure Oor Ann changed that from the old almost maroon colour to the new correct pantone shade of maroon only a couple of years ago. 

Im sure the pics just a few weeks ago showed no track (I may be wrong obvs!) and im thinking this trackside is new?? Aw feck knows....its too hot, I canny think straight!!

36 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Is it defo a mower? Not some sort of pallet truck or alike?? Probably talking sh**e

9 minutes ago, sac said:

Cutting the grass will promote stronger growth, it's water it needs now and lots of it. Until a full days rain is forecast they will need to get the sprinklers on through the night. Hope we have enough cash for the water bill?

Sure they'll keep the sprinklers going. No real change in the weather predicted until about Wednesday next week at the moment, maybe a "heat shower" or two, or the prolonged heat could bring on some spectacular thunder storms. The local mountain rescue teams are on alert for heatstroke, de-hydration and potential lightning victims at the moment. I couldnae be arsed to venture out on the hills today so it's been cold beer and Senegal v Colombia this afternoon.

3 minutes ago, jamdunc said:

Is it defo a mower? Not some sort of pallet truck or alike?? Probably talking sh**e

Dyson.

6 minutes ago, kila said:

10.thumb.jpg.bac7ac8423982a03343bd1d3c6467ac6.jpg12.thumb.jpg.b852bf161a183671ae023fe913b0538d.jpg

That top pic... :sob:Oh the memories, great games . great laughs, and probably way too much beer. Aah.

Most of my days were spent in the shed or Mcleod Street end, but for the Bayern Munich game I was in the Gorgie end, what a night, what a crush ! and what a blast !

Edited by whodanny

10 minutes ago, kila said:

10.thumb.jpg.bac7ac8423982a03343bd1d3c6467ac6.jpg12.thumb.jpg.b852bf161a183671ae023fe913b0538d.jpg

I may well be in the minority here but I far preferred going to games at ground in top picture.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

I may well be in the minority here but I far preferred going to games at ground in top picture.

I know what you mean BHB but the Pie man was right when he said "not fit for purpose" he was wrong about leaving Gorgie 'tho. I love what Hearts have done and the Stadium is now one of the finest in Scotland. I still miss the old days, in some ways, ( I caught TB in 1990 and the Specialist said it could've been someone in the crowd coughing or sneezing near me. He was a Jambo himself, and a light plane pilot. He was killed in a plane crash in the small Isles in the 90s. A good guy). So I don't miss that bit. But the fun,  and the laughs, and the team we had in the mid eighties to early nineties... Well... :sob:

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

What happens in hot countries with the trains? I was in the US last year in a heatwave and the train went like a feckin bullet?

Dunno about that. Different steel ? So many reports over the last few days of railway delays due to the heat affecting the tracks or the points. One of my Hill buddys is a retired railway communications engineer and he says the points and signals can be easily affected, but is at a loss to explain why. Walking is the most reliable mode of transport. mind you it's a feck of a long walk from my hoose to Tynie. Train to Haymarket is still my best bet.

Edited by whodanny

15 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Dunno about that. Different steel ? So many reports over the last few days of railway delays due to the heat affecting the tracks or the points. One of my Hill buddys is a retired railway communications engineer and he says the points and signals can be easily affected, but is at a loss to explain why. Walking is the most reliable mode of transport. mind you it's a feck of a long walk from my hoose to Tynie. Train to Haymarket is still my best bet.

8 temporary speed restrictions between Glasgow central & Dunbar southbound so far all because of the heatwave. Wrong kind of Sun apparently.

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Aye. I walk miles most days with our dogs but was out today on a monthly "lunch' with some ex colleagues who have also retired. Lunch does mean some food washed diwn today by Estrella Damm....

Train home was a chore, not helped by a mother whapping oot her left jug to.feed her screaming bairn right in front of my eyes. I looked the other way. Naturally.

Lucky bairn. The mum was pretty. 

Very chivalrous of you to avert your gaze. (Did you really?)

3 minutes ago, sac said:

8 temporary speed restrictions between Glasgow central & Dunbar southbound so far all because of the heatwave. Wrong kind of Sun apparently.

So far here nae problem with the wrong kind of beer :thumbsup:

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

Yes I did. Looked our the window at a tree. The feckin train was stopped in the middle of West Lothian due to the speed restrictions.

Told my wife about the feeding episode and she said well you must have been looking...

Women's logic.

out the window aye? i bet you were looking at the reflection

25 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Yes I did. Looked our the window at a tree. The feckin train was stopped in the middle of West Lothian due to the speed restrictions.

Told my wife about the feeding episode and she said well you must have been looking...

Women's logic.

Women's logic... well, true. But they can also be very perceptive, and intuitive. Smart feckers !!!. My wife of course knows I'd never look in the wrong direction. Whatever that is.

Oh wait, you mentioned she was a tidy Bursd. No excuses Jonno. (Was it nice ?)

Edited by whodanny

19 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Certainly not. Anyway on topic the weather must be great for our new pitch. 

I cannot wait to see it for real.

Oooooh weak response.

37 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I cannot wait to see it for real.

Well then maybe you shouldn't have looked the other way!

20 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

:kirk:

:rofl:Not like you to be short of a retort Jonno.

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

Aye. I walk miles most days with our dogs but was out today on a monthly "lunch' with some ex colleagues who have also retired. Lunch does mean some food washed diwn today by Estrella Damm....

Train home was a chore, not helped by a mother whapping oot her left jug to.feed her screaming bairn right in front of my eyes. I looked the other way. Naturally.

Lucky bairn. The mum was pretty

:worthless_thread:

2 hours ago, been here before said:

Hate to disagree but those were the days when we'd won bugger all for 40+ years. I have plenty happy memories (and miserable ones) from the 70/80's but give me the 'modern' era any day. I'd given up hope of us winning anything and that included the Texaco Cup

1 hour ago, whodanny said:

:rofl:Not like you to be short of a retort Jonno.

all the blood has rushed from his brain

I wonder if CL will use Murrayfield for training sessions as the season gets nearer to get the players a feel for the new surface.

27 minutes ago, WageThief said:

You can't stand any mower puns?

They're just needles s. 

Weave them out and focus on the topic. 

10 hours ago, gjcc said:

Please don't turn this into a pun thread. 

10 hours ago, kila said:

Why, are you going to grass on us?

10 hours ago, WageThief said:

You can't stand any mower puns?

9 hours ago, gjcc said:

They're just needles s. 

Weave them out and focus on the topic. 

:clyay:

14 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Wish I was a bairn again type post:pleased:

14 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Missed opportunity. You should have asked if you could go on the other one.

1 minute ago, jonnothejambo said:

Please. I am eating a bacon roll.

Just seen the forecast on BBC Breakfast TV. No rain and mainly sun right through to the end of next week. The new pitch will love it. 

BBC Breakfast TV even showed a map of Russia to highlight where England will be playing right though to the semis.  

Colombia written off as are the Swiss/Sweden. I hope they are right but it is all going to go tits up. Potentially with Colombia. 

Then the carnage will commence.

You can't help but get the feeling that Colombia will win on penalties. Jordan Henderson  missing the one that matters. 

17 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Out with a Hibby for lunch. Is the hybrid pitch a reality ? He said. 

Feckin right and up ye ya wank was my predictable yet cultured response.

Tool.

A fine quote my good man but, a hibby doing lunch? You sure??....... what did it order, a pot noodle?