The Official JKB What Was The Last Film You Watched...

Guest GhostHunter

On 04/03/2023 at 02:00, Lovecraft said:

RRR 

Hindi action film.

Easily a flat out 10 out of 10.

Utterly insane nonsense.

Need more movies like this.  Cinematography is gorgeous.

It's on Netflix.  Don't do dubbed if you can.

Thanks , would never have watched but glad i did.

Mental but in a good way.

Will watch again with the wife as she had gone to bed.

Cinematography was amazing.

Any other Hindi suggestions?

19 minutes ago, thee jambo said:

Thanks , would never have watched but glad i did.

Mental but in a good way.

Will watch again with the wife as she had gone to bed.

Cinematography was amazing.

Any other Hindi suggestions?

Not actually Hindi but South Indian. So it's a Tollywood film instead of a Bollywood. 

Which I didn't realise was even a thing before I watched RRR. A few of the same director's film are on Netflix as well.

18 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Not actually Hindi but South Indian. So it's a Tollywood film instead of a Bollywood. 

Which I didn't realise was even a thing before I watched RRR. A few of the same director's film are on Netflix as well.

Just found this list, will give them a look.

https://collider.com/best-indian-action-films-on-netflix/

The Menu

Darkly comic light horror set in an exclusive restaurant.

Starts well but slides off towards the end, jumping the shark in a disappointing ending.

Could have been so much more.

Shallow Grave.

Haven’t watched it in years.

Bloody good film. It’s interesting to see subtle influences that appear later in Trainspotting. They may of course be coincidental but I suspect not.

Ewan MacGregor is excellent in it.

8/10

1 hour ago, Vlad Magic said:

Shallow Grave.

Bloody good film. It’s interesting to see subtle influences that appear later in Trainspotting. They may of course be coincidental but I suspect not.

8/10

An absolute stone cold 90's classic.

Chris Ecclestone is incredible, Kerry Fox is superb and Ewan McGregor is clearly having a blast.
Great script too.

2 hours ago, TayJamTart said:

Enjoyed " To Leslie " which stars Oscar nominated Best Actress Andrea Riseborough. 

Poignant look at Leslie 's life with alcohol addiction after a lottery win and the impact it has on her + close family, friends and the local community.  

This film charts her recovery and there is a happy ending for all😊

Well there goes the element of surprise in watching that one. 

Luther:The Fallen Sun on Netflix. The long anticipated Luther feature film. To be honest I wouldn’t bother if I was you. It’s taken the good parts of the TV series away and made it into a very unlikely storyline with a load of plot holes and silly choices. The point of Luther was never that he was an action character in big action sequences but a more mysterious character. 

8 hours ago, Tazio said:

Luther:The Fallen Sun on Netflix. The long anticipated Luther feature film. To be honest I wouldn’t bother if I was you. It’s taken the good parts of the TV series away and made it into a very unlikely storyline with a load of plot holes and silly choices. The point of Luther was never that he was an action character in big action sequences but a more mysterious character. 

i completely agree it was really disappointing

RRR (Netflix)

I don't know WTF this nonsense is but its not for me. The dubbing was annoying me too, for some reason there's no option to watch it in the original audio. Ditched after 25 mins.

On 10/03/2023 at 19:24, Tazio said:

Well there goes the element of surprise in watching that one. 

Yep ! 

On 10/03/2023 at 16:29, TayJamTart said:

Enjoyed " To Leslie " which stars Oscar nominated Best Actress Andrea Riseborough. 

Poignant look at Leslie 's life with alcohol addiction after a lottery win and the impact it has on her + close family, friends and the local community.  

Should have placed a spoiler alert 

Casablanca.  Yes, the 1942 movie that some people think is the best movie ever made, and I watched it last evening.  I maybe saw it about 30 years ago, but I didn't remember the plot so it was like watching it for the first time.  I enjoyed it.

And nobody ever said, "Play it again, Sam."

Seeing Ingrid Bergman got my heart beating faster.

Ingrid Bergman - Rotten Tomatoes

On 11/03/2023 at 22:42, Ray Gin said:

RRR (Netflix)

I don't know WTF this nonsense is but its not for me. The dubbing was annoying me too, for some reason there's no option to watch it in the original audio. Ditched after 25 mins.

😄

I watched it all.

I don't know if I like it or not.

Like watching a car crash, you don't want to look but can't stop yourself.

Watched Wheelman on Netflix last night. Great movie, kept me involved from start to finish. If it had been shot in the 1970s, it would have been considered a classic but still a very good film in its genre, imo.

5 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

😄

I watched it all.

I don't know if I like it or not.

Like watching a car crash, you don't want to look but can't stop yourself.

I was initially quite mesmerised by just how utterly absurd it all was, but by the time it got to the pagger with a tiger I'd decided there was no way I could stick it out for another 2 and half hours. :lol: 

Everything Everywhere All at Once.

Not for me.Cannot believe it won all those Oscars.

Noisy and overlong.Had a couple of breaks inbetween.I was glad when it finished.

First new movie for a while.Can see me sticking with tv.

On 10/03/2023 at 09:27, Vlad Magic said:

Shallow Grave.

8/10

Still never seen this, remember the parents being huge fans of it when I was a nipper.

7 minutes ago, Americana said:

Still never seen this, remember the parents being huge fans of it when I was a nipper.

Worth a watch. Think I watched it on Prime for free.

I thought there used to be a future movies thread? Couldn't find it anyway.

When I first saw this trailer I thought this looks pish but it seems to be getting decent reviews. I'll probably still just wait for it to come to SKY or whatever...

Spoiler

Apparently there's a nice wee nod to the 80s cartoon series in the movie - my favourite cartoon ever. 😍

51 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

once upon a time in hollywood

the best film i have ever seen

away wi yi 🤣

44 minutes ago, Americana said:

away wi yi 🤣

just  a really cool escape. films like it and jackie brown these are my films these days

On 11/03/2023 at 22:09, Tommy Brown said:

John Wick

Utter horseshit.

i think its great. nice looking film for me low budget horrors the add nothing to cinema and most comedies

50 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

I thought there used to be a future movies thread? Couldn't find it anyway.

When I first saw this trailer I thought this looks pish but it seems to be getting decent reviews. I'll probably still just wait for it to come to SKY or whatever...

Reveal hidden contents

Apparently there's a nice wee nod to the 80s cartoon series in the movie - my favourite cartoon ever. 😍

i like the look of it

On 10/03/2023 at 16:29, TayJamTart said:

riseborough is top quality very good in the film about billie jean king. i will watch this

film soon

1 hour ago, rudi must stay said:

i like the look of it

I just wish they'd make a movie based on the cartoon.  🙂

5 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

An Irish Goodbye

Oscar winning short available on Iplayer. Most enjoyable 7.5/10

I refuse to watch it on account of them making me greet when I watched the Oscar’s. 

11 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

i think its great. nice looking film for me low budget horrors the add nothing to cinema and most comedies

John Wick

Everyone's taste is different, JW4 premiered this week, showing there is a demand.

I would never watch another, do not see the attraction. 

3 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

John Wick

Everyone's taste is different, JW4 premiered this week, showing there is a demand.

I would never watch another, do not see the attraction. 

They're absolute dug shite.

Reeves must be up there as the most overrated actor of all time. 

9 hours ago, Tazio said:

I refuse to watch it on account of them making me greet when I watched the Oscar’s. 

😁 I didnt watch the Oscars and from what you say I am glad I didnt.

On 16/03/2023 at 08:26, Americana said:

They're absolute dug shite.

Reeves must be up there as the most overrated actor of all time. 

I don't think anybody has ever rated him as an actor.He does pick films that make money though.

13 minutes ago, William H. Bonney said:

Great ending too. 

It's class, maybe even a 9. The moment he clips his belt on is GOOSEBUMPS 😁

Cocaine Bear.

If youre into slapstick over the top comedy horror then you will enjoy this. Its pretty ridiculous with some moments of hilarity.

Inspired by the true story of black bear who ingested cocaine after a misdrop. Thats about where the true element of it ends.

5/10 

Just watched the old Oliver! Film 1968 I think 

Some brilliant actors and some great songs even though I’m not a great fan of musicals normally 

The Who will Buy my sweet red roses song is hauntingly beautiful 

M but I’m knocking on a bit now probably not the kind of thing the majority of younger Kickbackers would watch

Also saw Gregory’s Girl the other week for the first time I’m a long time and still really enjoyable

It helps that I’ve always fancied Clare Grogan!

Pearl, the prequel to X which came out last year. A stylish and disturbingly creepy horror/ slasher movie with an awesome lead performance by Mia Goth, who co-wrote it with the director.