***Official Heart of Midlothian v Kilmarnock Match Thread***

Be good to get a win, but is also important to get a good performance, to take into Thursday's match, have to start matches alot better than we have been, first goal is crucial, going to be tight.....2-1 Hearts 

• Replies 1.5k

• Hearts007

• Clark Griswold

• Don Dan

No Idle Talk

We seem to have laid to rest our poor run at McDiarmid Park. Time to get to work on our abysmal recent home record against Kilmarnock. 

Score early,  hammer them 3 or 4 nil. They are shite. 

However,  they'll happily sit in and boot the ball away hoping for a mistake or a set piece.

Like at St Johnstone,  if we do the basics at the back we'll eventually score, but the longer it's 0-0 they'll enjoy it more and get confidence.

We have a real good chance of striking a winning run together, I think we'll deliver and over the next few weeks get better.

6-3.

Edited by Bazzas right boot

6 hours ago, GBJambo said:

We are long overdue a result then 👍

We beat them last time at home.

Cannot wait to go and watch the lads this Sunday. For various reasons my last game was Aberdeen at home last season. (2-1) I really miss Gorgie, I really miss the noise, the expectation, even the beautiful smell of the distillery that tells me, ‘I’m home’. Roll on Sunday. 

Play the we have all of pre season and the first 60 mins against St Johnstone and Rosenborg, we'll find ourselves on the end of a defeat. 

We'll have a lot more pace and creativity on Sunday, so I'm hopeful of a victory.

HeartsandonlyHearts
19 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

Play the we have all of pre season and the first 60 mins against St Johnstone and Rosenborg, we'll find ourselves on the end of a defeat. 

We'll have a lot more pace and creativity on Sunday, so I'm hopeful of a victory.

Forever the optimist.

🫣

13 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

We certainly have to play better from the start that’s for sure as they will be feeling confident after last week’s result and may fancy there chances. We need to get our wide players using there pace and get in behind there defence if we do that we could win this comfortably, looking forward to my first game of the season. 2-0🤞

11 minutes ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

Forever the optimist.

🫣

Realistic. :)

We will get better. But when?

Could be Sunday.

41 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

St Johnstone away was a perfect away performance. 

The first pumping of many this season will be Sunday. The forward line will run riot, Shanks, Boycie, Tagawa, Lowry, Oda... can't wait. 

4 0

Clark

Atkinson Kent Rowles  Kingsley

Haring            Hoff

Boyce

Oda                         Tagawa

Shankland

Subs

Lowry

Devlin

Grant

Forrest

Beni - if fit

Toby

Halliday

Feels like a win just because it’s Tynecastle. What the hell, I’ll say 3-0 but with a nervy shite stretch somewhere in the middle of the match.

38 minutes ago, ELITHEDUG said:

Clark

Haring            Hoff

Boyce

Shankland

Subs

Lowry

Devlin

Grant

Forrest

Beni - if fit

Toby

Halliday

Good team but Denholm dropped na not for me I would have him as a sub.

43 minutes ago, ELITHEDUG said:

Clark

Haring            Hoff

Boyce

Shankland

Subs

Lowry

Devlin

Grant

Forrest

Beni - if fit

Toby

Halliday

Denholm for Forrest. 

Just now, 1971fozzy said:

Lowry for Forrest 

Not sure Lowry is up to being a starter yet. Best bring him off the bench against tired defences until he builds match fitness. 

2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Not sure Lowry is up to being a starter yet. Best bring him off the bench against tired defences until he builds match fitness. 

good point. Just thinking his pace and he’s good on the deck threading passes. Against their defence that may be useful. As at St Johnstone though your right a cracking sub to bring on

Life Aquatic

Should be a comfortable Hearts win,  but I'm taking my kids to this one so will inevitably be absolute jobbyball that bores them to tears...

Predicting 0-0 and then a 96th minute jammy Shankland goal

I see Erling Haaland was looking a bit chunky tonight ? Wonder if Man City fans are having the same meltdown some on here are having about Shankland 😆 probably not as he scored like our man did

31 minutes ago, tian447 said:

0-0 for 20 minutes before the booing starts. 

3-0 Hearts. 

Booing will start as soon as Kent passes sideways to Aki for the first time.

Folk will be screaming for " mare punts" and less "fanning about wi the baw".

2 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

Feels like a win just because it’s Tynecastle. What the hell, I’ll say 3-0 but with a nervy shite stretch somewhere in the middle of the match.

You should go to the doctors about that.

6 hours ago, Sherbet said:

Haring maybe slower. But makes up fir it by being able to read the game

I agree to an extent that Haring is possbily the best of a bad bunch that we have to choose from in midfield but we need better.

55 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Booing will start as soon as Kent passes sideways to Aki for the first time.

Folk will be screaming for " mare punts" and less "fanning about wi the baw".

You really need to get some help.

3 hours ago, ELITHEDUG said:

Clark

Haring            Hoff

Boyce

Shankland

Subs

Lowry

Devlin

Grant

Forrest

Beni - if fit

Toby

Halliday

What nae vargas??

3 hours ago, ELITHEDUG said:

Clark

Haring            Hoff

Boyce

Shankland

Subs

Lowry

Devlin

Grant

Forrest

Beni - if fit

Toby

Halliday

I sometimes wonder what people are watching. 

How much more evidence do you need to know that Shankland needs pace up top with him, preferably ahead of him? 

4 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

St Johnstone away was a perfect away performance. 

Play pish for an hour before getting our act together?

I'll take it, as long as we win :lol:

9 minutes ago, hearts00 said:

How much more evidence do you need to know that Shankland needs pace up top with him, preferably ahead of him? 

Ideally they'd have pace, but ultimately Shankland just needs a partner. He and Boyce can be an effective partnership too and we've seen glimpses of that this season.

Against a deep defence which isn't leaving space in behind, intelligence, movement, strength and link-up play are more important than pace. 

FWIW I would play Tagawa with Shankland on Sunday. He seems to have a bit of presence about him as well as the pace and movement, based on his brief cameo v St Johnstone.

Quick question - I assume that last years ST cards are carrying over to this year? I’ve not had a new one through.

8 minutes ago, marshallschunkychicken said:

Quick question - I assume that last years ST cards are carrying over to this year? I’ve not had a new one through.

Yes.  😄

Clark

Atkinson Kent  Rowles  Kingsley 

Hoff Haring

Oda                               Lowry 

Shankland 

Tagawa 

Edited by Hansel

They're going to sit in basically the whole game, going to need to be much better on the ball to open them up but we've got that in us. Once we do they'll have to come out and play and we'll pump them.

So happy the season is back!!

3-0 Hearts. 

Edited by DxB Hearts

We need a good performance boost ahead of Euro second leg. 

Clark

Atkinson Kent Rowles Cochrane

Haring Sibbick

Lowry

Oda Shankland Tagawa

12 minutes ago, Skacelsid said:

We need a good performance boost ahead of Euro second leg. 

Clark

Atkinson Kent Rowles Cochrane

Haring Sibbick

Lowry

Oda Shankland Tagawa

Cochrane is suspended 

7 hours ago, hearts00 said:

Clark

Haring            Hoff

Boyce

Oda       Shankland      Tagawa

Happier now...

Subs - 5/9

Lowry

Devlin

Grant

Lowry

Beni - if fit

Toby

Vargas

Denholm

McGovern

Edited by ELITHEDUG
adding players

Two tough away games to start the season and a work in progress on that front when it comes to better performances and wins .  1 being a victory at a place in recent history we’ve found it very difficult.  

So, I expect a strong performance at home from Hearts.  Big crowd, players buzzing to come out in front of their own support and get business done.  

3-0

JamboJoker98

Would take a 1-0 right now. McInnes has them well organised, combatative, sitting deep and will be on a high after last weeks result. Don't think this will be a walk in the park. Expect us to have a lot of the ball and we consistently have trouble breaking defensive lines. Our problem isn't necessarily Shankland up top it's more supporting him, progressing the ball forward and tempo in transition is incredibly slow. Pace in the wide areas helps however.

Not sure on starting Hoff for this one, struggled to get involved last week and if anything tomorrow will be more of a midfield battle. However, after mid-week I think Haring has played himself in and Devlin out - especially when we need a bit more spark in the middle so I wouldn't be surprised to see Grant.

Tagawa starts for fresh legs. Boyce to come on late on to save him for more involvement Rosenborg

Clark

Atkinson Kent Rowles Kingsley

Haring   Grant

Oda         Shanks      Lowrie

Tagawa

2 minutes ago, JamboJoker98 said:

Would take a 1-0 right now. McInnes has them well organised, combatative, sitting deep and will be on a high after last weeks result. Don't think this will be a walk in the park. Expect us to have a lot of the ball and we consistently have trouble breaking defensive lines. Our problem isn't necessarily Shankland up top it's more supporting him, progressing the ball forward and tempo in transition is incredibly slow. Pace in the wide areas helps however.

Not sure on starting Hoff for this one, struggled to get involved last week and if anything tomorrow will be more of a midfield battle. However, after mid-week I think Haring has played himself in and Devlin out - especially when we need a bit more spark in the middle so I wouldn't be surprised to see Grant.

Tagawa starts for fresh legs. Boyce to come on late on to save him for more involvement Rosenborg

Clark

Atkinson Kent Rowles Kingsley

Haring   Grant

Oda         Shanks      Lowrie

Tagawa

Midfield doesn’t work. Grant simply can’t play in a two man midfield.  

Clark

Atkinson

Kent

Rowles

Kingsley

Haring

Oda Hoff Lowry

Shankland 

Tagawa

About time we saw glimpses of just why Hoff was scouted and signed.

Grant/Boyce/Devlin/Vargas/Sibbick all to play a big part, 50/60mins into the game

I'm going for a comfortable win after the usual sticky start. 

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

They will be on a high after last week so I think it might be close.  2-1 Hearts.

I thought they played well last week, lots of energy.