Posted
1 minute ago, TheBigO said:

Na, that's batter mate.  Looks like it could be a kushikatsu set up with tempura AND crumb, hard to tell, but def batter.  We might be shite at fitba, but we ken oor fried stuff!!

See, because they are already battered in that photo, I would.consider the point to be null and void 😂

• Replies 1k

• Star Lizard

• Sir PH

Star Lizard
Posted
17 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

I don't think they would. They might narrowly beat them but it would be fine margins.

All in the speed and accuracy of the passing for me . Spain and Germany have that and England do not look like they are on the same level 

Posted
1 hour ago, euan 10 said:

I just wanted a bit of fight and a bit of grit and am Not meaning like that hibs scum bag porteous. the Scotland players didn’t give any fight what the huge Scotland support deserved they were part of the tartan army Friday night just watching Germany play past them so easy. I didn’t think we would win but a performance and not to get humped like hibs did in that great day 

Haha, fair enough dude, maybe you're more in the "pissed off about Friday" camp which is fine.  It's where I'm at too - I'm fuming at Clarke.  Imo the boys weren't sent out with a chance.  They do need to take blame too as you need to manage the game while you're in it and you need to show that fight.  It was rabbit in the headlights stuff though, not a lack of effort.

I mean it in all honesty, would I rather be England and have their general attitude towards these tournaments and their team, or be Scotland and have our attitude?  Not even a contest.  England is all arrogance until the guys play to their level which is last 8, maybe 4, then it's all their fault, villification and racism.  It's disgusting and honestly I don't know how it's enjoyable.

Our lads won't win.  Of course they won't! haha.  But at the end of the day, those individual boys out on the park, beyond selection disagreements, are the best we produce given the setup we have in our shitty football!  So those individual boys deserve all the support we can give them. They're representing Scotland as best THEY can.  Would we like them to be better!?  Do we wish Bellingham or Musiala were Scottish!?  Aye!!!!  But they're not and we have Callum McGregor and Grant Hanley who will give their all for us.  I'm proud of that.  The issues we have as a footballing nation are way above these boys heads, and beyond the control of ourselves, so the best we can do is get behind our team and show the world what Scotland means to us.

Anyone who belittles that is frankly either miserable or completely missing the point.  And, you know what, football is ALLOWED TO BE FUN.  I'm heading over this weekend and I'm going to have a great time seeing mates I've not seen for a while and meeting folk from all over Europe for a right good couple of days.  At the end of the day, that's what it's all about, no?

Posted
6 minutes ago, lou said:

See, because they are already battered in that photo, I would.consider the point to be null and void 😂

Now that is a very good point.  You don't toast toast type thing.

All I would say is that Scotland are in the same boat: already battered - so we're maybe into the phrasing and tense of the text.  We agree it needs work.

Posted
6 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

Now that is a very good point.  You don't toast toast type thing.

All I would say is that Scotland are in the same boat: already battered - so we're maybe into the phrasing and tense of the text.  We agree it needs work.

Unless something can be double or triple battered

Posted
16 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

Haha, fair enough dude, maybe you're more in the "pissed off about Friday" camp which is fine.  It's where I'm at too - I'm fuming at Clarke.  Imo the boys weren't sent out with a chance.  They do need to take blame too as you need to manage the game while you're in it and you need to show that fight.  It was rabbit in the headlights stuff though, not a lack of effort.

I mean it in all honesty, would I rather be England and have their general attitude towards these tournaments and their team, or be Scotland and have our attitude?  Not even a contest.  England is all arrogance until the guys play to their level which is last 8, maybe 4, then it's all their fault, villification and racism.  It's disgusting and honestly I don't know how it's enjoyable.

Our lads won't win.  Of course they won't! haha.  But at the end of the day, those individual boys out on the park, beyond selection disagreements, are the best we produce given the setup we have in our shitty football!  So those individual boys deserve all the support we can give them. They're representing Scotland as best THEY can.  Would we like them to be better!?  Do we wish Bellingham or Musiala were Scottish!?  Aye!!!!  But they're not and we have Callum McGregor and Grant Hanley who will give their all for us.  I'm proud of that.  The issues we have as a footballing nation are way above these boys heads, and beyond the control of ourselves, so the best we can do is get behind our team and show the world what Scotland means to us.

Anyone who belittles that is frankly either miserable or completely missing the point.  And, you know what, football is ALLOWED TO BE FUN.  I'm heading over this weekend and I'm going to have a great time seeing mates I've not seen for a while and meeting folk from all over Europe for a right good couple of days.  At the end of the day, that's what it's all about, no?

Good posting 

Posted
1 minute ago, lou said:

Unless something can be double or triple battered

I mean it technically can, but when you batter well, what you are doing is essentially steaming inside a shell of batter, so would you then be steaming the first layer of batter and making it soggy?  That's my concern, here Lou.

What I'd suggest is adding layers of batter AS it fries, so drizzling more batter on to the exposed areas while it fries and floats and turning it, this is the way to do it.  Whether you consider this double layer battered, I'm not sure?

In terms of Scotland, I'd say it's apt.  We're often mid-battering and more battering is added.

Posted

We all notice that when ever someone with the slightest connection with England it’s mentioned, he played for Nuneaton Borough for example, but i didn’t hear them say Watfords Ryan Porteous? 
They rarely give their team any criticism or show any realism towards them. 
We do but is there any choice.

Posted
3 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

I mean it technically can, but when you batter well, what you are doing is essentially steaming inside a shell of batter, so would you then be steaming the first layer of batter and making it soggy?  That's my concern, here Lou.

What I'd suggest is adding layers of batter AS it fries, so drizzling more batter on to the exposed areas while it fries and floats and turning it, this is the way to do it.  Whether you consider this double layer battered, I'm not sure?

In terms of Scotland, I'd say it's apt.  We're often mid-battering and more battering is added.

So steaming whilst being battered? Sounds about right.

Posted
15 hours ago, chrisyboy7 said:

When do England ever get pumped lol...unfortunately....

Posted
5 hours ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

England will get through the group but get punted out straight after that. 

Unlikely, if they win their group, I'm pretty sure they end up with one of the 3rd place teams.  They always get the jammiest of draws in these things. 

Posted

For a while it was indeed seen that Quarter finals were the limit for England.

Quite impressive they have changed that.

Posted

But the confidence of the media and the fans hasn't just happened because of good players. They've always gone into tournaments thinking they will win. Since 1970.

Posted (edited)

Not talked about so much now but actually this is the last time English media and fans weren't wrong in thinking they would win.

And actually the origins of the experience of Hibsit. 2-0 up, take off your best players. 

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted
2 hours ago, Sooks said:

All in the speed and accuracy of the passing for me . Spain and Germany have that and England do not look like they are on the same level 

I'm not sure how much you can take from Friday's game as far as Germany are concerned.

England took us apart in the most recent game against them.

Japan Jambo
Posted
2 hours ago, lou said:

What a great point, though I'm not sure the pedantry would have helped me much 😞 

Posted

England will get through but let's see if someone like Germany could get medieval on their asses. 

Star Lizard
Posted
4 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

I'm not sure how much you can take from Friday's game as far as Germany are concerned.

England took us apart in the most recent game against them.

I think you can . When England played the Serbs , they were quite slow in the build up and would generally take a touch to control it and then look for a pass . Germany were passing in to spaces where they knew a team mate was going to be and doing it with one touch of the ball quite often . England have a few outstanding individual players , but Germany look like more of a team both tactically and in the partnerships between individuals 

Penrices left boot
Posted
2 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Good post.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Walker, Stones, Guehie with a right footed LB and that bombscare GK behind them 😆

Posted
2 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Bravo! Great post. 
Enjoy your trip 👍

Posted
3 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Welcome to my morning…

157f874c-13f0-430f-8ffa-d88fc5182c30.jpeg

OMG, the 3rd one; you battered your boaby?

image-gif-97f6d08aa6533470e7899f1c68dea4

Japan Jambo
Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

🤣 Almost as many touches as McCoist got from Laura Woods Friday night :whistling:

Edited by Japan Jambo
Posted
5 hours ago, TallPaul said:

I'm a bit the same. I also find the tartan army and their ability to congratulate themselves nosiating.

Can never understand why The Rangers fans hate Scotland.

That is really NAUSEATING 🤮

Posted (edited)

Talking of ABE.

Yet another player that qualified for England, having grown up in Milton Keynes, Kevin Danso has the Nat Atkinson job tonight marking Mbappe for Austria.

Interestingly what he says is moving to France from what was basically home in England was so tough it helped make him. 

Similar story to Adenola Lookman who chose Nigeria over England and Jamal Musiala who as we know chose Germany over England.

ABE it is, all over. 

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted
6 minutes ago, luckydug said:

It's because deep down they hate themselves.

Posted
1 hour ago, luckydug said:

I'm not a rangers fan or Scottish only lived here a long time. I find the tartan army absolutely cringe worthy.

Posted
3 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

I'm not a rangers fan or Scottish only lived here a long time. I find the tartan army absolutely cringe worthy.

Just like your posts.

Posted
6 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

As opposed to English fans dressing up as knights or tossing tables in the air and singing songs about German bombers, the TA are a bit cringey on occasion but no more than any other country and do not  doubt they are loved in most places they visit.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Noticed you never mentioned the battered ring. :laugh:

Posted
1 minute ago, lou said:

As opposed to English fans dressing up as knights or tossing tables in the air and singing songs about German bombers, the TA are a bit cringey on occasion but no more than any other country and do not  doubt they are loved in most places they visit.

Posted

Of course England didn't just mess up in tournaments. When Brian Clough having won the league with Derby, was a main pundit he called the Polish goalkeeper a "clown".

Who ended up being the clown? 

You can even watch the whole match.

Posted
2 minutes ago, jamboozy said:

Noticed you never mentioned the battered ring. :laugh:

I've no idea what you mean, is that a reference to the J.R.R. Tolkien novels which were made into films? 🫠

Posted
Just now, Ricardo Quaresma said:

I've no idea what you mean, is that a reference to the J.R.R. Tolkien novels which were made into films? 🫠

Yup , it’s a well known fact that Bilbo Baggins got his ring battered by a hobbit.😐

Posted
1 minute ago, jamboozy said:

Yup , it’s a well known fact that Bilbo Baggins got his ring battered by a hobbit.😐

Wow, sounds like he surely got a broken finger

Posted
Just now, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Wow, sounds like he surely got a broken finger

Posted
25 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

Nosiating, one might say.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Nosiating, one might say.

Posted

Hoping all the English fans on here are enjoying the review of England's record at tournaments for the last 54 years. 

1966 eh. Shame there wasn't VAR

1978 World Cup was a curious one. England did a tour of South America to prepare in 1977. Quite an expensive thing to do. Must have been confident. Went unbeaten too. The tour was notable actually for the brutality of the Argentina game. Red cards v England and Scotland who also toured. Note though Scotland actually qualified.

Anyway back to qualifying. England didn't do that much wrong. Beat Italy in the final game but lost out by 3 goals. 

Probably this is what cost them only beating Luxembourg 2-0. 

Also this

Obviously also during this qualification period 2 famous games v Scotland 

Posted

None of my English pals think they will win this tournament. Not one.

Just sayin.

ManxandCapeTownJambo
Posted
1 hour ago, TallPaul said:

guys that go abroad have a laugh, have a bevvy, have a great time and get on well with just about every other nationality 

England have a large percentage of right wing , neanderthal hooligans who disgrace their country with their moronic behaviour 

but you find the Tartan Army nauseating?

Odd

Penrices left boot
Posted

Why?

Wear tartan, wear a kilt, sing songs, make friends, have a bevvy have a great time?

What's wrong with that?

What do you want football supporters to do?

Posted

I'm sure the tartan army would be as impressed with you as I am. 

Posted
1 hour ago, lou said:

Football fans travelling abroad and having a good time with other football fans. How cringy is that? 

Posted
11 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

Football fans travelling abroad and having a good time with other football fans. How cringy is that? 

I think what I struggle with,.much like rugby,.some of these people show no interest in the sport until a major tournament, just a wee gripe of mine and I am sure the same can be said of every country..

Posted
8 minutes ago, lou said:

I think what I struggle with,.much like rugby,.some of these people show no interest in the sport until a major tournament, just a wee gripe of mine and I am sure the same can be said of every country..

I don't know what the gripe would be to be honest. It's an international festival that people are attending to have a good time. If you go with your eyes open, recognising that there there is every chance we will get skudded, fan zones might not be able to cope and you are going to blow a fortune for the privilege of enjoying the experience, fill your boots as far as I can see it. 

I elected not to go because I balanced it against other trips I want to do this year and when I could get time off but I might regret that given our record since 98. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I don't know what the gripe would be to be honest. It's an international festival that people are attending to have a good time. If you go with your eyes open, recognising that there there is every chance we will get skudded, fan zones might not be able to cope and you are going to blow a fortune for the privilege of enjoying the experience, fill your boots as far as I can see it. 

I elected not to go because I balanced it against other trips I want to do this year and when I could get time off but I might regret that given our record since 98. 

Aye I know, me being a bit petty, one of these things that shouldn't bother me but it does

Star Lizard
Posted
5 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

This is where I am as well . Scotland are no different to any other nation in how they travel to games . Exaggerated national dress and identities , and everyone just having a laugh . No different to Viking hats or knights outfits . Just a big laugh really , and generally totally harmless 

Posted
33 minutes ago, lou said:

All the younger TA folks I know have got a club team and follow them passionately. And can you really blame some of the older guys for giving up on Scottish club football, given 99% of them supported a non OF team? 

Posted
1 minute ago, Craig_ said:

All the younger TA folks I know have got a club team and follow them passionately. And can you really blame some of the older guys for giving up on Scottish club football, given 99% of them supported a non OF team? 

I am not talking about the regular TA crew, I am talking about the ones that don't go to any  games for years on end and then rock up to Germany for a piss up, anyway like I said it shouldn't bother me at all, just one of these things, I am even worse with Hearts 😂