Hybrid Pitch

kila

17 minutes ago, Jamboelite said:

The contrast between the front of that picture and the back is considerable.

On some photos it looks like the grass is pretty much done and then you see Bobby the B's post and it looks quite bare. I appreciate the sowing machine is still to do its thing in some areas but it does still look like a task to get it ready for the first game.

I also love how no one can get a clear photo of the police box scaled back, its like a secret project with photos on long lenses or behind machines.

Grass should grow comfortably enough in next 3 weeks

• Replies 4.8k

• Thomaso

• kila

• Boris5115

Alva-Jambo

It is SO dry, I assume it needs watered daily.  We don't want to have our new grass die on us!  

I assume in future if needed, seed can be sown on any patch that occurs ? 

1 hour ago, Jamboelite said:

The contrast between the front of that picture and the back is considerable.

On some photos it looks like the grass is pretty much done and then you see Bobby the B's post and it looks quite bare. I appreciate the sowing machine is still to do its thing in some areas but it does still look like a task to get it ready for the first game.

I also love how no one can get a clear photo of the police box scaled back, its like a secret project with photos on long lenses or behind machines.

You won't get a good look until the scaffolding comes down.

7 minutes ago, Alva-Jambo said:

It is SO dry, I assume it needs watered daily.  We don't want to have our new grass die on us!  

I assume in future if needed, seed can be sown on any patch that occurs ? 

Yes to both questions

2 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

You won't get a good look until the scaffolding comes down.

Zooming in on @Bobby the B's photo you can see it a little. Nearly flush with the pylon:

2343.png.d69ef1f5cdcc14ed8d47831a002ad7c7.png

17 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Finally a couple showing just how well the new park is bedding in...

994F8519-0844-46B4-9B00-53A5BDB98EF9.jpeg

1DFEACAC-9386-4A33-A1D2-7A46E3E458F2.jpeg

Is the hybrid vehicle thing away now?

Just now, kila said:

Is the hybrid vehicle thing away now?

Aye, that’s it all done. Just needs to grow now. The SIS boys (who were Dutch and really decent guys by the way) have left the building!

314FA5DD-57A2-484D-A2C7-497234F723D4.jpeg

132goals1958
23 hours ago, kila said:

From Hearts twitter

34C8B283-363E-4D6B-95E8-A0A064FAA907.jpeg

Who would have ever predicted how far we have come, from those dark days five years ago. A joy to behold

12 hours ago, Mr Sifter said:

Aye, that’s it all done. Just needs to grow now. The SIS boys (who were Dutch and really decent guys by the way) have left the building!

314FA5DD-57A2-484D-A2C7-497234F723D4.jpeg

Thanks for the pics as always Mr S.

Sky news were reporting(I know) another 4 weeks of heat, how will the pitch hold up and what can we do if there is a hosepipe ban?

How is the weather looking over there? favorably I hope.

On 01/07/2018 at 10:14, ...a bit disco said:

From Twitter.

The Machine!

DhAaWtHX0AAMyMs.jpg

images.jpeg

11 minutes ago, neonjambo said:

Thanks for the pics as always Mr S.

Sky news were reporting(I know) another 4 weeks of heat, how will the pitch hold up and what can we do if there is a hosepipe ban?

How is the weather looking over there? favorably I hope.

Hose pipe ban?

We have sprinklers ?

BelgeJambo
39 minutes ago, Robbo51 said:

Looks magnificent ???

Are the stripes going the right way to welcome Brenda?

Heartsofgold
2 minutes ago, heartsfc_fan said:

Just need to get those faded seats replaced now ;)

They will be miles down the list of things to spend money on.

41 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Pitch looking a bit like The Thumb's heid tbh.

Part artificial?

Never understood the fascination with the seats. The main stand isn't even finished but people want faded seats replaced and get all raging whenever the see a photo. 

They'll just get smashed up by away fans anyway.

Personally, if Hearts were to spend money on new seats because the existing ones were slightly faded I would suggest the money would have been better spent on the the team or on the academy.

Proper football stadium.

Just wish we had a Euro tie coming up or something. Not long till the Celtic game i guess.

Just now, Gershwin said:

Surely this has to be optimum pitch-growing weather!?!

Until a hosepipe ban kicks in!

BelgeJambo
32 minutes ago, kila said:

Until a hosepipe ban kicks in!

Greenginger or Moffat writing to the council to demand it as we speak no doubt

4 hours ago, Manny1874 said:

Check out @striturf’s Tweet:

Establishment pitch for the Establishment club. :verysmug:

All Out Attack

Long term, is this new pitch being looked after by a private company or Hearts ground staff. 

132goals1958
2 hours ago, BelgeJambo said:

Greenginger or Moffat writing to the council to demand it as we speak no doubt

It seems such a long time ago since this fellow endeavored to convey his thoughts to the Lithuanian Authorities . Can anyone confirm if there was ever an English Translation

2 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

They maintain it under warranty 

Imagine how long these pro's could grow it for Celtic's visit

4 hours ago, andydog said:

Never understood the fascination with the seats. The main stand isn't even finished but people want faded seats replaced and get all raging whenever the see a photo. 

Personally, if Hearts were to spend money on new seats because the existing ones were slightly faded I would suggest the money would have been better spent on the the team or on the academy.

Same, fed up hearing about them!!

5 hours ago, andydog said:

A wee compromise then because the faded seats obviously irritate a fair few fans.  

Instead of replacing them at least move all the faded seats into one condensed grouping together.  So you'll have a block of faded seats matching each and the decent non-faded seats making up the other sections. Far more uniform and tidy looking than the current scruffy look.. 

11 minutes ago, Nobreath said:

A wee compromise then because the faded seats obviously irritate a fair few fans.  

Instead of replacing them at least move all the faded seats into one condensed grouping together.  So you'll have a block of faded seats matching each and the decent non-faded seats making up the other sections. Far more uniform and tidy looking than the current scruffy look.. 

We need a thread for the seat colour obsessed. ?

17 minutes ago, Ak47 said:

Was in today for my Grandads memorial. 

Managed to get a few photos. 

It's looking fantastic.

20180706_140238.jpg

20180706_140243.jpg

20180706_140241.jpg

20180706_140327.jpg

Stunning thanks AK47 superb pictures and hope the ceremony went smoothly for you.

Also to add, the sun lamp still being used in the last picture so clearly no problem with the current weather in the UK.

Edited by Neon

2 minutes ago, kila said:

Fantastic photos @Ak47

Most perfect pitch in the country, it'll be better than Murrayfield!

Same length of grass as Murrayfield? Brendan will be on to the SFA ;)

Oh and yes many thanks AK47 for the great pics

52 minutes ago, Ak47 said:

Was in today for my Grandads memorial. 

Managed to get a few photos. 

It's looking fantastic.

20180706_140241.jpg

Really cracking photos there. If you zoom in on this shot, you can see the work going on for the TV studio at the top of the R-S stair. It looks as if we've maybe sacrificed about 20 or seats to accommodate the studio.

2 hours ago, neonjambo said:

Stunning thanks AK47 superb pictures and hope the ceremony went smoothly for you.

Also to add, the sun lamp still being used in the last picture so clearly no problem with the current weather in the UK.

Thanks Neon, the ceremony was really good. That's the 3rd plaque my family has on there now, but the first time I've been.

My Grandad was 93 when he passed, My first vague memory of Tynecastle is him and my Dad taking me and Jimmy Bone scoring.  His last couple of years were miserable for him, he was blind, couldn't walk, needed help to wash and go to the toilet and missed my gran terribly who died a year before.

The only time he seemed at peace was when he had his headphones on listening to the games.

The chaplain spoke about how Hearts to some people is more than a team, It's what binds family's, friendships etc, and its true.

Standing in the empty stadium looking so good really made me reflect on how far we've came and where we could have been.

Totally got me energised for next season, canny wait! :pleased: