The Beast from the East

Swanny17

Just remembered abut the poor bugger on here who was meant to be flying to Lanzarote this morning.  :(

:clyay:

• Replies 1k

Think I will go out a walk in the snow as can’t sit here any longer.......I’m spaced out with the amount of coffee I’ve drink since lunch time yesterday 

5 minutes ago, graygo said:

Just remembered abut the poor bugger on here who was meant to be flying to Lanzarote this morning.  :(

:clyay:

The 9.10am Jet2 to Lanzarote is still going, now estimated to leave at 12.10pm. The poor bugger will still be lying in the sun only a wee bit later

1 hour ago, Der Kaiser said:

Teachers too.

I'm planning on working at home. Booting up the laptop soon. Just gonna have another hour or so in bed, then I'm gonna bake some biscuits then I'll do 15mins of admin before turning the Xbox on.

Hero is maybe too small a word for me......

Good luck couldn't get a game online!

Randy Marsh

Does anyone know if Parking Wardens are working today?  I got sent home from work and don't have a permit to park on my street during the day.  Normally park it down the Grange (EH9) area but I cant be bothered moving it.

10 hours ago, heartsfc_fan said:

Jaguar then

Point to heartsfc_van. British (built at least) and begins with a J.

On topic airport  buses running quite frequently so far and town bound ones quite full

lauriesrank
1 minute ago, Randy Marsh said:

Does anyone know if Parking Wardens are working today?  I got sent home from work and don't have a permit to park on my street during the day.  Normally park it down the Grange (EH9) area but I cant be bothered moving it.

If any of them are on, which I doubt, and they are h=that dedicated to crawl along the grange and ticket you, your appeal will be 100% successful cause of the adverse weather.  SO don't worry, it's a mild inconvenience at best. :)

4 minutes ago, Randy Marsh said:

I am pretty sure even if they are out they can't wipe the snow off your car to check for permit.

If your car is clear shovel some snow over it.

Randy Marsh
2 minutes ago, lauriesrank said:

If any of them are on, which I doubt, and they are h=that dedicated to crawl along the grange and ticket you, your appeal will be 100% successful cause of the adverse weather.  SO don't worry, it's a mild inconvenience at best. :)

It really would not surprise me.  There is one guy in particular who I see all over Edinburgh ticketing folk.  Seen him in Portobello, Gorgie, Morningside etc.  Must have been in the job 20 years.  Bellend.

Randy Marsh
3 minutes ago, Janbo1874 said:

I am pretty sure even if they are out they can't wipe the snow off your car to check for permit.

If your car is clear shovel some snow over it.

Yeah.  Done that already.:laugh:

47 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Took my new puppy dug out the back for a greyfriars earlier but it wasn't interested. 

Just ate the snaw and now it can't stop peeing on the mats in the hoose! :)

I toilet trained my puppy in just over a week. I bought a load of those mats but decided to go for gold, only shat once in the house and a couple of pees.

I'm left with pile of mats I won't use

28 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Wait until it needs a Sir John....

Get the Evening News out, hopefully with a prominent photo of Lennon. 

It will not miss it's target. 

Lol

4 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I toilet trained my puppy in just over a week. I bought a load of those mats but decided to go for gold, only shat once in the house and a couple of pees.

I'm left with pile of mats I won't use

Superb mate. Wish I had that luck!

Riddley Walker

I commute from Musselburgh to West Lothian every day by public transport, was able to comfortably call in last night.

Wouldn't be surprised if the trains are off tomorrow as well. Midweek bottles of red all round.

Heating working fine, cold water fine via mains, but no water at all coming out when turn a hot water tap on.

Frozen pipe somewhere then.  Trying to get the house as warm as I can to thaw the fecker out.  Our kitchen is baltic and thats where the boiler is so assuming its the hot out that's frozen.

Vexing, to say the least.

The bugger was working fine yesterday too.

deesidejambo
Just now, Boris said:

Heating working fine, cold water fine via mains, but no water at all coming out when turn a hot water tap on.

Frozen pipe somewhere then.  Trying to get the house as warm as I can to thaw the fecker out.  Our kitchen is baltic and thats where the boiler is so assuming its the hot out that's frozen.

Vexing, to say the least.

The bugger was working fine yesterday too.

Careful.   If the pipe is now burst it will leak when you thaw it out.

unlikely but you never know

Geoff the Mince

I had a lovely walk along Colinton Road earlier lots of smiling pleasant people (especially the ladies) work is shite though .. 

Edinburgh schools to remain closed on Friday.

Not sure about mid,east and West Lothian but I’m going to assume it’ll be the same.

45 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The 9.10am Jet2 to Lanzarote is still going, now estimated to leave at 12.10pm. The poor bugger will still be lying in the sun only a wee bit later

Good stuff  :thumbsup: 

Why the **** are arseholes out wasting precious grit?!?! It’s gonna snow for days. 

8 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Red weather warning for Scotland overnight. 40cm of snow expected.

Just announced on BBC news.

Yer having a laugh!?!

even the open mic at the Laird and Dog tonight is cancelled now. Lucky I have plenty beer at home for tonight. ?

7 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

The message regarding the above disappeared but the ticker at the bottom of the screen mention it for Central Scotland and other areas of the UK.

Hope I wasn't a bit premature.

:oohmatron:

I'll tell you who's a hero.

The Hermes driver who came up my street in his long wheelbase to deliver The Last Of Us:Remastered to my door.

That should see me through.  

You are a legend mate. Especially after your sideways slide on the way out.

13 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Think the BBC may have been wrong but I am confused now. They keep changing the messages. 

Certainly the amber alert was extended into tomorrow. 

Enjoy the beer. 

Met office calling it as red

Capture.JPG

Greedy_Jambo
Spoiler

I've got an icicle hanging from my roof that's about a metre long.

I'd post a picture but I can't figure out how to!

1 minute ago, Greedy_Jambo said:
  Reveal hidden contents

I've got an icicle hanging from my roof that's about a metre long.

I'd post a picture but I can't figure out how to!

Take pic on your phone/iPad, open a box to post a reply then click the 'click to choose files' link and select photo library ?

Just now, jonnothejambo said:

Isn't that the red warning for the South West and Wales ? 

I'd guess so, we're still at amber on the Met Office app.

3 minutes ago, graygo said:

Met office calling it as red

Capture.JPG

That's for southwest England is it not?

folk up here posted it relating to Scotland by mistake. 

44 minutes ago, deesidejambo said:

Careful.   If the pipe is now burst it will leak when you thaw it out.

unlikely but you never know

Thanks.  The cold water mains is fine which baffles me.

Even got the oven on in the kitchen trying to get more heat around the place!

2 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Isn't that the red warning for the South West and Wales ? 

Aye, my mistake.

deesidejambo
2 minutes ago, Boris said:

Thanks.  The cold water mains is fine which baffles me.

Even got the oven on in the kitchen trying to get more heat around the place!

Sounds odd.   If you have a combi boiler it sounds really strange to have a blocked hot water pipe indoors.

if you have a hot water tank in the loft space though that may be where it is.

maybe KBers with heating engineering experience can help more.

South West, Wales and Republic of Ireland going to get hit with storm Emma, it looks like it's missing us now

4 minutes ago, deesidejambo said:

Sounds odd.   If you have a combi boiler it sounds really strange to have a blocked hot water pipe indoors.

if you have a hot water tank in the loft space though that may be where it is.

maybe KBers with heating engineering experience can help more.

Nah, don't have one of them either. :-(

Very odd

50 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

The message regarding the above disappeared but the ticker at the bottom of the screen mention it for Central Scotland and other areas of the UK.

Hope I wasn't a bit premature.

Females hate that.

Arrived in the office this morning after walking through deep snow, switched on my PC to find an e-mail telling us not to come into the office today.

How the feck can I read an office e-mail without coming into the office ???? :blink:

And before anyone says it, my personal phone is not connected to the office network

Greedy_Jambo
34 minutes ago, The Future's Maroon said:

Take pic on your phone/iPad, open a box to post a reply then click the 'click to choose files' link and select photo library ?

Cool, Cheers. 

I was clicking the bit bellow that for some reason.

Officially aff.   Could be again tomorrow.

Dealing with the aftermath of the missed business days..