The 2015 General Election Megathread

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

why wouldn't it be. pregnancy can be scary. lots of people struggle at that point and need help. they'll get it. those that don't won't.

for someone without kids you seem very certain of what they go through. Dunning Kruger strikes again - revelling in ignorance.

Because most mothers do not need lectured about obesity, smoking, 5-1-day, drinking etc-

midwives and GP's deal with all this stiff already

And if the mothers decide they do not want to comply?

What then?

Because the figures will be collated. audited and then published and people will demand action

Then the government will need to intervene, because now you have found a problem you need to deal with it

Then re-audit it after your action plan to fix it and so on and so forth

This is an attempt to micro manage your life from in utero to grave with no interference from incompetents (parents)

It all seems a little like a slippy slope from active health promotion to state moderated Health Fascism

• Replies 14k

• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

Yes, because a state run bureaucracy is often the best way of delivering a desired outcome!i

I would be seriously :seething: at the thought of some jumped up bureaucrat with a sociology degree from Napier being appointed a 'guardian' of my kids. Thankfully, I don't need to concern myself with such a Soviet idea now that I don't live in the People's Republic of Caledonia!

What's wrong with New Zealand education?

Same for speed limits etc..., not everyone needs protected, but to protect the ones who do, it has to be everyone.

Bizarre

So everyone needs monitored ?

What about civil liberties, personal autonomy, freedom of choice?

And please remember NIcola and Alex between them have, erm , no children.

Yet their State Stazi will tell us all how to raise "Scotlands Children"

We constantly hear that labour are red Tories up here. Surely taking this stance is exactly what his traditional support would like?

I often wonder if there's anything that labour could do that wouldn't result in scorn from the nationalist. I wonder if people are just looking to justify their nationalism to themselves sometimes (that's not aimed at you btw)

I'm not a traditional Labour supporter, I'm not a traditional anyone supporter, I judge each party on their manifesto as each election comes but I do lean slightly to the 'left', although I hate the left-right categorisation, but anyway I do think Milliband is trying to move the party back towards the left and I applaud him for it. He gets slated but I think he really does care about the man on the street and if he follows through with some of the stuff he has proposed I am far more likely to vote for Labour in the future than I've ever been.

I must say the first sentence of your last paragraph is hypocritical though. Substitute labour for SNP and nationalist for Maganator and it's equally true. 

Yes, because a state run bureaucracy is often the best way of delivering a desired outcome!i

I would be seriously :seething: at the thought of some jumped up bureaucrat with a sociology degree from Napier being appointed a 'guardian' of my kids. Thankfully, I don't need to concern myself with such a Soviet idea now that I don't live in the People's Republic of Caledonia!

Not saying it's a good or bad thing. Just an observation,

Alba democratic Republic, get it right.

Not saying it's a good or bad thing. Just an observation,

Alba democratic Republic, get it right.

Whatever! Funnily enough, most states that include the word "democratic" in the name of their country appear to be taking the piss!

Bizarre

So everyone needs monitored ?

What about civil liberties, personal autonomy, freedom of choice?

And please remember NIcola and Alex between them have, erm , no children.

Yet their State Stazi will tell us all how to raise "Scotlands Children"

Wtf, my post is bizarre, have you read your own, so you need to have weans to create policies like this?, seriously, so now we need junkies for drug laws and jakies for minimal pricing, or do we not rather, the governments seek evidence and advice from experts in the fields and take it forward.

Because most mothers do not need lectured about obesity, smoking, 5-1-day, drinking etc-

midwives and GP's deal with all this stiff already

And if the mothers decide they do not want to comply?

What then?

Because the figures will be collated. audited and then published and people will demand action

Then the government will need to intervene, because now you have found a problem you need to deal with it

Then re-audit it after your action plan to fix it and so on and so forth

This is an attempt to micro manage your life from in utero to grave with no interference from incompetents (parents)

It all seems a little like a slippy slope from active health promotion to state moderated Health Fascism

Seriously, you'd rather let things go unchecked.

It helps if you define the problem first.

Then you decide how you are going to address it and measure the outcome.

As far as I can see, this is a job creation scheme for nosey, right on pricks rather than something useful.

Seriously- Drug addicts are used to inform policy and peer-to -peer support is very important and effective.

same with reformed alcoholics helping in counselling and treatment programmes

How someone with not the vaguest idea of the reality of parent hood (not the sugar coated horse shit some portray it as) can understand the normal pressures of parenthood is beyond me!

This is, at basic level, CCTV on all parents

As far as I can see, this is a job creation scheme for nosey, right on pricks rather than something useful.

Perhaps the point of Guardians is to avoid the problems in the first place thus avoiding the fall out and costs associated in the future?  

More, the world we live in now, from job police checks, to cctv, a wee bit of self respect, and some morals wouldn't go amiss in this Country until then Westminister or/and Holyrood will have say whit's whit, sadly. Edited by aussieh

Seriously- Drug addicts are used to inform policy and peer-to -peer support is very important and effective.

same with reformed alcoholics helping in counselling and treatment programmes

How someone with not the vaguest idea of the reality of parent hood (not the sugar coated horse shit some portray it as) can understand the normal pressures of parenthood is beyond me!

This is, at basic level, CCTV on all parents

Good, if we catch the savilles of this world, through weans speaking to a guardian, how many of his victims were not believed by parents and teachers, a guardian may have stopped him and his like a long time ago, so spare me the bb keech.

Perhaps the point of Guardians is to avoid the problems in the first place thus avoiding the fall out and costs associated in the future?

Yes, I can see a longitudinal study being funded of how guardians have correctly parented.

Kids self harming in Scotland has risen, so what should Holyrood do, Nothing?

More, the world we live in now, from job police checks, to cctv, a wee bit of self respect, and some morals wouldn't go amiss in this Country until then Westminister or/and Holyrood will have say whit's whit, sadly.

The problem is that facts are not being used correctly

- crime rates are at their lowest ever in recorded history- yet police are increasingly weaponised without the knowledge or consent of the people, and are stopping and searching people in increasing numbers (and before you say it rates were falling without all this gun totting, intrusive nonsense)

-social work is already overwhelmed and underfunded- I cannot think of a single case- that's right- NOT ONE CASE- where the child was not on the radar of social work already.

The problem is not with identification of the problem- it is lack of resource , and poor communication. But the main driver to most of these "problems" is lack of morale, and time pressure- the time and staff to do your job properly

But that is expensive

So instead just give everyone a title who already has a role in a child's life- but all you really do is create someone to blame ( or to pass on what they have been told to a social worker who doesn't have the time to deal with it)- so just adding another layer for something to go wrong in

Kids self harming in Scotland has risen, so what should Holyrood do, Nothing?

NOt being funny here, but when Child and Adolescent Mental Health waiting lists are 3-6 months for assessment due to lack of funding , do you really think the best use of resource is a State Guardian?

Why can't we have everything, spend enough on weopons and being every other countries guardians, what about looking after oorain fur a chienge.

Scratch the surface and I suspect that the reality is that our arms industry is a massive earner for this country- and the income from our defence industries and the employment it provides are vital to pay for health care and so on and so forth.

Our military might is an advert for it- and our presence in the middle east keeps the contracts rolling in from UAE, Saudi and so on. All our big exports are harmful

- alcohol, oil, pharmaceuticals, weapons, tobacco, financial services  (or at the least exploitative)

But they pay for the abnormally high standard of living in this country, so you have to suck it up to a degree

Scratch the surface and I suspect that the reality is that our arms industry is a massive earner for this country- and the income from our defence industries and the employment it provides are vital to pay for health care and so on and so forth.

Our military might is an advert for it- and our presence in the middle east keeps the contracts rolling in from UAE, Saudi and so on. All our big exports are harmful

- alcohol, oil, pharmaceuticals, weapons, tobacco, financial services (or at the least exploitative)

But they pay for the abnormally high standard of living in this country, so you have to suck it up to a degree

I know, but sometimes you see whichever PM larging it up at world stage gigs, and think, please stop pledging monies and at domestic level plead poverty, with austerity, for once plead poverty abroad , and feed your own please.

we are far from poor at domestic level - the problem is one of wealth distribution- and not in a Socialist way.

It is about time there was a differential tax rate imposed on London- higher rates of corporation tax, business rates and NI and stamp duty.

We need to drive businesses OUT of London

You cannot say the country is poor when house price rises there are, per annum, greater than the average national gross salary

- you earn more as an unemployed home owner in many parts of London that working full time in most other areas of Britain

we are far from poor at domestic level - the problem is one of wealth distribution- and not in a Socialist way.

It is about time there was a differential tax rate imposed on London- higher rates of corporation tax, business rates and NI and stamp duty.

We need to drive businesses OUT of London

You cannot say the country is poor when house price rises there are, per annum, greater than the average national gross salary

- you earn more as an unemployed home owner in many parts of London that working full time in most other areas of Britain

House prices?

Look forward to the pro fracking brigades reaction, when their property values half. :D

House prices?

Look forward to the pro fracking brigades reaction, when their property values half. :D

Jim, why are so angry?

I once jovially refered to your mate, as a polical party member, the outcome, mmmm I wonder.

Edited by aussieh

Considering teachers are commonly the abuser and with them taking on the role of state guardian. I'm not sure this is a good idea.

Any stats to back that up?

Considering teachers are commonly the abuser and with them taking on the role of state guardian. I'm not sure this is a good idea.

Put down the DailyMail  and go find some real figures.

I see the Scottish socialists are referring to the SNP as an 'austerity-lite' party and calling in their supporters not to back them in May.

http://socialistpartyscotland.org.uk/2015/02/16/tommy-wrong-call-vote-snp-may/

That's not even the Scottish Socialists, although I'm sure they would recommend voting for their own candidates too. This mob have about four supporters across the whole country, so it will hardly matter.

Won't matter to the public or the SNP. But the "real" left wing see through it. Social democracy as a theory is a con. It's capitalism-lite. Pasok will attest to that.

When do I see jimbob choking on humble pie for lying to the scottish public?

Not a chance. He's a seasoned, veteran liar - and S Lab's Shadow Health Spokesperson Jenny Marra kept blaming a "mistake in interpretation" before continually bleating about it being a disgrace the figures had to come from the Scottish Govt via an FOI request. Over and over. No apology just full on dalek- mode "Deflect deflect deflect".

Would you vote for someone who cannot interpret the following?

reasons.jpg

Whilst no political party is entirely trustworthy, the mendacity of Scottish Labour in grasping at anything they can chuck at the SNP - knowing full well a compliant media will just issue it without even a moments critical thought or checking - is pathetic. They simply hope that the redactions and apologies are either buried as tiny footnotes or framed by the tv reports as rebuttals by the SNP (hey look at us, we are being balanced) and that enough of the stupid voters are taken in.

Problem is that in this era of instant communication, facts are very easily checked and they have been caught out lying with two major whoppers in the last two weeks. The repulsive McTernan was a liability for the Gillard led Australian Labor Party and he will be the same for Murphy et al.

Not a chance. He's a seasoned, veteran liar - and S Lab's Shadow Health Spokesperson Jenny Marra kept blaming a "mistake in interpretation" before continually bleating about it being a disgrace the figures had to come from the Scottish Govt via an FOI request. Over and over. No apology just full on dalek- mode "Deflect deflect deflect".

Would you vote for someone who cannot interpret the following?

reasons.jpg

Whilst no political party is entirely trustworthy, the mendacity of Scottish Labour in grasping at anything they can chuck at the SNP - knowing full well a compliant media will just issue it without even a moments critical thought or checking - is pathetic. They simply hope that the redactions and apologies are either buried as tiny footnotes or framed by the tv reports as rebuttals by the SNP (hey look at us, we are being balanced) and that enough of the stupid voters are taken in.

Problem is that in this era of instant communication, facts are very easily checked and they have been caught out lying with two major whoppers in the last two weeks. The repulsive McTernan was a liability for the Gillard led Australian Labor Party and he will be the same for Murphy et al.

Yeah - the NHS stuff was bad and they should have checked it.

Wee you equally as angry when the SNP knowingly lied repeatedly about having taken legal advice during the referendum on our EU position?

I'll grant you that this is purely whataboutery. But let's not get too carried away on your high horse.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/snp-accused-using-intimidation-tactics-5186824

This was a craze stated by cyber-Nat in chief, Wings during the referendum.

What is it with nationalists wanting to film and take photos of opposition canvassers to post online?

Sinister creepy behaviour IMO and should not be endorsed by the SNP or any other party.

Yeah - the NHS stuff was bad and they should have checked it.

Wee you equally as angry when the SNP knowingly lied repeatedly about having taken legal advice during the referendum on our EU position?

I'll grant you that this is purely whataboutery. But let's not get too carried away on your high horse.

Once again incapable of posting without without bringing the SNP into it.

Just highlighting hypocrisy in any SNP supporter getting too upset about this.  

Nothing to do with being a right wing tory supporting royalist brit/nat who know the SNP will wipe the floor with your mob in Scotland come May so you are are bit pissed off with that and have a wee dig at the SNP as often as possible in order to alleviate some of your pain then?

Just as the SNP were taken to task over their comments in the referendum over the EU etc, so too should Murphy and his NHS drivel.  As should all politicians whenever they tell porkies.

You just need to read a bit deeper to see the entire kleenex factory of lies and mistruths that Westminster dish out regularly.

Nothing to do with being a right wing tory supporting royalist brit/nat who know the SNP will wipe the floor with your mob in Scotland come May so you are are bit pissed off with that and have a wee dig at the SNP as often as possible in order to alleviate some of your pain then?

I am not a British nationalist so you can keep that shite to yourself. 

I predict that the tory vote in Scotland will actually increase in this election so you are wrong there too. 

But yes, I am pissed off that Scotland has had a nationalist government since 2007. Nationalist governments in this century are embarrassing. 

I am not a British nationalist so you can keep that shite to yourself. 

I predict that the tory vote in Scotland will actually increase in this election so you are wrong there too. 

But yes, I am pissed off that Scotland has had a nationalist government since 2007. Nationalist governments in this century are embarrassing. 

Wait...You predict so I am wrong??? Class! Crystal ball in fine working order I see.

All Tory supporters are Brit/Nats as they cannot see what damage they do and nothing is wrong with the tory party line = Nationalist (IMO of course).

Wait...You predict so I am wrong??? Class! Crystal ball in fine working order I see.

All Tory supporters are Brit/Nats as they cannot see what damage they do and nothing is wrong with the tory party line = Nationalist (IMO of course).

Nah - you are wrong because you suggested that I was angry because I thought the SNP would wipe the floor with my mob. I dont think that is the case - I think my mob will increase their vote. So, yes, you were and remain wrong. 

Your last sentence is nonsense on many levels. I think you should consult a dictionary as you are using words that you don't understand the meaning of.