Should Steven Naismith be sacked? ( merged )

David McCaig

Should Steven Naismith be Sacked?  

956 members have voted

1. 1. Should Steven Naismith be Sacked?

Every experienced manager in the league can clearly see our weaknesses in the squad and will continue to exploit them.

We have failed to fix those weaknesses in the transfer window.

We have got a manager with absolutely no clue how to tactically compete with the guys who are trying to exploit it. As such, we're being picked apart with no reply.

• Replies 3.1k

• soonbe110

• Dusk_Till_Dawn

• kingantti1874

2 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

If he doesn’t get back to the style we played at the end of last season they he should be sacked. 

I think we now see how valuable Ginnelly's pace was and he wasn't scared to shoot on site - we have Boyce and Shankland up top who are both as slow as a wet weekend in Ayr and for some reason we want to try and walk the ball into the net.

Let's not even go there re the midfield and the defence is still very suspect.

Just now, feej said:

I think we now see how valuable Ginnelly's pace was and he wasn't scared to shoot on site - we have Boyce and Shankland up top who are both as slow as a wet weekend in Ayr and for some reason we want to try and walk the ball into the net.

Let's not even go there re the midfield and the defence is still very suspect.

As soon as we put Tagawa on today we looked better as did Shankland, unfortunately Boyce is only a sub these days. Tagawa didn’t do much but his presence made Motherwell drop 20 yards deeper, much like Ginnelly did who was undervalued by the fans and the club. 
We really need to play our quicker players all over the pitch.

1 minute ago, Captain Sausage said:

He shouldn't be anywhere near the first time. Whatever role he has been in so far, he's been part of an absolute shit show.

Get him out completely, bring in someone with experience and give them an opportunity to completely upgrade our football dept.

I'm struggling to see any light at the of the tunnel with this set up, if and if Savage manages to bring in a couple of decent free transfers then he may have a chance.

However i don't think they will add to the squad as it will look like they've fecked up the transfer window.

Aside results the performances are shit, 3 shots on target in the games is simply not acceptable. It's time for a change now.

We are a club that’s getting 20k average for a home game but we are run like the local bowling club. 
Really sick of the complete amateurish way we are run. Time to drain the swamp. 

GorgieFifeLife

Naismith should admit it’s too early for him to manage at this level and resign.  If he is honest with himself he should probably never have accepted the job.

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

As soon as we put Tagawa on today we looked better as did Shankland, unfortunately Boyce is only a sub these days. Tagawa didn’t do much but his presence made Motherwell drop 20 yards deeper, much like Ginnelly did who was undervalued by the fans and the club. 

I think Tagawa is a run onto the through ball type striker so if we had a midfield that could achieve that then he may become a goalscorer for us.

Alas the midfield is shite,  someone said to me that Naismith said pre match he thinks Haring and Devlin are a good partnership,  for me, that comment sticks and tells me he's not really got a clue.

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

If he doesn’t get back to the style we played at the end of last season they he should be sacked. 

The issue is, you are talking about just 1 game, not a consistent pattern across the 7 games. There was no consistent pattern or style. Look how bad the st Mirren game was. What we’ve seen is simply a continuation 

These one off performances, were already there before Naismith under Robbie. That was just another one of these one off game against RC where players were in the mood. But then in other games it vanished

These players always had that sort of performance in them to score goals and run away with games.

It is consistency and defensive solidity that was the fundamental problem needing solved. We go through these spells in games where we just switch off and it’s not been fixed 

5 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

And yet we still couldn’t score against 10 men.  Overall recruitment has been an absolute disaster.  Totally fed up.

best in the land
1 minute ago, GorgieFifeLife said:

Naismith should admit it’s too early for him to manage at this level and resign.  If he is honest with himself he should probably never have accepted the job.

This. Just damaged his chances of a management career.

Should have stuck with the academy and got his badges sorted.

Then taken a smaller job.

I’m beginning to think the reason Naismith doesn’t have his Pro Licence is that he failed the exam. I’m at a loss to understand what our game plan/tactics are - he seemed to think that against 10 men sitting in having a left side of Rowles and Cochrane was the answer to opening them up. I realise that Grant is the whipping boy for many on here but he at least looks to go forward and is one of the few capable of playing a pass into feet around the box - he must have sh*t in Naismith’s shoes.

we appear to have bet big time on Bene being fit and back to form

Maybe all those managers who talk about how much they learned from their coaching courses, including going and spending time with experienced managers at their clubs, were on to something. Maybe it isn't just a UEFA money making scheme after all.

You can write the season off if he remains beyond the international break 

We have a week to find his replacement 

This experiment is turning into a disaster 

Same problems we had with Neilson but new players 

Something not right at the club and I dunno what it is 

Players unmotivated, get 45 mins tops from them a game, 2nd to most balls, non existent 1st half's, just punt the ball in Hooe we get a break 

Can't be the Players every season 

Just doesn't add up 

We've taken an average rookie manager from the Lowland League and gave him the job. We are reaping the rewards.  Hell even Fox is doing a better job with the B team.

15 minutes ago, gregzy2k7 said:

Needs to go, but not the main problem at the club imo, Budge, Savage and McKinley appointed him.....where are the consequences for them?

Correct,answerable to nobody.

Rudi the Cocker Spaniel
18 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

It was a cop out of an appointment. Those above in the boardroom bottled it, a proper appointment was needed. But they didn’t have the balls to make one. Thought they’d kicked the can down the road but won’t work if these guys lose 4 on the spin as they have done. 

If you mean they appointed someone who wasn't going to rock the boat, then yes. There appear to be failings with recruitment, salary structure and a mandated style of play the players aren't comfortable with. A head coach, even an experienced one, can't easily change those things. 

Steven Naismith promised brassed-off Heartsfans they’ll see a different Jambos side after the international break - as he waits to be officially installed as head coach.

The technical director is expected to replace Frankie McAvoy as now the Tynecastle side are out of Europe. But before then he was faced with furious boos from the home support after a 1-0 loss to Motherwell made it four defeats in a row. It leaves Hearts sitting eighth on four points from four games and follows home and away defeats to PAOK in Europe as well as last weekend’s dismal defeat at Dundee.

But Naismith - who said his own position would become more clear in the coming week - said: “The fans will be unhappy because they have seen something that has been consistent the last few league games. But now we have this period we can continue to work to refresh and get back to where we need to be.

We are going into a tough period of games and the demand will be we need to win games and having lost two league games in a row we need to. Today was poor. It’s been very similar to every game we have played after a European tie. A very slow start, lethargic, safe, which then turns into nerves, turns into giving away cheap chances.”

McAvoy said last week a switch which would see him step back and allow Naismith to take charge could happen now the necessity for a UEFA Pro Licence has gone with their Euro run over. Naismith said: “Yeah, we’ll probably go into more detail on that next week. 

"At the moment we’re just looking at what’s been a bad weekend. The break has come at a time where we have played a lot of football. 

"We have come from a time where we played a lot of pre-season games to an intense period of loads of competitive games which has helped people get up to speed. But it has been intense so it gives us time to reflect and understand what we actually want to do.

“Do we want to be successful? Are we first of all going to be hard to beat? And secondly are we going to play that front foot football where we are more concerned about causing other teams problems than we are about giving up chances?”

letsmakesomenoise
24 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

The board are shit.

Our new signings, Oda, Tagawa, Vargas, are shit.

Our midfield is shit.

Our style of football is beyond shit

The sporting director is shit.

Our management are shit.

Jurys out re Vargas, I quite like him (although our meedya team can’t spell his name correctly) but the rest of them look extremely average.

19 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

People saying no don't go to/watch games. 

I do, but this isn’t what most fans expected, it was used as by Savage to see his wee pal Frankie get a shot at being in the driver’s seat, Naismith has been stitched up like a kipper in all this.

MoncurMacdonaldMercer

one of the cleverest posters on here confirmed to us all a while back that Naismith was 100% in charge and just pretending not to be however one or two less intelligent and less informed posters have expressed concerns about dubiety

I think it would help if Naismith is to stay even temporarily if frankie (nothing against him personally) is removed from the first team altogether including the bench / interviews / everything first-team relevant

if that can be done give naisy a few more games - McKinley said/lied that they were always lining up replacements so full transparency with naisy you’ve got x games to achieve y while lining up a replacement with similar transparency to them

our biggest issue though is we need at least 4 Kent / halkett / Mikey Galloway / chuck berry types in the team every week and unless we find them without clubs we’re going to have to muddle on with this bunch the vast majority being much less forceful characters (and not exceptional enough in technique to make it up for it)

Heartsmad1874
1 minute ago, Newton51 said:

Steven Naismith promised brassed-off Heartsfans they’ll see a different Jambos side after the international break - as he waits to be officially installed as head coach.

The technical director is expected to replace Frankie McAvoy as now the Tynecastle side are out of Europe. But before then he was faced with furious boos from the home support after a 1-0 loss to Motherwell made it four defeats in a row. It leaves Hearts sitting eighth on four points from four games and follows home and away defeats to PAOK in Europe as well as last weekend’s dismal defeat at Dundee.

But Naismith - who said his own position would become more clear in the coming week - said: “The fans will be unhappy because they have seen something that has been consistent the last few league games. But now we have this period we can continue to work to refresh and get back to where we need to be.

We are going into a tough period of games and the demand will be we need to win games and having lost two league games in a row we need to. Today was poor. It’s been very similar to every game we have played after a European tie. A very slow start, lethargic, safe, which then turns into nerves, turns into giving away cheap chances.”

McAvoy said last week a switch which would see him step back and allow Naismith to take charge could happen now the necessity for a UEFA Pro Licence has gone with their Euro run over. Naismith said: “Yeah, we’ll probably go into more detail on that next week. 

"At the moment we’re just looking at what’s been a bad weekend. The break has come at a time where we have played a lot of football. 

"We have come from a time where we played a lot of pre-season games to an intense period of loads of competitive games which has helped people get up to speed. But it has been intense so it gives us time to reflect and understand what we actually want to do.

“Do we want to be successful? Are we first of all going to be hard to beat? And secondly are we going to play that front foot football where we are more concerned about causing other teams problems than we are about giving up chances?”

Brassneck of him to come out with that after recent matches, jeezo. You couldn’t mark his neck with a blowtorch.

2 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Jesus wept, its a procession of trolling clones.

"Playing after Europe is hard but you can't blame Europe". Okay then. 

"We played tons of pre-season games". Jesus.

Starting to sound desperate. 

Also, it hasn't even been much of a dip. I dunno what people were watching at the end of last season but I think some of the recollections about how we played in the last 7 games are way over the top. 

Just now, Spookie said:

You can write the season off if he remains beyond the international break 

We have a week to find his replacement 

This experiment is turning into a disaster 

Same problems we had with Neilson but new players 

Something not right at the club and I dunno what it is 

Players unmotivated, get 45 mins tops from them a game, 2nd to most balls, non existent 1st half's, just punt the ball in Hooe we get a break 

Can't be the Players every season 

Just doesn't add up 

Only 3 new players played today, most of these guys were here last season and we're in the main pish, this has continued this season, a summer clear out was required but it didn't happen, bemused why Haring, Forrest, Grant Halliday, Rowles etc are still here.

I think we've got here by various events starting with pre-season preparation re the manager, the lack of fitness, the time taken to sign players get and them embedded, create a style etc. I suspect we tried to move some players on but there wasn't much interest or wages were an issue. 

We're also now seeing a mentality that isn't a winning one so something has to change.

3 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Hmm. A lot of blaming external factors and the players. No taking any responsibility himself.

Just now, Saint Jambo said:

Hmm. A lot of blaming external factors and the players. No taking any responsibility himself.

Sounds like Neilson the 2nd.

3 minutes ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

Brassneck of him to come out with that after recent matches, jeezo. You couldn’t mark his neck with a blowtorch.

Sounds a bit like Levein when he assured us about fixing the defence when we came back from the winter break I think it was. First game back lost a goal after a couple of minutes, no change.

1 hour ago, Deviskan said:

Yes…he initially tried to blame exhaustion from playing in Europe until the BBC reporter called him out about it…then he suddenly started back peddling that fast he could’ve went back in time.

It was the usual sound bites that basically mean nothing apart from that.

He has been good at not rolling out the sound bites so far. But no surprise if he has started because he’s in trouble. 

It has been an inexcusable last three games. Indeed we have Killie, Dundee and Motherwell and scored no goals. 

What is he going to say? He can’t tell the truth, that we are utter pish, can’t defend, have nothing in midfield, are badly missing Gino and that he doesn’t know what to do about it. 

7 minutes ago, Eldar Hadzimehmedovic said:

"Playing after Europe is hard but you can't blame Europe". Okay then. 

"We played tons of pre-season games". Jesus.

Starting to sound desperate. 

Also, it hasn't even been much of a dip. I dunno what people were watching at the end of last season but I think some of the recollections about how we played in the last 7 games are way over the top. 

I never feel like we have a good pre season all these jaunts abroad that we do now are we any ****ing better for it.

27 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

People were utterly drooling over Boyce after the Rosenberg game. Apparently a top top player that absolutely changes us. Oh how we’ve missed him apparently. 

One thing is for sure we were better with Gino by a distance, a guy with pace who could also score.  

I vehemently disagree that Boyce and Shankland work together as a partnership. 
However, it is also possible that we have nothing better. 

pish in defence, pish in midfield and increasingly pish in attack. 

Heartsmad1874
2 minutes ago, hearts00 said:

He has been good at not rolling out the sound bites so far. But no surprise if he has started because he’s in trouble. 

It has been an inexcusable last three games. Indeed we have Killie, Dundee and Motherwell and scored no goals. 

What is he going to say? He can’t tell the truth, that we are utter pish, can’t defend, have nothing in midfield, are badly missing Gino and that he doesn’t know what to do about it. 

I’d admire the honesty atleast instead it’s inane ramblings about Europe, making mistakes. Whats he doing to rectify it? Absolutely zero, no idea what they do in training as theres no actual obvious game plan.

The problem is the board rely on easy money which is emotionally driven. FoH pledges, donations, etc. It’s a guaranteed revenue stream with no accountability. Any hard nosed investor would never put up with this garbage simply because their investment would be at risk. Appointing rookie managers from the left field, recruiting dross from the other side of the world, it’s a business model designed to fail. We have great PR, social responsibility programmes and marketing but on the field, where it matters, are absolute crap. Totally outclassed by Motherwell today. Appointing Naismith was a symptom of a reactive Board not a strategically aware one.

2 hours ago, David McCaig said:

Simple question if you think its too early to ask the question answer no.

For me, its time to go, he doesn't have the experience, there has been no bounce from the players and its time for the Board to make a proper externally recruited appointment.

The club has to end this farce now.

He was  given the gig because he promised a change in the style of play from the Neilson turgid playing routine......after seven matches towards the end of last season he made sure that things were better to watch - but now he has got the gig his teams have reverted to type - so either :-

a. He lied just to get the job and is really in the Robbie mold (or "mould") 

b. He got the job but has been told to pay heid to all that Mcevoy "advises" him to do, as he (FM) seems to be the common denominator between our last two manager's style of play. 

Either option is wrong and MUST BE TOTALLY RECTIFIED NOW !!!!!.......1-2..0-1..0-4..0-1........1 goal scored in four games with the weapons we have to hand is diabolical !!! 

(I'll wager that he/they are told "Beat Aberdeen in the next game or youre all gone") 

16 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

We don't have the quality of player to shut up shop or play on the front foot. Looking forward to this transformation as we hump Aberdeen 5-0

13 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

I never feel like we have a good pre season all these jaunts abroad that we do now are we any ****ing better for it.

Pre season for Hearts is a total scrooooo up every year - with Euro games coming up Hearts should be using these friendlies to put out their best 16-17 players and stuck with to get cohesion for the seasons start - But we ALWAYS utilise the matches to field 20-30 players in total - our preferred first team/squad not getting a chance to gel as everybody is rotating ......playing other friendlies against lesser teams could give our  "second string" a chance for their run-outs and if any folk really impress then they are considered bumped up the pecking order.  

30 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Blah ****in blah. 

Remove them all please.

Hate kickback when we loose matches.  It a No for me even after the game today.  You cannot sack a manager/ coach every time we hit a bad spell.    New players need time to settle and booing at every opportunity does not help in anyway.  

Edited by goader

WheatfieldWarrior
2 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

New levels of farce today. Apparently Naismith was called the "Head Coach" on the Tynecastle screens but (repeatedly) the "Techinacal Director" in the Hearts TV coverage. 

No wonder the players look lost.

It listed him as 'coach' on the big screens, mut made no mention of McAvoy.

Sick fed up having to listen to these jokers. There is not a chance he gets us to a decent points total after that first 11 fixtures. Looking at the schedule I’d be surprised if we won more than 2 from the remaining 7 which will likely mean we are on something like 12 or 13 pts from 33. Utterly abysmal. Under Neilson and now Naismith we’ve won 5 of our last 20 league matches. It’s a complete disgrace how the Hearts fans are being mugged off yet again.

44 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

The issue is, you are talking about just 1 game, not a consistent pattern across the 7 games. There was no consistent pattern or style. Look how bad the st Mirren game was. What we’ve seen is simply a continuation 

These one off performances, were already there before Naismith under Robbie. That was just another one of these one off game against RC where players were in the mood. But then in other games it vanished

These players always had that sort of performance in them to score goals and run away with games.

It is consistency and defensive solidity that was the fundamental problem needing solved. We go through these spells in games where we just switch off and it’s not been fixed 

Yeah It changed in away games but the home games against RC and Aberdeen where we had 60 shots on goal and played fast attacking football with an urgency we havent seen yet, is what I was hoping for. 

Neverforgetfiveone

It’s not the fact that he should be sacked. It’s how apathetic our whole club is…. Absolute wet cloth! Awful! 

10 minutes ago, busbyfth said:

He was  given the gig because he promised a change in the style of play from the Neilson turgid playing routine......after seven matches towards the end of last season he made sure that things were better to watch - but now he has got the gig his teams have reverted to type - so either :-

a. He lied just to get the job and is really in the Robbie mold (or "mould") 

b. He got the job but has been told to pay heid to all that Mcevoy "advises" him to do, as he (FM) seems to be the common denominator between our last two manager's style of play. 

Either option is wrong and MUST BE TOTALLY RECTIFIED NOW !!!!!.......1-2..0-1..0-4..0-1........1 goal scored in four games with the weapons we have to hand is diabolical !!! 

(I'll wager that he/they are told "Beat Aberdeen in the next game or youre all gone") 

McAvoy had nothing to do with Neilson's coaching team. 

As a member of the Foundation Of Hearts, I wan't to know who is representing us when these decisions are made, and who is answerable to us ?  I will never withold my foundation subscriptions, but somebody, surely should be representing our voice in these appointments. 

For what it's worth, I think we should stick with Naismith for the first round of fixtures. Get FM to feck.

1 minute ago, whodanny said:

As a member of the Foundation Of Hearts, I wan't to know who is representing us when these decisions are made, and who is answerable to us ?  I will never withold my foundation subscriptions, but somebody, surely should be representing our voice in these appointments. 

For what it's worth, I think we should stick with Naismith for the first round of fixtures. Get FM to feck.

Naismith is the manager now and has been since the start of the season. Surely you don't think FM is running the show?

• davemclaren changed the title to Should Steven Naismith be sacked? ( merged )