Posted
13 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

All the younger TA folks I know have got a club team and follow them passionately. And can you really blame some of the older guys for giving up on Scottish club football, given 99% of them supported a non OF team? 

Er…yes. Very much so. 

• Replies 1.1k

• Star Lizard

• Sir PH

Posted

Can’t understand the criticism of the Tartan army ? They are prob one of the most liked and well behaved set of travelling fans really . I’ll be joining them later this week to join in the fun 🤩

Posted
47 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Can’t understand the criticism of the Tartan army ? They are prob one of the most liked and well behaved set of travelling fans really . I’ll be joining them later this week to join in the fun 🤩

Exactly 👍 if it’s not your thing, then fine, but 

I find it incredible how many folks can’t seem to stomach others enjoying themselves. If by and large they are behaving and being respectful to their hosts at the same time, then great. Getting all the gear on and exaggerating the nations emblems - why not 🤷🏻‍♀️
Football can be agonising, but surely it’s ultimately meant to be fun sometimes too? Hope you have a blast 👍

Posted
3 minutes ago, FJT said:

I find it incredible how many folks can’t seem to stomach others enjoying themselves. If by and large they are behaving and being respectful to their hosts at the same time, then great. Getting all the gear on and exaggerating the nations emblems - why not 🤷🏻‍♀️
Football can be agonising, but surely it’s ultimately meant to be fun sometimes too? Hope you have a blast 👍

They are something the country should be  is largely proud of, people with a leaning towards the OF will always criticise. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, FJT said:

Thanks. Joining the others on Saturday but in Dusseldorf on the Friday night. Theres a match on . Slovakia v Ukraine but ill miss it as ill be mid air. And yes going for a good laugh , food some booze oh and the football. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, lou said:

They are something the country should be  is largely proud of, people with a leaning towards the OF will always criticise. 

Guess so. imo the OF let down and drag down Scottish football as a whole sadly. Can’t see past their own self interest and hatred.

Posted
1 hour ago, lou said:

It's not just the Old Firm though.

In many ways they're closer to rugby supporters.

Posted
29 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Posted
2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

You might find it funny but I'm not alone in that opinion.

I support Scotland but the fans are not necessarily always perfect.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

What are they doing wrong?

Posted
Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

What are they doing wrong?

I'm not going into it again but basically they're annoying.

Posted
1 minute ago, Hmfc1965 said:

I'm not going into it again but basically they're annoying.

What about the uglies and the way they carry on?

Posted
Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

What about the uglies and the way they carry on?

They're scum

What's your point?

Posted
1 minute ago, Hmfc1965 said:

They're scum

What's your point?

Glad you admit it.

Are you jealous that you’re not in Germany enjoying yourself in the amazing atmosphere?

Posted

Any prosecutions for Hate crimes from this thread yet?

SwindonJambo
Posted
13 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Good. In recent years,the English Authorities have generally been good about annulling the passports of 2,000 odd known troublemakers whenever there's a major tournament on. It's definitely helped reduce their problem but you'll still get the odd trumpet like this.

Posted
1 hour ago, Hmfc1965 said:

I can see (slightly) what you mean about them being close to rugby supporters.

What they are not though, is a fraction of just how annoying rugby supporters can be.

In other words, they are not a set of bumptious, loud, obnoxious, arrogant,  part-time drinking fools.

Y’know?  The Scott Hastings type of ‘lad’.

Posted
26 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I can see (slightly) what you mean about them being close to rugby supporters.

What they are not though, is a fraction of just how annoying rugby supporters can be.

In other words, they are not a set of bumptious, loud, obnoxious, arrogant,  part-time drinking fools.

Y’know?  The Scott Hastings type of ‘lad’.

Agreed but both are not PT drinkers in my experience, all ***** tbh.

Posted
14 hours ago, TallPaul said:

I'm not a rangers fan or Scottish only lived here a long time. I find the tartan army absolutely cringe worthy.

Nobody cares.

Posted
20 hours ago, TallPaul said:

I'm a bit the same. I also find the tartan army and their ability to congratulate themselves nosiating.

It’s nauseating, like your take on it.

Posted
8 hours ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Imagine having to state you support Scotland 🙄

I don’t think I have ever heard anyone suggest Scotland fans are perfect.

Posted
7 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Agreed but both are not PT drinkers in my experience, all ***** tbh.

The reverse snobbery of some fitba fans.

Posted

I was in France 98 and had a fantastic time Kilted up and meeting fans from other nations.  I'm so glad we as a Nation have had the opportunity to be part of this in Germany.  I couldn't afford to be there but have loved watching the clips.  Munich Wednesday, Thursday and Friday looked amazing.  I have friends in Munich, who I know through regular visits to Oktoberfest, who confirmed what a wonderful atmosphere there was due largely to the fact that the Scots go to have a good time and are made welcome by the locals.  Add to that the charity that the Tartan Army have provided over the years contributing financially to good causes in many countries that they visit.   Anyone having a go at the TA really says more about them than anything else.  Perhaps they would have liked to have been in GelsenKirchen signing "10 German Bombers....."

Posted

England are 17th in numbers of caps in squads.

Will their relative inexperience especially in big games hurt them?

Posted
4 hours ago, briever said:

The reverse snobbery of some fitba fans.

Aye good one 👍🏽👏🏾👋🏿.

Posted
27 minutes ago, TexasAndy said:

I was in France 98 and had a fantastic time Kilted up and meeting fans from other nations.  I'm so glad we as a Nation have had the opportunity to be part of this in Germany.  I couldn't afford to be there but have loved watching the clips.  Munich Wednesday, Thursday and Friday looked amazing.  I have friends in Munich, who I know through regular visits to Oktoberfest, who confirmed what a wonderful atmosphere there was due largely to the fact that the Scots go to have a good time and are made welcome by the locals.  Add to that the charity that the Tartan Army have provided over the years contributing financially to good causes in many countries that they visit.   Anyone having a go at the TA really says more about them than anything else.  Perhaps they would have liked to have been in GelsenKirchen signing "10 German Bombers....."

Good post.

Captain Scarlett
Posted
15 hours ago, FJT said:

I remember the last England/Scotland  Wembley match and videos of a lot of lads asking local shops for bin bags then proceeding to collect all the bottles cans etc and disposing of them in the big rubbish skips. I take it the same lads weren’t in Munich going by the mess they left 😀😀

Posted
12 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

England are 17th in numbers of caps in squads.

Will their relative inexperience especially in big games hurt them?

Can't see it to be honest, they've got bags of talent at high levels of the game. Only thing holding them back I think is Southgate. They look like a team that want to be let off the leash but the manager is far too cautious.

Posted
29 minutes ago, meister said:

Can't see it to be honest, they've got bags of talent at high levels of the game. Only thing holding them back I think is Southgate. They look like a team that want to be let off the leash but the manager is far too cautious.

I think Kane, Bellingham and Foden all want to play in the exact same areas of the pitch which is contributing to the lack of cohesion. Saka appears to be the only runner

Posted
19 hours ago, TallPaul said:

I'm not a rangers fan or Scottish only lived here a long time. I find the tartan army absolutely cringe worthy.

hKeHqvC.gif

ManxandCapeTownJambo
Posted
20 hours ago, TallPaul said:

i’m sure that we couldn’t care less mate

how do you feel about English hooligans?

Posted

The last final. Joyous.

But were England too cautious at 1-0 up?

Did they Hibsit?

And the penalties for extra joy. Highlights are Maguire and Pickford's celebrations.

And extra extra post match joy. 

Posted
20 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

I think Kane, Bellingham and Foden all want to play in the exact same areas of the pitch which is contributing to the lack of cohesion. Saka appears to be the only runner

Aye true but Bellingham can play a bit further back and still have a huge impact on games, he's that impressive. Foden as a 10 and Kane feeding off anything could be frightening. Saka looked hungry as well and maybe trying Gordon on the left would give them a similar (but not quite as good) weapon on that side. 

In previous years I've always looked at England as having brilliant individuals but no great team if you know what I mean. I think this years team could be different with just a tweak here and there.

Posted

After the yellow Chiellini got for grabbing saka, yank doesn't describe Americans anymore

:greggy:

Penrices left boot
Posted
14 minutes ago, lou said:

Explain how the Tartan Army are knuckle draggers? 

I think not so short Paul just hates Scotland.

One of those Scots that wishes they were English and hates everything Scottish. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

I think not so short Paul just hates Scotland.

One of those Scots that wishes they were English and hates everything Scottish. 

Don’t think he’s Scottish, Tosh.

Entitled to his view. Pish view of course to compare but hey ho !

Posted
29 minutes ago, lou said:

Explain how the Tartan Army are knuckle draggers? 

I think you mean why?

Meanwhile, the Scottish FA has been fined €5,625 (£4,753) for the "throwing of objects" by Scotland fans during the heavy loss at the Allianz Arena in Munich.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

You feel the same way about football hooligans as you do about folk having a good time and a laugh?

Strange.

Good old time throwing objects around.

Meanwhile, the Scottish FA has been fined €5,625 (£4,753) for the "throwing of objects" by Scotland fans during the heavy loss at the Allianz Arena in Munich.

Posted

A few objects were thrown after the first goal only.

Something that also happened at Tynecastle at some of the recent European games.

Posted
44 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

First of all, literally NONE of the older school guys refer to themselves as the tartan army. It’s a media term and most of them hate it (yes I do know it features in a couple of songs)

Secondly, you’re clearly not speaking from experience of an international football trip in the company of some of these lads. You can only speak with authority about a subject if you’ve experienced it or learned about it. Outside looking in makes your opinion redundant.

Ive travelled to quite a few Scotland games in the past. Don’t do it now but back then certainly they were the best holidays I ever had. Great company. Great humour. Self policed. Great ambassadors for the country. you will struggle to find a police force or a city that wouldn’t have us back in a heartbeat. That’s great for the reputation of the country as a whole.

It’s not everybody’s cup of tea, going on the piss for 4 days, dressing up a bit and expressing a bit of national pride but they are NOT knuckle draggers. They are some of the most charming generous fun loving carefree but responsible people you could meet.

Posted (edited)

giphy.gif?cid=6c09b952fuay21q7jlveshkm2j

-

Edited by Ricardo Quaresma
Posted

2b9a43eba4ce7569f65711674c6e3303.gif

Posted
4 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

Good old time throwing objects around.

Behave yourself, it was paper, your not Scottish and from your posts here and in the shed, it seems unlikely that you even like Scotland, which is fine, but don't expect anyone to agree with incoherent rubbish.